by: Benjamin Cheah/

Policies that place Singaporeans first in education. Schools that offer the widest range of programmes to the widest range of people. A flexible education system that prepares students for the workforce and is integrated with industry and the world.

These are the key ideas in Dr Tony Tan’s speech on higher education at the Singapore Management University on Tuesday morning. While Dr. Tan had spent three decades shaping higher education in Singapore during his tenure as a Cabinet minister, and is now running for President, he stressed that he was speaking as a private citizen.

Singaporeans first

Dr Tan’s policies when he was the Education Minister have received widespread criticisms online. The critiques said that Dr Tan pursued policies that increased the intake of foreign students in local universities instead of Singaporeans.

Responding to these remarks in his speech, Dr Tan affirmed a ‘Singaporeans first’ policy, saying that the interests of Singaporeans should come first. Dr Tan said “our primary responsibility is to Singaporeans”. He reiterated that Singaporeans should be given every opportunity to realize their potential and find their path.

He emphasised that Singapore citizens already have priority entrance to primary and secondary schools, and there are many scholarships and subsidies for Singaporeans to pursue higher education at home or abroad. Singaporean students are also able to take advantage of education opportunities “which give them a good start in life despite their family background”, he said.

To further ensure Singaporeans can take advantage of these opportunities, he suggested that the government should monitor the proportion of foreign students in tertiary institutions. This according to him, would ensure Singaporeans are the main beneficiaries of education policies, and that the proportion of foreign students “matches the present and future needs” of society.

In his speech, Dr Tan rejected the notion of adopting a ‘Singaporeans only’ policy, saying that it would be “a grave mistake” as “Singapore is an international city.”

He said that this would “limit the talented individuals” who contribute to Singapore, and restrict Singapore’s ability to engage in collaborative research that has placed Singaporean universities “in the very top ranks of universities” worldwide.

Emerging trends

Stressing that the future is unpredictable and that change is the only constant in the global economy, Dr Tan highlighted three emerging trends.

First he said, developing countries, especially China and India, are growing at unprecedented rates. He said that this “puts pressure on Singapore to maintain a highly-skilled workforce that leads the region”.

This requires an able and flexible education system, enabling workers to upgrade existing skills or develop new ones. This is the only way, he said, to keep up with neighbours who have more natural resources and larger labour pools.

The second emerging trend is that demand for goods is growing in unpredictable ways. Arguing that rising affluence will “fuel the growth of an increasingly specialized services sector” to cater to different tastes, Dr Tan predicted that new classes of jobs would be created, most notably in services and entertainment sectors. As a result of which Dr. Tan added, people will soon have a wider range of careers.

Increasing affluence which is accompanied by changes in life expectancies and lifestyle choices is the third emerging trend.

It must be expected that people would live longer, and have longer and more diverse careers, expressed Dr Tan. In this new economy many he anticipate would have two or more careers; and for a variety of reasons, ranging from pure economic reasons to self-actualisation.

In light of these emerging trends, Dr. Tan argued that the challenge for higher education in Singapore is to be more flexible without compromising national standards of excellence in education.

Guiding principles

Singapore has got no choice but to remain an open society in the face of increased competition the future would bring said Dr Tan. he believes that Singapore should continue to focus on nation building and strengthening social cohesion.

He then outlined three guiding principles that he believes should guide the development of higher education in Singapore.

The first principle according to Dr Tan is comprehensiveness. He stressed that higher education should cater both to the needs of the economy and inclination of learners and all citizens (including the injured and the people with disabilities) should have a chance to realize their full potential.

Tertiary institutions he believes should be able to cater to a significant proportion of this cohort, and also to develop courses to cater to high demand areas as well as in emerging or niche fields.

Individuals Dr Tan requested, should learn widely even while developing specialist skills.

Dr Tan said that flexibility is the second principle. Higher education has a history of being linear, with little prospects of switching paths. Dr Tan asserted in his speech that this “a very narrow view of education”, “a very limited view of human potential” and in untenable. He said higher education should offer a range of opportunities, and allow people to switch between tertiary institutions.

He added that Singapore should continue to develop Continuing Education and Training programmes to prepare workers “for a more dynamic future and a longer working life.” CET programmes include upgrading programmes in public institutions, and courses in private education institutes.

The third principle according to Dr Tan, is openness. He foresee a future where higher education institutions be open and connected to each other and the world. Higher learning institutions should continue and grow exchange and immersion programmes.

Singapore’s institutions he said, should use local, regional and global networks to “attract and retain the very best students and faculty”, to prepare local students for international careers, and to be “at the cutting edge of research.”

Dr Tan encouraged private foundations and corporations to provide mentorship, research collaboration and learning opportunities to tertiary institutions, in addition to financial support.

Currently, courses and funding in institutions of higher learning, enable students to start careers. Dr Tan predicted that this would change and that the educational system of the future will increase the number of entrepreneurs. Schools he believe, should also give individuals the ability to spot and take advantage of opportunities as they arise.

Higher education according to Dr Tan, should not only prepare the individual for a career, but should also contribute to society and life.

He called institutions to nurture their students’ idealism into “lifelong commitments to work for the betterment of society.” He however acknowledged that it’s up to the individual to balance the pursuit of academic excellence and societal contributions.

Question time

While the lecture was focused on higher education in Singapore, several questions directed during the question time at Dr Tan, focused on his political aspirations and the stances he would take if elected.

In the field of higher education, Dr Tan said that the President would be able to use his presence, patronage, and support of causes to maintain and improve existing standards of education.

When asked by the Associated Press if he believed Singapore’s Ministers, and the President, were paid too much, Dr Tan said that he would abide by the findings of the commission established to look into ministerial salaries.

A student asked Dr Tan if he would guarantee limitless bank deposits. Dr Tan said one should “never say never”. He said that such action must be seen in context, noting that Ben Bernanke of the US Federal Reserve embarked on similar measures to save the American, and thereby international, economy during the late 2000s financial crisis.

Dr Tan emphasised that “the action isn’t as important as the ability to take action”, and that Singapore has sufficient reserves to take drastic measures if necessary.

When the lecture ended, the press door-stopped Dr Tan as he was about to leave and a reporter asked him about his stance on the Graduate Mother’s Scheme. The mainstream media used this as an example to showcase his supposed independence from the ruling People’s Action Party, but bloggers have argued that Dr Tan supported the scheme.

Dr Tan said that he looked at the policy, decided that it was unfair, and changed his mind. He then proceeded to work towards convincing his then-colleagues to drop the policy.

Throughout the lecture, Dr Tan seemed quite aware of the public interest in his aspirations to be the next Elected president, and appeared to distance himself from it as much as possible. He presented himself as an unusually-well informed private citizen instead of as a Presidential hopeful.

Despite this, he could not entirely escape the spectre of his political ambitions.

Are the salaries of the President, government and civil service officers too high? from Office of Dr Tony Tan on Vimeo.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

91 Responses to “Dr Tony Tan’s speech at the Singapore Management University”

1. Hades 22 July 2011

Remember that cringe-worthy ad that showed this ang mor girl squealing with delight that she got into NUS? No? Consider yourself lucky.

Apparently we are supposed to believe that ang mor chicks 1> love Singaporean guys, 2> would rather study in NUS than Northwestern or Yale or Harvard, and 3> Ang mor chicks are a barometer of the quality of education you would get in NUS.

2. Kissy 22 July 2011

I like Dr Tan’s center parting hair style. It makes him look Presidential. He is the most dignified of the PAP ministers, and served a varied career as minister across so many portfolios. He also handles the press’ awkward and sensitive questions well, skillfully deflecting them. He has truly inherited the oratorical polish of LKY. Dr Tan is the best of the PAP second generation of ministers. I have no objection to him drawing million dollar salaries and perks.

3. Robert Teh 22 July 2011

Lee Teng Hui and Chen Sui Bian look impressive too. Look at their side parting and fiery speeches, one cannot help but be impressed to follow their wisdom.

Now what happened. Millions of tax payers’ monies were found swindled and such people are one by one falling from grace. One never can tell anything from appearances.

Problem is as the old saying goes, one cannot judge a book by its cover.

4. Tony Ta Boleh Tahan 22 July 2011

For $4.3 millions per year, multiply by 6 years (about $25 million) anything goes man. One can simply say whatever to please the electorate ….. in order to garner votes.

Take note, all voters. This man is first an elite and second, a very rich man. Third, too close to LKY and a true-blue PAP man, no doubt.

The question is: Should we continue to accept the status quo?

OR.

Should there be a significant CHANGE and real REFORM?

5. Good observation, Tony Ta Boleh Tahan.

I agree with you that TT is “first an elite and second, a very rich man. Third, too close to LKY and a true-blue PAP man, no doubt.”

Singapore needs REAL changes, not just cosmetics. And we need them pronto!

And we DON’T need someone like TT as President.

Let’s hope the 60% have woken up from their slumber and will VETO out any candidate with close affiliation to the PAP.

6. Fugazi 22 July 2011

I do not understand why Singaporeans seem to be always begging for changes, pleading, wondering and always trying to elicit answers from the incumbents and in this instance, the likes of this TT.

As far as I know and it is real – these people do not really care much. it is simply playing to the gallery/media and scratch the surface and one would see the real motives – it was for dollars and political power.

Just wait and see lah, TT will chant the same mantra as LHL did to garner/sway votes – saying ‘’sorry” lah (of course, it is bereft and empty of meaning).

Want to effect changes, use the vote-card wisely and that makes a big difference.

PS – The unchecked influx of foreigners benefits the incumbents immensely – $$$ (GDP-pegged Ministerial wages) and votes. Employers leverage on to this and exploit and unfairly deny Singaporeans jobs.

7. doppelganger 22 July 2011

1. When I turned on my TV a few days ago I heard the PM explaining why bringing in foreign talents does not affect us in our jobs in Singapore. I want to tell you that I am mighty surprised that a Cambridge scholar in Mathematics can tell the people of Singapore such a story;
    That whether the talents are in Singapore or in some other countries, Singaporeans will still feel the same level of heat of their competition. He seems to ignore the fact that the bulk of jobs for which all these great talents are engaged at need almost daily face to face interaction with colleagues. In such situations, proximity counts. Proximity affects the frequency of meetings and the facilitation of supervision and management. The saying goes,”You can’t fax a handshake.”
    The local resident will have local knowledge of local peoples’ preferences, affordability, culture and other fine details that long time residency informs him.
    So although, the talent located away from Singapore will be in competition with me, the intensity of the competition will be reduced. Thus as a local I should have a higher probability of being employed for a particular job as against a foreigner of equal merit. In most jurisdictions the foreigner has no free access to jobs in other countries as there are strict rules for his employment when there are similarly qualified people locally. This barrier will increase the cost of employing him.The talent should be orders of magnitude more qualified for the job, in order to equalize his competitive pull to get the job.
    Perhaps what PM means is that he has removed all barriers for foreigners to work in Singapore. If all barriers are removed, then indeed the force of competition whether actual or potential is the same whether the talent is in Singapore or outside it. In this way, the fact of distance, culture, local knowledge, personal contact are removed at one stroke by our Prime Minister.
    Why do such a bad thing to your own people, I hear you ask. Hubris. When you are paid millions more than Presidents and Prime Ministers of every other country, you lose touch with your people and your compact with them is thrown to the winds.
    However, a case can be made for inviting foreign talents as nuclei to grow the body of our own expertise. In the beginning that may be the philosophy. But as soon as the Cabinet of Ministers got paid those enormous, obscene sums, some ten or fifteen years ago, with salaries proportional to the GNP, such purpose was abandoned.
    How did the indiscriminate entry of foreign talents get pass Parliament? Parliament is a stamping machine in Singapore. The monolithic structure admits no countervailing forces to spoil the PM’s concentration. This is what he himself said about how the impact of opposition parties will affect his own decision making process. Incidentally, this argument I outline above to you on why the Government allows almost everyone talent or not to come to work in Singapore or study on a Singapore scholarship has become a mantra of the Ruling Party. There are many other mantras, which collectively brought us to our present condition. Dr Tony Tan seems to be even a better spinner than most in the cabinet. He can turn the country upside down.

8. young fart 22 July 2011

this is a man with full of wisdom. and there are not many in this little red dot.
    his policy have benefitted most of u all, just that u all always think with an inmature mind, this is global world not just us. and most of all we have nothing just great education

9. Robert Teh 22 July 2011

Wisdom? Aristotle said “we are what we repeatedly do”

What has he done? What did he repeated do that help citizens to rid of the one-man tyranny that drive them to losing their retirements and all the taxing and profiteering that drive them to the ground.

He himself has made it.Has he lifted a finger to fend for the poor, the unfortunate who are forced to scrap for three means from the bins and the scraps.

Albert Einstein said “a leader’s duty is to serve and not to rule” Has Tony Tan this wisdom to serve. Has he proved his wisdom by his acts?

10. Citizen 22 July 2011

What Tony did not reckon with then, was the fact that the Internet will grow from strength to strength and expose him for what he is!

I thanks the progress of technology and I salute all of them. It is not the effort of one but the foresight of many that led to this amazing communication tool!
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001016.htm

Tony, what you sow is what you will reap.

11. jimmy 23 July 2011

when I was a kid watching the NDP rehearsal, this prawn haired man was standing in as President for Ong Trng Cheong. Now convinced he was training for this moment all along. PAP really far-sighted sia…

12. I agree with Kissy that Dr Tony look Presidential and is by far the most dignified of the PAP ministers .

Now, we all know the President’s role is ceremonial. He is powerless to compel the PAP government to do anything, if they d’ont want to. OTC tried but died in despair.

So if we accept the fact that the President’s role is a dummy, we should minimally have a distinguished, dignified and stately looking dummy. Someone with gravitas. Only Dr Tony has it. White flowing mane and center-parting, soft spoken, mild mannered, he just exudes a Presidential aura. What the French calls distingué. He has the savoir-faire and pomp for the role.

By contrast, TJS is short, uncouth, a loud mouth and not photogenic. Likewise TKL looks like a clown, speaking in that affected accent with a funny cadence. Gives me goose pimples. To be fair, Doc Cheng is not so bad, but he is growing bald, and has a huge belly which detracts significantly from any Presidential air he might possibly have.

Trust us. We, ladies. know better when it comes to choosing a presentable dummy.

13. Jerry Tan 23 July 2011

I would to suggest a 2nd tier university system.

When we follow the bell curve, 60% of the population are in the centre. When you cater for the brightest only in an elitist mindset, the average person is forgotten.

This is to enhance the Singaporean to compete against the FT (more talented, less employee CPF contribution, no NS liability)

Some beneficiaries
    a) Late bloomers
    b) upgraders
    c) mid life career switchers
    d) people who go go overseas

I have not suggesting a decline in academic standards or relaxation in admission standards that will cheapen and erode the value of the degree courses but rather alternative admission criteria, alternative (and innovative ) syllabi

Lets have some comments from the floor and Dr Tony Tan

14. Suzy is quite right. Dr Tony is the most presentable and handsome Presidential dummy.

15. Debbie 23 July 2011

@Suzy 23 July 2011
    To be fair, Doc Cheng is not so bad, but he is growing bald, and has a huge belly which detracts significantly from any Presidential air he might possibly have.

Actually, your idol Dr Tony also has a pot belly. It’s just that he dresses well and his Armani suit hides it.

16. Robert Teh 23 July 2011

Suzy

Trust us. We, ladies. know better when it comes to choosing a presentable dummy.

…………….

Precisely, Tony dummy will pretend nothing has happened when no one can get on the bus that we should not choose him.

17. Fugazi 23 July 2011

LHL also uttered the same (Singaporeans first);is that happening? Now this shameless opportunist is doing the same. It did not happen during his tenure as Minister and the lingering effects of such an anomalous n ill-conceived policy on education is palpably felt by many native Singaporeans. Has his tenureship in any way tangibly evident and has it enhanced Singaporeans lives? To me, it does not feel so.

It (his speech) is bereft of meaning and simply cajoling and simply put, he is lying thru his teeth.

It is not going to happen and the sooner citizens wake up the better.

Those who think that he (TT) is not PAP must be delusional. Maybe, too many Singapreans are delusiona aka daft, hence the 60 per cent votes.
    Did foreigners-turned-ctizens voted them in?

These are questions that will never elicit answers cos the media is a mere mouthpiece of the incumbents and the unchecked influx of foreginers seems like a strategy to entrench power and still benefit dollars-w1se

18. @Robert Teh 23 July 2011

Precisely, Tony dummy will pretend nothing has happened when no one can get on the bus that we should not choose him.

Agreed. But how do you persuade the 60% PAP voters to defect over? A 3 or 4 corner fight favors TT, by distributing the 40% Opposition vote over 3 candidates.

19. If it is a dummy President anyway, a handsome dignified and elegant one is better than katek, botak , loud mouth ones.

Of the four dummies, who do the ladies think has the most sex appeal? I vote TT best dummy.

20. @Gwen 23 July 2011
    Of the four dummies, who do the ladies think has the most sex appeal? I vote TT best dummy.

We should also consider whose wife has the most poise to be First Lady. Surely, we d’ont want someone who has poor taste in attire or hairdo like prataman’s or PM’s wife.

Of the four candidates, who do you think has the most elegance to grace the Istana as First Lady? I rate Doc’s wife first. TT’s wife is next. Then TKL’s wife and Mrs TJS last.

21. buster 23 July 2011

Suzy 23 July 2011
    Only Dr Tony has it. White flowing mane and center-parting, soft spoken, mild mannered, he just exudes a Presidential aura. What the French calls distingué. He has the savoir-faire and pomp for the role.

Question is: is he large enough to satisfy you, what we Malays call “kotek”, to satify your worn out “puki”?

22. buster 23 July 2011

Eric 23 July 2011
    We should also consider whose wife has the most poise to be First Lady. Surely, we d’ont want someone who has poor taste in attire or hairdo like prataman’s or PM’s wife.

No, we should consider who has the widest puki. Then “suzy” above will qualify.

23. andrew leung 23 July 2011

PAP should give free education till University for all Singaporeans. This will help them to face/compete against global competition. PAP only know how to starve Singaporeans and flood them with problems.

They are untalented Ministers, who bring in slave labor and ill treat it’s own people.

24. Robert Teh 23 July 2011

@Troy

Yes, seemingly a 3- or 4-corner fight favors TT. But one never know. There is a re-awaking of citizens’ right especially due to the furore over the proposed bus/MRT fare increases.

25. Splitter 23 July 2011

TT is not likely to be voted in for his link to the pappies (if all 4 candidates qualified). It was unfortunate to TT the prataman endorsed him! Also, TCB will dilute TT’s votes. The most likely winner is TKL. TJS is only a side-show.

Most likely outcome – only TT gets the COE. So, it’s a walkover again. The pappies has done it before, they will not hesitate to do it again. Don’t forget the ‘why’ and ‘who’ on the creation of this elected president stuff. Thereafter, they will use the time to change the rules of the game further in parliament while they still currently enjoying two-third majority.

26. Political observer 24 July 2011

A lot of words and statements that justifies a wrong policy on macro competition and need for growth with competition, but does nothing to analyze the wrong assumptions. On the other hand, reviewing the rather consistent statements made, the policies are premised on beliefs and assumptions on an egalitarian society that the masses will not accept. The remedies and counter balances being rather out of placed and poorly followed policies for many or the majority who falls through the cracks. At the rate the Elites go, it dies not seem long before the franchise of trust is worn out. However given the rather laid back and apathetic nature of the masses and poor discipline on keeping themselves informed, there is little incentive for change.
    The speech is rather general and does nothing more than generalize his thinking, which has not changed. Rightly so since they are beliefs which has changed as it has delivered growth in GDP. What about the masses? Well it is better this way, at least they are better their way than another, since the bulk of the masses are incapable of rational decision making.
    For a man of beliefs, TT has not changed and that is credible. But credibility aside, for some at least the masses who are displaced and having problems seeing the growth and their role in society, there is going to be a divide, and though slow at the moment, it will happen.
    Well the masses have voted recently and soon they would too. From all indications, despite the hopes of many in the net, TT looks the preferred candidate at least from the general public.
    The new ministers will learn slot especially MG Chan from the manner that TT has conducted himself. And sadly for some of the younger ministers, it does not seem that experience is the issue but rather the ability for a clear, thought through response for issues of public interest. Therein perhaps lies the problems that faces singapore. The clear lack of future leaders and the PAP system for searches that is way overdue for an overhaul.

27. Robert Teh 24 July 2011

Aristotle has commented on absolute monarchy as follows:-

“I argued that on a certain condition an absolute monarchy is the best possible form of government. On a certain condition, on condition that the monarch is a man of perfect virtue. Now since no such a man can be found, absolute monarchy is in point of hard political fact a thoroughly vicious form of government”

The question all should ask at this point of time 46 years of absolute one-man rule or defacto one-man rule : Can we find a perfect man of virtue to justify a monarchy such as ours?

28. iVOTEahMENG 24 July 2011

Presidential hopeful Tony Tan and his wife Mary (beside him in green top) attending to a boy who had fell and injured his arm at a playground in Woodlands Waterfront Park. Dr and Mrs Tan were there with their grandchild for a walk when they chanced upon the injured boy. The Waterpark Front was initiated by Dr Tan during his term as a Member of Parliament for Sembawang GRC
    …………..
    wah clap clapped crap
    the best STAGED wayan i hav seen
    not onced butt twice
    1st the yog where a handicap boi run after the torched wuth a faulty digital camera..
    this time dr tonytan happened to waltz by
    when the kid fall down and injured his little arm..arm not broken(kiasu carrefare actin mentality..bluff bluff a bit)
    dr tonytan try huggin babies instead..
    remembered your hypocritical oath
    a doctor @ all times must attend to ALL injuries whether the injured person is bangala/pinoy or whatever…
    and last but not least
    pap proparganda department..please try somethin NEW if you wanna sell propaganda

29. Roflcopter 25 July 2011

Repeating the party line as usual eh, Tao-ni?

Wave your limp flag somewhere else.

30. Presidential Election Watch Part III – Dr Tony Tan & Singaporeans’ CPF Savings & Wage Cuts

http://de-leviathan.blogspot.com/2011/07/presidential-election-watch-part-iii-dr.html

“What sort of an achievement is it if you instead make them poorer?”

31. doppelganger 26 July 2011

This fetish for foreign talent should be taken all the way to the top. By that I mean that ministerial jobs and Presidential hopefuls should be thrown wide open to the world. You will find that the million dollar salaries payable will attract droves of people worldwide. Each Ministerial post will have at least hundreds of well qualified people, even more qualified than the incumbents to be sure, as these will number among them Noble Price Winners, Fields Medallists, Pulitzer Price Winners, former officeholders of the Senate and British Parliament and so on. The Darwinian battle for the fittest as fiercely espoused by the leadership in Singapore will take on an honest sheen. My respectful Ministers , can you implement it?

32. Deepak 27 July 2011

Eric 23 July 2011

Of the four candidates, who do you think has the most elegance to grace the Istana as First Lady?

I think the standard to match is President Nathan’s wife, First Lady Urmila Nandey, who exudes charm, grace and dignity. Ranking backwards, Mrs Tan Jee Say is the worst, then Mrs TKL, Mrs Doc and then Mrs TT,Mary.

I ranked Mrs TT first, not because I am Pro PAP (I voted SDP’s Dr Vincent). It is because the other three are quite bad. But most importantly, it is really hard for them to match Mrs Urmila Nathan.

33. @Deepak 27 July 2011
    Eric 23 July 2011
    Of the four candidates, who do you think has the most elegance to grace the Istana as First Lady?

I think the standard to match is President Nathan’s wife … Ranking backwards, Mrs Tan Jee Say is the worst, then Mrs TKL, Mrs Doc and then Mrs TT,Mary.

…it is really hard for them to match Mrs Urmila Nathan.

What do you know about ranking Chinese woman? I find prataman’s wife downright boring and a poor dresser, worst than PM’s wife.

34. iVOTEahMENG 27 July 2011

Deepak 27 July 2011
    Eric 23 July 2011

I think the standard to match is President Nathan’s wife, First Lady Urmila Nandey
    …………
    deepak bahii.. you don’t even know istana housin rulins…
    in istana inside..the first lady is never the prataa wife..she just a foto in government buildings and schools
    in istana the FIRST lady is mrsharrylee
    and the mpress dowarger is hochic

35. Priscilla 27 July 2011

@debbie 27 July 2011
    Dear All

D’ont bother to respond to that IvoteAhMeng. ‘It’ is an incorrigible and unemployable dropout who has too much time on its hands and takes random potshots at all and sundry. Being semi-demented, ‘it’ is also racist and capable of extreme vulgarity.

The model of intellectual discussions whether pro or anti- PAP is zero, doppleganger, Alvin Chua, fairplay, Robert Teh, Andrew Leung . I apologized if I have missed a few others. But these people, whether pro or anti-PAP virtually never resort to personal, racist & obscene diatribes to make their point.

Doppleganger is notable for his polished use of the language. I am awed by the vigor of his intellectual logic even when he disagrees and criticizes my view point – it is never personal nor vulgar.

When you can think and articulate like these guys, what need is there for rabid, racism and vulgarities, as practiced by that insane IvoteAhMeng . Those whom the gods wish to destroy, they first make mad.

Having said that, we respect that this is a democratic platform and that even the retarded and insane have the right to rant their madness here. So, folks, just ignore his drivel. Responding will only give him the rabid attention that he seeks.

36. iVOTEahMENG 28 July 2011

Priscilla
    only give him the rabid attention that he seeks
    ……………

now i know WHO you really are..
    you make 1 silly little mistakes just liked the DNS advise you tried to dish out
    in order for me to give face to your x-kakis ere in theonlinecitizen
    i will not NAMED you
    i gotcha by YOUR balls….

37. PAP Supporter? 29 July 2011

I would vote for any of the other 3 Tans BUT NOT this Tan.

No vote for you, Dr Tony Tan!

38. I am a mere statistic among the 2.25 Million Sg voters for this EP Election. Maybe I don’t count. But my vote not for tony tan counts and loses him a number crucial for his swing and victory.
    What if every SIngaporean and NS served Singaporean pissed with all the special privileges and abuse of power by TT did this.Alas if there was a competition.
    Don’t tell your sons, ur brother and future boys going into army, NS count. U ok with Sg born boys, heirs, sons and family members sometimes die in accidents in SAF-NS and shit like TT’s son gets away in airconditioned NS escape pathway. Why he got extra horns on his head than us or ur kids.
    Then show by your vote and deny him his numbers, if every likeminded, potent SGporeans did this, maybe TT will follow BG Yeo on his way out where he belongs.
    So use your vote wisely as u determine this person’s fate.
    Anyone but Tonytan should be the model. TJS, TKL Or TCB- anyone who is allowed by party controllers (sure some will be out).
    Send this shit out not by margin, by your loudest voice.
    Remember the dead and injured, suffered NS boys vs His Privelged Son and his abuse of power.
    Shameless n Shame on you if you sat and did nothing as your vote counts.