Elaine Ong /

To the skeptical, the opposition MPs’ attempts at walking the ground after GE2011 might seem like a case of new brooms sweeping clean. Whether it is the case or not, all I can say is that the people in Aljunied have been very touched to see their new MPs walking the ground even after the elections.

It is one thing to see them going door to door harnessing votes before the elections, it’s quite another to see them on an MRT train, withdrawing money from an ATM, drinking coffee at the kopitiam etc.

To the people on the ground (ordinary folks like you and me), the smile, the handshake, the effort made at striking up a conversation do not go unnoticed.

I did not want to write about this prior to the elections because I did not want what I am writing to be seen in the wrong light, as being anti-PAP because honestly I am not.

Frankly speaking, while George Yeo was an efficient and likeable MP, unfortunately, we never saw or knew much about him except for the fact that he was the Foreign Minister and that he was constantly surrounded by grassroots members who did all the talking for him.

One incident remains clear in my mind. It was after the 2006 elections.

Mr Yeo made a visit to the block (with the usual official fanfare that accompany the visit of any PAP member). Part of the car park was cordoned off and a large number of grassroots leaders was hovering around at the void deck. My then six-year old, seeing the commotion, was quite expecting to see a limousine pull up. That is the ceremonious fanfare that typically accompany the visit of the so-called government official.

That evening unfortunately, not many residents were home (it being a Friday). It was a rather inconvenient time for my family when the doorbell rang and we were quite reluctant to open it. When we did, a grassroots member practically pleaded with us to welcome the arriving minister since, according to his words, the minister had knocked unsuccessfully on several doors only to find that nobody was in.

I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to ask about my lift upgrading programme (LUP).

To my surprise, the grassroots leader told me Mr Yeo would not be answering my questions on the LUP but would be addressing this question at his meet-the-people session (MPS) on another night the next week.

When Mr Yeo did turn up five minutes later, it was a hasty visit. A few words exchanged and a perfunctory handshake and smile. The impression I got rightly or wrongly was that it was not the place and time to ask anything regarding my neighbourhood. (I still quite regret having listened to the grassroots leader and not asking Mr Yeo my questions….then again my family was right in the middle of dinner).

Anyway, what I am trying to say is that these things, the attitude of the grassroots leader, was especially annoying. There was always this barrier between the ones above, and the mere mortals like me below. Hardly what I would call engagement. Surely the MPS is not the only place for questions. Anyway the incident left a poor impression on me.

All I can say is sometimes the little things in life do matter to the average man on the street. We can do away with all the pompousness and fanfare. I still do not understand why till this day PAP MPs need such huge gathering of grassroots leaders to pave the way for the MPs’ visits. If it is to impress upon the ordinary folks the importance of their visits, then I for one am clearly not impressed.

The people in the middle and upper echelons of government should take a leaf out of Chen Show Mao’s book. Visit his Facebook page and you will know what I mean.

The little things do matter and it has got nothing to do with money and upgrading.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

168 Responses to “Little things, not money or upgrading, matter”

1. Tan Ah Beng 20 May 2011

@iworkhardsometimes

Aiya if you want to reply make sure you read correctly first. I did not say UK is unlike us.. it was written by “We are Singaporeans”. Just because he did not put a “@” in front of my name then you attributed it to me. Proof that your fingers are faster than your *****.
    I was only giving examples. I would try not to generalise things like you did. I would NEVER say that just because a moron is a human and you are a human so you = xxxxx. That is too much of a generalisation based on your faulty argument.

@We are Singaporeans

We inherited the parliamentary system from UK. We did not run the country like China… if we have followed them then all the opposition members will be in jail now.
    We allowed free elections. We allowed opposition to kick out an incumbent minister. Try doing that in China. However we did do something like China. That was the absolute maintenance of social order. We cannot allow people to stir up inter-religious or inter-racial animosity. Those things have to be dealth with strongly whenever/whereever they happen. Those things once broken will be VERY difficult to put back together again.

2. iworkhardsometimes 21 May 2011

@ Tan Ah Beng

rofl, very droll indeed.

theoretically, u have committed a logical fallacy, xxxxx is not equivalent to moron, so your example is well below acceptable standard even for students doing entry level demagogy.

i would suggest xxxxx = xxxxxxxxxx/2

if x = 2, then xxxxx = 64

if y=3, then x/y = 0.666666666666666 to infinity

All cats have four legs
    My dog has four legs
    Therefore, my dog is a cat.

I was too only giving examples.

n.. u need to work on your humour and go for anger management courses.

3. Benson Tay 21 May 2011

The real reason for the lack of touch with the “real” sentiments on the ground has to do with the grassroots leaders. Many of them are concerned about really giving a true picture reflective of the sentiments and concerns of the average heartlander. This prevents the MPs or those in power to really appreciate the seriousness of the problems. This has to stop if the government is genuinely concerned about listening and responding to the voices of the masses.

4. We are Singaporeans 21 May 2011

Tan Ah Beng,

Would you dare to write to PM LHL? You challege him not me.

We inherited the parliamentary system from UK, but many changes occured since then. You are not aware of what happened in 1961 and 1962? No MPs were arrested by ISA?

In your own words “”“Please do some research before typing in responses. Google is just 1 click away.””

5. singalong 21 May 2011

2 days before election mickey mouse (fatimah lateef) visit my house too. it was first the grassroot auntie who knock the door to inform that mickey is on the way. why must we oblige to these request which is truly wayang by the pap.? anyway i just dont open the door.

6. oh oh.. 21 May 2011

Where are the rest? LTK, SL, PS and F mia? How about YSL? Why are they not taking bus? How is YSL’s car?

My god, it’s the little things that matter. They better wake up their idea.

7. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 21 May 2011

oh oh.. 21 May 2011
    Where are the rest? LTK, SL, PS and F mia? How about YSL? Why are they not taking bus? How is YSL’s car
    ………….
    why personal car drivin is aganst pap rulins?
    pap mps can used government cars..
    opposition used personal cars cannot?

YOU ARE A FUCKIN CUNT!!!
    frickin a-team istana stupid DOG you are…before YOU open your FUCKIN mouth again..check what leekingyou is sittin?
    still surroun by a 3 GOVERNMENT vehicles team with a motorcycle lookout? for an MP rank?

8. Good read.

I have same sentiment as the writer. one week before the election grassroots leader “chop” 4 car park lots for one hour. They knocked on my door and informed me “Your MP will be visiting later, leave your door open”. The door was left opened for more then 20 mins for a VIP (hmmm DPM Teo) visit which is less then 2 mins. BTW, I am living juz one floor one top of a RC and we only managed to see our MP every 5 years.

Also on grassroot being volunteers.. yes they are but most of them are CEO or boss of some company.. Like my boss is one of those grassroots leaders.. Our company is fortunate as this ensure at least our tender are not dumped into dustbin.. haha

9. Tan Ah Beng 22 May 2011

@iworkhardsometimes

lol… I like the suggestion of anger management course..I looked in the mirror but I have not turned into the Incredible Hulk yet. Maybe on the first sign turning green I will enroll in one. :P

Your mathematics do expose your level of competency. Simple division is so old fashion… try doing a Fast Fourier transformation on that.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fast_Fourier_transform

Enough of the detour, back to the original topic. You had issue with PM and ministers earning millions. So what do you think they should earn? If CSM is to take on the job of law minister should he be paid much less than his current pay now?

10. iworkhardsometimes 22 May 2011

well, then your objections are merely verbal since you response has no relevance.

i can easily copy and paste 2 paragraphs of the quantum theory here and say they u r wrong because the contents of quantum theory are simply more intelligent sounding than your green hulk gibberish.

if these gimmicks actually work, i would have won all my debates with any opponent.

11. iworkhardsometimes 22 May 2011

@ Tan Ah Beng

well, then your objections are merely verbal since your response has no relevance.

i can easily copy and paste 2 paragraphs of the quantum theory here and say they u r wrong because the contents of quantum theory are simply more intelligent sounding than your green hulk gibberish.

if these gimmicks actually work, i would have won all my debates with any opponent.

12. iworkhardsometimes 22 May 2011

@ Tan Ah Beng

well, then your objections are merely verbal since your response has no relevance.

i can easily copy and paste 2 paragraphs of the quantum theory here and say that u r wrong because the contents of quantum theory are simply more intelligent sounding than your green hulk gibberish.

13. iworkhardsometimes 22 May 2011

@ Tan Ah Beng,

as a matter of fact,Dr Yaacob is earning much more as a minister than his last drawn pay at NUS as an associate professor.

and

Ng Eng Hen is earning less as a minister than his last drawn pay as a surgeon.

this, is not my problem, they created this problem and they will have to fix it.

whatever my answer is to your CSM question u will disagree, and as the 2 examples show, either way u disagree, u disagree with PAP as well.

14. For too long the papies have refused to listen to the voice of the people; it was only in the months/weeks before GE 2011, that fear began to creep into the papy camp, when they began realizing the groundswell of opinion rising against them.

Many Singaporeasn have all along been aware of the arrogance/hubris of the ruling party; this arrogance/hubris has been notched down a peg or two in the days before pollin day.

Let’s keep a close watch on papy behavior/policies in the coming months/years.

15. Hi everyone,
    I was reading everything and my $0.02 is that we’re not getting our $$ worth. We pay MP $15k for 2mins and 1 handshake per 5 years, and somemore many pple prefer to slam door?? We should all wait for MP and shake his hand (dun let go) and talk for 20 minutes. If not how they know we all angry at them?? If I live at Macpherson I will let TPL know how much I envy her Kate Spade man….;p with her 15k she can buy a lot. And also disagree that education in sg is affordable. C’mon your household income 1 month can pay for full ride liao come and compare with us 1 month combined 6k+.

16. doppelganger 24 May 2011

So many people have been sacrificed by the PAP while we slumbered over 50 years. It may be unbelief that this son of Singapore LKY could do us any harm. It may be the Asian mind to respect their leaders. It may be taboo. It may be a deep seated avoidance of a terrifying question: Has the PAP committed crimes against the Singapore citizenry over a period of 50 years? against individuals whom they locked up without trial on some pretext and others whom they destroyed and wasted by libel Laws wielded by compliant judges who bend over backwards for their masters.
    Has the PAP done the above crimes so as to be the sole effective power in the country continuously, so as to be able to arrogate to themselves and their connected persons the role of managing the country’s wealth and enterprises at mind blowing remuneration, so that the Ministers here receive salaries as if they are on another planet?- a planet where Singapore is the top country. Just the thought is absurd but you have it now as calibrated by their current salaries.
    If the answers to the above are Yes, then I suggest you make a complaint to the UN Human Rights Council. You can Google it, and follow the instructions to make your complaint. When there is a critical mass of the citizenry complaining then the UN may be persuaded to get the PAP to speak up on our accusations. Fifty years of criminal activities will be difficult to explain away in the face of the largesse they brought to an almost unchanging select group of elites.

17. Twetty 8 June 2011

I know of many people,hope that MM die faster& a v old man says MM wans to buy a golden coffin for himself.I am quite shock to hear such remarks,cos MM also had some credits for all the things he had done for S’pore,don’t forget.now I am inmue and not so shock anymore cos some are hostile & unhappy may be due to personal hardship I think so don’t blame them.as for the entourage of grassroot leading (pathing) the way for the MP I know some that they just wants to repay the gratitude that their MP helps them,who will be so free after working 9 or 10 hrs work & contiuning to voluteer at night v tire you know.also I know some are force to help by their organization (my frd told me). But I don’t like the way they perform their duties cos twice My MP came with so much people, they station at my door makes me so uncomfortable.I would prefer they hold a function at the void deck that would be better,cos I attend such functions by accident (uninvited)I also notice some voluteer also quiet ‘ya ya’ to be associate with the MP.also know one who really & truly help out in the C.C for many years.So don’t say all the Helpers are bootlickers and dogs be more civilize a bit.they are helping (foc) only be a bit of understanding,&thank you for your graciousness.god bless you all