Link: PM Lee assures public transport commuters

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

115 Responses to “PM Lee: Our interest is not to help the transport companies make big profits”

1. captain hook 26 July 2011

The PAP cronies enrich themselves. After all if the leaders can give themselves huge salaries, then their subordinates will be paid very well for their continued support. All of them are PAP cadres. You pat my back and I pat yours. I would dare LSL to reduce their salaries.

2. captain hook 26 July 2011

I remember a few years back there was a hue and cry about the CEO of one of these public companies getting a monster salary. His salary was reduced to a few hundred thousand a year. Now it seems they are back to the old scale. Obviously their backs needed to be patted.

3. Ashish 27 July 2011

biggie 26 July 2011
    Give indian nationals citizenship…make a india born elite to run for election…guess where the votes going to go to…

There are many native Singapore born and bred CEOs of GLCs who are incompetent. The recently sacked CEO of PUB, Khoo Teng Chye is one of you, a President scholar at that too. So are the CEOs of Singtel, LRT, HDB,HUDC, EDB, GIC, etc.

So it is defamatory to generalize by targeting our racial group for your xenophobic, racist remarks.

4. biggie 27 July 2011

Ashish, take a long look at what i wrote…

I am saying tis is one way to make sure the vote goes to THAT candidate, be it indian, filipino, chinese…

If the opposition is capable enough to attract such ppl to run for them, i m pretty sure these votes will in turn be theirs.

Stop preaching and whining…comprehendo?!?!?! Shows u are a bigger idiot than u sound…

5. @biggie 27 July 2011

I am saying tis is one way to make sure the vote goes to THAT candidate, be it indian, filipino, chinese.

You should include the word ‘Singaporean’ at the end of your above sentence. Singaporean GLC/PAP CEOs are useless. So stop protecting them and blaming everything on expats.

6. mice is nice 27 July 2011

i really din know that some expats are so politically inclined.

no wonder GDP down, some are just here to wayang & collect pay? all workplace got politics, that is something no productivity training can eliminate wan.

my guess is some are just here to create resentment. not sure about foreign influence (or foreign $$$) in local politics lah. maybe to relation between businesses & politics can be seen as foreign influence?

7. biggie 27 July 2011

Babu, go read my ealier post, not only this post. Appreciate it.

8. iVOTEahMENG 27 July 2011

babu
    Singaporean GLC/PAP CEOs are useless
    ……………
    indeed this ceos are damn useless which is why they never seek foreign talents liked you to run the temasick inc..
    babu bangali i liked you already
    1st foreign talents to condemn leekinyou inc…
    wah your foto so big & clear..not afraid immigrations blacklisted you?

9. Aline 27 July 2011

@debbie 27 July 2011
    Dear All

D’ont bother to respond to that IvoteAhMeng. ‘It’ is an incorrigible and unemployable dropout who has too much time on its hands and takes random potshots at all and sundry. Being semi-demented, ‘it’ is also racist and capable of extreme vulgarity.

The model of intellectual discussions whether pro or anti- PAP is zero, doppleganger, Alvin Chua, fairplay, Robert Teh, Andrew Leung . I apologized if I have missed a few others. But these people, whether pro or anti-PAP virtually never resort to personal, racist & obscene diatribes to make their point.

Doppleganger is notable for his polished use of the language. I am awed by the vigor of his intellectual logic even when he disagrees and criticizes my view point – it is never personal nor vulgar.

When you can think and articulate like these guys, what need is there for rabid, racism and vulgarities, as practiced by that insane IvoteAhMeng . Those whom the gods wish to destroy, they first make mad.

Having said that, we respect that this is a democratic platform and that even the retarded and insane have the right to rant their madness here. So, folks, just ignore his drivel. Responding will only give him the rabid attention that he seeks.

10. freepublictransport 27 July 2011

Here’s an idea for solving the price problem:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_public_transport

Since public transport definitely must cost money, it is really a question of how we distribute the cost among people who own, use and invest in it.

If, for example, public transport is funded by taxes rather than fares paid on boarding:
    - a person would effectively pay for one year’s worth of public transport at one go every year, when tax returns are filed
    - the more a person uses public transport, the cheaper it gets for him, since the amount he pays is constant over the year
    - insofar as the tax system is progressive (i.e. tax rate gets higher as your income increases), poorer people end up footing a less than proportional amount of the public transport bill, making public transport -truly- a social good for the poor, who may have no other options for transport
    - it encourages people to use public transport more, since you’ve already paid for it through taxes (i.e. in the way that people feel entitled to use the education system), which can lead to less road congestion and less pollution etc etc.
    - conversely, it will probably worsen the crowding on public transport at least in the short run – though after a certain point those with a choice will choose to substitute public transport for their own transport, thus achieving an equilibrium level of crowding

Of course, this will do nothing to prevent fare increases – they will simply come in the form of tax increases. But it will change the way that the fare increase is distributed among people, especially preventing the fare increase from being borne disproportionately by the poor, who also tend to have no choice but to use public transport.

What do you guys think?

11. mice is nice 27 July 2011

freepublictransport,

“What do you guys think?”

i think those who are paid to do their job should be held responsible for their job performance. failing that, the pink slip.

its not fair that their job be thrown out of their office window only to have everybody else do their work for them, while they enjoy their inflated salaries.

12. mice is nice 28 July 2011

iVOTEahMENG, 28 July 2011

hahaa, now we know that party only know how to do cut & paste job, no talent. they got many people but if this is any indication, there is no diversity of opinions views.

all scared to “rock the boat”. some boats never get rocked, but is does not mean they wun sink! i fully support them not to fix wad ain’t broke (let them sink?)!

it can’t be helped…

:D

13. Bus fare increase if they also increase salary for singaporean driver to basis pay $1500pm. ok i accept but thier company making profit every year this is public tranport and profit go to share holder is HC and L.. family benefit. not the bus driver. now thier salary lower $1,100pm cheaper and the CEO drawn million $. pls ask yr self is fair to the people of singaporean.

14. Jin Ai Lui 31 August 2011

PM Lee: Our interest is not to help the transport companies make big profits.

REALLY ??!

http://papnomics.blogspot.com/2011/07/politics-of-singapore-transport.html