Benjamin Cheah /

Image from The Straits Times

If Mr Chan Chun Sing’s remarks last week are any indication, the government is dead set on moving in two contradictory directions. On the one hand, it encourages greater citizen participation in politics. On the other, it wishes to retain its dominance of the political sphere.

The government wants to have it both ways. But the government cannot.

Hypocrisy and dishonesty

According to The Straits Times, Mr Chan said “he would rather see young people telling the government: I believe in this, give me some help and I will do it.”

Image from Maruah

Many people have been doing just that for a long time. They range from LBGT activists to human rights campaigners to citizen journalists. But instead of supporting these citizens, the government and the press actively hinder them.

Mr Alex Au recounted on his blog how permits were refused, speakers were gagged, and films banned or censored. Ms Rachel Zeng wrote about police harassment and how the state ignored the suggestions and petitions she and her fellow activists sent. I have personally been snubbed by Mr Teo Chee Hean while covering the General Elections for The Online Citizen.

The government has long held that people should offer “constructive criticism” instead of “non-constructive” ones. Mr Chan, in particular, said “cyberspace is dominated by the lunatic fringe”.

Political discourse on the Internet is overwhelmingly critical of the government. Many people also use the Internet for political activism. By calling this the mutterings of ‘the lunatic fringe’, Mr Chan – and, by extension, the government – wishes to close his ears to the multitude of young people telling the government what they believe in and what they need to achieve it.

This hypocrisy has not been lost on bloggers like Mr Au and Ms Zeng, taking pains to point out how the government moved to block their political activities.

Mr Chan also “urged young people to ask themselves whether their ideas can move the country forward, rather than just ‘throw stones, cast doubt and tear down institutions’.”

Coupled with the above observation, Mr Chan is really saying that the only good suggestions are those that further the goals of the party and the state and unquestioningly accept the government’s paradigms.

Phrases like ‘throwing stones’, ‘casting doubt’ and ‘tearing down’ are thoughtstoppers. They are designed to make the listener feel like he is being unreasonable in order to stop his train of thought, and prevent him from voicing his objections. They also encourage the audience to immediately dismiss the recipient as destructive and irrational, instead of listening to him. Thoughtstoppers are the pinnacle of intellectual dishonesty, inciting emotions to overload the mind instead of listening to what someone has to say.

The art of nation building

Mr Chan’s remarks can be seen in a different light: as a call towards active citizenship, towards participating in politics and taking charge of Singapore’s destiny. However, if the government wishes to develop an active citizenry, it must let go of its obsession with control.

The state punishes citizens who go against the party line. Every time the government asserts control, be it through lawsuits or refusals to approve permits, the government is stating that it will not tolerate any attempts to step out of line. By doing so, the government hopes to retain its primacy of place in Singapore politics.

Active citizens always step out of line. Regardless of political ideology or affiliation, they believe that the current situation is undesirable and wish to change things. But everywhere they look, they see the government clamping down on disobedient citizens. This discourages them from taking action – which, in turn, leads the government to bemoan the average Singaporean’s
lack of initiative.

As long as the government retains political dominance, this will not change. Under the current paradigm of control, only two kinds of Singaporeans receive government support when they attempt to ‘move the country forward’. The first kind supports the government’s goals, such as consumer rights and interfaith harmony, so the government works with these people to further these causes. The second kind works in areas deemed non-sensitive, like the environment. By working with this group, the government can improve Singapore, and provide the useful illusion that it wants to work with the people without actually surrendering control.

This has to change. The government needs to stop seeing the citizens as a faceless mass to rule over, and instead as partners towards a better tomorrow. The government knows how to do that. It is, in fact, already doing that. But it isn’t doing enough of that, not in politics.

The government via Mr Chan wants to encourage active citizenry amongst youths. To do this, the government must deign to listen to lunatics, to drop the label of ‘lunatic fringe’ and deal fairly and honestly with the people who truly want to make Singapore a better place to live in.

More than that, the government needs to cease the mechanisms of control, to give up its dominance of politics and allow the people to take their place in the sun. The organs of state may be grown by parties and governments, but nations are built by the people.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

84 Responses to “Listening to Lunatics”

1. popcorn 13 July 2011

What does this Chan something know about political engagement, he’s just a newbie, wet behind the ears MP, trying to act smart by echoing what his superiors do and talk. Dun know what himself is saying, he’s trying to say he also belong to the lunatic fringe.
    Don’t give a hoot what’s he trying to act.
    Dun know him, dun know his background, never heard of him previously, all we know he just burst on the scene by clinging on some Minister’s trousers, and start monkeying around, even before new Parliament starts, trying to be a smart aleck.

2. This MG Is A Mighty Crap 13 July 2011

He joined a sinking PAP ship at the last election. Come next election, all the older PAP ministers will follow the footsteps of Mah Boh Tan and Wong Kan Seng. i.e.collect their pot of gold that will last their life-time in one hand while closing the door with the other, leaving this MG behind to clean the loads of rubbish and having to face the brickbats of the majority of the opposition parties in parliament.

In the meantime, he stays at Tanjong Pagar trying to copy the footsteps of a grand old man with a foot in the grave and a runaway mouth that is churning a multitude of rubbish to serve his over-inflated ego and that is a manifestation of the remnants of what’s left of decadence before he kicks the bucket.

If he wants to become someone in politics it would be wise to join the other scholars in the opposition parties provided the latter accept him. In the meantime, he is entangled in his own cobweb that will nail his colors to the masts for the remaining term as an MP.

3. On the mark and elegantly articulate about the essential contradiction in being the PAP in 2011 … good job!

4. booboo 13 July 2011

i heard he is some old man’s walking stick,is it true? hold on tight my friend or you might fall together,i also hear he is a what general huh,sg got general so siao one meh,how to fight war,i better siam than fight for him or his bunch of lunatics,only lunatics think they are not mad but i for one am sober,i only watch tv the fringe,never heard of lunatics on the fringe,and i also know he only say yes sir…yes sir…yes sir…don know who siao leh???

5. lolwhat 13 July 2011

yo Chan Chun Sing, don’t mean you got fast track during the military and then now as a minister means you can run your mouth yea? lunatic fringe, nice, how long did it took you to come up with that retort?

6. What do you expect when you have soldiers who take and give orders.Do or Die into the valley of death charge the scholar soldiers.

May the Almighty Bless Singapore and save us from certain death.

Gone are the days when we have thinkers and doers of the impossible, with miracles taking a little longer.

7. agree to disagree 13 July 2011

The writer keeps using the word “government” which in this context is wrong. The correct word is “PAP”.

It’s the PAP who has to stop seeing the citizens as a faceless mass to rule over.

The PAP who, via Mr Chan, must learn to listen to “lunatics” and drop the label “lunatic fringe”.

The PAP, who needs to cease the mechanisms of control, to give up its dominance of politics and allow the people to take their place in the sun.

Because you bet the other parties definitely don’t do and don’t agree with what the PAP is doing.

So be careful and judicious when using the word “government”.

8. 4 Star General 13 July 2011

MG Chan has shown great leadership. When he was chief of army, he stood up to the Indonesians. Coupled with humility and hands-on approach, he has great potential to be a very important minister for the future. The PAP is right to recruit MG Chan, and more will be recruited that are of similar calibre. We should feel reassured that our nation’s future is in good hands.

9. Ashinigami 13 July 2011

If you vote for monkeys naturally you get peanuts. No point bemoaning the fact. Whatever fucked up autocratic elitist death penalty wielding government Singapore gets, it’s what the 60% voted for.

You can lead the masses to the water but if they chose to drown instead of drink that’s their problem.

10. Ashinigami 13 July 2011

@ agree to disagree

The sad state of affairs is such that the PAP IS the government. WP may have good intentions but at the end of the day, let’s faceit their means of doing anything to stop the PAP at the moment is negligible. Hence the author’s usage of “government” is equivalent to that of PAP.

Ask any civil servant and they will also tell you so. It is not accurate but it IS politically correct.

11. xlandjy 13 July 2011

If this GENERAL CHAN was tasked to handle the Malaysia Bersih rally, I have no doubt that he will use nuclear weapons to exterminate them in KL…

12. Smudger 13 July 2011

Every citizen in this country, for 5 business days, should stop thinking and contributing ideas to their workplace and larger sphere. I wonder how much that would impact productivity, and idea generation. If everyone followed MGChan’s instructions, companies would cripple. He really needs to go back to the army – he will be more useful in barking orders to a conformist soldier who just wants to get through shitty service.

13. Shawnn 13 July 2011

I wonder how did he got his MG??? His first speech when i heard was totally crap… Kelong get the Degree and kelong to PAP MPs now somemore become Minister this show that PM LEE wants people who bow to him to join the team….

14. mice is nice 13 July 2011

when the Romans were conquering land they need as many soldiers as they could get. soldier scholars feature prominately in the ranks of PAP too.

the new generation may will be the ones who will be accountable for the past misdeeds of previous generation of PAP cos many would have kicked bucket. they joined the Pay-&-Pay party with eyes wide open, & it would be a lame excuse not to know what they were in for.

15. Sgcynic 13 July 2011

Haughty higher mortals vs online lunatic fringe. Interesting match up ahead

16. Exposed 13 July 2011

This arrogant nut is already finding it unbearable to listen to the voices of singaporeans , thats what prompted him to describe singaporeans as “lunatic fringe”.

17. Chief-talk-cock 14 July 2011

He got his PAP job by attending someone funeral and therafter he thought too highly of himself. He only wanted to hear the good stuff, anything that is bad for ears is called lunatic which seemd like his art of engagement. Amazing!

18. Simi Lan Say 14 July 2011

When will Singaporeans ever learn? It has been, is and will be so as long as there are still a majority of the populace willing to sustain it. Aye… when will they ever learn?

19. Political Observer 14 July 2011

MG Chan may have his own or the views of some of the Elites, but perhaps he should also address why the arena for the lunatics, being the internet or the right to access is deemed a basic human right.
    It is also strange for a leader to ask in some sense for it’s people, who supposedly choose him to listen, bring up issues accept the answers when they think something is amiss.
    The talk from the MG is quite familiar and is perhaps the source of the issues. Delivering economic growth is quite different from delivering better living standards as in the case of Singapore. Far from it the poor performance on Gini is telling. Growth does not equate better lifes for the people. Better money for firms which has attracted investments and jobs, but not jobs for the people or places in the university. Thus there should be a rationalisation. Then again, they do have the mandate, but is it a case of lack of competition or rules for competition? Or in LKY’s words are our leaders born. No one knows, LKY’s case despite disagreement with many on the net may very well be the case. What about the Elites now. Aren’t they chosen from a system planned and very likely with the same types of test to identify similar traits that they think excel.
    Looks like Singapore and is people are in for some serious rethinking about what government and growth is and the KPIs for a leader.
    Well it is likely that LKY is correct, but the narrow definition in the confines of education where family background plays a significant if not overwhelming factor proves more than the field should be levelled and a serious rethink on the local brand of meritocracy or more correctly “castes system”

20. andrew leung 14 July 2011

Times are changing, MG Chan needs to change and adjust to private sector and public service. He must learn how to win over the lunatic voters.

21. Bekko 14 July 2011

The number in the lunatic fringe is getting larger. Look at the young coming into voting age. The PAP has already alienated from middle class and the senior citizens. If they doesn’t want to engage those in the lunatic fringe, come the next GE 2016, it may get itself kick in the ass.

22. 4 Star General 14 July 2011

@iVOTEahMENG

What has East Timor and Iraq got to do with Singapore? We are concenred with the immediate threat, which is Indonesia.

MG Chan has already proven himself in the army, so we can be assured of his leadership on the battlefield. In addition, with his intellect & charisma, he will be a very important minister in the future (maybe even PM), formulating good policies for the country.

23. newhik 14 July 2011

The truth is, it is those people of the “lunatic fringe” who are sounding off bells and alarms at PAP policies, wherelse the lackeys and the fawning supporters are okay and fine with whatever PAP has thrown in their faces.

Having lurked in the fringe for so long, there’s has been many suggestions and solutions provided by so many “lunatics” and yet, here we are hearing that these people are only banging the drums and swearing expletives at the government

24. Katong Boy 14 July 2011

I think Chan Chun Sing still thinks he is in the army and treats everyone in Singapore like a new recruit. He simply talks down at you and try to court marshal you is you do not obey.

Well done MG Chan, Singaporeans are morons and have no direction; you better discipline them properly.

25. rglelin 14 July 2011

@ 4 Star General. I’m absolutely astonished by your 3 assertions!

One; in East Timor and Iraq, Singapore sent our SAF medical teams to support. So the question was whether he visited them during their tour. So how in the world can you dismiss these volunteer servicemen as unimportant?

Two; Singapore is NOT at war with Indonesia, so the most that one can say is that Mr Chan, (Let’s stop calling him MG Chan, his a civilian now.) was able to manage a military tension well. The assertion that he has “leadership on the battlefield” is unwarranted.

Three; you described him as a leader with “intellect and charisma”. I can’t imagine how his false comparisons with LanFang Republic, ‘Kee Chiu’ Hokkien speeches, accusations of us being Lunatic Fringes and arrogant dismissive tones to the media and citizens can be ever be called intelligent or charismatic.

Let’s really consider what is good for Singapore. Blind faith to one party or another will be disastrous for Singapore. I would like to sincerely seek your reflection and response.

26. Um, just wanted to point out one fallacy in the article.

The author has used the Government & PAP synonymously. That is incorrect.

If one day, another party becomes the Government, then obviously the article doesn’t hold water then.

In a lawful society, a Government must take charge. That is the reality. “Bo Cheng Hu” is a well-known local term for lawlessness.

27. 4 Star General 14 July 2011

@rglelin

Our system has proved that the generals (PM Lee & George Yeo) and admirals (Teo Chee Hean & Lui Tuck Yew) make excellent leaders. MG Chan is another high-flyer, Chief of Army. There’s no reason to doubt the capability of our leaders from the armed forces & navy:
    a) They were trained or born gifted with leadership qualities.
    b) They will put national security at the forefront.
    c) They will instill discipline that is so lacking in our younger generation today.
    d) They have good experience managing & deploying large groups of people, efficiently utilising human resources
    e) They are strategic thinkers whose military or naval experience give them the strong ability to plan & achieve objectives

These are the reasons why leaders in other countries can’t hold a candle to our leaders.

28. jamestan 14 July 2011

this uncontested mp got it wrong the moment pap bragged about this chap during the polls. from now on he will just need to sit tight and collect his pay for the next 2 terms, unless things changed drastically in the party.

29. Robert Teh 14 July 2011

Glib Talkers are dangerous
    Forty years of such talking
    Today the result we all could see
    A nation divided as rich and poor
    The elites running like cronies
    A first-world people improverished
    A first-world people with no lives

That is why Confucius advised
    Gentleman speaks with behavior
    Petty man only with tongue

Show us not any more words
    Show us you have true gentleman deeds
    Show us you care and not increase fees
    To pay for all the extravagance
    To lose them on useless projects
    That end up as rising costs

Remove dead wood and stop flood
    Stop shameful writing of own pay cheque
    Stop the land sale profiteering
    Stop tweaking the laws like GRC
    To serve your own hidden interests
    Stop playing trick like Madoff
    Do not hide the COE, ERP, IR fees
    Do not hide land sale profits
    Use them for people’s interests

Or are you afraid of losing your keeps
    And too timid to stand up for change

Do you have courage to tell the truths
    That stones are not thrown by people
    But leaders thousand times worse.

30. jamestan 14 July 2011

to 4 star general,

your observation is very confrontational . we are in asean and we do not see indonesia as a threat so long as we live harmonously together.

you are stirring hatred between nations and people. please refrain from this.

31. 4 Star General 14 July 2011

@jamestan

You misunderstand me. All I’m saying is our military should be well prepared aginst potential aggressors, and under MG Chan, we are be ready to take on anyone.

32. The hard truth 14 July 2011

Father is still in control lah … the key reason for the indirection of policies.

Until then, enjoy the show.

33. outside 14 July 2011

Just wait for God’s words lah.

Everything they say is right, Everything we say is wrong.

Just listen to God’s words leh.

34. Black Hei 14 July 2011

Well TOC is both right and wrong at the same time.

They are right because this Gov is still not ready to listen as long as the advice comes from an opposition ploitical party. This approach is not in the best interest of Singapore as some alternative suggestions are feasible. If PAP is uncomfortable with taking the whole suggestion, even taking it in parts will be good. SPP leaders have called for PAP to engage them and I think PAP is drawing a dangerous line if they do not do so.

However, TOC is wrong too as the post election Gov has shown that it is willing to listen to citizens; those without poliical affiliation. We have seen how public opinion has shaped government behaviour in recent months.

What CCS is saying is that instead of flaming, some constructive suggestions would be nice since they are now prepared to listen. And I think citizens are answering his call as since by the correspondance on the minister’s blogs.

This current cabinet has shown that they are willing to listen. But I feel they are still slow, reactive rather than proactive is my verdict. Waiting for citizens to point out the problem rather than stopping potential complaints in the first place.

Surprisingly CCS takes my vote as the most proactive of the lot though he is getting alot of flak for it. But he can gain credibility only if he takes initiative to improve social services through MCYS, which is the main portfolio of his minstiry.

CCS, I hope you are reading this. I limit active citzenship only to TOC to manage time so won’t bother to post on your facebook.

35. A first class `tembak king’ indeed.

36. booboo 14 July 2011

@4 star general,pls shut up and get some sleep you are not fully awake,look at him he looks more like a school boy pls,he does’nt command respect you see in a real general zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

37. popcorn 14 July 2011

Spot on. He still thinks he’s in the SAF, barking commands to his recruits.
    On the other hand, trying desperately to be noticed on the stage, fearful people would forget his existence.
    Well, we just say piss off, go back to the barracks, and bark orders to your young recruits, not us, we don’t buy your army background lunatic- fringed war cries.

38. Robert Teh 14 July 2011

Black Hei

Change should be based on fundamental principles and not gibberish about some past success, control policy assumptions which have clearly caused problems to the people.

Leaders should lead by examples. Not continue with all the talks and gibberish about rule of law, control and order.

People should not be fooled another 40 years by such talks.

39. In response to Mr Chan Chun Sing’s claim that ‘cyberspace is dominated by the lunatic fringe,’ I can say that the political scene in Singapore is dominated by a bunch of self-serving lunatics which includes, needless to say, Mr Chan himself.

Sorry, MR CCS, Singapore or, should I say, many of us, can see hypocrisy or dishonesty for what it is, no matter how it is cloaked.

If cyberspace is used by many people for the airing of criticism against the govt or govt policies, it is not only that cyberspace is open and accessible, but the local newspapers and radio/TV stations are perceived as mouthpieces of the govt and to be in the main averse to publishing anything that criticizes the govt or which poses question[s] that the govt may have difficulty in answering.

Is Singapore an open society? The PM has allegedly, recently said that Singapore is an open society, and I wonder what he meant by those terms. I wonder because I cannot understand why the National Library Board has deemed such books [listed below] as unsuitable for its collection:

1.NOMAD: A Personal Journey Through the Clash of Civilizations
    Author: Ayaan Hirsi Ali

2. “Does God hate women?”
    Authors: Ophelia Benson & Jeremy Stangroom

3. The Atheist Camel Chronicles Devate Themes & Arguments for the Non-Believer [and those who think they might be]
    Author: Dromedary Hump

4. God Hates You, Hate Him Back: Making Sense of The Bible
    Author: C J Werleman

5. Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire
    Author: Gibbons

6. The Sword of the Prophet: Islam, History, Theology, Impact on the World
    Author: Serge Trifkovic

7. Understanding Muhammad
    Author: Ali Sina

8. An Illustrated History of Religious Murder and Madness
    Author: James A. Haught

The answer to whether Singapore is an open society cannot be answered with a ‘Yes,’for a variety of reasons, and also in the context of NLB’s reaction against books that appear to be personal views taken by writers on subjects that appear non-political in nature. Even if the subjects discussed by the authors are about politics, why should they be deemed unsuitable?

40. mice is nice 14 July 2011

PAP is growing weaker, i guess they are more willing to listen to any good ideas that float their way, impliment it and reward themselves handsomely.

some animals are good at playing dead to evoke sympathy. & the MIWs surely know how to play dead. they themselves will rarely go out of their way to render any aid, but at their apex, the “this is policy/law” is shoved down the throats of people who are down.

remember how they go all out to punish the Indian Rojak stall owner who caused mas food poisoning? nevermind teh market is infested with rats. its not like the stall owner is responsible for the hygiene of the whole market and its surroundings.

wad CCS really wants is for the people to treat him & his fellow MIWs with kid gloves. i din know SAF grew strawberries.

:P

41. rglelin 14 July 2011

@ 4 Star General

Err… I think the traditional way to engage is to focus on the issue/s at hand.

In my previous post I questioned your 3 assertions on your post. 1)Your assertion that visiting SAF Servicemen were out of the job scope of a General. 2)Your suggestion that Indonesia and Singapore are antagonistic rivals and are close to war. 3)Your sweeping statement that Mr Chan has great intelligence and charisma.

But instead of tackling those 3 issues head on, your reply was generally about how the PAP’s historical tendency to rely on SAF leadership is supposedly “good”… To avoid being side-tracked lets stay focused; I invite you to defend your initial 3 assertions with valid justifications please.

42. 4 Star General 14 July 2011

@rglelin

1. Visiting SAF serviceman is not out of jobscope of MG Chan, but he has more important things to do, like thinking about the main threats facing Singapore and devising strategies to deal with these threats. In addition, East Timor & Iraq were never important missions of the SAF. They are side-shows.

2. The real threat is Indonesia, a country of abundance but unfortunately, plagued by corruption, plunder, underdevelopment, militancy, and a general sense of lawlessness. It is envious of what Singapore has achieved, and continues to be a dangerous threat to Singapore, so we must always be alert.

3. MG Chan is indded intelligent. Or else how can be chief of army at such a young age? He is an overseas & president scholar, with credentials from Cambridge & MIT. He is also charismatic because he speaks with authority, and when he speaks, people will stop what they are doing and listen to him.

43. Robert Teh 14 July 2011

Then if CCS is that charismatic and intelligent as assumed, let us see how he explained the problems for which PM Lee himself has recognized as problems which require change.

How is he going to change for a start using his so-called super-intelligence and charisma.

Uttering the same leadership talks and asssumptions will definitely not reflect well of him as new leaders who could change.

44. booboo 14 July 2011

@4 star general,
    my friend i ask you to go and sleep yet you would’nt listen and continued to argue,whats your relationship to him anyway,just curious u know people are curious,you know i have been laughing non stop at every comment you make,idolising him as he is your god,grow up by the way how old are you,pls may i know cos i am curious you are so smart and intelligent,just like him why not you stand for election 2016 and i support you,you know i also admire you alot,by the way are you as handsome like him.oooh……………….

45. outside 14 July 2011

Quote:
    3. MG Chan is indded intelligent. Or else how can be chief of army at such a young age? He is an overseas & president scholar, with credentials from Cambridge & MIT. He is also charismatic because he speaks with authority, and when he speaks, people will stop what they are doing and listen to him
    Unquote:

When he speaks, why did he always asked people to “Kee Chiu”
    People will stop to listen to him, because it is either Detention Barrack, or extra guard duty –
    Look at the poor NS boy who tries to swim back to mainland Singapore, where was Kee Chiu – Can he explained why the news just released in July 2011 instead of May GE 2011. What is the motive or he is playing GOD.

46. Denial Tan 14 July 2011

Nonsense Chan is barking again?

47. I Adore Him 14 July 2011

I think he is always talking and barking is because he wants to be noticed and like people to remember him. He is your future VIP.

He got into Parliament by a walkover under the coat-tail of LKY, that’s why he make extra effort to woo you.

Of course he wants to be the Number One in Singapore when Lee Sian Lang retires 2018. He is trying very hard to built his charisma and credits. Many many women and young people adore him and he is well prepared should Indonesia tries to do something funny.

SG will be in safe hands come 2018.

48. Paper General 14 July 2011

@Robert Teh, totally agree with u.

@4 star general , u have been talking rubbish. Are u paid to write so good n great about Mr Chan CS? Whatever CCS talk n do,the pple will judge him by results produced, with million dollars salary. Also whether there’s any humanity in the job done or just another wayang king n yes man?

49. rglelin 14 July 2011

@ 4 Star General
    Thanks for your response. I was just curious how a PAP apologist would respond to direct questions. This will be my final comments and response because I don’t think you are really ready to engage at the level I would have liked to.

Its interesting and revealing that in all your references to Chan Chun Sing, you would consciously or unconsciously use his title, “MG”. This reveals that you maintain a deference to the rank and file discipline ideology rather than a consultative one. Using how netizens refer to Vincent Wijeysingha as an example, its interesting to note how most individuals don’t really feel the need to include the “Dr” infront of his name. (Pls note, its just an example. I not trying to compare the 2 individuals.) Its just very telling when one insists on using a term of deference. I would think that honest consultation rather than obedient deference was the way to go for Singapore politics.

To be very frank with you, I’ve absolutely no clue if he visited the servicemen on the ground in East Timor and Iraq. But I just took offence at the suggestion that a general had little business visiting the ‘ground’. Its really dangerous and damaging to maintain an ivory tower mentality where understanding ground sentiments and difficulties is considered, in your words, “[less] important”.

I believe its precisely because of such a mentality that caused the incumbent to be taken aback by the election results. On a related point, I was tickled when just 2 weeks after the elections, I have GRC members knocking on my door and asking questions like “Are there any problems?”, “Why are you unhappy?” I would have thought it would be better for them to visit BEFORE the elections to ask such questions rather than AFTER.

I would respond to the idea of Indonesia being a threat because I think your oversimplified ideas of international affairs would not really help move the discussion forward.

Lastly, I personally don’t think it is intelligent to insult all internet users as “lunatic fringe” and neither would I think it intelligent to dismiss statements expressing unhappiness as non-constructive feedback. I’m not very good with analogies, but I’ll try:

I think a Minister’s job is like that of a doctor. When I’ve got a stomach problem and go to my doctor, I would describe to him my symptoms and medical history as clearly as possible; pain, discomfort, childhood illness, etc… I cannot be expected to self-diagnose and tell the doctor, “I think there’s a tumor, let’s operate now!” The doctor’s job should be to consider carefully my symptoms and provide the best(read affordable) action forward. His job is definitely not to say things like, “I think your just making lunatic noises. Come up with a solution to your own problem then come and consult me!” The clincher is that in the case of Mr Chan Chun Sing, I am still paying for the “consultation fees” in the form of taxes…

50. @4 star General

Thank goodness they hv your kind of people on their side – the shallow, hollow kind who only knows to blow hot air (bad for environment). When this kee chiu peng talk, I cover my ears. How did he get all those paper qualifications???