Stephanie Chok /

As a mother-to-be and eligible voter, I am, for the first time, considering a) who to cast my vote for, and b) ‘my child’s future’.

This is the PAP’s ongoing mantra – vote for us, think of your children’s future and your grandchildren’s future, not to mention your assets and property values and job opportunities.

Well, I have been thinking hard about my child’s future, and the sort of Singapore I would like him to experience and fully participate in as he grows up. I have also been thinking about the norms that he will be exposed to, that will have the ability to shape his formation as a young adult. I have also been considering what sort of lessons our current socio-political landscape will be teaching him (and it discomforts me greatly).

I would like my son – yes, it’s a boy, says the doctor – to respect leaders for their integrity, dedication to service and commitment to justice that is not bereft of compassion.

I would like him to be steered by courageous leadership, one that does not succumb to easy appeals to greed and fear in order to secure votes, but inspires him to rise above self-centredness to support decisions that may, potentially, cause him some temporary discomfort, but may ultimately result in a more humane alternative to the current ‘catch up or die’ development model.

I would very much like my child to be able to speak his mind respectfully yet fearlessly if he disagrees with the status quo, without having to hover in the background to remind him: ‘Be careful, son!’ (And then give a long and somber lecture about the existence of the Internal Security Act and how it has been abused in the past to silence and intimidate persons who disagreed and tried to challenge the system.)

I want him to grow up learning that loyalty should be earned, not bought. That if he was ever to become a politician, or even a team leader in his school or manager of a company, that his key strategy should not be to induce obedience through a coercive combination of threats and bribes. If my son wins – a competition, a promotion, an election – I would like to be proud of how he won it through a ‘clean fight’. That he won the respect of others who have selected him because of his capabilities, his potential, his sincere desire to serve others.

I would like my son to appreciate humility and its power to move others. Genuine humility, that comes from admitting to human frailties and mistakes and taking responsibility for them. Humility that is demonstrated by listening with sincerity to others with differing – even opposing – views, without being dismissive, patronizing or bullying them into silence.

I would like my child to grow up in a country where the ‘good life’ is not merely characterized by GDP growth, but by the measure in which fellow citizens protect and care for each other, particularly the most vulnerable amongst us. I look forward to him being part of a country where he could, without being a Presidents Scholar, or even a degree holder, be recognized and valued for whatever skills and talents he possesses. I want him to work in a country where he could excel in a trade if he so chooses – e.g. carpentry, bricklaying, horticulture – and be paid a decent, living wage for an honest day’s work, a wage where he could afford to get married, buy a comfortable (not necessarily luxurious) home and raise a family.

I want my child to be convinced that in this society, there is no shame or crime in being different, that it is important to think critically, imaginatively, and boldly – that the road to success is not through memorizing model answers or mindlessly filling in the blanks with droll answers provided by judicious instructors. I hope that he can flourish within an education system that genuinely fosters creativity, spontaneity and sparks of harmless mischief, and doesn’t kill enthusiasm for subjects/curricula not perceived as ‘profitable’ – e.g. philosophy and literature, as opposed to engineering or accounting.

I want my child to grow up with a healthier understanding and experience of democracy than I have. I want him to experience a Singapore where it is not accepted as ‘normal’ for Members of Parliament to hold on to their positions for years – even decades – without having ever been voted in; where ‘live’ debates between politicians of different parties over pertinent policy issues are a regular feature; where civil liberties such as freedom of assembly and expression and the right to information are not treated as ‘luxuries’ but recognized as the fundamental rights of mature citizens.

I want him to be able to experience the dynamism of an egalitarian society at its best – one where persons fight fearlessly to protect the principles of truth and justice, yet never forget the beauty of mercy and gentleness.

But most of all, I do not want my child, when he is 21 and no longer a child, but an adult about to vote himself, to ask me, perhaps with some measure of disappointment, maybe resentment, or possibly despair: ‘Mom, why didn’t any of you do anything?’

I am 38 years old this year, and I can finally vote.

And because I’m thinking of my child’s future, I know exactly what I want to say come 7 May 2011 at my local polling station.

————–

Picture from Hands On Communication.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

90 Responses to “GE 2011: My vote and my ‘child’s future’”

1. Thor 2 May 2011

TS

I contest your notion. PAP is not our country. They are just another party with their own ideology. We have all been programmed by LKY that we will fail without them. It’s not true. I believe in us, Singaporeans. We are resilient. We can bounce back. We can build a better country together.

2. alitheia 2 May 2011

to tailormade:

I agree with you. Democracy must be nurtured and protected.

It is vitally important that after 7th May, the process of making the Singapore system more transparent, accountable, responsive and responsible, must continue.

It is unlikely that the opposition will make substantial inroads. Gaining more than 10 seats will be a major triumph.

There are many important and vital things to be done in the nurturing and protecting of a democracy.

The electorate must start maturing and fast. We cannot and must not be stuck at the level of sniping at policies or the denigrating of alternative views.

We must move on – to understand our political system – how it works. We must learn about the roles of the executive, legislature, judiciary, the civil service, the media, public and private groups and citizens in the democratic process.

We must all learn about the constraints we face, as well as the potential we have, as a city-state.

How can this happen?

A parliament with an increased opposition presence will definitely help.

But beyond that, it is vitally important that our schools and the media take on the tasks of educating and informing the citizenry.

The media especially must do more – to be more balanced, more probing, more thoughtful in their reports and analyses of current affairs and national affairs.

People have become cynical about the mainstream media – and for good reason. Something is urgently needed to redress this distrust. The media needs to work hard to regain trust by fighting for and defending its integrity.

The media plays a critical role in helping Singaporeans to engage in rational, soulful reasoning of issues. That we are still relatively immature in our awareness and reasoning of national/current affairs is a reflection of how badly our media has done.

What is clear is that we cannot let politicians (whichever party they come from) to manipulate or distort information so as to deceive. A honest, independent and responsible media is vital in this equation.

3. Stephanie,

That’s how my kids will be brought up. Your article is clearly tailored for TOC reading. My kids will be brought up to know the pros and cons of the Singapore system and will have chance to see how other countries operate. They will make a fully informed choice hearing rhetoric from all sides and knowing that in the heat of the elction, one-sided propositions have always presented. They will know what the TOC is up to and similar they will know how to judge appropriately when they read ST or other broadsheets like NYT, SCMP etc.

In the end, they will be courageous and chose what they feel is right for the country.

4. TRUST WHOM? 2 May 2011

Watch and then decide WHOM to TRUST?
    SAVE our next generation children from DEBTS.

Share with your friends the lyrics of the links is so heart warming

http://www.youtube.com/user/project2O11#p/a/u/0/p1tzIRkIFs0

5. Bally 2 May 2011

WE HAVE BEEN CHANGING
    My young colleagues ensure they have a home beautifully furnished before they get married. My siblings, friends and I rented one room in a hdb flat as our first matrimonial home. My parents had 6 children and the eight stayed in one room in an apartment with four other families.

My father worked 7 long days a week. I worked a 6 day week for the larger part of my career. My children gets a 5 day work week.

A piece of kit kat once a year was luxury to my dad. For me it was a plate of noodles in a restaurant. My nieces have cafe in their schools.

Our best rushed to get a place in an overseas university. Now the rest of the world rush to study in Singapore.

We envied the progress and opportunities the world provided. Now we are the envy of the world.

Surely we have changed and change for the better. I am thankful as I could not have done better.

Studying overseas was a dream. My sister studied in

6. Robert Teh 2 May 2011

Yes, there are changes. For the elites, the rich and higher-middle class, there have enjoyed the fruits of people’s long-term sacrifices made for these upper crusts out of their sweats and toils.

All that is needed is to tax and hoarde people’s monies by charging them for all the essential services to accumulate as reserves. Theh sell all the citizens’s lands for housing and all essential services for profits with which to pay higher salaries to all the elites and upper crust.

Why not tbe elites and upper crust be happy with such changes.

7. FrankZhen 2 May 2011

Hi Ms Stephanie Chok, very well said! Exactly what i would have said if i had done that earlier hehe! Cheers for a brighter future!

8. voters 2 May 2011

Straw poll @ a new chinese website
    新加坡大选民意测验
    http://baijiaxing.asia/forum-1696-1.html

9. Probin Dass 2 May 2011

Superb article. The author has highlighted the real problems we are facing, a dysfunctional society created by the PAP. This is not the sort of country that right thinking people could possibly want. I believe that the majority of Singaporeans are right thinking and would say “No” to the PAP if only they were not scared of the retribution the PAP has promised. Any government that would threaten its own citizens with punishment for not supporting it has lost all moral auhority to govern. They should lose legal authority as well. Vote the PAP out for a brighter future!

10. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 2 May 2011

dear mother-2-be
    you worrid bout your son’s futures
    i already worrid bout my nephew/nieces
    i already planned my nephew’s future
    already willed all my assets to him
    all my outstandin IOUs/redbills..my nieces take..
    hee hee
    bloomin biased chauvenist pig uncle i am

~sigh~

11. Truth 2 May 2011

The PAP is Not Singapore…..this is myth!

The opposition does Not want to destroy Singapore…

We are all Singaporeans and we all care for Singapore….

By voting for checks and balances we protect the future of Singapore!

We are just being wise and prudent, we do not foolishly trust those who say Trust Me!

12. durty hairy 2 May 2011

i think this is just too much of an idealist notion n Utopian concept. pinch urself n wake up, cuz all u hv is the ends and no means… ur exactly what is wrong with this country!

13. biased 2 May 2011

Then the child must know what is GRATITUDE.

14. Robert Teh 2 May 2011

Twenty years ago, Mah Boh Tan talking about no free lunch and changed cost-plus public housing to market-price private housing to make monies on government lands in the name of asset enhancement. He has lost his direction – profiteering instead of serving the people on public housing.

He is the minister who has caused our loss of economic competitiveness. With lowering of disposable income, and ever increasing business costs, people and businesses are unable to have extra saving to go into business.

The whole government has become a money-making machinery called Singapore Incorporated.

What has the ruling party done with so many feedbacks to lessen the rising costs of housing and living due to such tax-and-profiteer policy started by the ministers out of fear painted out of bogey of welfarism

Is it correct and conscienable to use fear to govern the country?

It is not utopian to ask for simple change. Stop all the fear tactics and start looking after the interests of the people.

15. ReL Singapoerans 2 May 2011

For those of you who have received your baby bonus and tax subsidy remember who have provided for these. The opposition parties did not gave you all these benefits it’s PAP who have done so! Vote wisely come 7 May, we are watching.

16. No voice to Objection 2 May 2011

No voice to VETO objection
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIJzks6ByRs&NR=1

17. Robert Teh 2 May 2011

If HDB land cost is acquired at S$0.68 per sq ft x 1000 sq ft and marked up at S$100,000.00 against an original cost how much profit did the government make?

If you add all the taxes from personal income tax to COE, ERP, Development Charge and Stamp Fees how much are the government taxing the people?

Mind you, instead of using taxes to provide essential services like medical, transportation, etc, government passes all the services to GLCs to charge you again at market prices.

What happen to all the billions of taxes paid by people?

Let’s be honest. The government will start splashing your taxes on expensive projects and even lose them on overseas investments like Shin Corps, Citibanks and other toxic investments.

Do not kid yourself that government is giving you monies like baby bonuses or estate upgradings.

Think of national interest. Don’t get deceived by lies like this.

18. Frankie 2 May 2011

Gratitude? You should be grateful to a person. Not a political party.
    Not a company. You only have to be laid off to find out how silly that is.

PAP as a political party will do what it takes to survive.

19. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 3 May 2011

ReL Singapoerans 2 May 2011
    For those of you who have received your baby bonus and tax subsidy remember who have provided for these. The opposition parties did not gave you all these benefits it’s PAP who have done so
    …………
    and the money comes from pap party funds right?
    and you want the opposition party to give you FREE money?

when was the last time you check into kadang kebrau maternity hospital to give birth? did you check the PRIZElist?
    its more than the 5 stars shangrila hotel..

brainDEAD you are..greedy as well..beside being stupido

20. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 3 May 2011

biased 2 May 2011
    Then the child must know what is GRATITUDE.
    ………….
    surfin national services and 13 more ears of ippt not enough gratitute?
    asked our prince..ow many ippt did he undertake? let alone his 2nd son complete a full military service

21. Daniel Hammond 3 May 2011

am really in support of this course..Keep on the good work

22. Deaf 3 May 2011

Of course we care for the future of our children. All parents are willing to spend on their kids even before they are born.
    Rising medical cost? Most preggers (not all) will choose private hospital to KKH.
    Rising housing cost. Yes, it true but it’s also true that some young couples with no kids and living on their own prefer to get a 5-room than 3-room.
    Rising living cost? True but it’s also true that people are more willing to spend on branded goods and dine in expensive restaurant or a few hundreds a night on alcohol at pubs.
    I’m not supporting any parties here. Just a sudden flow of thoughts.

23. Puppy cannot make it 3 May 2011

Hi Stephenie, send your excellent write-up to the straits times and see if they publish it… I bet they will not… Your article will sway those currently neutrals to vote for oppo party.

24. A Critical Parent 3 May 2011

To all parents out there….

Here is my take on how I am going to vote. Especially on one very disturbing issue which may be coming our way sooner or later.

Read this link… (On nuclear issues) http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20101102-245235.html

(Quote) IT MAY be a long time before any decision is taken on nuclear energy but Singapore should ready itself to do so, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong yesterday. (Unquote) (1st Nov 2010)

This need your attention! After what happen to the debate on Casino, the usual stance of how PAP go about it’s business is… it still go ahead (I hope I am wrong but usually I am right). When PAP sound out to you… we must pay high attention to it!

Qn is :Do you want to risk having a 100% dominated parliament by one party whereby the Nuclear Plant debate still ended up going ahead due to the lack of elected MP to voted against the bill? – especially after seeing what happened to Fukushima, 3Mile Island, Chernobyl?

All voters who intent to spoil their vote or vote for the incumbent… this is SERIOUS MATTER!

Think of your future children and grandchildren. We already have them living the effect of Casino for the decision we made to give the almost 100% mandate. Are you prepared to answer to our kids or grandkid who may suffer from the long term effect of nuclear plant due to our “in” action. There will be a time when they will ask you… (either) Papa, Mama, Grandpa, Grandpa… why didn’t you made a choice in 2011 when we stand a chance? Who to vote then, you will decide! If the choice is a full mandate again… Just like what MM Lee says recently… be prepared to “repent”… but my take to all Singaporean out there who are parent or grandparent… it will be repent not to the “PAP” but to your very own future generations. Every votes counts and to have more power to the “voice” in parliament… 5-7 seats is not enough… we need the “alternative parties” to go over 1/3 of the seat… the signal to the govt will then be strong enough.

25. Sharon 3 May 2011

Re Deaf: Rising medical cost? Most preggers (not all) will choose private hospital to KKH.
    => KKH is not neccesarily cheaper than private hospitals. Unless you are willing to wait for a slot to see the gynae. And which by that time, maybe you won’t need to see a gynae anymore Personal experience: I was told to wait 5 months to see the ‘cheap’ gynae. Hmm by that time, i might as well just give birth and see what I got.

Rising housing cost. Yes, it true but it’s also true that some young couples with no kids and living on their own prefer to get a 5-room than 3-room.
    => this is just being practical. one needs to plan for future kids. don’t forgot that you are only a first timer once. you get hdb loan only once. if u have 2 kids, do u think a 3rm flat is enough? what if parents needed to stay with you? do u sell your 3 rm u had when u were just a couple and go and buy a 5 rm flat to accomodate more people, thus taking a bank loan, paying COV etc? i’ve a friend who got a 3rm when she was newly married. now she’s got 3 kids. she wants to get a larger place but it’s just too expensive. anything marginally cheaper would be a distance from her parents’ and parents’-in-law. is that practical?

26. Concern 3 May 2011

Fifty years ago, singaporeans are too poor to owe houses and many people live in one room rented flats. Today , 80% Singaporeans owe a house. Majority live in clean, beautiful housing estates with sheltered walkways to shield them from block to block and to bus stops and a town centre with all amenities.
    The older generations bought HDB flats at very cheap and affordable prices. They are very happy that the price of their HDB flats have risen. Some downgrade, make hundred thousand to spend on holidays and enjoy life. Some downgrade makes hundred thousands to send their children overseas for education. Some sell their house and spend away the money. Are Singaporeans being too comfortable, complacent and greedy. Most elderly people owe a house. I am sure we can accomodate our children if they are not ready to buy a house yet. 30 years ago, when we got married, we don’t mind renting a room while earning to buy a house. Young couples who do not want to get married or have kids, don’t blame the government. Look at the real world outside Singapore. How many countries have edusave, bursaries, healthcare and housing like Singapore.
    In my encounters with foreigners, they are envious that Singaporeans have a Strong and capable government who have taken care of us in various aspects. Why are foreigners paying alot to live in Singapore. They must have seen the living conditions that we have that they don’t have. Let’s buck up, be realistic and be grateful. Continue to support a government who have delivered impressive results if you want to have a better future.

27. Robert Teh 3 May 2011

LET ME TELL THE HARD TRUTHS,

What did the leaders tell you?

Let’s work together as one,

Let’s suffer short-term pains,

For your long-term gain,

So you accept cuts in salaries,

Pay and pay taxes and privatisations

Of buses, medical, and utility services,

You voted to keep them in power,

Twenty years past, what do they see?

All the self-praise and self-glory,

All the world class leadership,

Forty years past, what do you see?

You still pay and pay,

For long-term asset-enhancements,

Money always not enough,

So you do not have money.

To get a home for marriage,

You do not have money and

Are told to work past 60s,

Paying elites, millions not enough,

They want directorship, more bonuses,

To be prevented from corruption,

Meritocracy has turned cronyism,

To ride piggyback like the GRCs,

What is service with humility?

Transparency and accountability

That is all the hard truth,

But have you been listened to?

Or are you being deceived?

By all the self-glory success stories?

Let’s be honest to ourselves,

It is time to Rise be righteous,

Not be deceived by anyone,

Exercise your vote wisely,

You have power to change,

Do not deceive yourselves

Any more, that this is democracy,

It is pity to believe hypocrisy

28. @ReL Singapoerans For those of you who have received your baby bonus and tax subsidy remember who have provided for these. The opposition parties did not gave you all these benefits it’s PAP who have done so! Vote wisely come 7 May, we are watching.

…. u can have it back, terms and conditions didnt say vote for pap?

29. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 4 May 2011

Concern

Look at the real world outside Singapore. How many countries have edusave, bursaries, healthcare and housing like Singapore
    ……….
    edusaves come from where? leekingyou’s pockets
    busaries goes to who? leekingyou’s grandsons
    healthcare goes to leekingyou 1st class in intensive care unit @ zero dollars with dr khaw paid $8 for a bypass
    i paid $90 upfront in cash when i met with an accident through no fault of mine
    now talkin bout property…
    ow much is the cheapest 4 room hdb flats in singapore?
    do you know i can buy a endterrace 2 story house in ampang malaysia for only S$150,000 and do you know what mapang district is equavalent to singapore? its a malaysia katong district

so don’t talk cork and bull ere…
    you are nowhere near nor smart

30. anonymous 4 May 2011

@ concern
    The fallacy of your argument is this – HISTORY WALKS BACKWARD and that is false. You spoke of “encounter” with foreigners, that is hardly convincing for those who survived decades (not just years) in different continents and see how foreigners lives and their society of rainbow spread of rich and poor.

This election is what the incumbent called “watershed” election – nice word displacing the key fundamental truth – I called it ‘FUTURE”

It is a disaster – policies failures everywhere. Government in crisis management mode now. Desperation is palpable of their conduct of this election campaign to the point of public tears in distress and admitted “mistakes” which they have no solution in a 5 year term of office. In Australia, it is a 3 year term and US has got mid-term Congressional election to pressure on performance. We got none of this very tight time pressure and the incumbents CAN’T PERFORMED with little or no opposition.

Do you want this to continue on the same JOURNEY OF FAILURES AWAITING COLLAPSE JUST OVER THE HORIZON?

I am concerned about your blind faith and plea for equally drunkard stupor of citizenry to keep the status quo – the inactivism of change and adaptation despite KNOWING FAILURES in a turbulent environment – turbulence of globalisation DID NOT EXIST 50 years ago which your ‘HISTORY-WALKS-BACKWARD’ argument is completely and fundamentally flawed of logic and truths.

Btw, if you remembered, ms Josephine Teo, MPs, Toa Payoh-Bishan GRC, spoke of this word also – TURBULENT – in that 5-way political dialogue between PAP and opposition parties on CNA on 2nd April 2011 moderated by Melissa Hyak. Turbulence is NOT my invention, PAP top guns like Josephine Teo and Tharman Shanumugaratnam ( our Honourable Finance Minister) knows that too well. I am true to my political and economic callings in blogoshphere blogging.

31. anonymous 4 May 2011

@ A critical Parent

Thank you for that reminder. I am definitely on the same page as you and I wrote an intensively-researched article in Temasek Review (after Fukushima) on the true state of nuclear power history, economic fallacy of nuclear energy use, accident radiation risks outcome and geological risks considerations of Singapore ever going nuclear. Here is the link, if it also interest you.

http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/03/14/after-fukushima-do-we-still-want-6-5m-people-and-a-nuclear-power-to-support/

What is money to our descendants in a dead extinct civilisation on this little red dot?. It is our COLLECTIVE RESPONSIBILITY as informed adults and voters to stop this nonsense – our children and grandchildren won’t have the opportunity to have any say on this decision. If I did nothing, I am pretty sure that my ancestors ( if the can come back) to cane me furiously for this stupidity of inaction.

On this nuclear issue alone, I know who I WONT BE voting for. I worship and celebrate lives, not money. I am sure of this!

32. new toy 4 May 2011

U wake up with a new TOY from the famiLEE

NECLEAR Plant next to you.

In the TODAY paper dated 5 April page 12
    ” A FUTURE IN NUCLEAR-POWER OFFSHORE PARKS?By: Dr Kua Harn Wei

PM LEE long term plan for your GRAVE yard beside us a neclear Power.

We want parties power to VETO our interest.

33. PAP LOVER 4 May 2011

Vote for PAP, minsters are probably underpaid if u compare to the top bankers in US. They serve us well, please support them!

34. Robert Teh 4 May 2011

Is there anywhere in the world where someone can get into a job then fix their own salaries by way of his position of power by selectively fixing his salary to some lucky few lottery-ticker winners in the world like the stock brokers, housing agents. (not to mention the 8-months of bonus and life-long retirements on such over-blown salaries.) We will not be surprised after losing hundreds of millions due to fumble in budgeting the YOG the ministers concerned are paid 8 months’ bonuses.

Are Singaporeans money shaking trees- just shake and monies will come dropping down.

By getting salaries in this manner, is’nt is a form of abuse of power or conflict of interest which are prohibited in Company and general laws.

35. Celest 5 May 2011

Dear Mr. PAP lover,

R u from pap? Please do a fairer comparison if u can. Dun compare an apple to an orange. Minister is like mangers… But the diff is that they r running a country n not a company. In a company profit must come first. In a country, there r more other values to bring across. Our minister is already the most highly paid in the world. U can check out YouTube on Mr. Chiam’s clip. He actually did a comparison in the parliament before. He didnt compare US top brokers with our ministers but president to minister. Both in politics.

36. Say Something 5 May 2011

We can all see that the Opposition Parties voices are working ……….

PAP is trying very hard on demage control for all their mistakes made in the past years by:
    > admitting mistakes made by all the HIGHLY PAID Ministers
    > say “sorry”
    > looking into improvement on policies which they did not even want to listen to the general Singaporeans’ feedback
    > etc…….. etc……..

With such a POSITION OUTCOME on the Voices from the Opposition Parties during this GE Rallies, it confirmed that we MUST HAVE alternate voices in the Parliament by the Opposition MPs (in tens of them).

Voting is secret and there is nothing to be fearful to vote opposition parties.

It is Action time….. Go for it……. Vote for the Future of every Singaporean and furture generation of Singaporeans ………..

37. vote 4 me 5 May 2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZZcyU5eG5g&NR=1

Promises After Promise(PAP)-Liers

Wolves in Sheep White skin

Be our voice for us from Tanjong Pagar

38. Foreigner 9 May 2011

Change is easy. It’s in nature. But to improve is very, very difficult. And to hear so many grievances about the PAP I would think that even GOD cannot help the Singaporeans. I my logical thinking is that you will vote for the party that can bring about that improvement. Can any of he opposition improve anything? The PAP already allocate 9 opposition places in parliment. So what so difficult about having an oppostion voice?