by Khairulanwar Zaini, additional reporting by Deborah Choo/ photos by Han Thon

Swinging into the Bedok heartland with style, the Workers’ Party juggernaut continued its southward march into East Coast. On any ordinary day, the soccer players of Geylang United could be found plying their trade in Bedok Stadium, but last evening it played host to the party’s third electoral rally.

A heavy afternoon rain had left the grounds slightly damp, but the massive crowd did not allow itself to be dampened. As the minutes drew down to the start of the rally, the carnival of screeching whistles, hoisted banners, and fluttering party flags retained its exuberance. Ardent party enthusiasts duly provided pre-rally entertainment with the display of their home-made party paraphernalia, leading to much cheers and photographic frenzy.

The candidates only walked onto the stage at twenty past seven. It was slightly later than the previous day, but the crowd did not mind the longer wait. They had, after all, waited five years.

Mr Eric Tan

When the Workers’ Party last contested East Coast in 2006, it garnered 36.14% of the vote. Then-candidate Eric Tan knew that his party had lost the moment the ballot box was opened. He instinctively remarked that the Workers’ Party would return, much to the bemusement of a counting agent from the ruling party.

He declared to an appreciative crowd, ‘As promised, today, we are back!’ And so they were.

Ms Glenda Han

The party’s starkly populist war cry for the night resonated well with the audience, as the candidates took turns to chastise the incumbent for its failure to rein in the cost of living. Two of the candidates for East Coast, Fazli Talip and Glenda Han, both took the ruling party to task for the increasing cost of transport; the target of their ire transport minister Raymond Lim, whom the party is going head-to-head with in East Coast. Fare hikes have often been justified by the increase in energy costs, yet Lim had insisted that ‘public transport fare is not directly linked to oil prices’ when fuel dropped in price in 2008.

Glenda Han excoriated the minister for what she saw as obfuscation: ‘I know you are the transport minister in Singapore, but please, do not take us for a ride!’

The party also pooh-poohed the ruling party’s ‘grow and share package’. Somasundaram (Moulmein-Kallang) dismissed the benevolence of the government – the payout is insufficient to compensate the rising costs of living. Furthermore, he remarked, ‘They give you the fruit, but take back the fruit tree!’ To the delight of the crowd, he also cynically mused about how ‘the economy seem to do well in election years’.

And concerns over the cost of living often inevitably segue into resounding criticisms of ministerial salaries. It was no different, with Eric Tan and Sylvia Lim (Aljunied) partnering in a formidable tag team to denounce the lavish pay that incumbent ministers receive. Sylvia Lim decried the hypocrisy of the government asking Singaporeans to sacrifice during lean times, since the PAP ministers are not ‘keeping their own cost down’. She suggested instead that ministerial remuneration should be benchmarked against countries with similar demographics, such as Finland, Norway, Denmark, and New Zealand.

With a touch of irreverence, Tan regaled the crowd with his suggestion to hire former American president Bill Clinton and British prime minister Tony Blair: ‘at the salaries we pay them, we can get both of them for the price of one of our ministers! … [And] we [will] still have more change after paying them!’

Looming large over the course of the day was minister mentor Lee Kuan Yew’s salvo: Aljunied residents would come to rue their choice if they elected the Workers’ Party. But Eric Tan criticised these threats. ‘They threatened you and made you feel insecure. They said you will regret your decision if you vote Worker’s Party. So, it appears to me that this election has become a battle between PAP and the will of the people! But you know, Singapore is bigger than the PAP!” he declared.

And these threats are immaterial. As Tan reminded the audience, ‘Singaporeans have [already] been regretting the last five years!’

It was then left to fellow East Coast candidate Png Eng Huat to do the honours of upping the ante. Having rapidly established himself as another crowd favourite, Png issued an ‘important task’ for East Coast residents. The previous evening, he had instructed the residents to help foreign affairs minister George Yeo find another job. Last evening, the East Coast residents are to fulfil labour chief Lim Swee Say’s initial request for a retirement.

Mr Gerald Giam

The rally was inevitably anchored in the party’s drive towards a First World Parliament. Gerald Giam (East Coast) outlined two potential post-election scenarios in his speech. The first has the ruling party securing yet again another dominant majority. Gerald Giam observed that such a result would ‘be a sad day for Singapore. Your voice will continue to be silenced.’ The second scenario entailed a more pluralistic parliament with ‘Workers’ Party MPs engaging in vigorous debate with the PAP in parliament over local and national issues’. The party will ‘get on the ground to listen to real stories by real people’, Giam promised.

However, the big task of defending the proposed First World Parliament against attacks by law minister Shanmugam was left to secretary-general Low Thia Kiang (Aljunied). Low alleged that the concept has been ‘distorted’: he had meant by a First World Parliament ‘voices heard’ and ‘rights protected’ by a ‘responsible opposition’. Turning to the vehicular analogy that has persisted, the ‘co-driver does not fight for the wheel’, he said. The co-driver was there to ‘support and advise the driver.’

Low finished the night admonishing the ruling party for its lack of fair play – bantering that ‘when they ask me to play soccer, they give me a goalpost smaller than the ball!’ This arose from criticisms that the opposition only appear every five years. But with gerrymandering, ‘how are we to appear in a previously non-existent ward?’ asked Low.

Speaking of the difficulties of extending its reach beyond Hougang, Low detailed how its ‘application to (neighbouring) Town Councils’ for venues to conduct forums and dialogues sessions are frequently rejected. He further criticised the role of the People’s Action Party Community Foundation and People’s Association in entrenching the presence of the ruling party in every constituency, while effectively eliminating the opposition from the grassroots.

According to Low, the PAPCF runs pre-school education (Low’s irresistible quip: ‘what they first learn is PAP!’) that receives benefits in the form of funding and cheap rental from the government. These pre-school centres are then sublet to the PAP as a party branch, thus placing the opposition at a disadvantage: the Workers’ Party does not have branches island-wide because it ‘cannot afford the rental’, said Low.

Similarly, the People’s Association – funded by the government and headed by the prime minister – keeps the opposition out of the grassroots. Low was vehemently critical of the manner the institutional structure of the PA has been manipulated by the PAP to ‘propel the party’s interests’. He called out the shameless irony of having the losing PAP candidate selected as Hougang’s grassroots advisor. The political mileage that such an appointment can give is clear. Low noted that the PAP ‘grassroots advisor’ was given the honour of announcing the lift upgrading programme for Hougang, despite having the costs being borne by the Workers’ Party-ran town council.

The candidates were strolling out to their vehicles at the end of the rally when the stadium started breaking into spontaneous chants and cheers. A crowd had however lined the barriers, in the hopes of getting a closer glimpse of the candidates that have commanded their rapt attention for the previous three hours. As he tried to enter his car, a couple of middle-aged Chinese men called out to Low, eager to shake his hands. He obliged, and ended up shaking a couple more outstretched hands.

The party knew that such popular reception is no indication of voting intentions. So it was with a slight weight of urgency that Sylvia Lim noted that some residents that she encountered has remained hesitant and sceptical of voting secrecy. For the second consecutive night, the party invested precious minutes to engage in voter education, assuring the electorate that their vote is indeed secret.

But some are not diffident with their love for the party. As the crowd streamed out of the stadium against an incipient drizzle, a car drove past with its front window wound down. The passenger was waving the Worker’s Party flag, chanting loudly ‘Workers’ Party! Workers’ Party!’ that reverberated in the cool night air.

To view more photos, click here.

To view photos of all the rallies on Saturday, 30 April, click here.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

42 Responses to “The return to East Coast: promise and proposition”

1. with traditional medias so biased and outnumber us online users, and also grc and biased electorates and cooling day waiting to brainwash, wake up online people, no way we can win from the pappies…

2. unless we unite and propogate onlines and other channels… maybe 5 – 10 years later when things are more too late then got abit of chances…

3. Uncle Sam 1 May 2011

TO: Dear SingaPOOReans:
    History will remember the courage of voters in GE2011 for putting the GRC, being the GREED, ROTTEN & CON system to rest in peace(RIP)by Voting for WP into the Parliament.
    NO one is indispensable in this World, not even the Greater Man of Deng Xiao Ping of the Greater China!!!!
    Who are u skidding that without PAP, Singapore will collapse?????

4. gohdigger 1 May 2011

Goh Chok Tong should stop his stinking personal attacks at his former PPS. The fact remains that Tan Jee Say has been capable enough to rise all the way, and got selected by Goh to be his PPS. Of course he can now say what he wants about his assessment of Jay See’s capability, but Goh’s credibility? ZERO!

Jee Say is already Dy Sec level right? Ong Ye Kung is also not Perm Sec material, at most a Dy Sec which is why he’s sent to NTUC. The PAP double standard is blatant. In any case does Goh think the electorate cares a damn whether the candidate is assessed to be capable under his PAP system? Who is he kidding!

We support Jee Say and any opposition who is genuine, unlike the plasterwork Tin Fake Lin offered to Goh by LHL, who clearly wants to kick Goh out of parliament asap. The factions in PAP is rising, and the days of PAP’s monopoly numbering. LOL.

5. SevenEleven 1 May 2011

Having attended rallies for numerous election, I’m cetain this election is going to be different. Why? Because this if the first time since our independence that the nation (almost) had the opportunity to exercise the right to vote.
    And in the rallies GE2011, the crowd are pretty different as it consist of residence in their respective constituencies. Yes, there’s no doubt voters from other constiuencies are there too. With the new media in place, MSM is no longer the sole media to dictate and dispense news and information.

6. well written

7. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 1 May 2011

ss 1 May 2011
    Sorry pappies will still win. Cos I seeing straits times
    mr ss the spammer/dog of pap
    and the crowd supporter just waved the hammer logos just for fun right?
    the more you spammed
    the more i linked the supporters of pap party picture
    liked a said b4
    1 picture speak a 1000s words

clicked on that link
    courtesy of me kaki

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j34/szhcornan/2011%20Eelction/IMG-3485_203633.jpg

wah big crowd of pap supporters hor…
    no more free $1.80chicken rice perhaps?

8. Chanel 1 May 2011

I am asking all my relatives and friends to vote for opp parties. Posting commenys here will not help. We need real action. Persuade your relatives and friends now. Who wants to join my important mission???

9. Goondo 1 May 2011

Well done and said Chanel. In fact all of us should help to reach out to the public who were not able to access to internet.

10. May07 1 May 2011

What if opposition loses all, and opposition leaders dissolve the parties, because no opposition is needed in island.

Singapore future = Singapore past

Companies raise fare/bill even though they are founded by tax payer money initially.
    Now they responsible for share-holder,
    not tax-payer.

11. Hi ipushleekingyouwheelchair,

Thanks for supporting the people. I just wanted to highlight how handicap oppo are. I hope they not lose. But the means to whack oppo so despicable.

I hope online voters won’t swing their votes last minutes to void or back To pappies only to regret for their children after five years. Since traditional media and grcs are helping them.

Win without glory for pappies, even the children will despise them

12. 88chins 1 May 2011

Sunday Times: “Aljunied would have five years to live and repent”.

While I respect MM Lee for what he has done for Singapore, this statement has clearly crossed the line for me. It smacks of arrogance and again attempts to play up the fear factor, if not an outright challenge and warning to the voters.

One usually associates the word ‘repent’ with ‘sin’. Indeed, PAP now think they are gods, and governing Singapore is their birth-right. It’s now a ‘sin’ to vote against PAP, and one that comes with retributions, and repentance is what is required to restore someone who ‘sins’ to its original path.

Look at Hougang and Potong Pasir – its voters had voted for Mr Low and Mr Chiam for many 5-year periods. There were clearly NO REGRETs, and no repentance required. The Opposition has demonstrated that they value their residents, took care of them and also did the best they can to represent them in Parliament. But 2 opposition members against 82 PAP is clearly not enough.

Voters/residents of Aljunied, Bishan-Toa Payoh can take heart, Mr Low and Mr Chiam and their teams will likewise take care of you all. I’m also certain that everyone from the Opposition team from NSP, SDP, etc., also have the hearts of Singaporeans in their heart. We are their motivation and their strength, we are the reason why they are all stepping forward at the watershed GE2011.

I fear for the Singapore ahead under PAP as the sole driver. We definitely need a team of strong co-drivers.

Come 7 May, let us all vote wisely; vote with courage; vote to reclaim our future and our country called Singapore

13. HOPE 1 May 2011

@gohdigger

Well said. Your truth has set us free. Mr Tan Jee Say is against the MBS and gambling sorts already speaks volume. He even comes up with good proposals to steer the nation towards morally and economically beneficial direction He is all for good education and teachers. This empowerment can instill proper moral compass for the next generation regardless of races and religions. All children need good education. Training to become croupiers and dealers etc in the gambling dens. How sad? Where are the hearts of the PAPs? Their own children and descedents are human. We average Singaporeans are not? Mr Tan Jee Say is sound and intelligent. Too upright for the Lao Goh to swallow. I think he cannot even stand in Tan Jee Say’s presence. Just behold lao Goh’s other half; a woman wicked enough to say donors’ contributions as peanuts to the Dorai’s salary. 1/2 wicked add on to 1/2 wicked made one whole of full-blown evil. He and his team are already lurking around at Parliament door steps, getting ready to devour the blood $, of poor and poorly treated Singaporeans, as their MPs allowance. Who is he to criticise Tan Jee Say? He is one of the mere Yes men and women who are too eager waiting to dip their hands into the loot all together. Unfeeling people under the bidding and command of the Lxxxx Dynasty. Their plans and policies are always leading us to self-centredness, selfishness and greed. But 2011 is a year of hope. Power is relinquished from them by US VOTERS!

14. imike 1 May 2011

why wks didnt check mas selamat brother/sister flat?
    mas was resting there for 3 days!!

whilst wks sent t whole SAF/POLICE/GURKHAS combing t jungles.

even my son ask me why t million$$ minister is SO DUMB.

still get 8 mths bonus!!

15. Norikoe 1 May 2011

While the call for a first world parliament resonates with many singaporeans at large, the outreach to the masses must also address municipal issues that are of concerns to local residents. What can the candidates do for the local community as compared to the incumbents? Let’s hope that we will hear more at the rallies and other outreach efforts. There are different segments of audience out there.

16. Chan80 1 May 2011

wah… Png Eng Huat instructed residents wor. better listen and follow instructions…

in any case, WP rallies are really fun to be at. very entertaining. while there are large swathes of ppl who are just merely standing there not doing anything (some looking quite sian) there are some who are quite exuberant. there were some really ardent supporters who keep cheering. best example was one die hard fan who was shouting “WP!” so loudly and so vigorously tt his veins look like they were about to explode at any time. so he must really be die hard, otherwise sure hv died already.

but really. i like going to WP rallies. scold gahmen like nobody’s business. scold and scold and scold. then say Singapore like damn cham liddat. every time scold, every time say we how cham, sure got ppl cheer. then got a few good jokes here and there. jokes sure get us laughing. then say we need First World Parliament. then sure got ppl cheer again. it’s so fun la!

better than PAP rallies, which are just so boring! telling us how good Singapore is, other ppl want to learn from us, talking abt boring policy things, describing list of plans to upgrade the estates and help residents (bribing the ppl already?). no fire, no passionate speeches, no jokes, no cheering. so sian. no wonder no one goes for PAP rallies…

17. Ryvyan 1 May 2011

I went to WP’s rally yesterday and loved it! Good atmosphere and attentive crowd because the issues raised are close to our hearts (both the young and the old). A friend’s brother went to all 3 and said Serangoon’s was the fiercest though.

We were in the company of 2 kopitiam uncles who have the best sarcasm and timing for their jokes. Everyone were smiling and laughing, and it was really great to be a part of this.

I just wish it was WP contesting in my constituency!

18. sggo 1 May 2011

Gerald Giam has a bright future and should helm a GRC in time.

If voters take a leap of faith in them, they must be prepared to work really hard and repay the trust.

You can’t just depend on rhetoric and residents’ dislike of PAP to continue winning votes without working hard. Predecessors like Chiam and Low have shown the way with their passion and dedication. Every problem attended to and raising bread and butter issues in Parliament will be crucial at the end of the day.

And LTK should supervise how things are done on the ground. If WP win a GRC and gets complacent as in “get out of my elite uncaring face,” it will do their reputation no good at all.

Whether it is PAP or opposition in charge, it is all about serving people. Now, the all-important question is, will this team be given a chance?

19. To my dear Singaporean

Pls vote for WP and opposition !!! not for yourself but for your kids !!

Just imagine, the ministers had a 8 months bonus last years while we get peanuts and these peanuts are actually from our own money – GST, ERP, etc…

20. The education system was all along elite system but moral and ethics is all along second placed. Nothing wrong with elite and meritocracy, but when moral and Ethics are lost, this main group of people will be naturally more ruthless and not consider long Term. So from 1980s until now, the pappies is focused more elites for some many years. And army retired pap candidates are only yes man.

Now with traditional media being biased to pappies and outnumbers onliners. Grc and electorate biased to pappies. Cooling day biased to pappies. Pappies will not lose the elections.

What lky did not think is the day when pappies are overthrown in Many years later the biasing tools did them much more harm than the empire rulers can imagine, as the people feedback system is distorted or lost, because their no moral is to win and control, made people pay and pay, and then people feeling more piss and piss.

Until the day their children suffers even more via vicious cycle. Oh yes by then they might be comfortably retired and loaded. But who know?

21. Angry voter 1 May 2011

I was at Bedok stadium last nite as missed attending the 1st two nites. Besides the jokes, which lighten the atmosphere, the topics they touched on are all very relevant and valid.

Png eng huat and glenda impressed me.

I urged all voters to attend the rallies to hear an assess yourselves whether you want these guys to be in the parliament to bring the issues up. I will 100%.

22. True Singaporean 1 May 2011

PAP dig their own grave, high risk high return, they set up the GRC system, once they lost, they lose 4-6 seats, they have to recognise and accept it, and respect the voter’s decision!! Since they are the one who created it!! Cheers, vote them out, support the opposition, spread the word around our friends and families against those bias state-controlled media.

23. Reasonable Citizen 1 May 2011

Just because the analogy used was a driver and a co-driver they can talk so much and keep arguing twisting. A vehicle on the road can be parked by the roadside.

How if the analogy was about an aicraft packed with passengers. Will the driver dare to appear in front of the passengers and say: I WILL NOT REQUIRE ANY CO-PILOT TO ASSIST ME AS I AM PERFECT AND ABSOULTELY CAPABLE?

24. kukujumuku 1 May 2011

Trouble is, one person had made our life so fearful after what he has done to the dis-senting voices and opposition and used our courts to “KILL” the person’s spirit and will to live. So, today, we have a nation of young that has no fight, no challenge, no imagination and that person and his stooges claim, “our young must be apathetic to politics”, what a contradiction.

Trouble is the sing dollar appreciate too fast and furious. Is it good for us, you better think. Hot flow of money into any economy, closed or open, is not good as it destabilize all things.

Our trade with malaysia is more on, concrete, sand, granite, and granite in sand and compared to food, chicken, vege, eggs, pork, its this trade of building materials, that brings in the bacon for the gov, in selling of land, condo fees and fees of all kinds to gov coffers. This trade is larger than the food cost all singaporeans consumed since day one, look at HDB from 1973 onwards.

The nation has lost christmas island because of some despot, imagine if we have christmas island, our army, navy and air force cost can be saved in the billions, instead of going to australia, new zealand, taiwan, south africa for training. Imagine if christmas island is with us, our fishery can be develop, farming of all kinds can have huge potential, and recreation too. One can imagine the kind of things one can create there.

But then, we have voted in duds, with no imagination and that cost us aplenty. We have many malaysians chinese and indians and they say, “LKY is our saviour, he’s very good” taking away our jobs and depressing our wages, creating inflation of all kinds, but never wanting to take up citizenship, why, is the jobs not good enough for your children, the ones you have taken away from locals, the HDB that you have stayed, 10-20 years, not good enough for your retirement, the buses, mrt.?

As if this person wants to show or prove to Mahathir, “look, we have created jobs and save your economy”, “your unemployment data figures by giving jobs to 600,000 malaysians”

It’s this person that think and said, singaporeans are difficult, daft, has no spike, not hungry. This person looks at us, all singaporeans as a BARRIER to his GLORY.

Now, do you want to give him your vote ??

25. Why GY..? 1 May 2011

Seriously, GY is an intellect and one of the those PAP guys who more readily raises dissent and doubts. Why must WP target and take out someone like that? If such calibre is lost, there’ll be less debate and balance from within.

26. Brave Lion 2 May 2011

THE GREAT HINDU EPIC IN THE MAHABHARATH IS CLEAR PROOF OF THE VICTORY OF TOLERANCE AND TRUTH OVER GREED AND DECEIT..
    VICTORY IN THE END OF RIGHTEOUS 5 BROTHERS OVER THEIR TYRANT COUSIN BROTHERS COMPRISING 100..
    THIS EPIC IS HAPPENING AGAIN RIGHT HERE IN SINGAPORE…
    WE NEED LEADERS WHO HAVE THE COMPASSION TO SERVE AND NOT DICTATE OUR LIVES…

27. The Sinkapore Pledge 2 May 2011

We the citizens of Singapore,
    Pledge ourself as one united Cyborgs.
    We Study hard and have no EQ, to build a
    cold, selfish, automated society.

We dun respect ppl, looks ourselves as elitist. We ostracize those who’re poor, unfortunate and lower IQ.

We only know how to work and have no lives. Young people work till old and only realized how much time they have wasted not with their family, to feed the rich and to leave behind or oppress the poor.

To achieve elitism, inequality, supremacy, racism and godlessness as one united Cyborgs!

This should be the original pledge that PAP intended for us.

28. SPCA 2 May 2011

Do you even wonder the feeling of the duo, Low and Chiam, in the paliment against 82 MIW? For 20+ years..

Can you imagine if you are in their shoe, how is your mood when you step in there?

Why they still carry on while they could have make millions of dollars with a normal life just like you and me?

I am a small fly in singapore and I could not do much for my country. I give my full respect to the duo, Mr. Chaim and Mr. Low, for your fighting spirites for our home land without GREED.

And I like to pay my respect to all the oppos for their fearless spirites to stand up for the people and fight for our rights!

Nicole, you make me feel small even you are more than half of my age! You are willing to sacrifice your bright future by joining the worst game in the world. What’s more I have to say… You are BRILLIANT!!!

All the best!! And I’ll walk with you guy..

29. For your reference 2 May 2011

丑陋的新加坡大选

http://www.chinaelections.org/newsinfo.asp?newsid=87517

30. #
    Ss 2 May 2011

Hi all responsible singaporeans,

Pappies going to win aljunied cos they control the traditional medias. They won half the battle. To help the opposition or rather our voices, or rather our own future, we should do these.

1) talk to our loved ones about manipulation and propaganda of traditional newspapers, tv and radio.

2) unite online media and promoting online through brochures or flyers, even in the rallies

3) promote distrust by doubting of traditional media of pappies monopolies even in rallies

4) unleash in rallies that the traditional media might be biased so that media are pressure to reverse situation abit

5) opposition should propose check on media and disassociate them from government linked companies and related nepotism and links and also government officer not allowed to unfair handle news

6) propose in rallies 1 minute silence to mark death of democracy
    by grc and also to mark doubt about traditional media.

No wonder opposition mostly lose elections in grcs and smc due to the medias are blocked and biased. Also, they need spokesman and push up some more credible and familiar faces to the public.

Bless ourselves for the sake of next generations and ourselves
    #
    Gazebo 2 May 2011

i have said this before, and i am saying it again. this is very certainly, the last “real” Singapore election. post this election, the demographics distribution is likely to shift so far towards new citizens, that original Singaporeans (those who were citizens pre 2001 when the floodgates opened) are no longer going to be the absolute majority.

i am not xenophobic. but we have to give some serious thought to this. if we are really unhappy about the rate of immigration, and its related problems, this is truly the only chance we have to make any changes. if you believe that the rate of immigration has been too rapid, and an outrage against your citizenship, this is your only chance to speak up. if you believe that there is more to citizenship than accepting the immunity of the ruling party, you must make yourself heard now.

the stakes are really that high. this is the only chance we have for our voices to be heard. take back the parliament. it should not be a feedback unit, in which the ruling party has made it to be. just for this once, stop caving into the wanton fear mongering and propaganda. making yourself heard will not induce calamity, but will only herald a better tomorrow.

31. Tokyo 2 May 2011

Dont take CHANCE to be the next JAPAN.

Our Future in the hands of every other SPorean

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20101102-245235.html

32. Mayhem 2 May 2011

I expect the cooling off period to increase to 3 days during the next election, becos oppos win too many seats.

33. Anthony 2 May 2011

PAP already given up on Aljunied. The next battleground is East Coast. Maybe WP can bag two GRCs in addition to Hougang.

34. Hi all, oppo will not win.

Cos traditional media are controlled by pappies and biased, see the reporting in straits time, tv and radio, how they direct information to their own websites and u know.

That’s why oppo always lose most of the contest. Get prepared for more rising costs of living and housing and education and transport, erp and coe and also more one sided policies. Reserves and cpf we will not get accounted and get back.

We will be an child in democracy going on and on. Trapped in financial slavery until the bubble or dream burst

35. yeoman 2 May 2011

the march of the ‘WORKERS’ is unrelenting.

it march onwards from ALJUNIED/HOUGANG on to SERANGOON STADIUM to YISHUN and EAST COAST and all over.

singaporean WORKERS are all over in FULL ARRAY,they are UNSTOPPABLE!

HOW CAN THERE BE FEAR when we are STAKEHOLDERS who employ the NOW UNEMPLOYABLE papIES?..AT LEAST MANY AMONG THEM SHOULD BE REPLACED BY MORE WELL-DESERVING ASPIRANT MPs form maong our beloved OPPO SINGAPOREANS who stand up bravely in rain and moon-shine for oiur sake.

we,are the OWNERS OF SINGAPORE,not serfs of our PUBLIC SERVANTS.
    INDEED,this GE should be one where we BEGIN TO CONSIDER SERIOUSLY TO REPLACE those of our PUBLIC SERVANTS who refuse to serve us and just want to self-serve.

thus,it is A WATERSHED GE indeed,like we have never seen before unless we want to have status qou?

do we,singaporeans,WANT TO HAVE STATUS QOU,or worse?

36. Sobeit 2 May 2011

I agree that it is mid time to assess who we shall vote. There should be many family discussions and education of the old and young on what are the national issues. Most critically, we are at a point where if we do not decide correctly, there will be no turning back because the ‘old’ citizens will be out done by the ‘new citizens’ and Singapore will no longer be a nation, only a Mega-corporation where all the CEOs have full rights of hire and fire. They will be very happy to act on “if you are not with me you are against me’ – so please emigrate so that the kinds of people they want can immigrate.

37. SAVE ourself 2 May 2011

SAVE our next generation children from DEBTS.

Share with your friends the lyrics of the links is so heart warming

http://www.youtube.com/user/project2O11#p/a/u/0/p1tzIRkIFs0

38. voters 2 May 2011

新加坡大选民意测验 – East Coast GRC
    http://baijiaxing.asia/thread-22-1-1.html

39. Transport Blues 3 May 2011

Just to give some detail on the rising cost of transportation:

In 2006, the combined revenue of SBS and SMRT was $1,341 million (i.e. $1.3 billion) with a profit of $159 million.

By 2010, the combined revenue had increased by 21% to $1616 million while its combined profits rose by a whopping 36% to $217 million.

The profit of $159 million in 2006 was the “lowest” over that 5 year period till 2010.

The profits represent about 12-13% of revenue. This is what you have been “overcharged by”.

Is this level of profit really “necessary”? Shouldnt public transport be just that – for the public, and not another money making venture?

40. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 3 May 2011

Why GY..? 1 May 2011
    Why must WP target and take out someone like that?
    …………
    raised issues and present arguements within? you meant liked limboonheng crocdile tears bout the two IrResorts
    and cheaper manufacturin costs as well?
    ow bout land/ura/jtc rentals rates
    i don’t see any pap ministers/mp when this temasek inc groups raised to market rates? do YOU?

41. Money plant 4 May 2011

PM LEE ‘Promise After Promises” is to get more power over us.A new toy coming for Sporean—NECLEAR PLANT——-

In the TODAY paper dated 5 April page 12
    ” A FUTURE IN NUCLEAR-POWER OFFSHORE PARKS?By: Dr Kua Harn Wei

PM LEE long term plan for your GRAVE yard beside us a neclear Power.

We want parties power to VETO our interest.