This is a letter from a TOC reader.

G Hui/

I would just like to add on to Elaine Ong’s article: “False Identities and disloyalties”. Like her, I have heard many comments levelled against voters who have voted against against the PAP. Comments such as “How can you be so ungrateful?” were indeed rempant. But why would it be ungrateful to vote for an opposition party? The term ungrateful implies that Singaporeans owe the PAP a debt that has not been repaid. This is a misrepresentation of how democracy should work.

By and large, the PAP has done a good job. The streets are clean and safe and public services are generally efficient and fast. However, let’s not forget that it is the job of the government to do a good job. More importantly, they were and are well paid to do a good job! The rewards of past excellence are two-fold:

1. re election at the next elections if voters believe that they can continue to do a good job; and
2. the salaries that they get while in the job, not to mention the cushy post politics employment as consultants and directors in MNCs.

The debt is therefore already paid and the account settled. Why then, do we still owe it to the PAP to vote for them if we, as the citizens of Singapore do not feel that they can continue to represent us adequately?

Democracy dictates that the party who gets the most seats through a fair voting system forms the government,. It is forward looking. Bringing gratefulness into the equation negates the system of democracy and places too much focus on the past.

Indeed, gratefulness should have nothing to do with how one votes. If a particular party has a good track record, voters should vote for them because they feel that that party can continue to do a good job and not because we are beholden to them for their past good deeds.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

63 Responses to “Gratefulness has nothing to do with it”

1. siow liow 27 May 2011

Grateful!Yes,thanks for teaching us to be smarter.From 1960′s to current,it is the people that voted PAP to be the ruling party,without these votes,kindly tells us where is the standing?So is it chicken lay egg or egg hatch chicken?
    For this case,it is the people that give PAP the chance and they fail with the current people feelings,upset over the rules and self interest.If the current ruling peg their salary with the corporate scenario and performance,I think alot of minister or MP will be sack.

2. theforgottongeneration 27 May 2011

I say let the ministers show some gratefulness first to Singaporeans. After all, didn’t LHL himself mentioned that they are servants to the people, not the other way round. Are they sincerely grateful that they are able to enrich themselves with the highest pay becos of the sweat of toil of ALL Singaporeans?

It has now transpired that there is a benchmark for ministerial pay since 1993-94. Like so poor things they are not meeting the benchmarks time and again. Well, at least there is a benchmark for them. What about the common joe/jane? Didn’t these “grateful” ministers vehemently refused to implement a min. wage standard for the working class since 1993-94? They got a benchmark but the people no need benchmark IN THE SAME HIGH COST OF LIVING & COMPETITIVE ENVIRONMENT???

Secondly, the NSRA (national service recognition award). The older generations that had serve 13 years cycle reservist are completely excluded from the is scheme. AP Koo’s explanation was that these people had already benefitted from other garhem schemes like Workfare, CPF, tax rebates, etc.. That means their 2+13 years service to the nation has been FULLY compensated, no need to even say Thank You to them any more – this is what “grateful” means? – reduced to dollars and cents?? Well, the PAP keeps harping on their past achievements. Shouldn’t they shut up since such achievements are already FULLY recognized and compensated for by the large salary that they drew? They already have big houses & Singaporeans are supposed to be grateful for that? So, why should Singaporeans be grateful? Who taught us to be … pragmatic (“ungrateful” such an ugly word, hor?).

3. Nonsense 27 May 2011

“grateful”??? i am grateful for the older guards for their hard work to lift up a generation of Singaporeans despite the miserable pay they are getting. these days, you mean you are helping out of good will?? come on la, you are paid millions to do a job!

4. Gratefulcitizen 27 May 2011

Yes, I’m very grateful to the old guards too who were paid peanuts then but risked their lives selflessly against the communists. But for the majority of mediocre ministers and PAP MPs since GCT became PM? No way lah! If even having lined their own pockets with multi millions and still want us to be forever grateful and let them continue to do what they liked, then every MNCs must also be forever grateful to their employed CEOs, CFOs, COOs and so on despite their million dollar pay packet, and must NEVER replace them even when time changes and there are better qualified people available for the same job.

I’d be grateful if they can show me that they’re truly selfless servant leaders, and not daylight robbers.

5. Excellent points, G Hui.

I cannot agree more with you.

6. Already Compensated 27 May 2011

I fully agree with theforgottongeneration in regards to NS Men already compensated. After serving 2 + 13 yrs, they are not eligible for further compensation as they are deemed to have been paid in full.

If this is the case, I’m sure PAP will agree that their ridiculous salaries more than adequately compensated for their responsibilities during their tenure and obviously no one should be further compensated with lifelong pensions which is SELFISH and GREEDY.

Open your minds and I’m sure you realize voters have eyes, ears and heart to differentiate right from wrong. PAP don’t be naive and pretend not to want to hear. It will not go away unless something is being done.

7. sporean 27 May 2011

We are only grateful to the pioneers of PAP, not current batch.

U want to talk abt track record, 5 yrs to destroy 50 yrs is their track record.

8. Let's Wait & See Some Real Action Otherwise...... 27 May 2011

We are grateful and appreciate what the Old Guards have accomplished for S’pore. Especially so, we know their sacrifice and approach was always to serve the people and not themselves first.

Hope the present ruling party can take a step back and review with an open mind to try to understand what the citizens see and why the frustration on the ground.

My humble view is that the ruling party leaders are far too detached from the laymen and perhaps rely mainly on feedback from ‘yes man’ in the party, who may not have given them an accurate perspective of the ground. Try walking the ground yourself.

Their ‘out of the world’ compensation have blinded them and obviously much of the unhappiness of common people is based on their uncaring and high handedness which have been widely circulated through word of mouth and internet.

Many are waiting to see whether the party is sincere in listening to the voice of the people and especially so what they intend to do about the prevalent issues. No change can come about and be lasting, unless the party leaders are prepared to change their mindset, culture and especially humility.

9. Grateful 29 May 2011

I am grateful to men and women who have the courage to join the opposition parties and worked hard in getting themselves elected. I am grateful to voters of Aljunied and Hougang for helping us to put the message across. So that at last they are beginning to sit up and listen. Thank you.

10. Let's MoveOn 29 May 2011

Why must we B grateful? We can thank n appreciate what was done by the old guards n move on, but not LKY per se. He seems 2claim all credits 2himself as though he built Sg alone. The old guards will never agree to high wages 4themsleves that’s why he waited 4all of them 2retire b4 changing rules 4his benefit. His reasons r flawed (can’t attract talented people 2serve the country if not well paid). Why does PM then need to form a Committee 2review Ministers’ salaries? He knows citizens don’t buy this ‘crab’ any longer, it’s untenable. Sg will never collapse w/out PAP govt. a new govt could possibly B elected within the next 15years if the PAP remained ‘deaf’ n unconnected 2the ground. They can even build 300,000 flats within the next 5years but it will b useless if the prices r high n unaffordable. It must b reduced by at least 60% (no need grants, all these r just camouflaged 2squeezed citizens.)The PTC Board n Raymond Lim had failed, a new Board must b formed n work closely with the ‘new’ Transport Minister 2 address the transport woes. More MPs should do ‘surprise’ audits by taking buses n trains at random 2experience the real situation. No more ‘window’ dressings please, don’t treat commuters as idiots. Same with health care, visit the poly clinics, public hospitals unannounced, find out the charges, etc. all of you were given information that pleases your ears but they ‘boomerang’ during the GE as many of u were 2 complacent n arrogant. The facts n cries of voters were ignored completely. So PM had 2revamp the PAP machinery immediately n cut losses. The rest of the issues u already know, so please do what is needful n the PAP will perhaps b able to regain all lost seats hopefully in 2016.

11. prophet 29 May 2011

It’s one thing to be grateful and another to idolize mere mortals who turn into executioners of punishment, to the point of becoming your assassins, for over servants, over slaves, it is licit to brandish the whip and apply the lash. The result is destruction and chains…

12. sudah lah 10 June 2011

Grateful?
    Yes it is gross ingratitude- the PAP ruling class that is.
    We the people of Singapore have voted for them , worked hard, never run amok in the streets ( like in many other SEA countries) and all they want is gratitude to them?
    So shameless,so low.
    Start saying thank you to us and not love yourselves so much.