Andrew Loh
Being in power for half a century breeds arrogance and hubristic tendencies. This much has been said of the People’s Action Party (PAP). Such sentiments were clearly and loudly expressed during the recent elections. Even the PAP’s own candidate for Aljunied GRC, Mr George Yeo, related how a resident had basically told him off at a coffeeshop during the hustings. The resident said he was voting against Mr Yeo’s team simply because of the condescending remarks made by Mr Lee Kuan Yew about voters in Aljunied.
Singaporeans at large too felt the PAP had too much of a chip on its shoulder and cut it down to size by reducing its vote share to its lowest since Independence. Aljunied voters took courage into their own hands, voted for the opposition Workers’ Party and thus registered its role in our history books.
With a palpable seething anger towards the PAP still simmering, the people of Singapore demand one thing from the PAP Government – change.
So it was that the secretary general of the PAP, the Prime Minister of Singapore, sought to address this expectation by declaring an agenda of reform, and he moved rather quickly in doing so as well and surprised many.
If one were to go by comments and postings online, however, it would seem that Singaporeans aren’t too quick or willing to applaud PM Lee for his new agenda. Indeed, most online comments and postings either dismiss his promises outright, calling these a sideshow, a “wayang”, too late, or an insincere attempt at assuaging Singaporeans’ anger.
Few have given the PM the benefit of the doubt, or support his undertakings.
The cynicism is evident. It is pervasive – and though online commentators are most vocal, the sentiment is not only limited to cyberspace.
I would suggest that this is the main obstacle the Prime Minister – and the PAP – will have to address, going forward. This disbelief, or skepticism, that anything will really change or that the PAP is capable of changing itself. It is understandable if one considers that such promises are not new. One would recall the “Remaking Singapore” movement in the early 2000s, and the proposed killing of “sacred cow” policies following that.
But I take a more hopeful attitude, for several reasons.
One, PM Lee no longer has the burden of having two or three senior ministers within his Cabinet who, as some suspect, would be watching over his shoulders or even staying his hands if he wanted to change things.
Two, the stepping down of Mr Lee Kuan Yew, PM’s father, symbolizes a break from the baggage of the past.
Three, PM Lee is expected to hold office for another 10 years, as he sees through the transition to the 4th Generation leadership. He would thus want to stamp his mark before too long, before he eventually steps down.
Fourth, the appointment of Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam as Deputy Prime Minister. Known as a reformer, a thinker, a good listener and an all round excellent leader, Mr Tharman now has the ear of the PM in close range.
But the one reason why I feel PM Lee should be given time to keep his promise is that I do believe he knows, even if he does not truly appreciate it, that Singapore has changed. Singaporeans and Singapore society have changed. PM Lee would also be aware that gone are the days of yore – where the highhanded, severe and strict form of government, which has been the hallmark of the PAP Government for almost 50 years, is best left to the annals of history, to be carried away into oblivion by the winds of change.
With a “clean slate”, as Mr Goh Chok Tong and Lee senior called it, PM Lee has before him an historic opportunity to re-create Singapore in his hands, fashioned after the desires and aspirations of Singaporeans.
PM Lee has a Singapore which many envy and admire. It is, however, not a great country yet, economic achievements notwithstanding. What would make it a great country would be for its people to not be fearful, to be courageous, to be free to do and free to be.
The leader of this little red spot on the map must realize that it is not in the building of great physical complexes, or the pumping up of economic indicators, which will make this a great nation.
On the contrary, what will make this truly a great home for us is more personal. It is about no longer being afraid to do and to be, no matter who we are. It is about being able to do and to be, with freedoms enshrined in law and supported by an enlightened government and lawmakers.
In short, it is about citizen participation. It is about empowerment of the citizenry. It is the very thing which most governments are afraid of. It is, however, the one thing which all human beings crave and demand.
The cynicism of PM Lee’s promise is borne out of a citizenry being disempowered for far too long. It is easier to cast doubts than to be part of the change that they want to see, even if only a small part is required.
But cynicism, by its insidious nature, does not bode well for a nation which aspires to be more.
PM Lee’s challenge then is to address this. And the best way he can do this is by saying clearly what it is that he wants changed. So far, he has failed to articulate this in an unequivocal manner. Singaporeans still do not really know what changes he is talking about.
Once this is made clear, he should then embark on a road of no return, and move forward with his reforms.
In the meantime, I would encourage cynics to not be too quick to dismiss PM Lee’s promise. Give him time. Reform, in this case, means changing current ways of doing things, of adopting new belief systems, and of painting new landscapes of the future. It means the PAP having to change in five years what it is accustomed to the last 50 years. It’s no small feat.
But change it must, of course. If PM Lee does not keep his word, then perhaps it won’t be too late to register your displeasure when the time comes.
You will have an opportunity to do this, for sure.
And PM Lee knows it too.
In the meantime, lets hold off the cynicism.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Their main battle should be how to break the Synergising force of the potentially potent and formidable 40% Critical Mass.
There are so many nowadays, many on the street we talk to finds a Alternative Citizen.
There is a Big Significant difference in mentality between the Old and lesser educated vs the newer generations especially the post 65′ers.
While in democracy, majority rulez, the significant 40% if Synergised can be like THOR hammer.
We will, We will ROCK YEW!
reading all the comments, strange that an article asking singaporean to give time to heal, can go so many direction.
remember one MG asking how long our civilisation can last; 100 years? so after 100 years where will singapore be? will you see the singapore of today? remember that we are children of our pasts. who will be the children of our present? the people who build singapore of present, will not be singapore of future. then truly this is Singapore Inc.
Ron Ho
kind of Government, systems, values, behaviour? Dont kill the goose that has laid golden eggs. Nurture it
………..
indeed well spoken..
who are the golden goose?
YOU perhaps? we the peasant$ are the olden noose to be hang dry skinned and braised
Sorry, I don’t really feel the ground even I am a true blue Singaporean.
Is true that when I was in Tampines, I saw one big pool of Indian PR having their lunched, and that don’t really bother me too.
My Boss is really a nice PR, and infact it is better a have a PR bosses. You can feel the different too. He treats me good and vice-versa I treat him extra well (somehow, he still my boss : > ).
So if you keep complaining about PAP without any reason (come with 4-letter words), then I am afraid you are encouraging the opposition supporters to sway to the ruling party. And with the very same reason, WE ARE SINGAPOREAN.
To: Cynicism is the lesser evil
Thank you for the wise words. Sad that you and me can only talk but no political actions can really come from us but I believe, that you and me and some of us who think deep enough, knows by our little means, we are contributing to the well-being of our nation.
It is indeed sad to know 40% of our population thinks what was given came easy. That we being a first world country made possible by a good government and united citizen then was to be so popularly criticize by some irresponsible chaps who are quick to “talk” but nor sure if they also “do” what they preach.
We all know Singapore is full of Complain Kings. We should ignore these few in the first place but sadly, free media is acting against out times.
If anyone of these Complain Kings walk out of Singapore and take a look at what is happening in the world, I believe they will go back to the lesser damage arena of continuing to complain about their work, low salaries, long traveling time, no entertainment in sg, etc.
Foreign workers are here to help us but I just don’t understand why our sg dumb-bells think. Look around, compare a local salesgirl and a foreigner, who gives u the black face and who thank you for buying, look at the dish cleaners, who gives you the black face and seldom move to your table to clear the dishes, see the office girl who works to 9pm against our comrades who leaves at 5:30 sharp to catch the first bus home. Most of us have become lazy because things had come easy. If you are complaining of low salary, ask yourself, what did u do when those high earners are burning night oil on their studies or working their guts out to hold various assignments and positions to build their career? Did we try our best then or did we just sit there to wait for ToTo to strike? Ask ourselves, do you dare to say what you said on the net to your children? Do we know Right from Wrong?
Lastly, I am just an average Singaporean who had avg scores in school and average career in life. I still remember when my family was so poor that we fed on bread crumbs, but we had no problem then. We know we are what we did. What we do now affects our future.
Please, to those who giving reckless and baseless accusations from prejudice or hard imaginations, think thrice about what you are contributing to our children’s future.
An average Singaporean is what I am today because of what i did what our nation did together and I am proud of my country. Majulah Singapore.
Thank you for the wise words. Sad that you and me can only talk but no political actions can really come from us but I believe, that you and me and some of us who think deep enough, knows by our little means, we are contributing to the well-being of our nation.
It is indeed sad to know 40% of our population thinks what was given came easy. That we being a first world country made possible by a good government and united citizen then was to be so popularly criticize by some irresponsible chaps who are quick to “talk” but nor sure if they also “do” what they preach.
We all know Singapore is full of Complain Kings. We should ignore these few in the first place but sadly, free media is acting against out times.
If anyone of these Complain Kings walk out of Singapore and take a look at what is happening in the world, I believe they will go back to the lesser damage arena of continuing to complain about their work, low salaries, long traveling time, no entertainment in sg, etc.
Foreign workers are here to help us but I just don’t understand why our sg dumb-bells think. Look around, compare a local salesgirl and a foreigner, who gives u the black face and who thank you for buying, look at the dish cleaners, who gives you the black face and seldom move to your table to clear the dishes, see the office girl who works to 9pm against our comrades who leaves at 5:30 sharp to catch the first bus home. Most of us have become lazy because things had come easy. If you are complaining of low salary, ask yourself, what did u do when those high earners are burning night oil on their studies or working their guts out to hold various assignments and positions to build their career? Did we try our best then or did we just sit there to wait for ToTo to strike? Ask ourselves, do you dare to say what you said on the net to your children? Do we know Right from Wrong?
Lastly, I am just an average Singaporean who had avg scores in school and average career in life. I still remember when my family was so poor that we fed on bread crumbs, but we had no problem then. We know we are what we did. What we do now affects our future.
Please, to those who giving reckless and baseless accusations from prejudice or hard imaginations, think thrice about what you are contributing to our children’s future.
An average Singaporean is what I am today because of what i did what our nation did together and I am proud of my country. Majulah Singapore.
pap paid t price-with another drop in popular support.
why??
they have been too arrogrant .
bcos they emulate their leader-LKY.
he set t tone.t attitude.
t puppies follow…especially his son.
listen to their speeches.watch their body language-
esoecially LKY>thru t years.
his exact words in parliament “how to fix t opposition”
True Blue
you are encouraging the opposition supporters to sway to the ruling party. And with the very same reason, WE ARE SINGAPOREAN.
……..
are we? when 60% of you lots are so kiasee/kiasu…
that you lots approved the pap government to rob your cpf’s blood money and your ORGANs…
do i see the bangalas come to our defences in time of war? all i see are bangalas who on xmas eve gropped our lasses in orchard road LEGALLY…
WHEN DID YOU ERECTED THE pap party to be YOUR towgay? not as YOUR pubic servants mey?
please DO NOT called YOURSELF truebred SINGAPOREAN and ASSUMED to make us ALL to be ONE in YOUR term/defination..you are so STUPID that the whole wide world would had ASSUMED ALL TRUEBRED singaporeans are DAFF!
To me, the greatest failing of PAP government is to instil fear in Singaporeans speaking against government policies and practices. Fear of PAP government unleashing IRAS on critics, pressure on employers to terminiate, interference with business, law and police monitoring every movement etc.
First and foremost, the platform of our Government built by our forefathers, LKY, Dr. Goh, Dr. Toh, Hon Sui Sen, Ong Teng Cheong, so very gratefully inherited by present leaders. At that time, it was truely a government set to govern. As years went by, the priorities of the Government change from governing to business. The tone of all government department changes, fees were increased from Judiciary right up to NTUC. Salaries were up also, in line with the fees. A judicial commissioner was able to donate S$200,000/- to law faculty beating the likes of establish law firms! So, the government goes into business of selling land, HDB, PSA, forming GIC’s etc. A country’s government is to govern a country and not engage in business and elected officials are elected to Govern. similarly a judiciary is set up to give the best justice to the country that is not just seem to be done but seen to be done.
Singapore is a small country, very rich as compared to other countries and a very vast reserve with no deficit yet it cannot tend to its poor. Some of its aged population like aged aunties and uncles are still tending toilets, working in macdonalds, cleaning and clearing hawker centres. Some aged uncles are sleeping in sidewalks! Its a small country and I do not think it is difficult to GOVERN if the present government set their priorities correct, i.e. to Govern. George Yeo in his message to LHL before LHL made his apology to the people “there is alot of resentment from the public” and that a change is inevitable. We need policy changes, priorities changes and if we are to change, lets get rid of unqualified personnel who have no business to be there in the first place! Our present government inherited a infrastructure that has been set up by our forefathers like police, fire brigade, land trnasport, inland revenue, port authority, customs, parks & recreation, education, defence, judiciary, prisons, border control, roads and welfare & Hospital, An AG office where the prosecutor’s prosecute and we should have a jury system instead of just a judge who sometimes make simple bias mistake. In simple terms, all infrastructure should be govern by Government. The state should provide cheap housing to citizens who qualify and should not sell for 15-20 years, only transferable to immediate kin. A land bank should be set up, where sale proceeds of land should be control by the President. A monetary authority should be set up with able qualified personnel to manage setting the tone for market interest rate and other monetary restrictions.
Whatever good has been done for us, it is wiped out by the sort of heavenly salaries we pay the rulers and all the plum takings monopolized by them and the oppression we have to submit to in our civic life, dealing with ISD and libel laws whenever the rulers sense that their thin skins are pinched.The time has come for us to seek some help from the international community at the United Nations.
@ •iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
are we? when 60% of you lots are so kiasee/kiasu…
************************************************************************************************************************
- The answer is NO. 99.999% Singaporean are facing with the reality and courage except you (extra loud wo action).
@iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
If you rule Singapore, Singapore will become a big prison. You cannot even take in any new idea/discussion. So long as any one disagree with you, you shoot them down.
If you ever rule, we will be like north korea. And there u are, complaining about PAP. Take a look at yourself 1st.
If cynicism is taken to mean “distrust” and “a jaded negativity towards…” then it would be interesting to have a better idea of how many in the 40% who voted against the PAP are out-and-out distrustful and carry a jaded negativity towards the ruling party.
There will always be a certain number of people who are cynical – even in the most democratic of societies. It’s just part of their emotional-psychological make-up and worldview. It’s very difficult to convince such people.
What is of some concern would be those who have become cynical, when they were not so before.
Agree with the writer that cynicism is not a good thing for us as a society. Cynicism demoralises and robs a society of the necessary optimism and energy to get things done.
It’s important to highlight also that the opposite of cynicism is not to be pro-PAP apologists or Pollyannas. This is especially so if one is defending things which are questionable or because of vested interests.
Conversely, disagreeing with the PAP is not necessarily being cynical of the PAP. It could simply be a difference of views or even emphasis. And what’s more, the PAP is not infallible and one may be right in disagreeing with the PAP over a certain issue/policy.
And so, it will be good for us to become less “either-or” in representing our society. It will do us a lot of good to refrain from type-casting one another. What is most important is the truth and relevance of our views. Let our contention be over this.
Finally, what is vital is for Singaporeans to stop being passive and defeatist and to become more volitional and active – to start making positive changes ourselves. It is possible as ordinary citizens to hold our elected MPs accountable and to insist that they fulfill their duty to the nation. When we do so, the government of the day will then start to reflect what we want as a society. It would be foolish for any incumbent to fail to do so.
True Blue 29 May 2011
@ •iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
The answer is NO. 99.999% Singaporean are facing with the reality and courage except you (extra loud wo action).
only 29 May 2011
@iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
If you ever rule, we will be like north korea. And there u are, complaining about PAP. Take a look at yourself 1st.
………….
on the contray..
i hav you transfered to siberia where you will find the tzar burial ground…
as for you truebred..
i sent you to qatar to looked for that lost camel from tang village with a stepladder..why do you need a loudhailer?
you sellin leywrong leywrong?
It won’t be terrorism, an earthquake or a nuclear explosion going off in Bukit Timah hill that will finally destroy this country.
Our end will be brought about by the internet and social media, starting from ‘alternative news’ sites like this one.
If China, a country with a billion people and of which a third are internet users, can carry out net censorship and crackdown on online dissent in a moderately successful manner, only a fool would believe that the SG government cannot do the same, and be even more successful at it.
We should continue to have the PAP around. Cause Singaporeans are hopeless without PAP. Except for Creative, we still dont have an international brand which we can be proud of. It is the PAP government and their high paying civil servants which have placed Singapore in the global stage and invited talented foreigners all over the world with intelligence and innovations to build up Singapore. Remember the time when there was no foreigners around? Singapore fall into recession and we got no food to eat. Luckily PAP open the door to foreigners and finally we all got jobs and food to eat.
Singapore is a small country, how can you blame them for high costs of HDB flats? If you not happy than sleep on bum boats!! Medicine has become so advance and so the cost has skyrocketed all over the world. Global warming makes growing food difficult. Only through getting more and more foreigners in we can lower the price of medicine and food, since more demand will lower the price.
Singaporeans who are lazy and dont have jobs, definitely cant buy a house, cant get married, cant start a family. All these lazy Singaporeans will have no descendants and so their lazy genes will be wipe out from Singapore. And we should continue to invite hard working foreigners here to replace our lazy Singaporeans. In time they will decide to start a family here and be our new generation of Singaporeans. This is all natural selections, we should never play with nature, we must let it go with the flow.
@ PUSHleekingyouwheelschair
Sorry, I don’t really understand. I tried to figure what you trying to say.
Are you leading rebellious or you have been short-changed by Singapore progress or in the crack? Fight for it!!! See your MP, let us know the outcome.
I have talked to some of my friends about what I just wrote here, and here is some of my elaboration.
I wish to take back my statement when I said that 40% of our population thinks what was given came easy. The truth is, I don’t know whether that is true or not. I am also not sure if we had more opposition sooner we might not be in a better position than we are already in.
And people should be free to complain. I thought to myself, am I not somewhat complaining about the complainers myself too? And even the party I support have people who seem to complain quite a bit (e.g. Irene Ng). My friends said Singaporean MPs seem lazy too, and I have to say that from what I see I sometimes have to agree.
But I stand by what I say when I said that if anyone walks out of Singapore they will still see that Singapore is in fact not too bad. I wouldn’t say that Singapore is the best, but it it isn’t ‘below average’. So I hope everyone will stay rational and truly engage with each other instead of accusing each other of things.
Again, I apologize for my earlier unfounded statements. I was really in no position to make them, I was a little angry. I am an average _human being+ afterall.
Majulah Singapore.
True Blue 29 May 2011
@ PUSHleekingyouwheelschair
short-changed by Singapore progress or in the crack? Fight for it!!! See your MP, let us know the outcome.
…….
rebellous? you think i am a frickin school kid? shortchanged? try loosechanges instead..
pigbrain..ow much hav you got in your medicsaves/medishield?
$5000?$10,000? or even more?
when you got involved in a road accident
you go to the semi(no longer a 100% government people hospital in singapoor)
on your discharged..you are bein told to pay UPFRONT the minimum rates of $90?
if you hav no ca$h..then ow? stay LOCKUP till someone in your family come to BAIL you out? so smartARSH ole boi what is YOUR $10,000 medicsaves doin in YOUR account? you know that medisaves is DEDUCT monthly from YOUR wages…
now what looseCHAIN you wanna discuss further?
Stupid government is trying out alternative ideas and me wondering who is paying for all these social depilating ideas? Raiding our reserves or taxpayers monies of course.
Seriously, the way politics have turned out in Singapore, I will be surprise any decent and INTELLIGENT people will want the job – certainly not for 16K.
Better earn your keeps, even much lesser than 16K is still ok, then be dragged into serving demanding pigs ooops…i meant people.
You don’t serve the people, the people serve “GOD”, understand?
No you don’t :)
see lah, PAP’s fault for breeding cynicism. what is PAP going to do about laws that hold MSM on a tight leash like a lapdog at its command?
than there is the bulldog called ISD then got the other dogs like RC, PCF, PA, etc… my goodness, so many dogs. i dun understand why some people need so many dogs to do its bidding, especially if they are not dog breeders. i am not cynical, but these type of people like got some dark secret they are guarding.
if not like all hell will break loose…
:D
If you have hurt enough and you have heard enough, it’s time to mend your ways to heal the people’s heart. The people’s heart.
to my simple mind,i think that the ones to stop the cynicism is the PAPies themselves.
how could ministers elected by the people in a system that is sopposedly for the people,CAST DOUBTS on the abilities of its people?
how can any rationale economic mind of any repute think and say aloud that their own countrymen are less talented than the FTs they recklessly import without proper due diligence in the first place?
and this is proven by the sudden drop in our NATIONAL PRODUCITIVTY as compared to days when our own internationally acclaimed SINGAPOREANS were still trusted by their ministers to be of the BEST material?
so,whose fault should the current wave of ‘cynicism’ be?
“YOU HAVE 5 YEARS TO REPENT” quote unquote.
Of course not to him but to Him, to the people..
Balls bounce back.
We dont want big-bone-toad MPs who refuse to rise up from their seats to speak up for the people. We want to see live and lively parliamentary sessions. Not one with sleeping beaus and belles.
thank you iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
U have just bring down the support level of opposition party by talking senseless.
sometime, i think all these extremeists are actually PAP supporter like DR Chee.
They really want to push the supporter away.
PAP, u are good..
With 60% mandate, why must PAP makes such drastic change for the 40% who voted against ? No sane government in the world will do that. Reason is very simple, anything 60% and below PAP has infact lost the mandate to govern considering the fear of no upgrading, fear of property devalue, fear of civil servants, fear of voting is not secret, fear of…… These fears easily made up between 10-15% of voters who, though PAP won their votes but never won their hearts ! And PAP knows that’s why this urgent need to change and change fast but is this from their heart or are they being forced to in order to stay in power, protect their own empire ?
ty 30 May 2011
thank you iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
U have just bring down the support level of opposition party by talking senseless
…………
centLESS indeed..you havn’t even ANSWERed why should ALL of us pay upfront for emergency case treatments when we hav adequate MEDIC(as in medicine)$ave$ as though YOU think we checkin the emergency wards to live liked royales in a 5 stars hotels?…
who is AVOIDIN the i$$ue$ ere?
“Singaporeans at large too felt the PAP had too much of a chip on its shoulder”
That’s putting too mildly. Who cares if they have a chip on their shoulder…The problem is they keep chipping pieces off the citizens..each piece getting larger than the last!”
Dear PM,
Why singaporeans pay MP S$15000 a month and they still work part time only and most of your guys are still workings.
Some with so many companies and directors post.. Are YOu sure they have time to takecare your singapooreans?
I think they do not have enough time to manage their business and their bank accounts.
Every month they laugh to the banks like all ministers…especially the retire ministers with pensions…
Give some to your singapoorean lahh….
A good article and food for thought for the Elites, and well for some in the Cabinent and the MPs, the reasons for their service.
The Elites should know well that that civil discussions will not necessary result in their views being accepted or their narrow notions of what constitute success for the general populace.
It is an uphill tasks but one that Singapore as a nation must take. It is not too small nor it’s citizens too stupid to understand what are trade offs or simple solutions.
But one of the principal culprits is that of ministerial pay. The Cabinent should review the appropriateness of the justification of it’s salaries through a committee of professionals, and ex professionals or entreprenuers (not totally the ideal busineesman) many of whose firms do rely on contracts or services from the GLCs or statutory boards. Leaving that aside, for there are many arguments why it is
not appropriate,, the ministers should decide once and for all the reasons for their time and retain their ability to inspire and plan for the Nation through a simple act of using the salaries of other countries as a benchmark. The issue on attracting other potential office holders does not hold water, as money is not to be made through public office, a simple fact that has been perhaps forgotten by many of the office holders, who should not be there in the first place.
When debating ministerial salaries –multi million package, LKY presented his view –it’s the conventional wisdom. Meaning it’s the right direction..
And after May elections, PM Lee announced the committe to review ..
Don’t forget that PM Lee was the same leader who supported the multi million salaries.. Why now need to review after having pocked millions of our tax moneys?
Lost 2 ministers and a speaker.. Vote shares declined even he was assisted with 2 sn ministers and a super mentor..
Heavy loss..
Must do some ‘review’ shows lah. Now review minister salaries.. then flats prices and affordability, then FTs and flood..just to make you happy.
Then independent committee recommends a small cut and tell people how difficult the tasks of ministers..
The show will end with a short parliamentary debate with publicity from Lee-controlled media for daft to consume..
5 yrs later, if there’re some people still not happy with minister sal, the most PM make another apology on eve of GE 2016, PAP still can obtain a “clear mandate”..
It’s called PAP’s conventional wisdom.
Chinese comments in Temasekreview:
当年辩论部长百万高新事,李光耀说得够入骨了:It’s the conventional wisdom. 国民不要善忘哦。百万高新就是行动党与李光耀智慧的结晶,总理现在要检讨,是迫不得已的–大选失去两个部长及一个议长;在两个高级资政的协助下,干了6年,得票下降了。他能不去检讨吗?
古代有乡下姑娘被迫下嫁地主,有真爱吗?
那是无奈啊!政治游戏不也一样吗?无情的选票一去不回头啊。眼见行动党技穷智尽,用百万高新也找不到人才,住屋更新计划也买不回选民的心,作为末代皇帝,岂能吃眼前亏?
唯有学会忍气吞声,搞点“检讨”的把戏,找个自家人来做做样子,让第三者去告诉人们,部长的工作如何如何的不容易啊,如何如何大的风险与挑战啊,比起私人企业的总裁,如何如何的不同啊,没得比啊,然后再扣除什么什么的政治献身该扣除的部分,再打个肖折扣,每个部长和老板(总理、总统)的工资里切割一小部分,拿到国会做做样子,让喉舌媒体报给人民听听,做点文章,让人民心服口服。
独立的第三者都说要那么多,你们市井小民懂什么呢?还有什么好指手画脚呢?
顶多,再享受5年的高新后,2016年大选前夕,再来个“道歉”,让选民心软,再次对行动党投怀送抱。这样,左5年,右5年,很快行动党可以庆祝百年党庆喽!!难怪,李光耀说新加坡人是“Daft”–意思是”笨蛋”啦。
人家狂妄自大,藐视民意,把工资加到美国总统的6倍,你们还把60%选票投给他们,你说不是 Daft,是什么??
@ iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
centLESS indeed..you havn’t even ANSWERed why should ALL of us pay upfront for emergency case treatments when we hav adequate MEDIC(as in medicine)$ave$ as though YOU think we checkin the emergency wards to live liked royales in a 5 stars hotels?…
====================================
Why Should i answer u? I am not yr MP, i dont earn 15k as part time. Go ask your MP lah.
Shout at me for what? I own you nothing. I not PAP supporter but i understand complain using keyboard wont change anything. U got better suggestion, go suggest lah.
Do your part, dont talk like whole world own u a living.
There are two sorts of people in a team..
There are people who are team players. They may disagree about issues but once the dust settles, they agree to disagree and move forward as a team, in unity. Some may do it gingerly and others may be more gracious. But whatever, these are true members that really love the entire team and understands that everyone belongs to the team and will need to work together. They argue and disagree for the sake of the team, but they unite too for the sake of the team. They may not agree to a certain match or lineup, but nevertheless, they play it for the team and try their best to carry the team through.
On the other hand, there are also people who are not team players and in fact even have no concept of “team”. They never let go of their disagreement. They must have their own way or they’ll never let up. Thus, they become the ball of dead weight chained to the team’s ankles, dragging everyone down by stoking conflict through confusions and mischiefs. They declare their love for the collective whole (ie the “team” according to their own ideas), but they subconsciously or otherwise wish to bring down the “now” team and see another “future” one in THEIR OWN image of the ideal team. Similarly, they also don’t agree to a certain match or lineup, but unlike the team players, they not only don’t play it, but instead they even go so far as to sabotage their very own team in the match.
Very unfortunately for them, they forget that it’s the ONLY team around. The people are largely the same – there’s actually no other team unless they choose to leave it completely. There’s only ONE team for everyone to work at, or even around, our problems and limitations.
For Singapore, We must keep one thing in mind. The contest is not within. The real and fiercer war is actually fought without. Let’s be wary and not wreck ourselves with internal contests. Internal contests should be reasonable and must be aimed at the real common interests. It must not turn into an actual war itself. If we’re to lose the real war outside, we can still stand up as one people. But if we’re to lose due to an internal battle of attrition and confusion, it may well be that we won’t ever see ourselves on our feet again.
We must find a delicate balance between the two – the real war beyond and infinitely larger than this small but precious dot of ours, versus the internal transient contests within the confines of a mere non-descript dot. Let’s not turn internal contests virtually into a protracted civil war.
We’re a very small nation. We are one team, and we must work within this one team.
For 50 over years the PAP has been destroying all protestations, dissenters and opposition by gagging peoples’ mouth so that what they do will be in secret. What is the big secret? -it is to control all the wealth producing entities of the Nation by managing them at exorbitant remunerations. In Suharto’s Indonesia for instance, that Nation’s assets were foisted on themselves in ownership. In Singapore managing the honeypots is the mode of operation to milk the country. As if that was not enough, in 1994, the PAP hit upon the bright idea of paying themselves millions per year, being six to 10 times more than the remuneration of office holders in other governments, even Governments of Superpowers. It was easy to do because the ground was well prepared. There are no effective countervailing voice when the bill for the new Ministerial salary scheme was passed in Parliament.
All are made possible by; compliant judges who bankrupt anyone speaking out the secret; a controlled media which never report on anything connected with the secret; a secret faceless police which harass and imprison people who speak out the secret. In order to increase the GNP on which their salaries are ultimately calibrated, the PAP brouht in a million foreigners into Singapore over the last five years.
How are we the citizens of this country ever going to be free of this scourge, especially of the parasitic species of million dollar office holders who do nothing arising originally of themselves but parrot the two or three top leaders’ phrases and whole speeches? I ask you my fellow citizens, does not all these activites of suppressing a people to milk them sound like a crime against the Nation? Genocides and rape of populations by their own governments are brought to justice by UN Councils. What sort of crime has been done to us for the last decades of the 50 year rule by the PAP? Robbery.
ty 31 May 2011
@ iPUSHleekingyouwheelschair
====================================
Why Should i answer u? I am not yr MP, i dont earn 15k as part time. Go ask your MP lah.
Shout at me for what? I own you nothing. I not PAP supporter but i understand complain using keyboard wont change anything. U got better suggestion, go suggest lah.
Do your part, dont talk like whole world own u a living.
……………
than why did you bothered to rebutt me usin 3 aliases?
you don’t know ow…just usin your BIG loudmouth ere to blast..i on the other hands paid upfront in ca$h…
money talk the LOUDEST…
if you don’t hav both the ability…
don’t come ere to rebutt ME!
~PERIOD~
usin keyboard? when i already rebutt yeoch owtong/dhanabalan/shortlegg lived in person?
do YOU hav the balls to do what i DID?
yes or no will do
I believe Heaven waited for LKY to be frail to dispense this message to him, “so you think you are infallible; you are God?), and just to make sure he weeps into his grave, crumple PAP before his eyes, when he is too frail to react…call it retribution if you may.
3 aliases? u think too highly of yourself. Now i know more pple dont like u than me.
You talk like you are the only one paid $, my money not money??? on 2nd thot, lucky u know how to talk only, if you as one of OP MP, OP will goes down and no hope. REally lucky.
If one person rebutted you, maybe you or that person got problem. If more than 3 person rebutted, you better reflected on yourself.
You always talk with ~PERIOD~, your mind is closed, cannot accept any more new idea. No point talking to you anymore.
~PERIOD~
It is true that PAP will be the forerunner because presently, no opposition is equip to qualify to run a government. LHL is not qualified to manage or to be PM of Singapore. One must remember that he was groomed to be there. When he a just a young lad, he had to be the ‘one’so as to please his mother. His mother is the man of the house, what she says ‘goes’ and that includes Harry as well. She is the wit of the family. She was busy looking after the three children when LKY was busy making an image of himself, which he did. Mrs. Lee, mind you, is a very good ‘will’ lawyer and also a very good estate lawyer. Its very hard to break a ‘will’ or an estate ‘deed’ prepared by her. Ask all legal circles and they would agree. After her retirement, she must have comptemplated that Singapore have so much reserve. Her husband and now her son have contributed so much to Singapore. Perhaps they should look at the structure and peg salaries to GDP for all ministers. Therefore my point is LHL is a very obedient boy, does not mean he is a good PM. At the moment, I would say Tharman is the man. Teo CH is just a joe-blo!!!
Wonder whether the President’s voluptous increase of salary of almost $900,000 in March 2011 soon after he was brought down by Justice Chong in the Yong Vui Kong case in August 2010 as having no powers for clemency is a perverse show of power by the PAP. For it has been clarified by the bigwigs that the power of clemency has always resided in the Cabinet of Ministers in Parliament. I wonder what other of his powers will be usurped when expedient to do so.I wonder why have a President at all, if you do not leave him with a modicum of self propulsion. Why pay 4 million dollars a year to a useless caricature of a President? I think the answer lies in the legitimization of the Acts of the PAP.In the last 10 years they have been doing great things for themselves: Appointing themselves to choice honey pots of the Land, paying themselves farcifically high salaries, bringing a million foreigners to work here,adding 120,000 new citizens per year for the last five years and of course suing the life out of their opponents by means of a corrupt judiciary. If things turn bad, they could always recoil and have the President protect their acts. In fact he is assumed to listen to all proceedings in Parliament and demur to those he does not like.Characteristically he has in fact not demurred to anything, but that would not absolve him if a wrong is committed by the PAP. At the rate they go, the PAP is bound to overstep common decency very soon ( as in raising their own paychecks). The President is their steady lifeguard lolling in beaches of bright sand, intrinsically harmless, showing the benign face of a ju-ju. He also serves who only stands and wait, on the beaches of strategy. For the waiting he reaps millions of taxpayers’ money. But this is to ensure billions being paid to the PAP cohorts throughout the Land continue to flow.
The president is just a sitting duck for the ruling party. One of it is to cover the covert operations between the government and Temasek holdings.
I think our country is gripped by a mafia organization called the PAP, complete with police power and legal/institutional power. Twisting and turning, they menacingly manipulate the political ground such that there have been no one in 50 years to effectively obstruct or block their innovations for self aggrandisement and enrichment. Thus they suckle at the honeypots of the country, write themseves unheard of unearthly salaries, change the population make-up of the Nation so that we now walk almost always amongst people of other countries as fellow citizens, reinvent the notion of corruption by injecting into the rule of law blind spots on a magnificent scale etc. To keep in power forever they seemingly accede to our request to rationalise the Ministerial/Presidential salariea, conjure up an elected President who will be the greatest puppet the world will ever see. In these ways the Ruling Party hopes to preserve the status quo forever.
The problem is that the people not only want change….they want vengence….they want those who has profited unfairly to be punished. I don’t think the garment is going to do that. The PaP is like the Catholic Church…they let errant leaders just fade away to be erased from consiousness.