In Part 1 (of 3) of an exclusive interview, presidential hopeful Dr Tan Cheng Bock speaks about his contributions as a Member of Parliament, why he started his medical practice at a village, as well as the detentions of the ‘Marxist Conspirators” in 1987.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

We are now repetaedly reminded by 3-4 Ministers (and Tommy Koh) that the President is non executive and overall, has much lesser role and powers than the PM and the Cabinet. The question to ask: why then, for the past 12 long years, President Nathan was paid more than the PM, averaging about 4 million per annum? Presidential hopeful Tan Kin LOian strikes a chord when he promised to cut his salary from its presemt 100 times that of the average salary of Singaporeans to just 10 times and donate the rest to charity, which by the way, will be tax exempt. Will Dr Tan Cheng Bock (and George Yeo, whom I call upon NOt to contest since he might lose the second time) also make the sacrifice?
The only person I will vote for from PAP is Tan Soo Khoon. Although Dt Tan seems to indicate he is independent, he is far when compared to Tan Soo Khoon.
Tan Kin Lian dares to speak against the PAP. I will vote for Tan Kin Lian. I perceive he is quite down to earth. When the minbond crisis striked, our own mp our own gov did not help and even to go the trouble to get the profile of the investors and justified those people as willing and experienced investors. Tan Kin Lian was the only one who publicly helped.
I too am disappointed by TCB’s performance in this video. It could have been worst if not for the incompetence of the interviewer. Put him in front of Vincent Wijey and he will surely be fried.
I will never vote for Nathan. I mean, he is making people buy his memoir just to find out what he did over his 2 terms in office? What nonsense is this? He has drawn such high pay for so many years and now he is trying to pave the way for more royalties? Over the years, he not only granted zero pardon, he also said not a single word when families and friends of criminals on death roll cried, pleaded and begged for mercy. Gimme a break Mr President… Where were you when people needed you? Every charity machinery will go on with or without you. Hence where were you when people don’t need you? Watching charity shows in a language you don’t understand at all?
Tan Cheng Bock pales in comparison with Tan Kin Lian.
Does anyone here know how many directorships Tan Cheng Bock held while he was MP? Could somebody please enlighten us?
No way, from this video, I will vote for Tan Cheng Bock.
No way, too, for S R Nathan, Tony Tan and George Yeo.
As for Tan Kin Lian, need to hear what he has to say about Marxist Conspiracy.
To “A SG Voter”,
I echo your views. Based on this I cannot see how I can support TCB either. GY too since he is a Catholic and he did nothing during the Marxist Conspiracy. There seems to be no way the garment is going to apologise for this. So much for a more open and caring garment.
If someone is framed, even fact of the day can be distorted to make the detainees look Marxist. They pay a high price to be opposition like exile, detention, confession. Pity Tan CB used by own party to treat royal Singaporean as ultras and Apathetic Singaporean clouded by only 1 media.
If Tan Kian Lian not around to raised issue on Lehman crisis, the FI would have got free and make many bonus for FI CEO. Tan Kl make a lot of unfriendly people in the financial market, but he had make the right voice as mis-selling, where the FI trying to hide under the so called fact finding option 4.
He stood up and save a lot of people hard earn money and prevented the BIG STINT OF THE DAY
With all the top-notch perks, palatial meals, chauffered limo, hospital suite, VIP flights, inter alia, all well guarded and taken care of, a monthly salary of $50k is more than enough for the president.
After all, this is not a kingdom.
Let me play a contrarian or devil advocate role here.
As an Insurance broker here, does anyone know for FACT whether TKL has recommended or sold any of the minibond products? If yes, could that BE the primary reason WHY he stood up for these group of victims? This could be telling if he was genuinely an advocate or benevolent person as he would like to portray.
On the other hand, why does TCB wants to be a EP now? Knowing his limited role in marxist, is he trying to make a comeback now to redeem these group of people their innocence? Why didn’t the Interviewer ask that strategic questions upfront and let an opportunity slip by? In fact, TCB kept referencing to him that”don’t know if you read my xxx” to imply that the interviewer could be too young to know about his history?
In any case, it doesn’t take away the fact that both have been an ex-PAP member for a long time, and trying to go on an independent streak. Is still early in the game, so I suggest everybody hold off their judgment until the candidates are confirmed for the run! In the meantime, it remains damning that the current President choose to ignore and stone-deaf the peoples’ request for his report card. Looks like he’s the one who’s NOT getting it..ie adapting to the change of the electorate need. Stupiak man!
The candidates for EP are of so low caliber that it sickens me to have to vote for any of them. Nevertheless, we need to have a President to check the executives and their excesses. So no choice, chose one of lesser evil.
What? For much ado about nothing, 50k is much too generous. Looks like a dancing puppet with a key on its back, ‘sodomised’ behind bushy administration?
i like TCB’s sincerity and honesty. i think his heart is for the s’pore pple.
If Mr David Marshall is alive today, in his seventies or early eighties, I will definitely vote for him.
Dr Tan CB is not truthful in his words. He seems to be very fearful that his new stand on history might irk some powerful person thus affecting his chance.
If Dr Tan has one tenth of Marshall’s character, who also condemned The Straits Times for gutter reporting, I might consider supporting him. But he doesn’t.
Netizens overlook another fact that Dr Tan is also a strong supporter of the unjustice practice of discriminating against opposition wards. The discrimination is intended to make the estate become a slum, flats losing value, working mothers are fearful and dare not have more children because kindergarten would be moved out. Worst, elderlies with arthritic knee pains are penalised to walk staircase because lift upgrading is denied, etc.
So far in its fifty years of short history, no Singapore Presidents have , based on their conscience, come out to stop all these nonsenses, and Dr Tan will be no exception. Maybe Tan Kian Lin will put right all these wrongs.
Good work TOC, some points.
May need to ask more probing questions on difficult topics and get the response of candidates.
Also hope to see an interview with Tan Kin Lian. Thanks.
My family will vote forDr Tan CB !!!
Pls help us to find out what had happen to our reserve and CPF policy !!!
Funny.
‘He accepted the given facts by the govt of the day.’
This, I think is the key operative statement, for us to decide if we want to vote for Dr Cheng Bock.
There was no fact finding on Dr Cheng Bock’s part, even after Mr Marshall mentioned, they were good people.
Will he be strong enough to hold up this time, alone?
However, on a kinder note, he seems to be a peoples’ person who can relate to ordinary Singaporeans.
At this juncture, where Singapore is lying today, I would rather vote for someone who is strong and willing to be independent.
A president who can take Singapore forward. Does all the necessary fact finding and decides wisely to unify and glorify us.
seems like a down-to-earth kinda guy. can see him as a people’s president.
one thing is for sure though, he definitely speaks better than TKL.
In the video interview Tan Cheng Bok supported the incarceration of 22 innocent Catholics labeled as Marxis Conspirators because He was convinced by the facts give at that time……what an idiotic reply….How can lies be FACTS?
Anyone who is remotely connected to the PAP is definitely not suitable to be President….They have no MORAL STATURE to be President.
In fact the Presidency SHOULD BE SCRAPED…..it is a USELESS POST….It should be replaced by a Council of say 13 people from all STRATA of Society and should NOT be members of ANY politica Party. Their term as Council Members should not exceed two terms.
The Counci will “approve” all bills already approved by Parliament by a majority of at least one council member
Any AMENDMENT to the Constitution must be approved by the Council by at least 10 out of the 13 members.
Only then can We guard against the hegemony of Power by ONE Party.
I am disappointed over his comments on the Marxist Conspiracy… people like soh lung and vincent wasted years of their life in detention.
He wasted an opportunity to issue an apology and reflect his views of ISA.
Most importantly in this interview he seem to push the blame that he believed they were guilty because of the facts presented to him by the government and the court… if this is so… how as a president can he have his own independent thinking when say regards to reserves, he has to rely on the facts “given” by the government
One of the few things a president can do is to exercise presidential pardon. I am not sure if this extends to isa cases. However, what is important is the president must be able to see and acknowledge that miscarriage of justice has occurred. Indeed this is a sensitive issue. the silence from gahmen tells much. The president needs to be bold enough to say what the gahmen, perhaps under the party whip, will not or cannot say. Hence the somewhat evasive response is a disappointment for me. i am still weighing my choices. sometimes i think we should just save the money and forget about having a president.
Lee Hsien Loong’s slogan of “Stay Together And Move Ahead” has really come true.
We, the citizens have stayed together lacking behind to suffer more and more, while the PAP Ministers moved ahead of all of us by paying themselves the world’s higherst salaries and the world’s higherst bonuses.
So, the correct slogan should be
“STAY TOGETHER AND MOVE THE HEADs OF PAP”.
What I am more interested is the stand of Dr Tan CB now, the present context. Is he still convinced of the government’s source of info? I still cannot fully comprehend what he is saying now. Does he still believe the government story? Did he try to find out what Mr David Marshall was telling him then? The problem with these PAP leaders is that they do not have independence of views (too much boot licking). When there are different viewpoints, different stories, did it not occur or interest them enough to do his/her own fact finding? A person without independence of thinking is a person NOT SUITED to be leader of Singapore – MP, Minister or President.
This interview did no justice to the ppl who are interested in finding out what Dr Tan thinks now. If I remember correctly, he added some of his not too complimentary personal comments about those being incarcerated then. Does Dr Tan CB want to issue a stand now? If he now think he was misled then, wouldn’t it be proper to apologize? Is ‘sorry’ such a difficult word to say?
What has happened in the past are not necessarily his doings.
If we the people continue to query him for what LKY has autocratically decided from behind the scene, it may be only a second guess. Ex-president Ong Teng Cheong could not have answered all such questions as well.
What is more important to ask is whether TCB has that basic qualities to serve as EP and perform the roles under the constitution with independence, integrity and honesty and abilties given his intellect and experiences in a people-centric manner as compared with other candidates.
I believe he has the making of a good people-centric president.
Sophia Tsang 16 June 2011
“……… sometimes i think we should just save the money and forget about having a president.”
——————————————-
Agree. If the PAP govt. is serious about reform, it should scrap the post of the presidency, right now, and save taxpayers millions of dollars per annum.
i’ll vote for Yakuza boss if he run for presidency!!
read in some foreign papers that the big Yakuza boss actually ordered his own men to run errands to bring much needed relieve to the people in times of need, even when the risk to one’s health (radiation risk) is present.
it happened during the March Tsunami. of course our MSM, wun print such touching tales as it will make our elites look so cold & uncaring.
you think i joking?
lol…
Gahment is really moving ahead in direction that the people do not want. Who and which party will stand for the people? If the gahment is moving too fast on the economic track, they need to slow down. Most people who need to buy homes cannot afford anymore. Who benefit from the so-called economic growth?
the multi-millionaire ministers, who else?
Dr Tan CB’s comments on his position in the Marxist Conspiracy shows his courage to take responsibility. The position he took was based on what info was made available to MPs then( remeber, he was not a minister). There was no new media then and whatever feedback he had from the ground was gathered the old fashion way, i.e. letters and interviews – these may be skewed. There is no need for him to apologise for his stand.I will vote him as my President for his courage and honesty
I agree with the comments to do away with the presidency.
If the President is non executive and overall, has much lesser role and powers than the PM and the Cabinet [jasman.m], why do we need a president? And why should such a president be paid so highly? It’s a bloody waste of taxpayers’ money!
The suggestion from bobby tan to replace the presidency with a council comprising people with non-political affiliation is something to think about. We have to think out of the box sometimes, and every new concept, whether orthodox or not, is worth pursuing if on the surface it can produce some good.
I cannot agree more with the message from Stay Together move the heads of PAP – we need to remain cognizant that we cannot allow the PAP free rein to do whatever they want. We need a strong opposition and one that is adequate in terms of seats in Parliament. We also need a president, if there has to be one, who is ostensibly independent, with a desire to serve in the best interests of Singapore or Singaporeans.
If people like Dr Vinecnt Wijey, Dr Wong Wee Nam and Leong Sze Hian were eligible and willing to stand for candidacy for the presidential post, I would be happy to make my selection from among them.
Nathan, TCB or GY? NOT SUITABLE! Why? PAP underlings.
From this video, it is very clear that Dr Tan will NOT step on the shoe of PAP even when he becomes president.
Assume the below
People, George will not run for President as per his earlier statement when he was defeated in Aljunied. He was manipulated into considering by PAP. The manipulation is very cleverly disguised and reported in the press as
” his supporters wanted him to be president and so collected the forms for him”
Tony will not stand for president too. Know why? He is already earning millions in sph and others. Do you think he want to be thrusted into the limelight and under public scrutiny.
Nathan, I do not think he will stand. He knows he is very unpopular. Age is a good excuse he can use if PAP pushes him. Stand and he will come down in history as “never the people’s choice president, won through walkover only president”.
The fight will be Tan Kin Lian Vs Tan Cheng Bock.
Serve your notice to LKY, as he’s the one who instructed that stupid jayakumar how to draft the president’s role and duty.
LKY has to pay for all this GARBAGE and PROPAGANDA…..and the sufferings of the people.
Honestly I feel Presidential election is wasting time as President of Singapore has limited power like jaga the key, free time cut ribbons and waves hand during NDP. If allow to I would like to spoilt my vote as I see no point to vote for anyone to sit in Istana do nothing much but collecting $4 million per annum.
this is a joke.
I think he is another excuse poser from PAP.
He is still not apologetic about his endorsement of the isa application.
In order to get the prized president’s post with its millions of dollars Tan Cheng Bock is now distancing himself from the garment by saying that he accepted that Vincent Cheng, Teo Soh Lung and company were Marxist conspirators because of what was told by the garment at that time. What a lame and brainless excuse. As a doctor, an mp and part of the garment he couldn’t think beyond what he was told? He didn’t have a mind of his own? And now after all is said and done and he is going for the biggest prize in his life, he blames it all on the garment!!! Please people don’t vote Tan Cheng Bock, he is not a person to be trusted.
If TCB had the wrong information from the ground due to “absence of internet”, what happened after it was known there was no case against the “marxist conspirators”? If innocent victims were wrongly accused and suffered humiliation, loss of freedom and other deprivation,had TCB made any attempt to initiate an apology or suggest any compensation of some kine. Remember when our leaders were wrongly accused or libeled, they won law suits and were awarded significant monetary compensation – and the offenders were made bankrupt. Where is the rule of law and where is the fairness. Why are the victims forgotten to this day.
“We moved so fast, we left our people behind,” Presidential hopeful Dr Tan Cheng Bock.
==========
Yes indeed Ah Bock, you and your PAPayas left them behind in the Whitley Road ISD Detention Centre and threw away the keys.
Fat chance you’re going to get the four million dollar job.
I wonder if TCB fully realizes the implications of what he is doing by saying such things in the interview. He said “at that point of time all the facts that were given to us were from the government source ….” implying that he believed it was all true. He must realize that he will be asked again in a subsequent interview and especially if he wins the election, as President, whether he now believes the information given to him at that time by the government source was true. If not, then does he believe that there had been a grave miscarriage of justice inflicted on a group of innocent people. As President, if he believed that these people were unjustly treated by the government would he support any call for the people in authority at that time to be held responsible?
Instead of aiming for the President’s post, and if he has any conscience at all, Tan Cheng Bock should be busy repenting for the injustices that he has helped to perpetrate on the so-called Marxist conspirators.
It’s an interesting thought but just who were the real conspirators in THAT conspiracy?
Tan Kin Lian’s response to incorrect information that is being spread about him the blogs (taken from http://tankinlian.blogspot.com/2011/06/smear-campaign-in-sammyboy-forum.html)
18 June 2011
Smears in blogs
There are a few people who have posted untrue statements about my past activities and current intentions in several blogs and websites.
Briefly, the remarks about me were:
1) I have served as a powerful PAP branch secretary for 30 years
2) I was disgruntled for not being invited to be a PAP MP
3) I have been silent on national issues until recently
4) Like other insurance companies, I was ripping off the policyholders of Income
5) I used the opportunity of the mini-bond saga for political purpose
I wish to give the following facts, so that fair minded people can make their judgment of the facts and my character.
PAP Branch Secretary
I was branch secretary for Marine Parade for 3 years. I stepped down to become the chairman of the community center management committee. I did not want to hold many positions at the same time, and do not wish to be a “powerful” branch secretary. That position did not have much influence during my time, apart from organizing the weekly meet-the-people session. (Sorry, to give away this ‘party secret’).
Serving as PAP MP
I did not aspire to be a MP under the PAP. I was asked twice if I was interested, once in 1979 and again in 1985 (not sure about the dates).
I declined on both occasions – as I believed that a MP should be a full time job and I cannot do justice to this job, while running NTUC Income as the chief executive officer. I had a stronger reason in 1985, as I disagreed with the direction of the party policy (on national service, graduate mother scheme, etc).
Writing to the media
Over the past 25 years, I have written many letters that were published in the newspapers on several issues where I took positions that were different from the prevailing government policies.
Most notable were my views about national service – which disadvantaged our male citizens in competing for jobs against females and non-citizens. I believed then that it would have a significant negative impact on our country. We have now seen the decline in marriage and birth rates – of which national service for males is an important factor (but not the sole factor).
I have also made several suggestions on public transport, protection of consumers and other matters of concern to ordinary citizens. In most cases, there was no reply from the relevant authority – apart from the cursory acknowledgement. Many people knew me and my views through my letters published to the newspapers.
Serving the policyholders
Many policyholders of NTUC Income know that I run the insurance cooperative on the principles of honesty and fairness and in their best interests. I kept expenses low and was able to provide an attractive return on their life insurance savings, which is much better than those offered by other insurance companies. They are able to see the difference in how policyholders are treated, after I have retired from Income.
Helping the victims
The victims of the mini-bond saga knew that my primary purpose was to help them as much as I could during the difficult times. They appreciated my efforts and do not harbor any suspicion that I had a political motive (which I did not).
Many of them urged me to stand for Presidential Election so that they have a chance to vote for someone who is able to be independent of the Government. Several of them have written their endorsements of my character.
Tan Kin Lian
You got try 1000% harder, TCB.
Did you EVER question about lack of transparency?
Did you question about influx policy?
Did you question about the Flood that is said to occur in 50 years but somehow repeated in short time?
Are you still a PAP member?
I regard you highly. I regard you as PAP.
TCB, to me, look and talk and is like GY.
I never voted for GY.
that there is no Excuse not to know the ground.
Those in the ivory towers may not know much or they may know much of the ground.
The fact remains, their network is so wide its no excuse for their network not to tell them what is going on.
Many of the ministers are paid millions a year.
Is it a fair excuse to say SURPRISED the level of dissent during the hastings only? Its just a small GRC and not even the whole city.
I think i should run for office.
TCB, pls , no more repeating you doc in a village. Its getting a bit too oily.
I got stomach upset.
maybe its meesiam mai hum.
TCB, there are also so many areas that i think i made contribution.
ha.
many do not read blogs like TR or TOC.
The last election has proven this.
Many are still in slumber.
So, my point is, if supporters continue same way, they are not gonna reach out to the majority.
The majority are the ones who gave the mandate.
1. ERP : mornings, so expensive. they accept. Evenings, coming back from work to sub-urbs, also got ERP till later in the night. They accept.
2. Influx : no where has influx like this in terms of proportions and extent. They accept. Job security lesser and lesser. They accept. Congestion, they accept.
3. Lack of transparency : they accept. Again and again.
I conclude that singaporeans are so belly the belly 1st world.
We need more FTs. We need more talents.
Why TOC repeatedly give airtime (wifi) to TCB?
Andrew, any thoughts?
人类是群体动物,大家毎天过生活都是靠”信任”来维持的,這样社会才会进歩,人和人之间才会相安无事,和平相处.政府和人民之间也是靠”信仼”来联系, 国家才会进歩, 社会才会太平.
由于总统选举日已近,选民当然要选一位对自己,对他人,对社会有利益, 真正可以”信任”的人选,还有一奌很重要的是要有”大愛心和无私”的总统来当任,這是大家所期望的,最後希望新总统能夠多多为老化国人,病人,貧苦大众着想,以实际的行动来愛护他们.不知道是否可以設立一间”謙价或免費”和有”大愛心”的大医院/老人院,由有”大愛心”的医謢人員来照頋以上的人? 因为現在世上的”老人院和医院”太商业化了,而且医謢人員缺少
“大愛心”,加重了老化国人,病人,貧苦大众的痛苦,而且最近还听説有些国人付不起医疗費把老化親人送去邻国终老, 這是件非常可悲的事, 新加坡有今天輝煌的成绩, 他(她)们是背後的功臣呀!!!