Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

23 Responses to “Exclusive TOC pictures from the rallies – 3 May”

1. hello 4 May 2011

Understand that over 200,000 foreigners are being fast-tracked to citizenship to bolster support for the PAP in time for the next election. This might be the last chance for Singaporeans who have grown up here, paid their taxes and contribued to the country’s reserves to protect their interests. We will be swamped by IT call centre people the next time round.

2. Anti-PAP n DICTATOR LEE 4 May 2011

VOTE FOR OPPOSITIONs. Family of 3 votes to Bishan Toa Payoh Mr Chiam ST,

3. imike 4 May 2011

Pap impressive track record…
    1.wks-mas selamat was resting in his brother’s flat for 3 days-wks sent t whole saf,police,gurkhas combing t jungle-
    iQ of a million$$ minister?/
    2.neh-tuition /a billion $$ industry -by product of t education system? cheap good education??
    3.vivian-does town council has t mandate to invest sinking funds$$? or CBT?? who’s b charged ??
    4.lky-stop @ 2 policy = 1.5MM aliens today?
    5.gst-remove estate duty – drop corporate & top income tax = gst – robbing poor to pay t rich??
    6.swee say -union chief- no minimum ?? wage-fighting for workers or bosses??
    7. mbt- latest bto still 3 x over subscribed – poor projections = sky high COVs. land cost for hdb flats??
    8.raylim -why didnt build t circle n down town lines 1st $$ instead of kje,tpe ??
    9.lim h kiang- why spore cant attract higher wage industries??
    perpetually using cheap labor aka FTs to prop up economy
    10.khaw-we waited 20 years for a hospital in t north.jurong industrial estate 40 years .
    how many woodlands residents were killed in ambulances rushing to tan tock seng??
    cheers..i salute u guys-IMPRESSIVE TRACK RECORD

4. Alan Teh 4 May 2011

Greetings Fellow Singaporeans. PRO-PAP or PRO-OPP.
    I have been reading and following both (Media by the ruling party) as well as the social media which is in my opinion less biased.
    I intend to write a long message but I decided to make my statements as concise as possible.
    I used to be a PAP supporter but I realized I need to use my vote wisely and vote which I think is important for the continued success of our small and vulnerable country which I loved.
    Key Issues with our Singapore currently:
    1) Low Birth rate. 1.16% (2010 Figures)
    2) Challenges faced by Globalisation and the rise of China, India and other emerging markets.
    3) Rising cost of living and stagnant growth in the average wage of common man.
    4) Aging population at an alarming rate due to extremely low birth rate. (Medical cost, Medical care, rising standard of living)
    5) Huge Income for MINISTERS.

Part 1.
    Singaporeans are having tough times. With low birthrates, it means that our future generation will suffer more from the aging population issue which we faced. This is because we do not have enough children to take care of old parents. Imagine 1 Adult taking care of two elderly and (IF THEY HAVE children on their own) this situation will worsen.
    The 60th to 70% of Singaporean earns less than monthly $2,298 gross in the year 2010 (You can visit singstats). This means, if the birth rate issue is not resolved, the aging population will worsen. Combine this problem with an adult with 1 children and 2 elderly, rising cost of living and medical cost will drive the average Singaporean crazy in the years to come.
    However we are working overtime and overtime most of the time. Productivity growth is a good solution but we need to do more than that. The lack of time and MONEY create stress and thus the low birth rate that we experience.
    Let Singaporeans have a more laid back lifestyle, your birth rate will grow. But this is difficult, considering the problems we have in part 2.
    Part 2
    However, the Globalisation issues from emerging economies flooding the world with more supply of workers than jobs, lower wages will pressure all nations. The European and the States has already experienced this problem. You can see by the shift of all production to India and China is by no means a coincidence. (This include the rise of high tech companies as these emerging market is catching up on technology at an alarming pace)
    If the Government of Singapore does NOT supply Singapore with cheap labor to keep the industry from shifting to emerging markets, we will and have the possibility to lose more jobs. However, by flooding Singapore with cheap labour, we created lower average wage and the potential loss of job to foreigners which will balloon the situation in Part 1. The government is trying to help prevent a major lost of employment by flooding Singapore with cheap labor.
    However, this is not the best solutions, we need more ideas to be brain storm in order to create a longer term solution to this situation. Our situation will probably be worse than Europe or US as we differ from the States and Europe because we DO NOT HAVE STRONG LOCAL EnterPRISE and MOST IMPORTANTLY, A LARGE POPULATION. Thus we are forced to rely on foreign investments and will continue to do so unless SINGAPORE can develop strong GLOBAL ENTERPRISE to continue to supply enough employment for Singaporeans OR INCReASE THE POPULATION OF SINGAPORE. (I AM AGAINST Foreign import as the only solution because most do not develop a sense of ownership to the loyalty of our country, even if they do, it will take a very long time and perhaps their 2nd or 3rd generation will only do so, just like our fore-fathers). WE SERIOUSLY NEED TO SOLVE PART 1. LOW BIRTH RATE.
    With good income, the spending power increases, the economy will be healthier. Increase population = increased spending power = economic growth.

Part 3
    Rising cost of living is a global issue. We cannot stop this from happening because we produce none of the basic necessity that we need for our daily living including WATER. (Yes reducing tax will help but does not solve the root of the problem). (I AM FOR the idea to exclude GST on basic necessity like basic food, transport and medical cost)
    I strongly suggest using our ROOFs of our buildings space seriously either for agriculture or energy (solar). We need to make use of all the available land. Every INCH Counts!
    Since we cannot stop the rising cost of living, we should then focus on growing Singaporeans wages in many ways possible. (How? We need to come up with good solution and not a short term one).
    Government must help Singaporeans OWN MORE ASSETS. If we have to allow foreigners to come in with lower wage, then government must help Singaporean have means to earn passive income. I see addition property ownership allows Singaporeans to have rental income when foreign friends come to work here. When local wages is depressed, their rental income will help Singaporeans still get by with rising cost of living. Instead of every citizen owns 1 home. I Hope we can change it to every citizen owns 2 home. One for their own use and one for their passive income when wages are depressed. (Balanced must be there to prevent Singaporean from being unemployed totally and laziness.)
    (I could expand this further, but it will be very long)

Part 4
    We Singaporeans are taught to be filial. When aging population is inevitable, we will see more of our fathers and mothers and grandparents growing old. Health care is definitely an issue.
    We need to be able to provide affordable health care, insurance and prevent Singaporeans from having to send their elderly to JB. (I am against it). Like it or not this will be a serious problem.
    With low birth rate and rapid aging population, we should be seriously looking at this issue. With the depressed income levels, this certainly doesn’t look promising.
    CPF money used on housing will left Singaporeans with little savings for retirement. And THIS WILL not only affect EVERYONE OF US, IT WILL KILL OUR ECONOMY.
    Housing should be keep low! Otherwise Singaporeans CANNOT RETIRE! And AT OLD AGE, THEY CANNOT COMPETE IN WORK! THIS IS SERIOUS!
    With no spending power at old age, imagine that a population of 30-50% will be 65 and above, do you think the economy will be good? NO. Thus, the easy way out is to import young foreign friends to help with the spending power of the aging population.
    I am not against foreign friends, however we should be more creative in solving our pressing issues.
    We need solutions that can create win-win and not a short term solution and eventually flooding Singapore with all foreigners. THIS IS NOT ALLOWED TO BE HAPPENING.
    HELP SINGAPOREANS BUILD PASSIVE INCOMES is the BEST SOLUTION WE SHOULD BE TAKING!
    5)
    Ministerial pay. While I agree high pay can attract talents, high pay also attract people who only work for money and not with their hearts.
    With the above issues that we have to face. A ZERO RESOURCES SINGAPORE and a GLOBALISATION Threat, we definetly need all the best talent we can find to help SINGAPORE AND SINGAPOREANS MOVE into a BETTER FUTURE.
    However, all the solutions I seen from our Million dollar minister are far from impressive. Because their solution does not give us a way to break from our current impending challenges. What I see they are taking the easy way out to flood Singapore with foreigners to replace the low birth rates, and decline in spending power that an aging population will bring.
    Thus I do not see why we need to pay them this amount for the GDP growth is simply achieved by INCREASE IN WORKING POPULATION TO RAISE SPENDING POWER and drives economy.
    Unless we can see good proposal that can yet not dis-advantaged Singaporeans and our CHILDREN IN THE YEARS TO COME, I do not think that we should pay them such amount.

Conclusion. I will vote for opposition this time round to let you know that we really have a Major Problem that is looming SINGAPORE AND SINGAPOREANS IN THE YEARS TO COME.
    I Love SINGAPORE thus will not do nothing about it. No matter how small my effort is, I know I will try my best.
    My Vote goes for opposition to keep The ruling party accountable and more “Singaporeans Focused” than just blindly chasing economic figures to boost their insane minister wages.

5. LIONS ROAR 4 May 2011

by now,most of us,like myself,must have attended or seen and heard on TV or radio or better still,sites like TOC,what are OPPO SINGAPOREANS are and HOW THEY THINK and waht they HOPE TO DO FOR SU,TRUE BLUE SINKIES.

IT IS BUT A LONG 5 YEARS WAIT each time before we are opportuned enough to have a chance to ‘SAY OUR PEICE’ as it is and to have the ‘LISTENING EARS ‘ of the huaghty PAPies who pretend so very hard to try and please???

SINGAPOREANS,if you call yourselves ‘TRUE BLUE LIONS ANS LIONNESSES’ then it is time WE ROAR AS ONE!…YES,FOR OURSELVES ,OUR FAMLIES ,OUR FRENS ,OUR COUNTRYMEN!!!

the OPPO are here to lend us support and offer their SERVICES;they are not here just to plead with us – that,the PAPies are doing by pleading with us to allow them to say ‘SORRY’???

THE oppo,my frens,ON THE CONTRARY,have not committed any sort OF grievances against us,the sinkies,all they are doing at rallies,walkaabouts,IS TO PLEAD WIHT US to help them to HELP US!

SO,VOTE SACRDELY even as you VOTE SECRETLY.

WE MUST RESPECT THAT SINGLE VOTE,to many among us,IT IS YOUR VERY LAST PRECIOUS POSSESSION that the PAPies – with their FTs-going-tobe-NEW CITIZENS – are NOW COVETTING.

6. a commentator 4 May 2011

I read with amazement the news item on PM’s apology.

It is quite clear that PAP is trying to scare and fool the people again. Before the election, it is claiming that it is a first world government doing all the right things. It is getting the media to keep drumming the same good messages, trying to fool and ly to the people.
    As the election goes on, as opposition and people/netizens voice out the unhappiness and bring the issues out to the table, PAP sense that this is a different election, and there is strong movement that can cause big damage and significant losses to PAP. The other thing is that the opposition has presented very credible candidates that attract and change the mind of voters that have not made up their mind. Then PAP then begins its usual tricks, trying to scare the people that if voters vote the opposition, the future of Singapore may be endangered. A bunch of lies by PM, MM, SM and other incumbents like George came in full force, and drummed up and repeated time and again by the news media.
    They thought this might work. Their poll shows otherwise. Hence comes the emotion card by PM—claimimg that PAP has done wrong things and asked for people’s understanding( short of asking for forgiveness). In the meantime, George continued to raised the pressure and stake, charging WP is using the voters as chips, after the initial claim that Aljunied GRC voters are caught in between emotionally between PAP and WP. And Tan Hwee Hwa has also come charging out saying that the finances of Hougang town Council are not clear. The purpose is to smear the WP and create fear/doubts in the voters who might be leaning towards the opposition. If PAP has any concrete evidence of wrong doing, they would have come charging out already given their past behavior. The way Madame Tan puts it, it is quite iffy and wishy/washy, trying to catch wind and shadow(using a Chinese proverb) and hope to milk something out of nothing.

PM said that MM is just MM. The problem is we all know who is behind the scene, running the show– none other than MM. PM cant walk away from MM. SM is another part of PM’s problem.

So, in short, the PM is not sincere at all in his apologies. He is using this to fool the people—first the lies, then the threats, finally the emotion card, coupled with insinuations by George and Tan.
    I just read that Khaw Boon Wan cried in the rally—another show.

7. Frog 4 May 2011

@Alan Teh, whole hearted-agree.

Crisis is looming and the incumbents are still painting a bright, rosy pictures to the guillible citizens.

Just take a step back and see. Do you wanna continue living in the matrix or do you wanna see the truth?

We’re the laughing stock of many-a-country. And we still have blind supporters thinking that we should be contented with what we have? We should be thankful? That we’re still numero uno??

Wake up guys. Time to move on. Only dead fish go with the flow. Do something now.

Cheers

8. New Citizen 1001 4 May 2011

“Understand that over 200,000 foreigners are being fast-tracked to citizenship to bolster support for the PAP in time for the next election. This might be the last chance for Singaporeans who have grown up here, paid their taxes and contribued to the country’s reserves to protect their interests. We will be swamped by IT call centre people the next time round.”

I’m a new citizen although I’m living in Singapore more than 15 years..just to say foreigners aren’t stupid, those who take the citizenship they consider that after a lot of thinking.
    Personally, I’ve no reason to vote for opposition, but I have detailed understanding of what’s democracy, what’s freedom of speech and what Worker’s party chief exactly meant by saying ‘goal post is smaller than the ball’.
    Don’t be mistaken the foreigners who decides to take the citizen of Singapore would like to see their children in a country just like all the 2nd of 3rd generation Singaporean.
    There is no reason to think differently just like all of you me and my wife will be with opposition come 7th May.

Keep it up your good work to build a new Singapore for all of us and our children.
    But a word of caution, after given a chance if opposition falters to satisfy people’s aspiration then I wouldn’t have a 2nd thought to go with PAP in future.

9. chan 4 May 2011

VOTE FOR OPPOSITIONs. Family of 3 votes to Bishan Toa Payoh Mr Chiam ST,

me also 3 vote to mr chiam

10. chan 4 May 2011

the best thread i had read so far…thump up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11. David 4 May 2011

Aiyo!! I hope the opposition don’t fall sick under the rain. They will be elected as MP in parliament, no MC please.

On the other hand, I happened to meet a newly minited citizens in WP rally, they also feel Singapore should be a two-party state. Kudos!!!!

12. Dr Vincent can do the Job for us. This earns him our vote! 4 May 2011

Guys, What do we need an MP for?
    To VOICE UP for us.

Which of the 82 voiced up for us?

An MP can , like any human, have his or her own sexual Orientation. As long as he can do the job of an MP for us, why are we asking for him to do something outside of his duty as a MP?

So, lets look at things in perspective.
    Dr Vincent has clearly proven he is able to voice up for us. That earns him out vote.

13. anonymous 5 May 2011

@ Alan Teh,
    Space and length constraint probably restrict your elaboration of thoughts. I like part of your economic analysis and linkage to population. Yes globalisation impact caught our Goverment off-guard. LHL admitted that much to CNN in October 2010 and SM Goh admitted the non-sustainable model based on cheap foreing influx to SCCC recently. I coined the term “eat-and-shit” economy of massive dependent on foreign labour to create consumption demand. Low wage for foriegners also means low spending capacity, so you need huge population base increase to add to marginal gain in consumption and GDP but the “shit” ( negative impact) is housing costs escalation, costs of living pressures and congested public facilties from transport to medical care. Rising costs is killing Singaporeans as wages stagnate or in fact decline – hence a lot of bitterness on the ground which neither the Govenrment nor MSM wants to hear or publish until yesterday faint heart apology of failures of so many macro policies together.

Our fundamental economic model is flawed for too long – no domestic enterprise of global market reach and GLC is only “hot” inside Singapore of mollycoddled protection of controlled environment- just like a sheltered kid cannot survive on their own. Outside Singapore, they hardly make a beachhead of market penetration and survival. So Singapore is STUCK like a supertanker in the Johore Straits trying to do a 3-point turn to venture out into the distance sea and ocean to find survival but the captain and crew clueless of direction and ability. Even trying to find pathways external via TH and GIC proved consistent failures OUTSIDE SINGAPORE. Suzhou is public shame of monumental proportion – known to MNCs and our investments abroad on listed shares has found no success as yet, except Singtel.

That is why I agree with SDP manifesto that TH and GIC should gradually be dismantled. I believe it is better to distribute those assets there to Singaporeans who got guts, creativity and enterprise to VENTURE OUT IN THE WORLD to find and develop the international arm of Singapore Inc. A lot will fail but there will also be spectacular success – SOMETHING THAT ELUDED US VIA TH AND GIC now of seemingly endless blackholes. In investments and business, Government cannot do better than private enterprise. Singapore is too small, 99.9% of the opportunities must exist OUTSIDE Singapore, not inside. Those who have ventured out and made it good knows what is available out there.

On the point of inflation, it is largely self-inflicted of this crazy “asset enhancement politics” of air-bag economy of bubble – self illusion of economic grandeur like China now. When bubble burst, lot of early funerals will come. We all know Singapore’s key weakness – no natural resources BUT WE DID NOTHING TO ALLEVIATE AND NEGATE THIS WEAKNESS. Japan and South Korea succeed very well – they invested in a lot of natural resources projects in different parts of the world to supply and support their economy. China is getting very aggressive in the last 10 years in the same direction. India, Thailand is following. WE ARE ASLEEP AND CONTINUES TO SLUMBER IN DRUNKARD STUPOR.

I see a need to restructure our economy in the next 10 years if we are to survive – looking for opportunities. Since TH and GIC can’t perform, then Singaporeans must do the hard slog and risks taking. Give the assets in TH and GIC to Singaporeans and let them fight for themselves on the global stage. The assets of TH and GIC belongs to all Singaporeans. If the Goverrnment cannot perform, how do we know the citizenry cannot do better when I see many success stories abroad???

I want change too. This Government is overfed, TOO FAT AND LAZY, SLOW IN THE BRAIN and Singapore stuck with illusion of grandeur of “track record” when this record is one hollow joke of decapacitated no-sustainability. Bring in more opposition to kick butts in Parliament, sleeping and also tell us they are deaf frogs to criticism and change. Their focus of every move till this period of election wait is preservation of longevity of their political interest, not the future of Singapore.

I had enough. Singapore matters, political parties are like underwear needs regular changing.

14. Frog 5 May 2011

@anonymous

Wonderful piece of writing. Second that whole-heartedly.

The complacent big, fat, lazy buggers are still thinking we’re the best. We’re the envy of the world.

Typical of kingdoms in sunset – living in self-delusion and denial.

15. anonymous 5 May 2011

@ Frog
    From time immemorial, MSM had been an AWEFUL tool of CONCEALMENT of policy failures of Government. It played up the contrast of orchestra and firework show of little achievements in Government as such wonder success NOT replicated elsewhere and marry that with the no-so-subtle illusion message that the incumbents are indispensable. The whole gamut of media is to keep Singaporeans minds oppressed and INSULAR even in this era of globalisation when 99.9% of the threats and opportunities is OUTSIDE Singapore. The same insular “caterpillar mentality” of groupthink exist in Government pulling caterpillar along the same path of impoverished failures and delusion by treating oppositions and citizenry really like “mushrooms” – keep them in the dark – easy to oppress and rule in a sea of failures.

I thought it is STUNNINGLY AMAZING that so many successful businessmen and professionals – the stalwart base of PAP support – have turned against PAP, long before the crop of quality credible candidates ‘suddenly” popped up from seeming nowhere to join opposition camps.

I found these in social circuits lunch and dinner time conversations. The Government had were caught “off guard” that talents were hidden and their own are no match shows how badly they were out of touch with realities on the ground.

Yet we find Ministers on election rally deny the Government is out of touch – UNBELIEVABLE despite the real pains on the ground and quality opposition candidate prop up like “mushrooms”. To me, it was really like what a PRC old man taught me in China – “mushrooms gorw on deadwoods, the mushrooms knows what is happening, the deadwood knows? And in Boat Quay rally to professionals living in suburbs, irrelevant foreigners, which is hardly a valid voting constituency of voting importance, LHL finally bowed to reality. The GOVERNMENT IS OUT OF TOUCH -housing and transportation along with other policies were spectacular failures. In my mind, much of the Government, overfed, FAT, LAZY and slow in the brain are almost near to brain dead and LHL in a daze of reality finally owns up policies failed but promised not concrete measures as to how these will be resolved. I noted he had NOT touched on two bigger failures – globalisation impact on our economic future and Singapore’s economic model is unsustainable of going forward successfully. In a nation gridlocked by political dictatorship reinforced by GRC-induced groupthink, how can this nation shakes off its shackles to reinvent itself – he didn’t address this issue.

In this country, POLITICS OF OPPRESSION,SPIN, SECRECY AND DECEPTIONS RULED ECONOMIC but success require us to allow ECONOMIC RULE POLITICS. Until we shake up politics in this peaceful orchid revolution of political process so hellbent on political longevity instead of national survival, i can’t see hope for progress. We live in a turbulent world of globalisation and need to be nimble, fast, and adapative but the core mindset in governance is trapped in stability focus of the status quo i.e. of unshakeable pre-occupation of preservation of self-interest and big pay checks of no performance. The possibility of loss of an honourable Foreign Minister in a GRC troubled them instead of the larger good of change and revitalisation of checks and balances, restructuring of our archaic, de-capacitated body politics of “failed-policies keep-them-in-concealment politics” override etc etc is overlooked. As LHL puts it correctly, the PAP is not the indispensable party to rule in Singapore, so why this inexplicable rotten and ruthless determination to over-ride change tsunami for the sake of political longevity instead of a level-playing field for the best ideas, best leadership, and best governance leading Singapore forward?

The groupthink in Government and even among interns are so staggering obvious. Look at how one video ended up on the political stage with groupthink signed support – ridiculous political suicidal miscalculation of ALL INVOLVED! Are voters going to hear nothing but SEX AND MORE SEX ( assuming even if the attack is valid of substance and it is NOT) for the entire campaign period to overshadow the kind of substance LHL spoke of failures in his Boat Quay rally?

Change cannot come from within this caterpillar mindset of groupthink. It is a dead culture and religion that infected the ruling party from the moment of induction.Imagine a corrupt police force bribe recruits and take them on paid prostitution treat right on the first day of probation “on-the-job” training by their senior mentor officers, how can then you EVER going to eliminate corruption in the police force? This is the kind of things happening in Australia and China.

We the voters have to do that changing of political culture in this election from the outside, most sadly and unfortunately but the only available desirable solution.

16. Alan Teh 5 May 2011

@anonymous

Very well written. I second that.
    Our Country is in the mist of vulnerability.

We need the best talents that wanted to serve with a heart.

I believe that a good balance can be met if we look into the needs of Singaporeans and the challenges we faced.

Import Population is only an easy way out and we need a better proposal to resolve this issue badly.

17. No fool 5 May 2011

ONE apology will lead us into FIVE YEARS of MISERY!!!

Leopard canNOT change its spots!

18. anonymous 5 May 2011

@Allen Teh,
    I looked at Ministerial public speeches, the writings of Government-controlled media, the 2nd April 2011 CNA 5-way political dialogue, I have a compelling apprehension that the Government is in either concealment of the true nature and extent of our national vulnerability or they are really clueless. In social ecologist thinking, social scientists called this “environmental illiberality and incomprehension” which is partially admitted by LHL at Boat Quay rally. The Government had incomplete information ( true in conditions of environmental uncertainty) but policy analysis and implementation were STAGGERINGLY POVERTY of success.

As one blogger puts it correctly, immigration and housing numbers are in Government’s hand first up before anyone else and continuing of information disclosing impact, how can LHL tells us that he did NOT fanthom the volume of foreign influx and the shortage of housing construction to meet that needs. And as this blogger spoke candidly, foreigner are not expected to stay on trees and swing from trees to trees to get to their workplace (in Raffles place perhaps!)

To be fair, Josehphine Teo in that CNA meet mentioned of “turbulence” but quickly buried that with rheotric claims of outstanding achievement in GFC recovery. Complete nonsense! It is the spending of $20.4 billion that added to the GDP figures – without which it would be a big negative GDP reduction. If I print $20.4 billion and spent it on nothing else useful but just building sewarage plants all over Singapore, it will also add 8.7% to GDP. The wonder GFC recovery, Jospehine Teo spoke of, is just empty political fodder for public consumption. That is why all the failures is staring before our faces now which LHL found it politically necessary to admit, not deny as his Ministers have been doing on the election campaign trail. And if you annualised the GDP growth over the 3 years, the gain is paltry but paid for massively in housing and costs of living escalations for Singaporeans alongside transport and medical services congestions, on top of job displacements and countless career destruction wreaking havoc in homes and families – LL HAS ITS ROOTS IN MASSIVE FOREIGN INFLUX. The costs of population economic irrationality far outweight the GDP statistics which fatten the wallet further of the elite political class. IT IS CLASSIC POLITICAL DECEPTION of the masses to talk of GDp staitistics. I am reminded of the late Mao Tse Tung wisdom teaching to his political cadres …treat your peasants grievances, searching eyes and roaming mind with false pleasantries of caring love but once back in your political office DO THE REVERSE!” I wonder is that why our politicians also says, we are frogs deaf to criticism and the complaints are “noises” only.

I believe our national vulnerability is far and deep ( it is too big a topic for me to write here), and our economic model and political institutions need a thorough workover ( just like a declining oil well) not just thinking outside the box but “diagonally” as well in search of new direction globally.

Political and economic dinosaurs don’t survive turbulence. Look at IBM, how different it is today from 2 decades ago as a top mainframe computer manufacturer. Nokia was forestry business. Look at Toshiba now compared to 2 decades ago. BHP was a steel company but now the world’s top global resource entity.

Stability seeking of the inner core in a turbulent era SELF-DESTRUCT from within. Any politician that preach stability now is stupid beyond recognition. Internet shifted the political grounds under your feet as you walk a moment in your life. If you can’t accept that, better be dead than involuntary extinction!

19. An Open Letter To Singaporeans 5 May 2011

Posted at
    http://www.temasekreview.com/

20. chan 5 May 2011

Blessed Iren
    Part 1

This was posted on my wall by a friend of mine….

“though i am very against the influx of FTs, i still treat them like a fellow being and have never look at them with a different perspective. I was having lunch with a PRC colleague. shes a 24yr old gal who just graduated from NTU and now working in a MNC while waiting for PR approval. just started a casual topic like, wad do u like about this country and how are u coping so we get the standard reply. wad stuns me, was the answer to my next question.

Blessed Iren
    Part 2

The conversation….

me: ” so wad makes u decide to come here”
    ……
    PRC: ” i didnt”

me: ” wa, ur parents force u here or ur bf is here”

PRC: “neither, ur SG gahment invited us here”

me: ” huh, wad do u mean”

PRC: ” ur MOE went to our school in our village and told us they URGENTLY
    need students here, infact they were hardselling the whole scheme and many of us signed up”

me: ” huh, wad did they offer”

PRC: ” they offer us, ALL Expenses paid for our fees in NTU, including lodging and we even get pocket money”

me: *mouth open

PRC: “on top of that, they have send me the INVITATION letter to apply for PR after we grad”

i seriously begin to wonder the magitude of the FT problem has many more sides that many of us do not know.

WHAT THE HELL IS THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WE SINGAPOREAN HV TO BEG PEOPLE TO COME?????????????????????????????????

21. Frog 5 May 2011

Excellent stuff anonymous.