by: Ghui/

Adrian (not his real name) has been selling food at a canteen in a university in Singapore for 6 years. Each contract lasts for 3 years and Adrian has successfully completed 2 terms. Earlier this year, he submitted a request for a further 3 years. He was not anticipating any changes as his food was generally enjoyed and business was steady. In the second week of May, he was sent a letter informing him that his contract was not to be renewed and that he was to clear out by 31 May 2011. No reason was cited.

Adrian was shocked as he had no indication that he would be rejected after 6 years. As far as he was concerned, he had complied with all regulations and had done nothing wrong. He simply could not understand why his livelihood was being so unceremoniously removed from him without explanation. With a family to feed, he is understandably worried.

Perhaps administration wanted to be efficient and did not think twice about the fact that this was someone’s entire life, his means to survive and feed his family. By informing someone in the second week of May that they have to clear out by the end of the month is truly callous.

Has a thought been spared for the poor man who now has less than a month to secure another premise? It is not easy to clear out 6 years of your life and look for a new premise in under a month. At the same time, the bills have to be paid and the children have to be fed.

Since a reason was not given for why his contract was not been renewed, Adrian can only speculate. Perhaps it was that one time when a professor complained that he has used a microwave to heat up his food.

In a bid to speed up long queues and ensure that customers are served in a timely fashion, Adrian sometimes uses a microwave to heat up his food. I, for one have no issue with this. I have seen many food sellers do this and to me, it is just part and parcel of the food business. Restaurants do it too. The only difference perhaps is that food vendors in canteens have to do it in front of the customer.

In Adrian’s case, a particular professor complained to the canteen supervisor who insisted that Adrian remove all of his microwaves overnight with immediate effect. When Adrian tried to explain that the use of microwaves to heat up food was commonplace, he was informed by the canteen supervisor that a professor had complained and therefore the offending microwave had to be removed.

It would appear that the canteen supervisor never once thought to question the professor on this seemingly illogical complaint. It was a case of someone more senior to me has said this, so I have to press down on someone lower on the ‘food chain’ to ensure that it is done, even if it appears nonsensical. No investigation was done. This mentality must be eradicated. Those high up in the ‘food chain’ can be wrong too.

Adrian is but one of the victims of our “efficiency above all else” system. While being fast and effective are of vital importance in remaining competitive, a balance must be struck such that individuals like Adrian are given a chance to make a living.

Adrian is willing to work hard and has indeed worked very hard in the past. I understand that he works from 7 am to 8 or 9 pm from Mondays to Fridays and half days on Saturdays. Every Sunday afternoon, he has to go back to his stall to prepare for the week ahead. The spoils for his toil are not high either. Each dish on his menu is only priced between $2.50 and $3.50. On top of that, Adrian has to give presentations and attend interviews when his contracts are up for renewal.

Adrian does not begrudge the hard work or the hoops that administration and bureaucracy has made him jump through. What he feels is the stink of being jilted by the system despite his hard work, the frustration of not being given a reason and the stress of having to secure new work and pack up his old livelihood in less than a month. At the same time, he does not have the energy or the time to question the system. He has a family to feed and even if he had the time to question the system, would they pay any attention to him?

I am not criticising the quest for quick and competent resolution of administrative matters. However, there is such a thing as being efficient for the sake of being efficient. In this case, would it have hurt to type a few extra lines in the letter, explaining to Adrian why his contract was not renewed?

If that is too much to ask, can they not give him a little more time? He is a human being and needs time to mentally prepare and emotionally accept the termination without reason. He could also do with a few extra weeks to search for alternative premises and/or employment and pack up. In the interim, he can continue selling food such that there is a seamless handover between him and the new vendors such that the students are not inconvenienced in any way.

The plight of Adrian reminds me of our need to help fellow citizens and to continually raise awareness for those who have fallen through the cracks of our system.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

83 Responses to “Jilted by the system”

1. iVOTEahMENG 30 June 2011

do the professor cared bout adrain livinhood? do this remin us of someTWOs ere?
    international hardman and hdb dweller

2. Qiliang 30 June 2011

Professor so what? Not human ah? Also need to buy food from Adrian what. If so superior then make your own food lah.

3. Microwave also complain? Live in stone age issit? SIAO

4. This happens in working life too. The boss tells us we’re fired with little notice. No big deal. Nobody owes anybody else a living. A real man will stand up and move on, instead of complaining.

In this case, it’s likely the food Adrian served was of poor quality or unhygenic, so the professor complained.
    Don’t forget ultimately, Adrian depends on the university, which in turn depends on paying students & qualified professors to survive.

5. “In this case, it’s likely the food Adrian served was of poor quality or unhygenic, so the professor complained.”

This is an assertion with no evidence to back it up.

6. Dragonfly 30 June 2011

Hawk, are u the professor?
    How can u make assertions like that? You know because??
    Of course people should move on and I am sure Adrian has as well! But people need to speak up against social injustice so that the system can be reformed for the better.
    Your sweeping statements are myopic, cold and unfeeling and u simply assume that “management” is correct and Adrian must be at fault? So robotic.

7. Bear in mind that our local universities are among the top in the world. We can’t let a non-compliant canteen vendor spoil our universities reputation. Adrian is unfortunate, but ultimately, it’s for the greater good of the university and our country.

8. NDRue 30 June 2011

I have no idea what happened, but Adrian definitely was “quick and efficient” in using the microwave those few times.

Seriously, unless of course he microwaved something that’s plastic and not tagged as “Microwave-safe”.

9. andrew leung 30 June 2011

The Professor should go to eat at a restaurant instead of the canteen if he wants to avoid microwave food. He is being unreasonable and should be investigated for misuse of power. The university should make a proper inquiry and issue a statement for this matter.

The NTUC minister should make a comment on such abuse and evil practices and review the contracts. They should extend the contract by another 6 months for him to find another location. The university are run like personal fiefdoms. They must be checked for irregularities and help in the relocation of the vendor.

10. Thinker 30 June 2011

Name and Shame the Prof!!!

11. Dragonfly 30 June 2011

But Hawk, how does a food seller affect the university’s reputation?? There is no coorelation. The university’s reputation is built on course selection, teaching staff, academic excellence. Not on canteen food that is heated in microwaves. The top unis in the UK use microwaves. I can assure you of that.

In addition, being so cold and unfeeling to a member of staff is more damaging to its reputation.

12. Man – gotta love the Hawks in here. Obviously well programmed.

Disagree with Hawk’s every point. Now reason was given, no discussion – how can you decide that he was in any way at fault? You just pluck a few suppositions (unhygienic?) and generalizations (for the greater good?) out of thin air?

And what is the problem that professor has with microwaves? Obviously not a professor of physics or of logic. Heat is heat. He just does not like that particular way of generating it?
    Surely the whole thing reeks. (including the Hawk contributions).

13. Dragonfly 30 June 2011

Exactly. How can you assume that it must be Adrian’s problem as opposed to the university? It is just a case of that mentality as stated by the writer that those above us are always right. Which is clearly not true.

14. Actually nobody knows why Adrian’s contract is not renewed. It could be that there were more complaints than he was told As the writer said, its purely speculation that the reason is the professor’s complaint. Be that as it may, my questions are:
    1. when was the renewal of contract applied for?
    2. I assume end of contract is end of May. Even if contract is not going to renewed, surely more notice should be given? relocation takes time. and if there is no place to go to – even selling of equipment will take time.
    3. if Adrian is deemed not fit to continue, and if it is food issue or hygiene issue, then should he not be checked while he was still hawking? you mean since he has the contract, he is allowed to sell “unhygienic or poor quality food?”
    4. especially in the case of poor and unhygienic food, Adrian really should be informed so that the same mistake will not be propagated elsewhere?
    5.can it be that even in getting a stall, bidding is required? i really dont know this answer, just asking.

at the end of the day, even if the university has got good reasons, they could have done this better

15. Our country is a meritocracy – you get what you deserve. Those who do right will be rewarded, those who do wrong will be punished. In Adrian’s case, he will not be asked to leave for no good reason. The university knows best. Investors all over the world have absolute faith in our system. Everything is handled objectively and fairly. There is absolutely no biasedness.

16. Libran 30 June 2011

The university is definitely high-handed. In the first place, warnings must be given to Adrian to correct any wrongdoing he may be accused of. He must be given a chance to explain. Finally the letter must state the reason for non-extension of contract, and proper notice must be served. We are talking about a man and his family’s livelihood!!!

What has become of my beloved Singapore? Has it become so uncaring and robotic? Have we fallen into the gutter of elitism, power and money??? From the very top down?

17. oldman 30 June 2011

@ hawk

U mean our system is fair??? so by keeping our hard earn CPF $$$ is fair also?? u must b 1 of those rich kids that dun know the meaning of hardship

18. Dragonfly 30 June 2011

Hawk, you must be joking. U cannot possibly believe that. U are just saying this to rile people up for a debate.

19. @oldman

CPF is NOT the topic here but since you mention it, then yes, CPF is fair, because if the government allow all the CPF to be withdraw, you people will spend all of it, and later ask the government for handouts. In any case, if you have a decent job, you will have more cash savings. What is in your CPF ordinary account is only a small amount, not an issue.

20. balanced... 30 June 2011

@hawk
    Hope you will pause and think before you write. You give the impression that you argue for the sake of arguing.. and honestly, I find you jump to conclusions very fast without any basis or facts supporting.. anyway, i am not here to indulge in tit for tat.. just a passerby who finds hawks comments quite prejudiced…

21. no comments 30 June 2011

by not giving a reason for not renewing his contract, it leaves us much room to speculate. And my theory….some foreign guy in-charge of contract renewal wants to give the contract to run the stall to his “countyman”. Just watch if the stall is taken over by a foreign talent.

22. no comments 30 June 2011

btw, I also suspect the prof is a foreign talent too.

23. I have tendered for stalls in universities and they do not bother to inform you of the results after you have made the effort to submit proposal, pricing, presentation etc.

Universities are very inefficient in this respect.

24. Dragonfly 30 June 2011

It’s even worse in this case as Adrian was already there.

25. Libran 30 June 2011

hawk 30 June 2011

@oldman

CPF is NOT the topic here but since you mention it, then yes, CPF is fair, because if the government allow all the CPF to be withdraw, you people will spend all of it, and later ask the government for handouts. In any case, if you have a decent job, you will have more cash savings. What is in your CPF ordinary account is only a small amount, not an issue.

—————————————–

The CPF minimum sum and CPF Life schemes are only fair if the govt. indexes the monthly payouts are indexed to inflation. Otherwise what is to prevent the govt. from stealing our hard earned savings through inflation?

Inflation is now running at about 5 pct. p.a. CPF rate of return are 2.5 pct. for OA and 4 pct. for SA and MA. What would happen to our savings if the govt. allows inflation to run up to 8 pct., 10 pct.? The govt. can steal our money through inflation!!!

26. kelong lah 30 June 2011

not all the above, they giving the space to a friend’s friend.. you know kelong kelong. lah. They have to find a scape-goat. The selection committee have got to be more transparent and govern by an external committee. otherwise like school principal.. they give places to their own ppl.

27. toc, please name the university. I am quite familiar with this kind of mindless bureaucracy that’s typical to one university and i’d like confirmation.

not sure why your article needs to be so ambiguous too. his contract has been terminated so there are no repercussions to him by naming this 3rd world uni.

thanks!

28. Hi Nat, apologies but he specifically did not want the uni to be named as he was afraid that it might affect his chances in other schools.

Much as I would like to name the uni in question, I have to respect his decision.

29. responsible cooked food, pl 30 June 2011

There are just too many cases of food handlers/sellers making quick bucks by selling unhealthy food. In this case, he was caught using microwave…..More should be done to ensure that food are prepared safely…

30. citizen 30 June 2011

This is so heartless. The university should give a valid reason.

31. Microwave 30 June 2011

Everyone has an opinion, I don’t like chilli in my food does not mean that the vendor should have contract terminated. The prof. probably do not like microwave, that is alright. But to have contract terminated in short notice is not nice.

32. david 30 June 2011

who cares! Things like these are happening all the time these days in Singapore.

33. pokemon 30 June 2011

i mean the articles still does not tell the whole stories. did adrian food really hygiene when he microwave it? one thing for sure, can the university do better? yes sure they can. in fact the canteen supervisor is so poor and chickenshit, he/she should be sack!!

34. popcorn 30 June 2011

Don’t like the high handed way Adrian was treated. Even a criminal knows what crime he has done before sentence.
    Here Adrian was kept completely in the dark, and told to piss off at such short notice.
    Must tell my son to stop contributing to both our Alumni Us here.

35. Hey david 30 June 2011

David, it is precisely because these things happen all too often that we need to care! HELLO!

36. Carebear 30 June 2011

Hygiene is not the issue here. The issue is how the whole thing was handled

37. Rodolfo 30 June 2011

The system created by the PAP is cold, hard, efficient and unfeeling.

Everything works. But people are nothing more than dispensable digits. They have use for you, you are in. They have no use for you, you are out before you even realise.

The PAP can talk and talk about building a cohesive society, etc. But do they practise what they preach? We would probably die of starvation if we were to wait for the government to become humane.

The govt has pushed efficiency too far. The have placed excessive emphasis on tangible targets, results and other KPIs to the point where the govt and its organs can suddenly pull the rug from under one’s feet just like that. It is hard to have faith or trust in a govt that goes about its business like that.

For everyone’s sake I wish things are not like this. But fact is they are. Given the kind of pressure so many Singaporeans are facing on a daily basis, people are more likely than not to snap one day. Good luck to PAP.

38. Bully 30 June 2011

This is simply Bully. It will be interesting to find out if the professor is a FT.

39. kahoot kaboom 30 June 2011

A kahoot kaboom adminstyle is questionable.

40. bobby 30 June 2011

Adrian should bring to the attention his plight and his perception that He has been unfairly treated…to the actual customers ie.hisCustomers.and they can influence the People who made the decision to terminate

At least let the truth be known and the Customers can decide if they want Adrian to continue there or not.

If what Adrian claim that he was removed becaue of ONE professor I believe that Professor should be exposed so that the real reason be published and let known.

Transparency and justice must prevail.

41. lobo76 30 June 2011

@nat

if the picture is the ‘real’ one and not just a representation of a canteen in any university, then it is NTU.

42. Citizen Kane 30 June 2011

Go to NTU canteen see all prc food operators.Something fishy.Chase out the local and replaced with own country men.local are zoom.

43. Our success will be our very undoing

44. HaHa everybody can see hawk is an idiot probably even a school going kid probably at most still in uni, you can see his replies are very textbook based, you know those copy and paste answers…. no brain work involved. Then again she maybe just a clerk defending why she fired the stall operator.

If the system is fair and open as he or she says, then there has to be a demerit system, and a warning system before any cancelling or refusal to renew contract is issued. There is no warning letter, there is no demirt, he doesn’t even know what went wrong, the system is opaque, meaning whoever sitting up there can suka suka hire and fire. Hey maybe the prof gave him a come on and he rejected it,or it could be hawk the fat lady clerk was jilted by him and decides not to renew who know…. and unless there is transparency and a proper warning or demirt system, can we say its open and transparent and hence efficient. Otherwise its pure BS. And hey doesn’t that sound like our sweet Singapore system PAP style? If its their own people its called meritocracy, with a bit of crony involved, if its others don’t ask throw them in jail first. And then cook a story up ….

45. The plight of Adrian reminds me that PAP is at it again. One country two systems – all microwave in 7-eleven outlets, Starbucks, coffebeans, breadtalks and all other cafeteria outlets across Singapore need to be removed immediately if they insist that Adrian removes his microwave.

Silly administration makes a silly country. It is the silly government that gave Singaporeans a bad name. So much for talking about wanting to be efficient and productive in Singapore. 10, 20 years later, Singaporeans are still screwed by the PAP. 60% citizens are really daft.

46. Honest 1 July 2011

Hey guys, the short notice is probably due to the election held in 7 may. The Uni is probably afraid it will become an election issue.

47. Cookie Monster 1 July 2011

The microwave is actually quite often discussed on the net as a dangerous way to heat food, much like the talk about the perils of mobile phones gaining traction.

The professor could be thinking along those lines but that being said, its not that big a deal to cause the termination of a man’s livelihood. He could have just walked away.

48. leyden 1 July 2011

Living in Europe for 3 years, Microwave-food are almost everywhere. What is the big deal. If this professor is a angmo or non-Singaporeans please fXXX off. If you are Singaporean, please wake up ur idea. If you dont like, dont patron, no need to complain. Do some good karma can?

49. Writer 1 July 2011

I do free lance writing for a very very large company and had been doing for 10 years. That is no contract, just an understanding that the work continues as long as there are no issues. In such a situation, either party has the right to stop at any time. But out of courtesy, if I wish to stop I would give adequate notice so that the company can find another writer.

Recently, two things happened, 1) the person I worked with retired. 2) I asked for an increase in fees as my fees had remained stagnant for 10 years.

Then something didn’t happen. The new editor did not ask me to start work on one of the three newsletters I write for. I thought maybe she was late. Then the designer asked me: “Hey how come you not wrrting any more?”

I emailed the editor to pretend to ask when we would be starting work on the next issue. No reply. Two weeks later, I emailed again. This time she said she was “trying out a new writer”.

I did not lose my entire livelihood but about half of it. Unlike Adrain, I was not even given two weeks notice but had to find out from a third party. I felt so pissed I wanted to stop all three projects and start anew to look for other work. But the realities of having mouths to feed and bills to pay made me swallow my pride and continue with the other two newsletters, ironically at the higher fees that I asked for.

Meanwhile I am finding new work. Once I find enough, should I give the editor the courtesy of advanced notice? Or just disappear quietly, just as half my livelihood had been disappeared quietly?

“Callous” is an understatement.

50. Richard 1 July 2011

I, for one, am opposed to the microwave for my readings as well as my understanding of Yin and Yang tells me it is extremely harmful to health. But when something like this is widely accepted by probably more than 99 percent of the population, the most that I can do is avoid microwaved food the best that I can – either request that my food is not microwaved, or patronise another stall. And if I happen to be served microwaved food without my knowledge or consent, well, that is MY own doing, since I have chosen to eat at a food court / restaurant where I have little control over food quality. There are lots of other harmful elements anyway, eg poor quality oil, MSG, refined salt, etc.

And so, even though I am personally opposed to the microwave, I say this: THE PROFESSOR SHOULD BE SACKED FOR ABUSE OF POWER!