by: Jewel Philemon/
Inch Chua a Singaporean singer-songwriter, musician, composer and multi-instrumentalist, who gained national recognition after being the first Singapore solo artist to be invited to the prestigious South by Southwest Music Festival; an artiste who gained visibility with the release of her 2010 full length debut album Wallflower, announced on her Facebook note that she has decided to move to another country to pursue her career, because she is hurt, angry and heartbroken that she is judged and assumed by many to have made “some majorly bad decisions in (her) life to wind up a musician”.
Saying, “I don’t need your definition of success to be placed upon me. I don’t need your approval to do what I know I should be doing. I don’t need you to tell me that there is no future in Singapore Music, I don’t need you to tell me that what I’m doing is a lost cause,” the twenty-three year-old adds that “minimal government support” to the music industry is another reasons why she has decided to leave Singapore.
Describing herself as a “100% home-grown Singaporean artist and proud of it”, she says that she has got no other choice but to leave the country, as in Singapore, she has to constantly prove her worth and contributions to the nation.
Saying however that she has not given up on Singapore, she adds that she’s leaving because “now (she’s) more ready than ever to get out of the boat and walk on water”.
In a previous interview to Channel NewsAsia, she had said she applied for various grants from several Government bodies like National Arts Council and Singapore international Foundation, but that they had not replied to her.
Inch Chua has never sold her own music, preferring instead to distribute it free online. She believes in bringing performances back to old school, where the artists put more heart and soul in their gigs.
She encourages people to be a part of her music by coming down to her live performances and enjoy the experiences of it. She earns her living through these live shows.
–
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Be good, Don’t go astray, don’t take drugs and don’t me so ang mo to be ang mo!!! Remember all are fake but your root is here.
Our great country doesn’t need her. What we need is more people trained in finance & economics, engineers, lawyers. This girl can’t contribute in anyway to our country, so it’s better she leaves.
you give an inch, they take a yard…
@Steven Kho
it was stupid to make that kind of statement.Please do remember that Lee K Y has pushed Singapore from third world to first world,or so he claimed.
Pl you have to discard yr third world mentality or should to a truly third world country,
With worthless reprobates like Steven Kho around, we should all get out while we still can, so that we can stay away from human excrement like Steven Kho.
I’ve heard her songs and been to some of her performances and she’s REALLY REALLY good.
Please stay, as by leaving you are showing to the PAP government that they have the right to “control” you.
Believe that someone here, who is able to help her.
Hi all, this is Willy, Inch’s manager.
I think this has blown outta proportions as with TOC and TR’s usual kinda reporting. Inch is NOT abandoning the country.
It’s an exploration of more and better opportunities. She is, in fact, working in 2 different countries. The States and Singapore.
You know, sorta like a Filipino maid. Work here and remit money home lah…
She’ll gain some recognition abroad, and then the pple here will start to love her.
Yes. We are that dumb. Apparently, we dont think we have the ability to spot a talent. But the foreigners do.
Aiyoh, sure or not.
Why dont she tell us herself, and how much does she need to realise her dream, and maybe a good Singaporean would like to help her.
I am not able to help, sorry, but sad to see Singaporeans leaving one by one without fighting for your rights – just like JB Jeya says ‘\- “to wake up from our slumber”.
When happens to our NS boys, where is our fighting spirit to defend the country. If these goes only, think I have to appy for PR also.- Surrending without a fight.
This girl is over-hyped. Come on, it’s not as if she’s a genius like LKY, whom we can’t afford to lose. Yes, with her around, maybe the arts & music scene maybe a little more vibrant, but that’s not much practical use.
@Willy Tan
I think it is very unfair for you to brand TOC as such.TOC is not TR,you have to differentiate them.
Dear Willy,can you please tell us how did TOC blow the whole thing out of proportion, I have been reading TOC for many years,and I think they are true professionals who try their best to serve the interest of Singapore citizens.
I know there are people who do not appreciate this point,some are of the view that all are same,whether citizens or non-citizens,but I am a citizen,and I support their stance.Other than that,I will not support them to purpusely blow things up.
So sorry to bring up this point,basically we have different point of view.All the best
Quote:
Our great country doesn’t need her. What we need is more people trained in finance & economics, engineers, lawyers. This girl can’t contribute in anyway to our country, so it’s better she leaves
This girl is over-hyped. Come on, it’s not as if she’s a genius like LKY, whom we can’t afford to lose. Yes, with her around, maybe the arts & music scene maybe a little more vibrant, but that’s not much practical use.
Unquote:
Aiyoh, can you sing a song, and put it up in youtube lah. With your 5 days work week, can quit anytime and asked for a raise, you must having a good job – maybe can tell us so we would upgrade and apply for your job leh, can or not.
We need your genius mah, to increase GST and sell our company to foreigners and asked them to park their monies here in Singapore, can.
Do you need help to carry your bags, golf bags etc.
@ Willy
That’s fantastic. Hopefully the next album cover will be her carrying a GI’s fullpack.
Jokes aside, it’s honestly a pity that we have to be recognized abroad before we are in Singapore. This shit’s gotta stop.
Part of it’s due to the infrastructure but part of it’s also due to the musicians in Singapore. Was in KL, Indo recently and new bands there rock. like really rock. Passion is key, and it’s prevalent in the performances of these new bands, they do their own videos… cheap and nasty no doubt.. but they do it so they can move their music as far as can be. We seem to want perfection in all we do. The Singaporean music mentality has not changed, both from a consumer and a creator perspective. This has to stop.
The message in face book supposedly to be by Ms Inch Chua is very emotional,I do not think Jewel blow it up at all.
I think her manager should quickly advise her to take down that angry message.
PAP will call her a quitter, she will be replaced by more hard striving musicians from foreign lands. Local Singapore talents and population are going to be like the dodo. Singapore will be divided by North and South, East and West. Rich and Poor, Chinapore and Indiapore.
@ andrew
Actually it’s not a bad thing if striving musicians from foreign land take over. In fact it helps the whole Indie music scene here in Singapore.
Music crosses boundaries, the issue with our scene is such that musicians who are unknown can’t make it big because there seems to be no infrastructure in place to play indie music (local or foreign for that fact) on a frequent basis on a mass level.
Maybe we have all been doing it wrong. But all we need is someone to break the boundaries and gun for that goal. Others will follow.
The ground thus far has been paved by Inch, Great Spy, Electrico, and the brave and good people from +65 indie underground hopefully we can push this further.
Not to sound too altruistic but this is something that all Singaporeans will have to come to terms with, bands and fans alike and understand that we need to create a movement.
Citizen 29 July 2011
@Willy Tan
I think it is very unfair for you to brand TOC as such.TOC is not TR,you have to differentiate them.
Dear Willy… I have been reading TOC for many years,and I think they are true professionals who try their best to serve the interest of Singapore citizens.
Hahaha…You think the demented postings of that attention seeker IvoteAhMeng, who hogs every thread with 4 or 5 of his drivel worthy of the old TOC. Since the new TOC editorial team took over, every thing goes. No different from TRE, really. You can rant, use the most vile obscenities, and even spout racist remarks on the new TOC, and some readers will lap it up and join in the chorus.
Deepak
Hahaha…You think the demented postings of that attention seeker IvoteAhMeng, who hogs every thread with 4 or 5 of his drivel worthy of the old TOC. Since the new TOC editorial team took over, every thing goes. No different from TRE, really. You can rant, use the most vile obscenities, and even spout racist remarks on the new TOC, and some readers will lap it up and join in the chorus.
_________________________________________________________________________________
Who’s the attention seeker here? Once again, you appear to be a minority, with your name & photograph to try to justify. You try to incite hatred against minorities by pretending to be one, so that the ISD will take down the IP address and go after those who were provoked by you. Nice try, PAP TROLL, we have seen through your trick long ago.
Ms Chua will have to sell her album online through Itunes etc. It’s unfortunate we don’t have a more supportive and vibrant local music scene and infrastructure/industry. I blame the Government Totally. They are Talent Killers, because they are untalented. They don’t know how to develop talent capability and infrastructure. They are 50 years behind other people.
They are not local talent development oriented or market driven enough. They are good at covering up their mistakes in failed investments and ventures.
follow the foot steps of tanya. dont follow rubbish like those found in mediacorpse stable of artistes.
Woo she can moan alright!
Deepak
Hahaha…You think the demented postings of that attention seeker IvoteAhMeng, who hogs every thread with 4 or 5 of his drivel worthy of the old TOC
………………
you ain’t no sink nor bhaii either
you are andrew the dnss ip xpert from TRE
you merely think you are the only bhaii ere?
in the ole pacnet i am known as the turbanator who avater is also a bhaii which i churi(out of respect) because that real singh served with the royal canadian mounted police with his turban intact…
and ere you are again tryin to promote hydrabed musician(the real 1s are good)..i luv kuars girls..nice sharp nose..fair white skins..naynay also standin..not droppin
Steven Kho 29 July 2011
This girl is over-hyped. Come on, it’s not as if she’s a genius like LKY
…………..
you meant leekingyou can sink as well?
the only thinggie leekingyou managed to do is to serenade poem NOT compose by him @ all..just from the local national library
Willy Tan
You know, sorta like a Filipino maid. Work here and remit money home lah…
…………..
you are the most greedy leecher i ever known..you been in pap paycheck for far2long..by the way your remarks on filipino maid proved that you are the istana=ateam most likely you are leekingyou himself…
you don’t think liked a musicians
you don’t even know ow a musician feel
a musician heart is not after MONEY
its the PASSION…
when/if you are free..try listennin to kitaro…you will get YOUR answer…
me tried to sink on me karaokiset..
without fail the polis in short pant knocked on me hdb castle..oek.. its 1.30am and you sync out of tune..
Erm guys, I think @Steven Kho was only being facetious. It’s clearly the local mindset that “we don’t need people like her”. In Singapore you’re only respected if you’re in those fields that he mentioned.
Steven Kho,
S’pore does not need YOU!! So crawl back to the country you came from
Hi there, I thought you might want to change:
1. Your name. I think to call yourself Inch, it is rather limiting.
2. If the above mentioned guy called Willy is really your manager, he is not worth it if he compares you as being a maid.
:(
Go Inch Chua, Singapore don’t deserve you!
@Inch Chua
I admire your fortitude & strength to make your own destiny.
Best wishes & every success.
It is sad that in our country, we still do not support our local artistes, talents. The blame does not lie solely on the government although they are the one with the purse strings as well. No, we need the private companies to start sponsoring music events and our countrymen to support our artistes by showing up to concerts, and listening to them. Best wishes Inch Chua.
@inch Chua.
Why did you want to show off talents for free on-line and at the same time wanting the government body to help you out financially.Could you not use your talent to made a living by selling your music in the market.Or maybe,you do not believe in free enterprise.
She could have been another Jay Chou, cannot do economics, finance nor go through university but highest grossing artist in south east Asia, driving an entire economy on his music and linking up with Chinese university.
Singapore really cannot retain or recognise it’s talents. What’s MCYS doing? Loss of local talent should reflect negatively on minister’s KPI.
inch chua wants to be just like annabel chong (in the mid-1990s) to be a star in adult movies in los angles, california.
Inch Chua has performed several times at The Esplanade (Outdoor Theatre and Concourse), which is Singapore’s premier venue for the performing arts. I would have thought that is sufficient recognition for a young and up-coming artist?
But yes, it is tough for artists to make a living and even justify their existence in Singapore.
As for NOT selling her music, while it may be admirable, it is not as if music lovers cannot afford to pay. I was at a rock concert by US rock band Neon Trees earlier this week (I went free as a photographer) and was struck by the HUGE audience of young people in their 20s and 30s who each paid $78 for a ticket. Some were well dressed and obviously well-off but most look like ordinary folks that I might meet on the MRT.
Sure, an artiste can choose to be different and it is not necessarily for Inch Chua or others to sell their music via CDs, not even at fixed prices. I remember some years back one highly popular UK rock group (forgot the name) made its music available for download at ANY PRICE, as little as £1.
So even while I can identify with some of the frustrations felt by Inch Chua, this is the path that she has chosen. Not that she has “no choice”. I wish her success – and more learnings in life.
Too bad she is not a ft,or our govt will welcome her with red carpets even sponsoring her,no need to ask for grants it will available on a silver platter,come back as a ft.you will see the difference in treatment,just ask steven kho,he knows better?
Maybe The Online Citizen would like to launch a donation drive for people like her – setting a scholarship, sponsorship etc with heading ” The Last Few Singaporeans”.
Dont worry and talk about the PAP government. Forget them, and set up and independent Foundation lah. Every organisation in Singapore have a government officals – either MP / Military personnel etc.
Be the last few Singaporeans who dare to stand up and do what is right.
She has the talent but she choose english songs which can’t make it big in Singapore or US.
Maybe, she can go to e2i for a job switching career, changing her English to Mandarin songs. She going to make BIG $$$.
She has great voice, could have made it big. All the best, Inch..
@Steven Kho,
LKY is the only talent, even liken to mortal god.. btw have you erected a statue of him in your house already? so you may bow down and worship him 5 times a day..
Wow, she is so beautiful and adorable. What a titanic loss to Singapore. I love Stephanie Sun best. But after marriage, Stephanie has put on some weight. But Inch, wow, she has the type of pouty look that can launch a thousand ships.
Singapore, Singapore, what hast thou wrought? To loseth a maiden so fair to yonder land.
If Tancho Tan can persuade her back, I will mobilize my whole family to vote him, even though we are angry that his son skipped NS for 13 years.
Inch needs a better manager to help market her and her songs. Remember Kit Chan, Ah Du and even Stephanie Sun, all made it big via having great managers to amplify their phenomenal talents.
Thank you, TOC, for providing this thread, it’s a relief to take a break like this, and not having to bash PAP all the time. At TRE no such breaks, it’s PAP-crunching 24/7, full-time.
Go to New York where support for the Arts is aplenty.
Speak to more people and perform as much as you can.
One day someone will spot your talents & groom you!
Follow your heart!
Too bad.. Any available monies will go to providing free scholarship for foreigners and also into a stupid intergration fund for new citizens.
Before blaming foreigners and the government, did you go and see her concert? Did you buy her music? Haven’t is it? Then go and complain…
Willy Tan, so your talent is like a ‘Filipino Maid’ working in the United States? Does your talent knows how to wipe old American ass? Like the way WE FILIPINO’S do? Or feed your elders the way we take care of them? I bet she can’t.
Tell your talent she’s a coward. 23, coward, and a hypocrite of her own country. What a shame.
And as for you WILLY TAN, I hope you die right now.
Greetings,
Inch’s Los Angeles based manager here. I rarely comment on blog posts, but wanted to briefly say that Inch is an incredibly talented artist, and our team feels fortunate to have the opportunity to work with her.
Singapore is home to several gifted artists and our company looks forward to discovering more like Inch.
Sincerely,
Richard Frias
Sigh… Its so painful to hear stories like these, where talents are ignored simply because they do not fit the frame of Singapore mainstream’s definition of success… Many of us have a part to play in this tragedy; don’t we consciously or unconsciously say things like, “Don’t pursue sports or music too fervently because they cannot make money.” “Don’t study liberal arts, got no future.”
Its a reflection of our blinkered society which places enormous resources and priority to sectors that are perceived to be important to the economic success. The result being that talents such as Inch Chua being sidelined… Hope that she finds success wherever she goes, and at the same time to find the compassion to forgive those that hurt her and return someday to inspire others.
Not surprised. Foreign ‘talents’ get scholarships and grants while local talents are shunned. Is Singapore a nation for foreigners or Singaporeans? I am beginning to wonder, whether the Singapore government is concerned about its people’s welfare or more to enrich PAP ministers and MPs pockets through higher salaries and bonuses.