Transcribed & Translated by Dan Feng/
A police report was lodged against Mr Wang Peng Fei on 24th July 2011 for allegedly uttering racist remarks against Singapore women in a self-made video clip posted on YouTube. After learning about the police report, Mr Wang fled Singapore and returned to China. He was also expelled by the East Asia School of Business for his act.
Appended below is the translated transcript of the video clip.
–
They say coming to Singapore is the f**king path to good fortune. Why is it the f**king path to good fortune?
You sign an indenture to sell yourself. Sometimes you sign away six years of your life, sometimes three. You graduate and you can’t leave. Aren’t there cases like that?
Is electricity free here? It’s sweltering outside and one wishes one could be topless but they wear sweaters at the drop of a hat. Here, they wear quilted jackets to the office. They wear a downcoat when it’s 32 degrees Celcius. Come see if this is the case in Singapore.
Singlish is a language on its own. For over 20 years, I have studied English, Chinese, Japanese and French and I can’t use any of those languages here. Mandarin, Cantonese, Teochew, Hakka, Hokkien, Indian, Malay and English have all been combined into a unique language [in Singapore].
Over here, they don’t say someone is plump or someone is tall. Instead, they say that he is “dazhi” (big-sized).
They don’t say “gongzuo” (working) but insist on saying “zuogong” (do work). They ask you every day, where do you “zuogong”? I’m a person of culture for heaven’s sake. I’m not a coolie. I don’t “zuogong”.
They don’t call sea snails “hailuo” but call them “lala”…no they call them “gonggong”. They don’t call clams “xiazi” but call them “lala”. [In China,] father is called “gonggong” and mother is called “lala”. How can I eat them?
They pronounce 3 as “tree”. The say “one, two, tree”. Just like how we say “chuiling”.
Instead of calling 3:10 “sandian shifen”, they call it “sandian lianggezi”.
[short indecipherable sentence]
When you take the MRT, you ask them “Where’s the subway?” and they think you want a sandwich. You must ask “Where’s the MRT?”.
Is this the first time I’m in a foreign country? When I want a taxi I ask for a “dishi” and nobody understands me. They tell me it’s called a “deshi”. F** that.
And when you finally board the “deshi”, the “deshi uncle” asks you: Where are you from? You are from China? China is poor. Do you have houses there? Do you get enough to eat? F*** that. Did your grandfather not come from China? He probably came to Nanyang to be a coolie. No wonder you say “zuogong” instead of “gongzuo”.
Can’t you see that I am so “dazhi”? Love is forever, being plump is just a temporary thing. I want to become the ray of light shining on all the fatties of the world.
Singapore is like a little United Nations. On this small island are people of different skin colours and different faiths. Here’s a fair-skinned girl showing her long slim legs. There goes a dark-skinned girl showing her white teeth. There comes an Indian girl showing her fingers [unclear section]. They have that smell and then they put on perfume. Am I right?
I say to the Malay girl. Why are you so dark? So…what is this…[checks something next to screen] Why are you so dark, with such pale legs, such white teeth, and you smell of birds? Perhaps you’re just good for bearing children. You have one, and then another. Are you unsure of your childbearing ability unless you go out with at least four children in tow? You’re giving the Lee dynasty a headache don’t you know? The Chinese here don’t even have one child, and over there, you’re bearing one child after another.
Although Singapore has many races, you should know how to co-exist peacefully. They cane people here, but it’s not S&M. You may be M but you won’t be able to take it. The first stroke breaks the skin, the second breaks the flesh, the third reveals your bone and by the fourth you’re all helpless.
Cigarettes in Singapore are ten times the price of other places. Let’s not talk about this for now but can you please change the photos printed on the cigarette packs? If it’s not rotting body parts, it’s dead babies. Even non-smokers get turned off looking at this.
As for the good food in Singapore…f’**k that. When I want sliced fish soup, I have to choose from 48 possible combinations. With milk or without? Thick vermicelli or thin? Flat noodles or skinny ones? Extra fish slices or fish head? Have some chicken rice. You can have chicken rice, duck rice, char siew rice or braised pork rice. Breast, drumstick or thigh? With bone or without? I’ll starve to death before I finish ordering. But Singapore is such a pluralistic society.
Wahlau! It’s really hard being a Chinese newcomer in Singapore.
–
–
This article first appeared in New Asia Republic. We thank NAR for allowing us to reproduce it in full here.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

My name is TLJ.
I like to know, what are the conditions inside the Trade Agreements signed between the 3rd worlds and singapore.
Oh, was our Georgie have anything to do with it?
Happy retirement, GY. I am TLJ.
living in a pond
I think the root cause of problems is not racism.
It is the influx of foreigners that cause rising cost of living, housing and job opportunities to citizens. This is the problem we should highlight and not allow racism to become the problem.
By being too focused on racism, government will take advantage and forget to correct their wrong policies to stay in its divide and rule game.
Could TOC or someone having some time on hand try to translate his PRC accent into understandable england?
Like this got more effect.
Most chinese singaporeans are not able to understand his chinese spoken so fast and with strong accent. most singaporeans could have passed A level chinese and still never used it much such that if you speak to them in mandarin, they reply “Please speak in english”.
@By the power of Greyskull
You said “Most chinese singaporeans are not able to understand his chinese spoken so fast and with strong accent. most singaporeans could have passed A level chinese and still never used it much such that if you speak to them in mandarin”
This is because Singaporeans got no interest in Mandarin. It is such a important language, the government goes to great lengths to help us improve, but Singaporeans are not appreciative. We should welcome more of the PRC nationals, they certainly help to improve our Mandarin.
COMMENT ON “DID PRC TALENT REALLY INSULTED SINGAPOREANS?
It was rather amusing reading his discourse about Singapore. At least, we know what foreigners think of us.
He is probably from a little village somewhere in China and unfamiliar with life in a metropolitan city. He just couldn’t adapt to life here and became miserable because he thought that we should speak Chinese Mandarin (Hua Yi) like China’s Putonghua.
He is not sociable, in fact, having been brain-washed by Communist doctrines and grew up to be fiercely loyal to the country of his birth.
It’s sad because he didn’t use his time in Singapore to learn more about this country and the Singapore way of living in a very successful multiracial pluralistic society.
The Shanghainese called taxi ‘zu de czer” (meaning rented car). They use “da zhuan wan” for right turn and “xiao zhuan wan” to turn left. It was rather refreshing!
To describe percentage, the Chinese will use percentage (bai fen pi) but Singaporeans use “par sian” using the Chinese translation for percentage. Actually, their version is correct. .
He probably forgets Singapore is in “nanyang”.and not in China.
Chinese in Singapore and indeed, together with about 40-50 million overseas Chinese are very much different from the Chinese in China.. Both the Chinese in China and other Chinese especially those in Singapore are brought up with a different culture and philosophy. So, while we have the same skin color, our teaching from parents, education, values and society in Singapore are diametrically different.
In any event, he has apologized profusely and said what he did was in jest. It takes a man to own up that he has erred in a moment of folly.
Wait till u c those Cina and stinko nei working in the IHLs.
They will not publicly laugh at u but they seat there n pretend bz. Worst, these ppl are working in the PUBLIC SECTOR + GLCs.
A foreigner living in Singapore should have the basic respect for the country’s people and culture. If we allow a foreigner to impose his whims and fancies on us, it may affect our social and cultural harmony. The school is right to expel him.
These china people see themselves as higher beings,compared to us singaporean.
He asked why our malay girls are so dark, that’s quite a racism remark.
And he apologized because he was scared of getting into deeper trouble, not because he is sincere.If he is sincere, he will stay in SG and face the law.
‘Although Singapore has many races, you should know how to co-exist peacefully.’
well mr prc….whats with the han chinese trying to kick other minorities asses in china?
The fact that not 1, but 2 generations of s’porean mis pronounce the word three for tree reflects failure in our education system.
Let’s see , who were our past and present education ministers… oops Tony Tan!!!
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Singaporeans over-reacted on this issue.
Firstly, this kid is 20s odd years old. What you expect from this age. Young & foolish !!!
The school must not fire this student but fined him & given a second chance. After all, this kid must continue the education.
We need to show the world that over-punishment lead to hatred against Singapore !!!
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
I’ve seen a lot of people slamming this guy with all sorts of remarks and accusations, but nobody has dared to admit that some of what he says is quite true.
For example, Singaporeans aren’t really that proficient in English. The accent aside, how many Singaporeans would care to admit that they speak English without the ubiquitous ‘lah’? A lot of Singaporeans cannot pronounce the word ‘sword’ the right, suffer from poor grammar, and a myriad of other problems. Seemingly unaware of these flaws, Singaporeans still continue to chide PRCs for speaking the way they do.
It is also true that you don’t use ‘metro’ or ‘subway’ with typical Singaporeans because they do not know what these mean.
And yes, Singaporeans like to say ‘tree’ instead of ‘three’. Words like ‘through’ and ‘thought’ also confound their tongues.
As for the birth rates, it is true, too. Singstat.gov.sg tells me that — correct as of ’09 — Malays do have the highest ‘children to female’ figure among all the races.
So, beyond the snide, rude statements, this Chinese isn’t all a pack of lies.
@Zulu
You are absolutely right. The government give us all the tools to excel in english & mandarin, but Singaporeans just don’t bother and take things for granted. Then when we can’t speak properly, start to blame government.
Seems that he comes from North East China from his accents. He said ‘gongzhou’, some Chinese prefer ‘Shang Ban’ .. he way of saying going to work in office is also wrong leh..
cancer spread to aljunied
This is because Singaporeans got no interest in Mandarin. It is such a important language, the government goes to great lengths to help us improve, but Singaporeans are not appreciative
…………………
appreciative of what? your frickin cinamen little brainwave or your squattin down habit of ptui ptui?
and you didn’t rebutt me on cinagirl lyin on their backs for 18 hrs/day..
who/what are you? a cinaman PIMP in geylarg? so what is your NEXT moves?
bringin in more ak47s perhaps?
you know who/what you are?
a REAL zhoukor( a chinese mongrol DOG)
the kind where you are not PERMITTED to pee in shanghai garden park….
Having been in and out of Singapore for decades, trying to make it my home instead of just where Iam, I can say this: Mr Zulu understates the case to a comedic degree.
When I last moved to Singapore, several years ago, I spoke nine languages and had taught English in four countries. I have never met another “culture” that was so overweeningly PROUD of its deliberately bad English. Language is a tool here; it serves the Leeaders’ purpose admirably by enduring that people stay divided and enslaved along meaningless, arbitrary divisions. The only language “in use” here that is not tied to one of the Appeoved Ethnicities is spurned, suborned and ridiculed. Combined with the increasingly Pyongyang-style top-down regimentation, I wonder if there is another city on the planet that sees its neighbours progress, even that customary bogeyman to the north, and deliberately teaches its subjects to turn up their noses at the tools that make for success today, and to mock and shun those who dare to think. It would be funny were it not so arrogantly cynical and needlessly self-destructive. Those who Really Count here need to get some basic maths through their scholarly heads: controlling 99% of a middling Second World economy will not make them as rich as controlling 40% of an economy that is ten times larger than the present one. Tomakethat happen, however, they’re going to have to stop stomping down any vestige of a functioning, independent civil society that dares rear its head here.
Which will they choose, greater riches and the respect of history, or the megalomaniacal pursuit of absolute power over a rounding error of the potential of this planet?
They’ve already chosen, and made that choice as clear as the wa
Ls of a cage.
@Jeff “I have never met another “culture” that was so overweeningly PROUD of its deliberately bad English.”
Please have some respect for our culture. Yes, Jeff, we HAVE a culture. No need for the parenthesis.
I can easily think of Black English Vernacular, spoken in the US, and Jamaican Patois as dialects/creoles of English that the respective cultures who use them are proud of. As long as they follow grammatical and syntactic rules, you cannot say that users are using it “wrong” just because these rules differ from English.
Language is not a fixed concept; it belongs to its users.
It is hubris to think that Oxford and Cambridge are the final arbiters of the English language, or that their dictionary entries encompass all “correct” words in English. The largest English speaking country is the US, but the second is India, followed by Nigeria. The UK ranks a low 4th. Can it truly stake its claim to the language any more?
You may have taught English in many countries, but you apparently fail to understand what English actually is.
England owns English as much as Greece owns democracy. Or China, mandarin Chinese for that matter. English is a living language, and while writing has helped keep it standardized for the last couple hundred years, dialects develop. Ours is just one of them.
Language is a large part of the identity of a people. How could we hope to describe, for example, National Service, if we don’t talk about our N@bei ch**b@i CSM? Or how this crazy OC of ours damn chiong suah? Just because you are unable to partake of this experience does not mean you should pour scorn upon it.
Please, don’t insult Singlish. To master it is to be quintessentially Singaporean (and mastering Singlish does NOT mean you cannot master Queen’s English as well).
Why should we NOT be proud of it?
This guy is just nothing but an immature person….(lshows the quality of people our great leader is attracting to our Country)….
He decided to runn off ….rather cowardly act if I may add…anyway no loss to Singapore he is one of those pseud talents that came in with illusions of self importance….thanks to our Great Leader and the inefficient Depts. involved.
This guy wants to pull off a Peter Chow. Sadly, this is Singapore, where the epitome of comedy is shitty Channel 5 and 8 sitcoms. No wonder nobody gets the humor and make so much noise.
Small people say small things. SG is one nation of small people with narrow minds and no talent.
Chase out all the FTs… Sure thing! 5 years later SG must beg for mercy from Malaysia loh! Pathetic
To me, the content of the video is nothing offensive but the way he expresses it may be. It is a fact that Malay family bear more children such that the racial mix will be tilted vis a vis Chinese family if it is not addressed. I support the government current action of importing Chinese citizen from China to maintain the racial mix. Singaporean Chinese should not complain because they chose to bear zero or few children. If government did not do anything on this racial mix thing, within 30 years, Malay may form the majority and that will mean the end of Singapore. The government during that time will seek to merge with Malaysia and that implies Chinese being regard as second class citizen like the current status now oppo the causeway. I seek local Chinese to think long term and not to be myopic in outlook. If Singapore under Malay majority, I dared to say that this country will lost its competitiveness for sure. History has proven their ability. So is my statement considered racist? If you think it is, then life will be pathetic.
In order to lower the bar for the PAP BaBa Lang elite’s sons esp. LHL, the Mandarin standard has been destroyed.
Singaporeans can’t speak real Mandarin and broken English. It is true.
The people to blame is LKY and his PAP lapdogs for the “worldclass” education. An education which cannot produce any “talents” and have to be imported.
They have failed us.
Everytime I hear Singaporeans speaking to their children in Singlish, it is embarrassing. Esp, in front of white folks.
I lived in USA for 20 years but I always speak Hokkien with my children in front of white folks.
I will make sure they can speak my dialect and we are proud of our own mother tongue.
Some people thinks that he insulted Malay and Indian women. I feel that he is impolite, yes but not racist.
I heard a lot of times from our local Malays calling mainland Chinese names like “cheena, cheena” or derogatory names like “cheena bambi”. Come on, it hurts local Chinese too when words like cheena are used. The Malays need others to be sensitive then they need to be sensitive to others too. Please refrain from using such racist terms too.
(1)The other time, some people cried foul when the police took action against some netizens.
(2) Now, some people ask the police to take action against this fellow.
It seems the people who ask the police to come in agree with (1). It was an RP fellow, Alex, isn’t it? So, he agrees that the police should haul up netizens for racists online acts. I hope he practise the same principle honourably to everyone, including his favourite online hunts, not just the PRC. If not, he shows very little principle.
Puppy cannot make it
Singaporean Chinese should not complain because they chose to bear zero or few children
………………
complain what? may i humbly seek?
are you implyin that since my CHINESE race do not 1st 2 bear/sire a 2nd generations
other chinese must take that responsibilty on my BEHALF?
since the CHINESE 60% already chose the mandates..so be IT..whether in time of wars or economic situations…
Totally not impressed at all…
What the crap?
Obviously he did the video with the intention to insult and make fun of Singapore and Singaporeans…
If not, why did he put on all those extra stuff, and even have to write a script, which he was obviously reading from throughout the video.
So what if our forefathers were coolies working in the docks?
So what if we ask where do we do work instead of where we work?
At least the living is honest.
At least they came to singapore to search for an honest living.
And what’s this with our language?
And that learning english and chinese but cannot be used here?
Seriously? Are you retarded or something?
Just because we speak a different kind of chinese, means it’s not chinese at all?
As if the chinese in the video is pure as well…
Then don’t use the English word office in the video!
And why did they let such a person come in the first place?
Not happy?
GO HOME LAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My blood boils…
And because of morons like this who think they are superior, they really make it hard for the other chinese nationals who are trying to work in Singapore.
Because of black sheep like this, other people start to have negative feelings towards chinese nationals.
Mr Wang Peng Fei is entitled to his own opinions, unfortunately it was uploaded on youtube.
I think it was Mr Alex Tan from SPP/RP who made the police report. He could have just alerted the police without having to make an actual report and caused him to return to his own country without finishing his studies.
The East Asia School of Business should not have just expelled him. He could be given another chance, he is not a criminal. I hope if he has paid any extra fees, to be returned to him.
Freedom of speech! Everyone in entitled to his or her opinion. Don’t prosecute this man or expell him just because he vented his opinion…… If you have a gripe, say it or shut it.
Don’t become like your neighbor who will ISA you for having an opinion……. move on folks.
@ living in a pond
Please read Robert Teh’s sensible response. I consider myself lucky to live overseas to enjoy the freedom and lifestyle. Being expose to the outside world not in a pond! You have no rights to tell me not to return to Spore, I am a “loa peng” and completed the NS. I returned home for the election to vote wisely(not to the elites..so called “talented”) for the better livihood of the future generations.
Aiyah, TOC no need to give this stupid China boy publicity here.
There will be lots of copycats like him coming up soon. These Chinese Nationals just got frustrated and bigheaded, thinking highly of themselves. Just treat them as childish idiots from abroad.
“He probably came to Nanyang to be a coolie. No wonder you say “zuogong” instead of “gongzuo”.”
That alone is bloody discrimination.
There are lots of Wang Peng Fei’s in East Asia School of Business. That place is a mini China and its main business is bring in China student to Singapore. I had wanted to do a course there but changed my mind after being put off by the large number of China students there. Many do not really look like they are interested to study and you can see lots of big cars waiting for the girls to finish school. Guess they have rich guardian old mans in Singapore.
@Puppy Cannot Make It, I am more appalled by you than by the guy in the video. He made his low views of the minority women clear; you took it a step further by openly advocating a racist policy of maintaining a “racial mix tilted vis a vis Chinese family.” Should the guy in the video have been expelled? Perhaps not. As other posters said, many other people, including our own retired MM had said far more offensive things. However, does that mean that his remarks are not racist and against the values of racial tolerance and harmony Singapore prides itself on? Definitely not. This was purported to be a comedy but he is not even funny.
To all posters who have downplayed the racism, sexism and elitism underlying Mr. Wang Peng Fei “satire” which to me, makes it so offensive, let me point out a few things.
Firstly, Why does his remarks qualify as racism? This guy consistently denigrates Singaporeans and its ethnic minorities for things that they cannot really help. Why did he repeatedly emphasize “dark-skinned” and “smell” and make these groups sound like lower beings?
This view was further supported by Puppy Cannot Make It who said: “If Singapore under Malay majority, I dared to say that this country will lost its competitiveness for sure. History has proven their ability.” Why, thank you, Puppy Cannot Make It, for clarifying why the number of Malays should be kept to a minimum. They must be completely hopeless – history said so. Never mind that the “history” is distorted by colonialism and that each new generation should be given a chance to prove themselves.
Lastly, @Zulu, who think that it is alright to for the guy to say what he did because its “factually true that Malays do have the highest ‘children to female’ figure among all the races.” – according to the latest statistics, although it is relatively the highest among the 3 major races, the birth rate of the Malays has dropped below replacement level for some years now…the 3 or 4 children that the guy in the video is alluding to, is definitely not a “fact”. And even if it is, so what? Why is bearing children spoken of in a derogatory manner as if women who bear children have no brains? Is that BOTH sexism and racism? In any case, Malays bearing children wouldn’t be such a problem unless one subscribes to the view that there should be an optimal racial mix where Malays are a tiny minority. And to me, that, in itself, is racist.
As one might have guessed, yes, I am Malay. And like another Malay poster who is going overseas for to study medicine, I will also be leaving for the US for further studies. Funded and supported by a US university, without any help from a Singapore which (i) equates foreign with talent (ii) has a substantial number of people who are NOT offended when ethnic minority women are insulted (iii) has a few vocal people advocating a racist immigration policy, including probably, our own government.
So, goodbye Singapore. Thank you for helping me understand that there is no space and opportunities for minorities here. Despite the racial harmony spiel, clearly there is outright discrimination aided, abetted and supported by people like Puppy Cannot Make It.
Well, he is right about two things –
“Singapore is like a little United Nations. On this small island are people of different skin colours and different faiths.” and “Singapore is such a pluralistic society.”
@Puppy cannot make it
I totally agree with you that racism is not the way at all no matter from who, towards who.
Secondly, my grandparents came from China so when China Chinese are being insulted, I feel that my Grandparents were being insulted too.
Garbage in
Garbage out
This is what happens daily at changi
And our ministers are on the way, “OUT”
@Laurelinarian,
You stressed that you are moving on to US to study medicine. You are the few Malays who are the cream of the cohort. However, in general, we see a less hardworking average Malays on the street. I use the current observation to extrapolate the future capability of Malays. Though that may not be 100% correct but it provides a close approximate to crystal ball gazing.
I am puzzled by some people why they feel that being called dark skinned is something offensive to them. This mindset inherently admits that fairer skin is better and one has that inferior complex in him/her! One must be proud of the skin colour you are given. When others called Chinese yellow skinned people, I am not upset.
Yes, regarding the the smell opinion, i agree that it is rude and impolite. Not all Indians are like that in fact most local Indians are not.
Lastly I wish you best of your study in US.
Essentially, the act might be mildly annoying to some but at the bottomline, the man should be allowed to exercise his freedom of speech. The school did him wrong by expelling him.
If this injustice is not righted, it would effectively portray Singapore and Singaporeans as a petty and small-minded people. And we should just totally forget about having any democratic aspirations.
Where is the tolerance? Where is the respect for freedom?
Freedom of speech in Singapore is only as free as populist sentiments.
@Puppy cannot make it:
Just to clarify, the act of calling someone “dark-skinned” by itself is not offensive. However, what the guy on the video did was to juxtapose the physical feature of being “dark-skinned” with derogatory imprecations on the worth of Malay and Indian woman and that IS racist AND implies that fair-skinned is better. His implication, not mine.
And yes, you are right, that doesn’t give minorities any right to call Chinese “cheena” either. I think we both agree that name calling based on racial characteristics is not the way to go.
As for your crystal ball gazing based on “current observation”, true, it is obvious that Malays are an underachieving group. However, to insinuate that this was because of laziness (“or less hardworking” as you politely put it) simplifies the issue.
The reason, I “stressed” (as you put it) the fact that I will be going to the US is not to boast – oh, here is the “cream of the crop.” I am hardly that important. Rather, the point that I was emphasizing was the lack of support from Singapore in recognizing and giving opportunities to people from the Malay community. Actually not just the Malay community but the lower income groups in general. Why do so many overseas scholarships by Singaporean bodies go to the top tier of society who can afford it, anyway? This is another issue, for another time but the point here is – there are other reasons why Malays are not succeeding other than genetics, culture and laziness.
Furthermore, I still do not think that it is justifiable to advocate immigration policies that favour importing PRCs just to “maintain the racial balance” as you clearly stated in your previous post. Such a policy IS racist. It clearly favours one ethnic group over another, implying that one ethnic group is better.
Its fine if you don’t agree. Let’s just agree to disagree on this point. Though I won’t vote for you if you run for President. And I doubt you would vote for me too.
Thank you for your good wishes and may I wish you all the best in your endeavours as well.
I believe how most of us had reacted to this incident was largely because the pap government seems to apply the same set of laws selectively and differently, e.g. citizens vs PRs and other Foreigners, pap vs other parties.
In my mind, I believe the pap minister concerned would have ordered the police to arrest this guy if he were a citizen of my beloved country. The fact that the minister has not done so make my blood boiled.
@Puppy cannot make it
You are the Champion here. You got sodomized by a Malay chap and you are now blaming the Malays for all this problem.
I find you the worst DOG !!!!
Title of Article: Did PRC ‘talent’ really insult Singaporeans?
It is obvious that a fool insulted Singaporeans. Unless, this question is a rhetorical one. The point made here is that these “talents” are insulting Singaporeans! There are so many of them, professors in the universities, teachers, bus drivers, even the coworkers taking up cube spaces that could be used by the locals! They must be stopped!
To the above poster,
You should learn from Laurelinarien. The way he replied his post is conducted gentlemenly. But you are like hooligan. Poor chap!
“witness 1 August 2011
Essentially, the act might be mildly annoying to some but at the bottomline, the man should be allowed to exercise his freedom of speech. The school did him wrong by expelling him.
If this injustice is not righted, it would effectively portray Singapore and Singaporeans as a petty and small-minded people. And we should just totally forget about having any democratic aspirations.
Where is the tolerance? Where is the respect for freedom?”
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Freedom of speech does not mean freedom to hurt or insult from foreigners.
It’s outraging, not just “mildly annoying to some” as you deem it to be. Wang’s intention is obvious: to insult and hurt the image of Singapore and Singaporeans.
It’s too mild to just expel him from school by the school, and no action taken by Singapore gov. He should be brought to court and possibly be jailed, canned, and fined like American Michael Fay (1994) and Swedish Oliver Fricker (2010) who vandalized in Singapore. Wang’s act is worse than a mere physical damage to property. The nature of his crime:
- committed publicly/worldwide (online video),
- inciting racism in Singapore,
- belittled ALL Singaporeans (though most are not as he described)
- tarnished Singapore English accent (perhaps Kee Chiu might be the most offended?),
- belittled Singapore’s multi-cultural society,
- behaved in an unbecoming way as a visitor,
- belittled women in Singapore,
- belittled Singaporeans’ parents and grandparents,
- tarnished the image of Singapore being well-known as food paradise,
- making Singapore gov a fool for letting him into Singapore,
Singapore gov should take Wang to task or at least pressure China to do so on their behalf. Keeping silent about it will either admit to the world that Singapore is as bad as Wang portrayed it to be, or that Singapore is afraid of China, or shows favoritism over China compared to America and Sweden, and all other bad connotations.
To clarify I don’t refer to poster Tan but the one above him… The one who uses my nick…
@laurelinarien
I see that you are offended, and I am sorry. My point was never to insult, but merely point out that the chinese guy speaks some truth. It is, in detail, unjust and erroneous the way he furnished his point by saying that they go around with three, four children in tow. However, the general idea that Malays have the highest birthrate vis-a-vis the other races isn’t false.
As for the debate about the Malay race and their childbirth rates, I in NO way support the view that the number of children (among the malay community) is proportional to their social standing, despite the fact that the Malays have been under-performing in the PSLE (according to one MOE report).also, I will not subscribe to the opinion that this is a predisposed condition. That is my stand on the matter.
A thumbs down to the author of this article for that title !!! The title incites more racism, than the contents.
It is an opinion of a single individual and how can that be taken as a representation of a huge community? every country has its own share of nutcases, and Singapore is not an exception. The author should be mature enough to make this distinction at a minimum.
The comments made are cringe-worthy and deserves punishment, but such poor sensationalistic titles are to be derided equally.
Most of what this guy say is true.
Singaporeans speak poor Mandarin and poor English. This is not something to be proud of.
China people look down on us as we can’t speak either language properly yet we say English is our first language.
Speaking broken English and broken Mandarin and being proud of it is just foolish pride.
@Zulu: No hard feelings and thanks for the clarification.