by Howard Lee/

Perhaps it was the presence of Kenneth Jeyaretnam, but the spirit of the late JB Jeyaretnam seems to fill the air tonight.

When I first walked into the Yio Cho Kang Stadium for the Reform Party’s rally, I was expecting very little – the crowd has gathered on half of the seats, leaving the field pretty much empty.

But by the time candidate Osman Bin Sulaiman took to the stage, the roar of the crowd behind me caught my attention. It has easily doubled to about 1,500, and the chants began. Even those sitting on the stadium seats at the back were waving flags.

This crowd could hardly be the 30% or so who voted for the Workers’ Party in 2006, but it was quite evident that they were here to give their all for RP, as the emcee goaded them to shout “Reform” – “CHANGE!”

And it was obvious that RP was there to tug at their heart strings.

The speeches began with Mr Alex Tan. Stumbling over his words a few times, he cut hard with some humour (“What does GST stand for? Good Story Telling!”) and a good dose of figures, when he drew estimates of GIC’s losses in foreign investments and chastised the People Action Party’s intention to spend $1.2b on a river in Bishan Park. His was an opening for what was to come for the rest of the night.

Tan also showed solidarity with the Singapore People’s Party – “What’s so bad about Potong Pasir? In fact, the residents have been voting Chiam See Tong for 27 years!” – and defended the sharing of candidates between the two parties as a signal of opposition unity. In so doing, he also opened for KJ to take the stage and jibe at Mr Lim Heng Kiang, whom he claimed earlier said that RP was out of step with the other opposition parties. Instead, he accused the PAP of being out of touch with the people, and claimed Lim was trying to drive a wedge between the opposition parties. Indeed, KJ believed that “the existence of the (Ang Mo Kio GRC) team was evidence how in step we are with the opposition parties”.

Vigneswari d/o V Ramachandran spoke next, and brought up a passionate plea to work with the government on issues and programmes to level the education playing field and re-emphasise the need to pinpoint and develop each child’s gifts. Renouncing the streaming system, Vigneswari encouraged the government to build more sports and arts schools, invest in subsidies and bursaries for the needy, and reiterated RP’s proposal to provide free education up to the secondary level, especially for the physically disabled and mentally challenged. Such subsidies, she jibed, is “money well spent compared to millions overspent on the YOG.”

But perhaps the most compelling was Osman Bin Sulaiman, who held the audience for 20 minutes and seemed to up the energy level by the end of his speech. Osman praised his team for the diversity of experiences, including representation for students. He was also responsible for initiating the many “boos” that came from the crowd, when he mentioned the 900,000 workers on work permit that the PAP still wants to bring in, and the infamous spurs-in-the-hide National Geographic interview with Lee Kuan Yew.

He reserved many sore points about the foreign workforce, but rounded up with a personal example from his walkabouts – a lady who was in arrears for her conservancy, but was sent a court letter, whereupon she was imposed a court fine. His statement to the cheers of the crowd: “What does it say about our government, penalising us when we are (already) poor?” Osman’s speech was short on tangible deliverables, yet the most impassioned.

Arthero Lim coined a new term, “Chinderporeans”, joking that he might no longer know how to address the crows the next general elections, given the mass influx of foreigners into our midst. He narrated his personal letters upon finding out about JBJ’s passing while overseas. Switching to Mandarin, he told the parable of cows and egrets, in direct reference to the way the Central Provident Fund has been managed by the PAP that impacts whose in their 50s who are unable to be employed. He indicated that it was a reflection of what they see on the ground at walkabouts. In response, he reiterated RP’s policies on universal health insurance to replace Medisave and Medishield, Singaporeans first when it comes to jobs, and minimum wage. His ending plea: “Go with a representative who dares to speak up for you (in Parliament).”

Election veteran Mansor Rahman took Lee Kuan Yew to take for his recent statements that he claims hurt the feelings of Malays. His advice to the Malays in Ang Mo Kio was that there was “no point voting for the PAP”. He also shared that he was expelled from the National Trade Union Congress for demanding that all PAP MPs must resign from NTUC, as “the trade union must be free from political affiliation”. His concern: “The government is the biggest employer in Singapore… How can they represent the workers?”

When it came to Lim Zi Rui, there was no holding back RP’s attempt to connect with all ages and outlooks. Lim first paid tribute to the elderly who have contribute to Singapore, emphasising that “they have undergone a revolution” in Singapore’s founding years, but are today neglected by the PAP. Lim speech also began an emphasis of the evening on the secrecy of our vote, and obvious overture to the older generation who still believe that to be true, a point that was also picked up later by M Ravi and KJ. But moving back quickly to his age group, he noted that of the PAP’s young candidates, the Y Generation was not happy with them. “We are looking not just for qualification, but a passion to serve, to represent Singaporeans,” he claims.

Lim also touched on how his university mates have found it inconceivable that many scholarships were given to foreigners who are no more capable than Singaporeans passed the chance. He reiterated RP’s stand that they are not against foreigners, but “against the policies that allow this to happen” as they have “created inequality, which permeates all aspects of society.

But it was guest speaker M Ravi who brought the house down. Mixing jokes with pressure statements, Ravi chastised the PAP for constantly referring to their track record, saying that “if you ask this question, nobody can get a job”, and instead insisted that a member of parliament only needs one quality: “To stand up for you”. Criticising the PAPs’ dominance, he candidly asked: “Can you play football with one team? How (do we) have a good game with 77 against 3?” He ended with a plea for voters to “have the same spirit that Lee Kuan Yew had when he drove away the British, the spirit of Mederka!”

The rest of the evening ended with speeches by other RP candidates – Frankie Low, Harn Ho and Andy Zhu. But it was KJ’s second speech that reaffirmed to party’s intention to take Ang Mo Kio GRC, where he reiterated the roots that JBJ and RP has to the former Cheng San GRC. He even mentioned the infamous condolence letter from Lee Hsien Loong to his family. By this time, JBJ was very much alive in the crowd, and they broke spontaneously in chants of “JBJ, JBJ!”

The rally ended with many lining the barricades to shake hands with the candidates and for KJ’s autograph. Many elderly residents actually declared to him, “I supported your father, you have my vote!” Someone next to me noted that KJ had tears welling up in his eyes.

Intentionally or not, the spirit of Singapore’s Indomitable Lion was definitely in Yio Chu Kang stadium tonight. Heart strings are taut, and every attempt was made to connect with the young and old. Amidst all the humourous banter, the real question remains: If we believe in all the policies that RP has defined in their election manifesto, would the team be able to surf high on JBJ’s legacy and garner enough confidence votes in Ang Mo Kio GRC to unseat the Prime Minister? If you were there tonight, you might have wished for it.

For more TOC news about the general election, please visit our GE website as well. Click here.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

32 Responses to “Reform – CHANGE!”

1. Mark Twain: “Politicians are like diapers; they need to be changed often, and for the same reason.” If you agree, re-post / re-tweet this!

2. RP, your team is small and some of them young. But it is great to see that these young people stand up for Singaporeans. It shows your passion and care for Singaporeans. Be strong and courageous. The fight against Pap will make you stronger and brave. You guys already have the passion to serve Singaporeans unlike pap. Fight on. This election you might win a lot of seats. You will never know until you take the fight to the pap. Bonaventure to RP. God Bless.

3. anonymous 2 May 2011

The choice is starkly clear – either stay with the status quo and perish or vote for change and opportunity.

4. Titiana 2 May 2011

KJ is a real credit to his father. Like his father, he soldiers on despite setbacks. Many Singaporeans still remember how the PAP made use of the kangaroo court to bankrupt JBJ. The indomitable spirit of JBJ can also be seen in KJ.

KJ has won many admirers and this will give RP a fighting chance to defeat the PAP.

5. Fugazi 2 May 2011

Singaporeans have now been to reduced to (at least it seems so) wishing, pleading and cajoling. If one is dealing with someone who is citizen-centred, there is no need to do the wishing, pleading …. it is so bad and I shudder at the very thought of them having a majority stake in govt. Looks like Singaporeans dont respect themselves.

The incumbents are not interested in the welfare of Singapoerans but rather the party and a few vested interests.

If they had been sincere there would have been no election-carrots like rebates, progressive package and …. it is a ploy to garner votes. It will be all taken back ten-fold.

The incumbents fear being questioned, fear being accounted for .. , fear being checked n balanced, fear that constitution amendments cannot be passed easily without a proper debate and so on so forth. Hence the constant anathematization of anyone, anything that bears the semblance of transparency, accountablility and …

As for those who had voted for PAP and who think that the latter can deliver – just remember and understand that each vote that goes to the incumbents is akin to pawning away not only your chidlrens’ lives but selfishly compromising for short-term material gains.

After the 7th of May if PAP wins majority seats – with their intractable style of non-transparent, unaccountable, condescending and arrogant ways of governining it is likely to

Become an ‘’island’’ of Singaporeans in a ‘’sea’’ of foreigners. The floodgates will be opened for all.

NS only for singaporeans and jobs to foreingers. This is certainly not acceptable. It is akin to defending vested interests only.

PR will be allowed to buy HDB flats driving up the price even further and worse still is that of manipulation by controlling supply/demand and conveniently shift blaming on the market. Who is verifying what now or checking what is actually transpiring? Statistics – who know which is which?

Any bills/amendments/price increases n … will go thru a media-circus of a parliament in a desultory manner only to later find out that the incumbents get what they started with.

There are more issues and cos of space constraints I have merely pointed a few anomalies/inequities.

If Singaporeans feel disappointed – remember that it is the one-party sytem that has caused so much of problems. In a two-party system, the incumbents would be forced to be transparent,
    accountable and cannot make changes or legislate capriciously. THIS IS WHAT THEY DO NOT WANT. They just want to do as they please and when things go wrong they shift blame and still get paid.

Singapoerean never paid them high salaries, it was ARROGATED via the one-party system. Stupidity is to assume that we are paying them.

Politicians dont decide our future – it is each single vote that decides the direction of our future.
    It is nigh impossible to make it a reality with a one-party rule. No ombudsman, no transparency, a conniving mainstream media and now it is plagued with nepotism, cronyism and the many ills that are hallmarks of despotism/one-party regimes.

When all is said and done, t is not who votes for whom but who counts the votes that matters

6. ruby 2 May 2011

Can we really trust Low Thia Kiang and team? Do you all know of the Hougang HUDC privatisation issue that was so badly managed? My question to LTK is: what was the estimated sinking funds? If you cannot even be accountable to your constituents in Hougang, and the issue has not been solved, why are you moving out of Hougang?

7. kukujumuku 2 May 2011

Trouble is, ONE person had made our life so fearful after what he DID to the dis-senting voices and opposition and used our courts to “KILL” the person’s(ALL HUMANS ARE FREE SPIRITED) spirit and will to live. So, today, we have a nation of young that has no fight, no challenge, no imagination and that ONE person and his stooges claim, “our young must be apathetic to politics”, what a contradiction.

Trouble is the sing dollar appreciate too fast and furious. Is it good for us, you better think. Hot flow of money into any economy, closed or open, is not good as it destabilize all things.

Our trade with malaysia is more on, concrete, sand, granite, and granite sand and compared to food, chicken, vege, eggs, pork, its this trade of building materials, that brings in the bacon for the gov, in selling of land, condo cost and fees of all kinds to gov coffers. This trade is larger than the food cost all singaporeans consumed DAILY, since day one, look at HDB from 1973 onwards.

The nation has lost christmas island because of some despot,LYH, imagine if we have christmas island, our army, navy and air force cost can be saved in the billions, instead of going to australia, new zealand, taiwan, south africa for training.

LIKE SOMEONE SAID.
    “BUT, DO WE REALLY NEED AN ARMY IN THE 21ST CENTURY, WHY NOT HAVE A FEW A BOMBS AND LET THAT BE A DETERRENCE”

DOES ANYONE WIN A WAR IN THE 21ST CENTURY, ONLY THE DESPOTS WOULD WANT TO GO TO WAR IN THE 21ST CENTURY.

Imagine if christmas island is with us, our fishery can be develop, farming of all kinds can have huge potential, and recreation too. One can imagine the kind of things one can create there.

But then, we have voted in duds, with no imagination and that cost us aplenty. We have many malaysians chinese and indians and they say, “LKY is our saviour, he’s very good”, and these people have been taking away our jobs and depressing our wages, creating inflation of all kinds, but never wanting to take up citizenship, why, is the jobs not good enough for your children, the ones you have taken away from locals, the HDB that you have stayed, 10-20 years, not good enough for your retirement, the buses, mrt ????

As if this ONE person wants to show or prove to Mahathir, “look, we have created jobs and save your economy”, “your unemployment data figures IS LOW DUE TO US giving jobs to 600,000 malaysians”

It’s this ONE person that SAID, singaporeans are difficult, daft, has no spike, not hungry. This ONE person looks at us, all singaporeans as a BARRIER to his GLORY.

Now, do you want to give him your vote ??

8. @ruby

Try putting youself in Low Thia Kiang position. It is very challanging for one person to fight against so many PAP pests. At least you should give him some good and sound advice.

You are either very naive about what is going to happen to you, your children.. if there is not enough voices to STOP the driver from going nuts !!!

Think again before it is too late.

9. Possibly PM might lose his seat in AMK, he is too confident and conceited.

AMK also a lot of middle and lower class people suffering.

10. Truth 2 May 2011

There is only one constant in life…..Change!

Anyone telling you otherwise is lying!

11. masterservant 2 May 2011

I find it hilarius that American foreign policy has created Osama into a tyrant, religious freak, terrorist and the whole world just love it, any similarity here to the PAP and the opposition.

Don’t you all see the FAILURE of American foreign policy.

Who is Osama, a nobody, but made out to be somebody, a terrorist, what irony.

Can anyone win a war in the 21st, 22nd century, please use your head.

Does anyone wants to CONQUER a “BARREN” place called singapore and have to feed it’s people, provide electricity and clothe the people,

THINK !!!

because it has a world port, airport, business centre ???

THINK…..

because after the war, NOTHING, will be left.

Would you want to rebuilt after the carnage,

THINK…

PROPAGANDA is very real, as it will make believe everything here is VALUABLE, when it is NOT.

12. Buay Song 2 May 2011

The Tsunami is coming.
    Those who disbelive it can stand by and watch the unstoppable waves come in.
    After the last 5 years citizens livelihood have not improved.
    Leaders are so high up that they cannot understand why a people are complaining of packed public transport, difficulty in getting jobs as FTs are cheaper,higher GST, HDB prices, etc.
    Listen to the prophecy: “The Tsunami of Change is coming soon!”

13. Man of FAITH 2 May 2011

He and HGis father did what they could, the rest is in our VOTES.

SAVE our next generation children from DEBTS.

Share with your friends the lyrics of the links is so heart warming

http://www.youtube.com/user/project2O11#p/a/u/0/p1tzIRkIFs0

14. payalebar 2 May 2011

Tan Jee Say’s idea as reported and exaggerated by the PAP sounds really daft to most people. But as a man who has been around factories for close to 40 years I think it contains the germ of a very important fact. Look around you in Jurong and other established industrial estates in Singapore. Do you see and hear the same level of activity as say 10 years ago. No. These estates are hollowing out or have in individual factories substantial change of use to office and warehousing. For the most part they are propped up by tax holidays and land rent subsidies. Which drains the coffers of the State.
    Looking around in Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam right up to Pakistan and Jordan, I can see that the land values over which their factories are built are a fraction of that in Singapore. Thus the land cost component in Singapore is not conducive to the sorts of industries planned by the late Dr Goh Keng Swee. Moreover the labour cost is too high compared to the countries in the region. The business of manufacturing in Singapore is too costly with artificial props which sucks up tax payers’ money.
    There is wisdom in not subsidising industry to the present level. Gradually ween Singapore to other sorts of activities for which we have an economic advantage. To continue at this intensity with the industrialisation program envisaged by Dr Goh Keng Swee is to subsidise the world’s labour force to the detriment of our own.
    If you go to as far as Jordan today and visit a factory you will see the same racial groups as are found in factories in Singapore. You will see Indians, Bangladeshis, Chinese, Thailand people, Indonesians and Filipinos. Should we Singaporeans have to bear the brunt of upkeeping this highly mobile migrant workforce at the expense of our own.
    The implementation of shifting emphasis from industry to service has to done with intelligence and not proceeded like how the Ruling Party dealt with the foreign talent deluge. We need gears to shift in Parliament and for that we need opposition groups to access new ideas, new frontiers, staged implementation, discussion, debate, assessment and not just ‘leave it to me, trust me,’ as the PAP is wont to say in their groupthink.

15. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 2 May 2011

compared the speeches between the RP chairman and the arrogant pap party mental minister
    that is all we need to know
    who is really lookin after the future of singapoor….

16. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 2 May 2011

ruby 2 May 2011
    Can we really trust Low Thia Kiang and team? Do you all know of the Hougang HUDC privatisation issue that was so badly managed?
    …………….
    ole dear ole dear
    cynthia just change her nick to ruby
    same postin same words4words…

see below
    …………….
    cynthia 2 May 2011
    Can we really trust Low Thia Kiang and team? What of the Hougang HUDC privatisation issue that was so badly managed?
    ………….
    enough echos from the USELESS
    istana a-team dog(s)

today istana canteen menu is boneless bone dipped in onion soup skin

17. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 2 May 2011

AMK
    AMK also a lot of middle and lower class people suffering.
    ……………
    and techgheephuat GRC will continued to pay and pay…
    ow many erp poles from amk to go to work/businesses to town or wherever?
    and to come home still must pay erp poles till 10.30pm?

18. passerby 2 May 2011

The most important thing opposition must when they get into parliament is to stop all foreigners from coming in. When there is over supply of labour, wages will come down and the first to be told to go will be Sporeans because we cost too much to companies (CPF, NWC, Medicals, etc). This is also link to price increases. When 2 million people demand for the same goods and services, prices will shoot up horribly (to come soon!) to the delight of governenet owned companies. This is the root of our problem. Global price increases is a separate issue. Right now we have internal labour over supply and internal shortages of food and services.

19. REFORM PARTY CAN A GRC 2 May 2011

Previous West Coast GRC MP also known to ignore residents there.

temasekreview.com/2010/07/13/residents-of-west-coast-grc-utterly-disappointed-with-mp-ho-geok-choo/

theonlinecitizen.com/2009/09/handicapped-resident-applies-for-aid-with-mp-but-faces-difficulties/

======================================

Kenneth Jeyaretnam and Reform Party has a good chance of winning 5 seats in Parliament.

Look at the quality of the other party’s candidates.
    ——————

KJ N REFORM PARTY SHOULD CAPITALISE ON BELOW
    29 April 2011

KJ N REFORM PARTY SHOULD CAPITALISE ON BELOW.

LOTS VOTES TO BE GAINED.

Read somewhere that the blocks invovled are Blk 340 n surounding blocks of Clementi Ave 5.
    =======

QUOTE-
    KENNETH JEYARETNAM OF REFORM PARTY SHOULD INVESTIGATE AND HIGHLIGHT BELOW
    29 April 2011
    LOLOL
    29 April 2011

ARTHUR FONG GOT ”COMPASSIONATE HEART”.
    Arthur Fong IGNORED/ABANDONED West Coast GRC – Clementi residents for 1 year plus.

ARTHUR FONG GOT ”COMPASSIONATE HEART”.
    ===============

The future leaders of this country need to have four Cs: Clear head, COMPASSIONATE HEART, Clean hands and Competency,
    said Ms Penny Low, the People’s Action Party (PAP) candidate in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.
    newsletter.todayonline.com/cgi-bin28/DM/t/eQW0DHiz0Ce0F4B0EM
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ARTHUR FONG
    WEST COAST GRC -CLEMENTI MP ARTHUR FONG MOST KILAT

Read from below that MP Arthur Fong ignores residents for a year plus after a screw up LUP, where residents still need to walk up/down stairs after LUP done;
    AS THE LIFT DONT STOP AT ALL FLOORS AFTER LUP DONE.

forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2579980
    forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=30429
    ================

FOO MEE HAR
    QUOTE-
    24 Apr 2011 …
    SINGAPORE: Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng said the government is open and is not afraid to tell the people the truth
    ge.sg/…/GE-Spore-government-is-open-and-not-afraid-to-tell-the-truth-
    says-DPM-Wong
    ———-
    The future leaders of this country need to have four Cs: Clear head, Compassionate Heart, CLEAN HANDS and Competency,
    said Ms Penny Low, the People’s Action Party (PAP) candidate in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.
    newsletter.todayonline.com/cgi-bin28/DM/t/eQW0DHiz0Ce0F4B0EM
    TELL SINGAPOREANS THE TRUTH ABOUT FOO MEE HAR

Foo Mee Har – How did she ever pass the tea party? 20 posts – 14 authors – Last post: 25 Mar
    This lady began life as head of contact centre (customer service) for SCB. Her constant lunch and coffee break partner was her boss and head …
    sammyboy.com/showthread.php?87671-Foo-Mee-Har…

Damning accusations hurled at PAP’s Foo Mee Hartemasekreview.com/…/damning-accusations-hurled-at-paps-foo-mee- har/

Ms Foo Mee Har needs to clarify about her husband’s bankruptcy …temasekreview.com/…/ms-foo-mee-har-needs-to-clarify-about-her- husbands-bankruptcy-order/
    =========

LAWRENCE WONG
    QUOTE-24 Apr 2011 …

SINGAPORE:Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng said the government is open and is not afraid to tell the people the truth
    …ge.sg/…/GE-Spore-government-is-open-and-not-afraid-to-tell-the-truth- says-DPM-Wong
    ———-

TELL SINGAPOREANS THE TRUTH ABOUT LAWRENCE WONG.

Potential PAP candidate held grand farewell party using taxpayers’ money?

EMA CEO hold grand Farewell@St … 10 posts – 7 authors – Last post: 6 days agoThe CEO of Energy Market Authority (EMA), Mr Lawrence Wong Shyun … to EMA staff at a dinner and dance at St James Power Station on Friday. …forum.channelnewsasia.com/viewtopic.php?p=4309696&sid…

Potential PAP candidate held grand farewell party using taxpayers … 27 Mar 2011 … After the speech, Mr Wong entertained his staff of about 250 with two … It is not known how much this special event at St James Power …. Farewell party using taxpayer money. Disgusting is the word to describe it. …

temasekreview.com/…/potential-pap-candidate-held-grand-farewell- party-using-taxpayers’-money/ -

20. SO FAR PAP DARE NOT PUBLICISE FOO MEE HAR N LAWRENCE WONG 2 May 2011

WHY HAR?

21. @ruby

The PAP team in government, can Singaporeans trust them?

They have sold many of Singapore’s assets and where is the money?

Constituency under the PAP Balakrishnan lost about $8 million through bad investments.

900,000 foreigner’s waiting to enter Singapore to take over Singaporean jobs when this election is over.

There are many promises made recently by the PAP during the weeks of campaigning to get your votes,

“No GST increases for another 5 years”

“NTUC to recommend larger pay increases”

Without the general elections, no such promises would be made.

When the PAP gets voted in, it will be the same increases in expenses for the ordinary Singaporeans and big pay increases for the PAP.

THE MORE OPPOSITIONS IN PARLIAMENT, THE

BETTER LIFE IS FOR SINGAPOREANS

22. Deformed 3 May 2011

Better ook at the quality of the RP team. Other than KJ, would you trust the rest of the clowns in that team? They will turn West Coast into a slum.

The PAP team, on the other hand, is proven in West Coast. Lim Hng Kiang has been around for a long time and knows the residents needs well. Iswaran is also well known and gets along very well with the residents. The very beautiful Foo Mee Har is sure to garner a lot of male votes.

23. eaglefly 3 May 2011

YES, ALL MANUFACTURING COMPANIES ARE GIVEN SUBSIDIES FROM DAY ONE TO COME HERE, TAX FREE HOLIDYAS TOO, WHO IS PAYING, TAX PAYERS OF COURSE, IT CANNOT BE FROM LKY’S POCKET OR LSS’S POCKET,

BUT DOES THE TAX PAYERS BENEFIT, THINK……

WHY ARE THESE COMPANIES IN ALL KINDS, CALLED FDI, NEEDING SO MUCH OF SUBSIDIES Of ALL KINDS AND TAX FREE STATUS FOR 10 YEARS, WHY,

THE CEO’S ARE DOING A FINE JOB, HELL NO, MILKING THE ISLAND NATION, AND THEY CLAIM THEY DON’T HAVE A LEVEL PLAYING FIELD, HOW CAN THEY SAY THAT WHEN SO MUCH OF SUBSIDIES ARE GIVEN, IT JUST SHOWS THEY ARE NOT “UP TO IT” AND THEY WANT HIGH CEO PAYOUT, CHEAPEST OF LABOR, NOT SINGAPOREANS BUT CHEAPEST.

TRY SLAVES !!!

IT JUST SHOW, THAT THESE COMPANIES WILL NOT BE ABLE TO MAKE IT ANYWHERE IN S.E.A, WITH STRICT LABOR LAWS IN INDONESIA, THAILAND, WHY NOT TRY CHINA, INDIA, CEO’S…

IT JUST SHOWS OUR MINSTERS ARE DUDS, PLAYING ALONG THIS LINE,

SLAVE TRADING IS THE NORM HERE, AS LEVIES ARE COMING IN BY THE MILLIONS AND BILLIONS, FOREIGN LEVY OF ALL KINDS, INCLUDING MAIDS….

AND YOU BLAME PARENTS FOR NO BABIES, YOU MEAN YOU WANT YOUR BABIES TO BE SLAVES..?

DID YOU VOTE FOR THESE DUDS ???

I SURE DID NOT SINCE 1986………..

AND I SURE WILL NOT ……….!!!!!!!!!!!

DUDS=DAFTS
    DAFTS=DUDS

24. 30 NO LESS 3 May 2011

I had a bad dream last night.

In my dream, I was watching parliamentary debate.

On one side, the front row was filled w all former military juntas wearing white.

On the other side there were 15 opposition members.

On the table were stacks and stacks of documents…

Parliament was debating 44 laws and policies to be introduced or amended.

At every instance, when it comes down to the vote,

It is 72 to 15.

Singapporeans lost again. Despite having 15 opp MPs, laws pass like water.

Only this time, it is vengefully done, military style.

Imagine the damage to this vengeful politics after 5 years?

The only way to prevent it from happening is to bring in 30 opp MPs into parliament – minimum.

Best still… Vote out the military people.

25. Political Poet 3 May 2011

Go KJ – I wish you well. It will be good to see you in Parliament take on the old fart and his young piss. You could have chosen to stay in the UK and continue a prosperous life as a corporate banker but you have chosen to serve your country of birth – hope you will continue the fight regardless of the results on May 7 with the persistency and tenacity of your late father (God Bless his soul)!

26. omacdona 3 May 2011

When ol’macdonna farts away all the animals sream.. with joy. They dont cry fowls. Joy to the farm.

27. Senthil Kumar 3 May 2011

There are few scenarios that Singaporeans must understand in this GE2011:

1. More voices but no change – To have less than 1/3 opposition seats in parliament will not change anything already done, e.g. cost of living, FTs, property prices, etc except that opposition MPs can make more noises and suggestions that PAP in majority may not listen. There is also a risk that PAP back in power will find ways to suppress all oppositions so that there will not be any chance of voting like in this GE2011.

2. Partial change – To have more than 1/3 and less than 2/3 opposition seats will be likely to change some already done as above but will not change the Constitution that allows GRC, NMP, NCMP, and election boundary redrawing. PAP will still be in power or sharing power with oppositions. This may be harder for PAP in power to diminish the oppositions.

3. Complete change – To have more than 2/3 opposition seats means the alternative party will be the government and PAP the opposition. This can change everything including the Constitution. However, Singaporeans must make sure the elected government rewrites the Constitution to abolish those ill clauses and introduce check and balance clause. Also, to ensure Constitution is not allowed to change without referendum. Otherwise, the next non-PAP government may have the chance to abuse the Constitution as well.

Basically, this GE2011 is not about local town upgrading, FTs, or cost of living, etc. It is about whether Singaporeans would like to take back the political power and have a say on the future of Singapore. Once the people take back the power, they can then have a say on how to run this country and all those policies and problems will be resolved to their preference.

Singaporeans must vote wisely on 7 May to decide what they want in the future.

28. kukujumuku 3 May 2011

Trouble is, ONE person had made our life so fearful after what he DID to the dis-senting voices and opposition and used our courts to “KILL” the person’s(ALL HUMANS ARE FREE SPIRITED) spirit and will to live. So, today, we have a nation of young that has no fight, no challenge, no imagination and that ONE person and his stooges claim, “our young must be apathetic to politics”, what a contradiction.

Trouble is the sing dollar appreciate too fast and furious. Is it good for us, you better think. Hot flow of money into any economy, closed or open, is not good as it destabilize all things.

Our trade with malaysia is more on, concrete, sand, granite, and granite sand and compared to food, chicken, vege, eggs, pork, its this trade of building materials, that brings in the bacon for the gov, in selling of land, condo cost and fees of all kinds to gov coffers. This trade is larger than the food cost all singaporeans consumed DAILY, since day one, look at HDB from 1973 onwards.

The nation has lost christmas island because of some despot,LYH, imagine if we have christmas island, our army, navy and air force cost can be saved in the billions, instead of going to australia, new zealand, taiwan, south africa for training.

LIKE SOMEONE SAID.
    “BUT, DO WE REALLY NEED AN ARMY IN THE 21ST CENTURY, WHY NOT HAVE A FEW A BOMBS AND LET THAT BE A DETERRENCE”

DOES ANYONE WIN A WAR IN THE 21ST CENTURY, ONLY THE DESPOTS WOULD WANT TO GO TO WAR IN THE 21ST CENTURY.

SOMEONE SAID, “THE ISLAND IS A BARREN LAND, WHO IN THE RIGHT MIND WANTS TO CONQUER BARREN LAND, BECAUSE AFTER THE WAR OR INVASION, EVERYTHING WILL BE FLAT”

ASK YOURSELF, “DO YOU WANT TO REBUILT AFTER THE WAR OR INVASION”, “HOW MUCH IS REQUIRED”, “ARE YOU SURE SOMEONE WILL SELL, YES, SELL YOU SAND, GRANITE, CEMENT” AFTER THEY FLATTEN THE ISLAND

Imagine if christmas island is with us, our fishery can be develop, farming of all kinds can have huge potential, and recreation too. One can imagine the kind of things one can create there.

But then, we have voted in duds, with no imagination and that cost us aplenty. We have many malaysians chinese and indians and they say, “LKY is our saviour, he’s very good”, and these people have been taking away our jobs and depressing our wages, creating inflation of all kinds, but never wanting to take up citizenship, why, is the jobs not good enough for your children, the ones you have taken away from locals, the HDB that you have stayed, 10-20 years, not good enough for your retirement, the buses, mrt ????

As if this ONE person wants to show or prove to Mahathir, “look, we have created jobs and save your economy”, “your unemployment data figures IS LOW DUE TO US giving jobs to 600,000 malaysians”

It’s this ONE person that SAID, singaporeans are difficult, daft, has no spike, not hungry. This ONE person looks at us, all singaporeans as a BARRIER to his GLORY.

Now, do you want to give him your vote ??

29. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 4 May 2011

Deformed
    The very beautiful Foo Mee Har is sure to garner a lot of male votes.
    ………….
    indeed beautiFOOL
    you might as well roped in annabel cheong to be in techgheephuat pap grc team..
    1 licked from her a 1000s pricks will vote for her