Andrew Loh /

“At the start of [our] pre-election public outreach, I have brought up instances where the PAP has abused its power as a government to secure political advantage for the PAP, to perpetuate itself in power and to deny more opposition being elected into Parliament,” Mr Low Thia Khiang, Workers’ Party secretary general, told the packed field at Kallang Avenue on Monday.

“They have been very successful in the last 46 years in doing this,” he told the crowd.

This abuse of power has led to the opposition being unable to grow and develop, Mr Low said. He cited the increase in the number of people voting for the opposition but yet only two elected opposition members have been in Parliament the last two decades.

It is because of this “political reality” facing the opposition and “to help Singaporeans seriously contemplate the future for Singapore” that the Workers’ Party has chosen the election slogan, “Towards a first world parliament” for the general election this time.  This is the vision the party is offering Singaporeans, Mr Low said.

“A first world parliament is one which is able to balance a strong Executive with a check and balance mechanism formed by a credible and responsible opposition which is given the mandate by the electorate,” Mr Low told the enthusiastic crowd. “This is the first step to stop further abuse of power by the PAP.”

Mr Low cited the People’s Association (PA) as an example of such abuse, through its network of Residents’ Committees (RCs), Citizen Consultative Committees (CCCs). “They also organize activities which PAP candidates are invited to attend so that these new candidates can build up rapport quickly on the ground,” Mr Low said. The party had brought up the matter in earlier rallies. “The PAP has yet to respond to the issue,” said Mr Low.

He cited a recent example of a resident in Aljunied GRC who received a message some days ago from the RC.

“The message reads:

‘I am the RC chair. I would like to circulate some election info to you, if it’s ok with you.’

The resident replied: ‘Which party do you represent?’

The reply came back: ‘Hi. We’re not representing any party.’

Then she [the resident] received this message on general election info: ‘There’s a rally at Serangoon stadium from 7pm tonight.’”

“It was informing the resident of the PAP rally!” Mr Low said. “Why is the RC promoting a PAP rally?” he asked. The rally crowd then echoed “Kelong! Kelong! Kelong!” – the colloquial word for cheating.

Mr Low went on and raised two other issues which showed the abuse of power by the PAP government – why the PAP is able to have kindergarten branches while the WP could not; and why he, as an elected Member of Parliament (MP), has had to conduct his Meet-The-People sessions at the void decks for the last two decades, an issue he had also raised at a previous rally. “I have yet to get an answer from the PAP,” Mr Low said.

The GRC system and the issue of gerrymandering were also highlighted by the WP in its other rallies. “Again, no response,” said Mr Low, referring to the PAP. “Instead, we have MM Lee jumping up and down about the contest in Aljunied GRC.”

“But I think he has to watch his Tanjong Pagar GRC teammate, Chan Chun Sing, carefully,” Mr Low said, who referred to the answer Mr Chan had given when asked for his views on new PAP candidates not serving National Service (NS).

Mr Chan had said:

“For me, I don’t just ask where you come from. More importantly, I ask where you are going. In the past, if you have not been a citizen, you may not have contributed to NS, or maybe different walks, different sectors of society.” (See here at 3:40 mins.)

Mr Low took issue with Mr Chan’s comments. “Is he saying that National Service is not important? That it does not matter whether one serves National Service? I do not feel [it is] right that the PAP should fill a foreign talent who just became a new citizen without serving National Service as a candidate.”

“He is now trying to seek your mandate to represent the people in parliament,” Mr Low added.

Although Mr Low did not mention the candidate by name, it is apparent he was referring to Dr Janil Puthucheary, the PAP candidate for Punggol-Pasir Ris GRC, which is helmed by Mr Teo Chee Hean.  Dr Puthucheary, 38, became a Singapore citizen three years ago – at the age of 35. The issue of his never having served National Service was a point of criticism among some Singaporeans. When asked about this, he had said that while it “is a fact” that he did not do NS, he however had “spent the last 10 years saving kids’ lives.” (Read here, here and here.)

Mr Low reminded the crowd of what Defence Minister Mr Teo had said in Parliament  in 2006 on the matter of NS defaulters.

Besides, the fact that they are talented and can contribute to Singapore does not detract from the fact that they have defaulted on their NS duties. Everyone, regardless of talent, must play their part in our nation’s defence. (Mindef)

“Mr Chan Chun Sing was the Chief of Army before,” Mr Low said. “How can a former Chief of Army publicly state something contradictory to the Minister for Defence?”

“I propose that we consider amending the Constitution for the qualification for male candidates for election, to reject those who have not served National Service,” Mr Low said, to loud applause from the crowd. “This is only fair to us. We have all done National Service, including myself, including Chen Show Mao,” he added, referring to his teammate for Aljunied GRC who was reported to have served his NS even before he became a Singapore citizen.

Mr Low asked if this was the attitude of Mr Chan, who is considered one of the new PAP candidates with the potential to be office holders to lead Singapore into the future, towards National Service, a duty which every male Singaporeans have the obligation to fulfill.

Mr Low then turned to the point he had made at the beginning of his speech – that Singaporeans should not allow one party to dominate their lives.

“We should not put all [our] eggs in one basket by voting in just PAP candidates, leaving the entire legislature to them, to operate, to allow them to dominate your lives,” Mr Low said. “We must not let them shortchange us!”

Ending his English speech, Mr Low urged, “If you are concerned about your livelihood, and our children’s future, then vote Workers’ Party, towards a first world parliament!”

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

178 Responses to “PAP has abused power to secure political advantage: WP”

1. VOTE FOR CHANGE11 view this video and share around.

2. Old Timer 3 May 2011

THE VIDEO IS AT THIS LINK

http://youtu.be/p1tzIRkIFs0

3. AKB49 3 May 2011

So George Yeo did nothing wrong? hmmm..

So for his 1st assignment after being booted out of parliament, consider sending him to Romania to get Silviu Ionescu back for a proper trial.

We can’t allow anyone from any country to come here, commit a crime, & walk away with a jiggle of his butt.

Do you agree, George Yeo? Do you agree, Goh Chok Tong? Do you agree, People of Singapore??

4. truth 3 May 2011

People are often unreasonable, illogical, and self-centered; Forgive them anyway.
    If you are kind, People may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives; Be kind anyway.
    If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies; Succeed anyway.
    If you are honest and frank, People may cheat you; Be honest and frank anyway.
    What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight; Build anyway.
    If you find serenity and happiness, They may be jealous; Be happy anyway.
    The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow; Do good anyway.
    Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough; Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.
    You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and God; It was never between you and them anyway.

But when come to voting, vote for the OPPOSITION which is also good for the government.

5. Pinnaclet 3 May 2011

It is the time now!
    Monopoly is never democracy.

download TOC iphone app now!
    send it to your fren, spread the news and bring to their awareness of current affairs.

6. Take a break and view this video. It is super funny about PAP! Opposition really got talents!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v53_cx1gC9I&feature=share

7. chan 3 May 2011

if they are attracted by the high pay to join the gov,mean in their mind money come first then to serve the people,mi right?????opp does not need high pay to attacted talent,why…cus those people are serving the puple thur their heart.

8. "Hokien Peng" 3 May 2011

It is just suka suka lah by the PAP.
    Abuse or not..it used to be tolerated until now – also can short cut to be citizen and maybe MP one day!
    Wow !Is this new policy ?

Has this arrogant chap , what name ? has he ever asked if he were welcomed back by citizens?
    He watched from outside, then, saw a greener field & road to be an MP !And now wants to serve! Serve who , but himself & to hope that he can one day too get millions without doing NS. What an insult to all Singapore citizens.
    Abuse of power….?
    A marriage of an opportunist and a suka suka system….

9. Watch This Video 3 May 2011

for people who still don’t get the CO-DRIVER analogy, here’s a video to help you understand:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSN2m8h5Zxg

10. No Hope 3 May 2011

MM said the only ‘hot spot’ is Aljunied. LOL! He’s just trying to distract us! Don’t be fooled by him!

By saying this, he is implying that all other seats will be won by the PAP. This is an attempt to get the electorate under the spell of the ‘walkover effect’. If PAP is going to win anyway by winning all other constituencies – the ‘walkover effect’ – then the voters, especially the swing voters, will be thinking, okay, since PAP still wins, what’s the use of voting Oppo.

Oppo parties should press on with the issues affecting citizens. Highlight the differences between our lives 5 years ago, when PAP had a walkover, and now, after 5 more years of continued PAP rule. Remind the electorate that Singaporeans at long last have a CHOICE about their future. And not only that but they now have the opportunity to CHOOSE their choice.

MY VOTE IS FOR OPPO. WOO-HOO! WORKERS PARTY IS CONTESTING ALJUNIED!

11. No Hope 3 May 2011

Only once in 5 years they sweet-talk us! The rest of the time, they take us for granted and take us for fools! After elections, it’s back to the same old brow-beating, bashing and battering of the citizens. We now know their games! And it doesn’t work anymore!

They have practised their brand of politics for so long, that they simply don’t know any other way of responding to the national, social and economic issues brought up by the people.

Singaporeans have physically grown up, there’s a whole new generation amongst us. We are more educated and more knowledgeable. We are getting more globalised and exposed. We are more socially mature and have opinions on issues which affect us. We have come of age politically.

I want to say a huge THANK YOU to ALL Oppo parties in Singapore for galvanising and coordinating yourselves SO WELL as to be able to contest an unprecedented 82 seats. THIS is what has unnerved the PAP and they have been in panic mode since N-Day. For too long, the PAP managed to keep the Oppo parties out of elections. But for the first time in Singapore’s history, THANKS to the Oppo parties, the PAP is facing the possibility of their own demise.

A big SALUTE to all Oppo parties! We would not be where we are today without you!

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

12. No Hope 3 May 2011

To all Oppo parties:

Please be aware of the following.

We are in Kaki Bukit ward of Aljunied GRC. We were formerly under Marine Parade GRC and now gerrymandered to Aljunied GRC.

We received a total of 4 items pertaining to GE2011:
    - PAP main party brochure
    - PAP Aljunied GRC brochure
    - PAP Aljunied GRC single-page pamphlet
    - WP East Coast GRC brochure.

I contacted WP to inform them that we had received WP’s East Coast GRC brochure instead and to ask for the WP’s Aljunied GRC brochure.

WP replied to ask whether we had received the WP East Coast GRC brochure in our letter box or at the door. They said they had engaged Singpost to distribute the WP Aljunied GRC brochures to households in the constituency.

I call upon all Oppo parties to carefully check where the boundaries are and to distribute their brochures to the correct areas.

I also call upon all Oppo parties to check whether the correct brochures have been correctly distributed and received.

Also, I don’t think Oppo parties should use Singpost.

Please use a private flyer distribution company or use your volunteers (a bit late for this perhaps but still doable if you have the people).

13. Breath of fresh air 3 May 2011

This is an obvious fact. Let’s unite as ‘one people, one nation, one singapore’ n purge these rodents out of the system! Brace up for victory OPP!

14. Won’t be surprised if next election Aljunied GRC will become the largest SMC in Singapore.

That way, only 1 Opposition MP will get in? lol. Gerry mandering is pathetic.

15. Afraid of the Dark 3 May 2011

@How We Get Screwed

Check out the banking sector. All the banks in SG like to hire FTs from a particular country. And in turn, these FT senior managers like to hire their own country men or women in bus loads.

True story. Last year my friend was rejected and told by a global bank in SG that he was not qualified enough for the bank job even when he had CPA and CFA. He was interviewed by 5 FT senior managers all from this particular country during the whole hiring process. Later, he asked around, and found that he lost the job to a FT from the same country of the senior managers, who is one year younger than him, but that FT has 2 years more working experience than him in his own country.

Now he found a job at another bank, which is not his preferred choice. And in the last bank re-org, lo and behold, he got an FT boss from that country. He is pissed when his new boss and his FT colleagues started talking in their own language.

Sad story for SG guys.

16. HELP 3 May 2011

I totally agree that a bus on an extended
    trip must have co-driver or co-drivers.

We all read news reports of long-distance
    buses driving off the edge of the winding roads, colliding into other oncoming vehicles, many veer off course and even turning and landing upside down!!

The incumbents have been driving in past 5 years like bus captains on steriods!!

Or was it drugs? How is it they cannot hear the cries and screams of the rest of the passengers on the bus?

Recall Sandra Bullock’s movie SPEED, will our SINGAPORE Bus rush off the cliff or crash and break into pieces? Help!

17. No Hope 3 May 2011

To Fellow-Singaporeans:

Your vote is secret and safe. Do not fear the serial numbers or the govt blacklisting us

The serial numbers are there only to ensure that each voter votes only once.

It takes WAY too much money and labour to trace who voted for which party. Do you think the PAP govt, so stingy with the people and so greedy for themselves, would willingly spend millions of dollars to trace and blacklist hundreds of thousands of Oppo voters? Last elections, there were about 400,000 Oppo voters; this time it may be more. This is outgoing expenses for them, nothing goes into their own pockets. So why bother doing it?

They rather keep the money for themselves or use it to think up ways to milk more money from the people, don’t you think?

After the counting, the ballot boxes and all records are sealed, witnessed by the candidates for each constituency. The candidates have to put their signatures on the seals. Then the sealed items are locked up in the Supreme Court vault for 6 months. You need a court order to open any of the sealed boxes. Then the sealed items are taken out of the vault, with the candidates present, who check whether the seals are intact and their signatures still there, and sent to the incinerators to be burnt in the presence of the candidates.

To all Oppo parties:

Please explain this matter in your brochures and websites. At each rally, give a brief explanation about this. It can pull in extra votes. You need every single vote you can get, as results may be very close. WP’s website has an excellent Q&A page on this subject: http://wp.sg/wpge/your-vote-is-secret-3/

Also educate voters on the correct way to mark the ballot slip, so as to not spoil the vote:
    - Mark your ballot slip with an ‘X’ only, not any other kind of mark.
    - Mark your ‘X’ in the empty square box next to the name of your party of choice.
    - Your ‘X’ should be clear and large and in the CENTRE of the square box.
    - But the ‘X’ MUST NOT touch any side of the box; it must be ‘floating’ in the centre.

18. HOPE 3 May 2011

If we are still so easily wooed by Grow and Share, shop and forget about the next five years’ livelihood, we have missed it all! This is the time for revival. Singaporeans need not live with heads down and sigh. The power for change is in our hands. Time for Renewal of leadership. Humble and approachable humane beings who are able to engage with average people not some self-made gods. Restoration to our rightful positions as Singaporeans regardless of races and religions. Only one vote away. Do not let them buy into their new ideas these last three days.

19. zero 3 May 2011

To AljuniedVoter

I disagree with your observation
    Don’t pick on Chun Sing, he’s a victim of PAP too. Full of enthusiasm to serve, gave up his job for this, didn’t know people so upset about those who went before him now kena answer. … Poor guy like first line soldier sent into war by general kena tua now.
    Unqoute

This army boy is not a ‘mere corporal kena arrow, no choice dont blame him’. This army boy was the chief of singapore army, supposed to be man of honour, dignity and a leader of men with strong ideas. I can’t help comparing with the case of Gen Ramos and Enrile how they supported mrs Acquino in 1986 coup against Marcos the filipin dictator. The display of heroism of the filipine generals was clear. They were very sure of their directions.
    On the other hand here we have a weakling of an army fellow with uncertain directions, propped up by a grandfather figure, and shoved hastily into parliament through a questionable process (see uncleyap youtube video on the controversial disqualification walkover). Man, if he has any balls he will come up and make a real statement either supporting strongly PAP or else denouncing it.. a straight statement from his heart, instead of telling stories about ancient kingdoms, or talking to aunties and giving the game away that pap asked RC’s to charter busses to get them to attend rallies, and arranging seats in empty halls of pap rallies.
    It is absolutely dangerous for Singapore to be fall into the hands of such inexpereienced leaders who are groomed to be MINISTERS. What has gone wrong with a once brilliant mind like LKY, it is very sad.

20. CT Lee 3 May 2011

Why must we have to send our car & pay for LTA inspection after every 3 years. On the top of it,we send our car for maintaince service every 10,000kg or approx 6 months.
    My car service is done by reputable car appointed agent and they check everything
    required to maintain the smooth running of the vehicle. Does it not create more burden and higher cost of living to car owners? If the government is to force car owners to send for LTA inspection every 3 years, they could just get the approved car service centre to certified that the car is road worthiness. In my case I have to suffer payment for my car service and LTA inspection which is due at the same time

21. NSmen 3 May 2011

MAJ-GEN Chan Chun Sing and BG Tan Chuan Jin of PAP also did not serve their NS!!! They were army regulars for their entire career and drawing a very high salary! How can people who did not serve their NS convince people the importance of NS??? Also, they retired from the SAF with a hugh sum of retirement funds, more than a million dollars!! If the senior SAF regular officers can take a pay cut by 10%, I will be convince that they are sincere in defending Singapore.

Lately, there is 1 regular officer become a loanshark runner becos he lost a lot of money in casino. Another regular officer was charged for corruption. All these shows that the PAP use taxpayers money to build support within the army had led to the erosion of military professionalism in the SAF and the SAF regulars signed on purely out of greed for money. Hence, the PAP has compromised the defence of Singapore!! Now, they accused the NSP of compromising defence by proposing to reduce the size of the army by cutting NS and reducing defence budget!!

22. Action Now 3 May 2011

All Voters,
    Voting is secret and there is nothing to be fearful to vote opposition parties.

Voters are given the right to vote for qualify and capable candidates to represent the Singaporeans.

We need alternate voice to make the PAP work toward the interest of the individual Singaporeans.

We need a good number of Opposition MPs (in tens of them) to represent the general Singaporeans.

It is Action time….. Go for it……. Vote for the Future of every Singaporean and furture generation of Singaporeans ………..

23. Paul Lim 3 May 2011

I am born raised and bred a Singaporean. I serve my NS and Reservist all 15 years of it. I have 2 sons and a daughter 1 of my son is serving his NS. I ‘owned’ a Hdb flat, a car and a business.

Why is it that when I can raise a family run a business That I am told time and again that I am not able to manage my cpf $ when I reach 55 years of age. Now I am expected to live to 65 to get my $ in installments. How sure are they that I can live to 65, it sucks to think of it.

Now our Minister of Health is suggesting to my children that its ok to send me to JB to die in a old age home away from a home that i contribute to build.

We always hear that we need good leaders in Gov. self praise is international disgrace. The people also should be praised.

Return this power to the people.

PEOPLE POWER, SINGAPOREANS

24. Fat, Dumb & Happy 3 May 2011

@ iworkhardsometimes

i heard George Yeo speaking in mandarin on tv, it is not good.
    ==========================================
    Not only is GY’s mandarin pathetic, his command of the Chinese language is so shallow. When LTK said ‘although there is a tiger in the mountain, he’s still going to the mountain’, it is a very common Chinese proverb to mean ‘although the task at hand is difficult, one has to be courageous to do it’, while GY to show his Chinese ability, or the lack of it, asked “why LTK called me tiger, am I fierce?” That’s hopeless from our Foreign Minister.

25. Chan chin sing is a TRAITOR 3 May 2011

Maj gen Chan Chun Sing is now claiming that NS is not important? then why is my son given a whole load of reminders to register online for NS with a warning that serving NS is mandatory?

to protect the NS-evading swine like Dr Janil, you are even ready to sell out your own country?

can SAF now refund me and all my brothers for loss of income for wasting 2 and a half years in NS?

Maj Gen Chan, YOU ARE A TRAITOR!

26. People are not well informed of rally schedules in advance 3 May 2011

Opposition has not done enough to inform citizens the rallies. The rc seems trying to prove opposition rally attendees r there for the fanfare

27. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 3 May 2011

useless WP 3 May 2011
    so LTK, now you blamed PAP for your inability to grow the WP?????
    what have you done for the last 20 years in your capacity as the MP?

How many times have you spoken in the Parliament? or you only talk a lot during election rally and play to the crowd?
    ………….
    and leekingyou is so generous in makin lowthiakiang a kachengputeh minister, right? not even minster of jumbuan inspection…
    and YOU want lowthiakiang to do what?
    feel free to share ley?

and without a doubt..leekingyou must hav done plenty, rght?
    named me 5 good deeds he has done for the last 5 ears? shall we?

28. HammerThePapayas 3 May 2011

This is one thing we cant swallow: that foreigner candidate who did not serve NS.
    This Is Just Not Fair.

It also means that pap is putting foreigners above singaporeans.

29. jimmi 3 May 2011

i have been voting for the opposition for the past 3 election. And I assured you it is safe. nothing ever happens to me.

30. PM Lee Lee Hsien Loong admitted their mistakes today but this is not enough. Admitting PAP mistakes at this stage after been exposed is bound to they had been telling lie for the last 5 years.

What we want is:

1. Can PAP tell us how much money was lost in overseas investment and who should be accountable.

2. Can PAP tell us whether Wong Kan Seng should be accountable for the escape of Mas Selemat.

3. Can PAP tell us how current medical cost is going to be lowered w/o increasing the medical save.

4. Can PAP tell us what happen to our current education system which it seem that most Singaporean cannot afford a place in the unversity and foreigners seem to be able to secure a place in the University.

5. Can PAP tell us how they are going to improve the current transportation system w/o increasing the costs of transportation.

6. Can PAP tell us how they are going to return our CPF money earlier than the mandatory age of 62.

7. Can PAP tell us how are they going to provide more value added jobs for Singaporean and details breakdown of the types and number of jobs.

Without the above answers,an apology is not enough !! We need correction and corrective action. Apology alone don’t help to stop the slide in support but apology alone w/o action only tell us they had indeed lie us for the last 5 years !!! PAP cannot be trusted anymore !!!

31. Wong Can Sing 3 May 2011

Let’s sing a song to the tune of IMAGINE.

Imagine there’s no P A P
    It’s not difficult to do
    No more increase in G S T
    A reduction would be good

Imagine all the people
    Living oh so good
    Yoo hoo oo oo

Imagine no restriction
    in what we want to say
    Nothing to fear in voting
    No Minister with high pay

Imagine all the people
    Having a beter life
    Yoo Hoo oo oo

You may say I am dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I pray someday it’ll come true
    And be it on 7 May

32. eaglefly 3 May 2011

Hello, my friend has this to say,

“I received $400 and CPF 300, i think.

But just to tell LKY and his stooges, please keep the $400 and CPF, as i am not a THIEVE and ROBBER, TELL HIM I WANT TO RETURN THIS PORK BARREL VOTE BUYING MONEY.

I DON’T NEED IT.

Pls tell him to returned all my CPF MONEY, will do.

Yes, repeat, R-E-T-U-R-N, ALL, repeat, “R-E-T-U-R-N” ,

ME ALL OF MY CPF MONEY, AS I AM NO THIEVE.

I HAVE NO INCOME PAST 3-4 YEARS, AND I CANNOT BECOME A THIEVE, STEALING OTHER PEOPLE’S MONEY, STOP STEALING MY CPF !!!”

my friend is post 55.

33. eaglefly 3 May 2011

Corrected

Hello, my friend has this to say,

“I received $400 and CPF 300, i think.

But just to tell LKY and his stooges, please keep the $400 and CPF, as i am not a THIEVE and ROBBER, TELL HIM I WANT TO RETURN HIS PORK BARREL VOTE BUYING DOLLARS.

I DON’T NEED IT.

Pls tell him to returned all my CPF MONEY, will do.

Yes, repeat, R-E-T-U-R-N, ALL, repeat,

“R-E-T-U-R-N” ,

ME ALL OF MY CPF MONEY, AS I AM NO THIEVE.

I HAVE NO INCOME PAST 3-4 YEARS, AND I CANNOT BECOME A THIEVE, STEALING OTHER PEOPLE’S MONEY, STOP STEALING MY CPF !!!”

my friend is post 55 and he did not ask to be PAID for his VOTE.

pls do not “PAY HIM ” or “BUY HIM”, he CANNOT and REFUSED, and shall not be BOUGHT ! he said.

he only wants his hard earned CPF money back.

34. The most Powerful Citizen is one who QUESTIONS everything! 3 May 2011

We want TRANSPARENCY, Accountability.
    Do ALL MINISTERS know exactly the HEALTH of the RESERVES?

IF NOT…. what does it mean?

I like to ask ALL Opposition OPPOSERs the same.

Answer me!

35. Superchicken 3 May 2011

I hope that PAP be brought to justice if it has really abused its power to secure political advantage or other reasons detrimental to the well being of Singapore. Specific persons should be tried and if found guilty, be criminally charged. Singapore is a law-abiding country. This is what I learn from young.

36. alitheia 3 May 2011

The opposition parties have articulated the problems well.

Singaporeans now look forward to them sharing their vision and hopes for Singapore.

Having explained what is wrong, it is good for them to show Singaporeans what is right, what is possible.

And in the lead up to Polling Day, Singaporeans would like to see the Opposition parties stand united; and no matter the outcome, will continue to work for the good of Singapore.

37. Why are the "servants" being paid salary equivalent of a Master?? 3 May 2011

Mainstream state-controlled media don’t even know the meaning of “reporter” i.e. fully investigate facts that are supported by evidences.

That certain “editor” from the mainstream media who “reported” a “march” said that he heard and he reported i.e. rumor without proof and print to mislead readers. If that same reporter dares to do the same to ruling party, he’ll be sued till his pants drop and sent to jail to repent.

In the past we’ve been fed half-truth reports and formed a lot of wrong ideas about certain parties/persons.

This is so clearly evidenced. Why are all the print and TV mainstream media reporting only positive news coverage about the ruling party and splashed very big across the newspaper, while oppositions have lesser coverage?

Why did mainstream media reports filled with “analysis” that skewed towards the ruling party while subtly bashing/criticizing the opposition or helping to create unnecessary fears and empty threats? Your guess is as good as mine.

Unfortunately, these days thanks to and bless the souls who invented internet, we are able to do our own online research and have a much better and fuller picture to make an intelligent and well-informed decision.

38. Doctor 3 May 2011

If it isn’t important to do NS, and that’s because he has been saving kids’ lives, then can all doctors stop doing NS because they have been saving lives?

If I have been saving lives, can my son not do NS?

39. Why are the "servants" being paid salary equivalent of a Master?? 3 May 2011

This is not just abused power to secure political advantage. Current regime is shamelessly blocking opposition party from grassroots foothold. Read below quotes:

“Workers’ Party secretary-general Low Thia Khiang says the PAP has given the opposition an uneven playing field by making it “impossible” for the opposition to have a grassroots foothold in PAP constituencies.

During the party’s rally in Bedok stadium on Saturday, the leader of the team that will contest the Aljunied GRC explained that WP’s applications to the town council for permits to hold dialogue sessions under the void deck in other constituencies were rejected.

In addition, he said the PAP Community Foundation (PCF) schools, already running on cheap rent from the HDB, sublet their space to the PAP, which is why it is common to find PAP branches next to the PCF pre-schools.

In comparison, to set up a WP branch in a PAP constituency, the party has to tender from the open market, with rentals at much higher prices.”

40. useless WP 3 May 2011

LTK started with spare tire theory and some one in PAP said LTK actually wanted to be the co-driver,and now LTK admitted he wanted to be the co-driver!!!

so instead of talking about what he can do or rather what WP can do for Singapore, he and that “chairwoman” only know how to make fun of the comments by their opponents.

my dear Singaporeans, do you want this type of oppositions members as MP? they are not 1st class, rather NO CLASS.

As i said before, i don’t like PAP either, they have lousy education policies which produces a bunch of ungrateful Singaporeans who don’t know anything about filial attitude, who only demand and never contribute and spoilt.

the education policy also emphasis on good score and high mark and ended up elitist and look down on ordinary people, this is bad and even opposition also get caught up in this game, getting so called talented and scholar candidates who always look down on ordinary students. But ordinary people forget one thing, scholar scares to make mistake!!!!

when they are young, they are spoilt by the parents and if the parents do not give what they want, they throw tantrum, and when they grow up, they are spoilts by the government, if they can not get what they want from the government, they will like those comments made in TOC, bashing the government forgetting about 2008 and 2009 when the country was in financial crisis.

Ya, some one commented that neighbouring countries also did not collapse, but he forgot to mention what was the growth rate of the countries as compared to Singapore’s

some one complained he has to work more than 13 months in order to buy a HDB, i would say he is damn lucky, just come out from uni and within 13 months can buy a HDB already, try go to Malaysia or Indonesia, see whether you work for 13 months, you can buy a flat or not.

MINIMUM WAGE? look at Indonesia, they have minimum wage, what is the productivity of the people there, those who have been to that country will know.

People always complain the HDB is expensive, and yet, everytime there is a launch of new flat, the queue was so long and sold out within hours, can not afford or NO CHANCE to buy a second unit for investment, so blame MBT, just like some one wrote to newspapers and complained never got chance to buy HDB despite registering, and when HDB published the real story, it turned out that person was too choosy!!!.

human beings being human beings,always clouded by anger and emotional, can not take commnets on face value when his or her idol was being criticized!!!

Especially so called WP web supporters, when they can not win an argument, started calling names and so on, it only reflect immaturity and uneducated thinking.

yes,some of PAP ministers are arrogant, so is that chairwoman of WP, she is sarcastic besides arrogant.

comments like those without serving NF can not be MP, then what about those candidates in oppositions who also did not serve in NF who also became citizens not long ago, sound like with this requirement, all females in Singapore should also be in NS.

which one you prefer, the one who has been working in Singapore in the last 10 years and just became citizen few years ago or the one who has been away for more than 30 years? which one will understand Singapore as it is now better?

41. voters 3 May 2011

Goh has ego problem and too arrogant.
    He is one MP that Singaporean can safely boot out, because he has no ministry portfolio. Merely a “CONsultant” role to muppet his PAP team, which he can continue to do so behind the scene, without having to be in parliament.

42. Singapore Our Home Our Country 3 May 2011

A true democracy is one where:

1)Each elected member must contest on his/her own individually and is voted by voters to represent them in the parliament; and not have a free ride under the GRC system;

2)Electoral boundaries must NOT be redrawn time and time again at each election to serve any political party;

3)All political parties contesting the election must have the same level playing field;

4)There must be adequate checks and balances on the Government;

5)All Singaporeans must be treated equally and fairly regardless of who they vote for and above all, be better taken care of than permanent residents and foreigners.

43. Looks like PAP knows that the voters r really very angry, even PM hv to apologise and now another minister.i believe the next 2 days we’ll hear more apologies from most of their candidates.

Now is the time or never, to break the shackles of fear which the ‘great’ MM has done for so many years. He governed us to fear him as stated in his book,we need not fear him now.

When a person is in power for too long, power goes into their head, he thinks he can do no wrong and he feels that he owns SG. We hv huge reserves to show the world but thr are many of us struggling and they dont seem to care and keep asking us to lower our expectations when we apply for jobs. well, it’s their turn to lower expectation, don’t expect to win all yr GRCs.
    they kept saying we cant lose good ministers as it weakens the team, they hv to learn to manage cos any ministers can possibly drop dead anytime and if they dont hv a back up then it shows how incapable they are and if they do hv one then it doesnt matter if any ministers is not elected. PAP stop yr fear mongering cos we no longer fear YOU

44. Fugazi 3 May 2011

Useseless or not useless WP is telling it as it is. PAP is a spent party bent on clinging onto power cos of this – FEAR OF BEING MADE ACCOUNTABLE, FEAR OF BEING MADE TRANSAPRENT, FEAR OF BEING MADE RESPONSIBLE. Why this fear? Something must be wrong or something to hide!

This is a turning point and Singaporeans who value ethics, who value principles, who know what it is to emphatize and relate to commoners – will know where this nation would be heading if the PAP is voted in again. Yes, I am being cyncial – cos the taste is in the pudding lah. It is a party that is self-absorbed and utterly desperate,hence the NCMP scheme and GRC – it is political cowardice. This latter schemes is meant perpetuate party interests. To pretend that it is not so is insulting oneself and worst of all it is a travesty of democracy.

Lately, some of our so-called Ministers have been making veiled threats with regards to voting patterns. Can a person who makes such oblique threats be citizen-centred or even for that matter relate to the the real issues.

Singaporeans have been shortchanged in so many ways and to elucidate, elaborate is an exericise in redundancy.

45. We Need Justice! 4 May 2011

Whether to opt opposition or not boils down to one standard reasoning. Are the ruling party policies 100% perfect? Do you agreed 100% with every policy? Will the ruling party change their policy simply becos you dun agreed? If you cannot answer 100% to the qns above, you will appreciate or thank an opposing voice and those who vote them there during times that made a difference to you even though you are not in their league.

46. gentle reminder : cooling days magic by pappies coming…

they would use malice accusations to make down wp, nsp, rp, and sdp…

pappies will win landslide victories again especially winning back aljunied.

please urge people or rather your loved ones and friends and relatives and fellow countrymen to doubt, distrust the traditional media like newspapers, tv and radio especially by pappies………..

use the basic instincts of whether your lives are really better off now than 5 years ago????????????? dont think so… housing is one of the example, even you got sell and got spare cash, you cant use it to buy another bigger house that easily, let alone in future. also the erp and coes and cost of food and water and utilities… think of currency appreciation whether it is going to help MNCs to move out faster as cost is raising and not competitive(the male mp of sembawang today mentioned appreciation of sgd is good today, i wanted to laugh out loud as he is clearly not an good economist, let alone political, but mere hearsayer, sad sad sad as political candidate should be well versed in economy, read http://www.goldclubasia.com/forum to say why these pappies are crappy)

do ourselves and next generation a BIG BIG favour please, else we would downgrade from 2nd class citizens to 3rd class… oh no!!!!!!

NSP, WP and other parties need to do more walkabout with quality and sincerity, I know you are busy with elections campaigns like rallies, please double up your efforts to visit hdb blocks and condos also, practise makes perfect… go by word of mouth, rather than quantity though is important.

vote for vote of no confidence!! not for just sake of opposing…

bless ourselves by doing/working on more positive cycles than pappies negative cycles now

47. Don'tcarrythePAP 4 May 2011

Fugazi,totally agreed with you.

Singaporeans are no longer uneducated and depended on the PAP to think for them.

Whatever the mass media said great things about the government, we know who is their paymaster.

You can fool some people some of the time and most of the people most of the time, but you cannot fool them all the time.

48. useless WP 3 May 2011

LTK started with spare tire theory and some one in PAP said LTK actually wanted to be the co-driver,and now LTK admitted he wanted to be the co-driver!!!

so instead of talking about what he can do or rather what WP can do for Singapore, he and that “chairwoman” only know how to make fun of the comments by their opponents.

my dear Singaporeans, do you want this type of oppositions members as MP? they are not 1st class, rather NO CLASS.

As i said before, i don’t like PAP either, they have lousy education policies which produces a bunch of ungrateful Singaporeans who don’t know anything about filial attitude, who only demand and never contribute and spoilt.

the education policy also emphasis on good score and high mark and ended up elitist and look down on ordinary people, this is bad and even opposition also get caught up in this game, getting so called talented and scholar candidates who always look down on ordinary students. But ordinary people forget one thing, scholar scares to make mistake!!!!

when they are young, they are spoilt by the parents and if the parents do not give what they want, they throw tantrum, and when they grow up, they are spoilts by the government, if they can not get what they want from the government, they will like those comments made in TOC, bashing the government forgetting about 2008 and 2009 when the country was in financial crisis.

Ya, some one commented that neighbouring countries also did not collapse, but he forgot to mention what was the growth rate of the countries as compared to Singapore’s

some one complained he has to work more than 13 months in order to buy a HDB, i would say he is damn lucky, just come out from uni and within 13 months can buy a HDB already, try go to Malaysia or Indonesia, see whether you work for 13 months, you can buy a flat or not.

MINIMUM WAGE? look at Indonesia, they have minimum wage, what is the productivity of the people there, those who have been to that country will know.

People always complain the HDB is expensive, and yet, everytime there is a launch of new flat, the queue was so long and sold out within hours, can not afford or NO CHANCE to buy a second unit for investment, so blame MBT, just like some one wrote to newspapers and complained never got chance to buy HDB despite registering, and when HDB published the real story, it turned out that person was too choosy!!!.

human beings being human beings,always clouded by anger and emotional, can not take commnets on face value when his or her idol was being criticized!!!

Especially so called WP web supporters, when they can not win an argument, started calling names and so on, it only reflect immaturity and uneducated thinking.

yes,some of PAP ministers are arrogant, so is that chairwoman of WP, she is sarcastic besides arrogant.

comments like those without serving NF can not be MP, then what about those candidates in oppositions who also did not serve in NF who also became citizens not long ago, sound like with this requirement, all females in Singapore should also be in NS.

which one you prefer, the one who has been working in Singapore in the last 10 years and just became citizen few years ago or the one who has been away for more than 30 years? which one will understand Singapore as it is now better :

are you one the senior pappies or the miw or the more well to do? your argument seem good, but lots of flaws, flaws of glory falsely built behind struggles and pains of working class..

1) the BTO u mentioned i applied 3 times and did not get, the resales flat tampines 38Xk 4A flat got feb last year I got and 100Xplus k more expensive than 2008… and bloody hell i got to pay 10 more years of loans. what mbt said is true about choosy i believe, but ask him to give statistics of the rate of increase of prices for each estate and also loan mortgage status of each estate, I guess he would give you cock and bull stories. can gov(not pappies) give more discount and top up cpf to return us money so that we dont slog through till 100 years of our lives

2) the growth of singapore will be higher, but seriously the whole problem is that singaporean are mostly forced to pay debts and bills and not being able to be really free and creative and daring enough cos we are worried being a failure and singapore dont accept failure and they would declare them as bankrupt if financial having problem, and quite hard to reinstate and give them any chance again.

3) the taxi drivers are slaving daily just to pay rental from comfort and the rest… except those who are retired, you know how many died from overwork or too tired until accident, how many have to slog???

3) the monopolies of industries and companies but not enjoyed fully by the people of singapore and reserves and profit and losses not accounted for.. we are in first world country, I doubt so as we are controlled and monopolies, people who join these countries forgot that they are just slaves and also servants of these servants. america got anti-monopolies laws one hundred years ago, why not singapore??? somethings are very wrong..

4) CPF and retirement age screwed up in name of most people cant manage their finances, ask them to give a true figure and you know it is not true…

5) the erps we are paying more and more and also not resolving congestions…

6) etc etc, tons of things…

one can go ahead and vote pappies(yes men especially generals from armed forces), just make sure your children in future support your decision and wont despise you if things got worst, well remember leopard dont change their spot easily, pappies did apologize today, but they mentioned they would not change basic policies, i suppose like foreign and hdb policies and erp, it sends shiver to my heart, not just my spine…

49. ONE more although not exhaustive :

Education System failed for few decade, we overall especially pappies have become more ruthless(i try not be one now, but lots of bills, payments and also housing loans to pay each month, let me regain fully my childlike kindness) due to survival although we have elites and meritocracy system..

ethics, morals, and compassion are really forgotten by pappies under the education system(sorry they flew overseas in their university years i forgot to get their scholarshipsss)…
    thats why they can even control the traditional media at will and trying to direct traffic to their online sites, how scary, more scary then matrix movie(if i remember correctly) as they can propoganda without putting you under another world, and it is in same physical world.