Ghui /
The Presidential Elections are now done and dusted. Singapore has a new President, Tony Tan, or TT as he is commonly dubbed. Scraping through the elections, TT will be the seventh President of Singapore. When the election results were first announced, I was dismayed and disappointed. Not because I know TT personally and not because he is incapable but because he is too affiliated with the PAP. The office of the President is viewed as one imbued with the task of acting as an effective check against the ruling party. Since TT is viewed as a “PAP man”, how can he act as an effective check against the PAP?
Of the four Tans, Tan Jee Say (TJS) was the man I viewed as the most charismatic and independent candidate. He struck me as a man who was willing to passionately fight for Singaporeans. In that regard, he deserved to be President. However, as TT once said, “we have to vote for the office that does exist”. The President does not have the far reaching power to initiate any policy changes. He only has limited powers of veto on certain issues. He can therefore only represent the people with the support of Parliament. Like it or not, Parliament will never fully support TJS. Realistically, they will view TJS with suspicion and he will have a relatively more difficult time fighting for the people. TJS as President may therefore be counterproductive.
As for Tan Kin Lian (TKL), he is a good and personable man whose strength lies in connecting with the man on the street. He is an effective grassroots worker and should focus on that. As President, I somehow think that he would not have the necessary grit to take on and challenge Parliament.
Tan Cheng Bock (TCB) was viewed as the most moderate candidate of the four, acceptable to pro PAP, anti PAP and neutral camps. He has demonstrated in the past that he was capable of challenging the PAP while at the same time being part of the PAP. He would also have been someone that Parliament would have been prepared to work with. In that regard, he may have been the best choice. Parliament would have been more receptive to his views and he would have less resentment from the people to overcome. With fewer battles to fight, he would have been able to concentrate fully on the task of representing Singaporeans effectively. However, the voters have spoken and this is not to be.
Despite this turn of events, I am an eternal optimist. Behind every dark cloud, there is a silver lining.
Putting emotions and idealism aside, TT might actually prove to be an acceptable choice for our current political climate, despite his PAP affiliations. He will have the benefit of not having to deal with a defensive or suspicious Parliament. He is someone familiar to them and they will find it more palatable to work with him which would facilitate his job of representing the people. With the benefit of tacit government endorsement, he may be able to make suggestions and exercise his limited powers in a way to benefit the people without facing the same difficulties TJS would face. Parliament would be more receptive to TT just by virtue of the fact that he is TT! TJS could say exactly the same thing as TT but somehow, I suspect he would not get the same green light. That is simply the reality of human relationships. If we like someone, we will be more open to what they have to say!
One may argue that TT will simply be a mouthpiece for the ruling party but I harbour the hope that this will not be the case. Singaporeans are now more politicised than ever. They are watching and they are vocal. The internet is an effective tool for holding TT to account. Through the “NS saga” involving TT’s sons, TT will also have realised that the public is not prepared to take perceived unfairness lying down. With the internet, issues can no longer be simply swept under the carpet. TT has also pledged to work with all Singaporeans stating that the President “is a President for all Singaporeans”. Not only for those who have voted for him, but even for those who have not voted for him. He further declared that the campaign was “strenuous” and that the work would begin “straightaway”.
This double admission gives me some encouragement that he might yet be a good President. In admitting that the campaign was strenuous, he is tacitly recognising that votes must be earned and worked for. Hopefully, this will mean that TT will not take public support for granted. In stating that the work must begin straightaway, he is signifying that he is aware that there is much to be done to restore public confidence.
With an ever vigilant public in the age of information technology, coupled with TT’s acknowledgments of the work that must be done, perhaps TT will live up to his campaign promises. His established relationship with Parliament may also contribute towards his ability to persuade Parliament on certain issues within the President’s power that would benefit all Singaporeans.
So, looking at things holistically, TT as President is not all bad. If he proves a good President, all Singaporeans will benefit and goodwill will be restored. If TT fails, then it will hopefully convince staunch PAP supporters to give all candidates a chance regardless of which party they belong to and eradicate the de facto pro PAP vote.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

this PE clearly sends out the message that one may not be hired due to meritocracy (best man or woman the job), but based on how well the hirer thinks you are easy to work with.
even if you have a very good idea or suggestion, it is moot when no one in position wants to even hear it- cos they dun like you?
so much for all the talk about being rational. getting a job is a choice, that is largely swayed by a person’s emotions (the hirer), feelings for the potential entrant for any job.
fuzzy logic also is logic rite?
leopards dont change its spots, not when someone who is above 70 years of age. look at how he evaded questions and his telling body language at the online citizen dialogue. no one can be more pro-establishment than him. he was recalled to the cabinet after his retirement and now he is back in action again. enuff said.
No matter how hard TT may attempt to fulfill his presidential role, it will be deemed as propitious only to the PAP. As former DPM and ex-Chairman of SPH, he has always served the interests of the PAP. Eventhough he is now the EP, only the naive and the gullible will believe that he will rise above partisan politics and serve the interests of the people. The people have experienced such a president for the last 12 years. The silver lining is more likely to remain an illusion.
//Like it or not, Parliament will never fully support TJS. Realistically, they will view TJS with suspicion and he will have a relatively more difficult time fighting for the people. TJS as President may therefore be counterproductive//
Try be a pragmatic optimist, instead of a hopeless one.
If every elected President (not wearing a PAP badge) has to be well-liked by the incumbent PM/Parliament, then clearly the govt/PM of the day is simply INCAPABLE to be a team player no matter how constructive they claim they are/want their politics to be. On that same logic, the Opposition MPs in ALjunied will NEVER be well-liked (who are trying to kid when you took their power/seats away) and by that same reasons, they will be less effective? So why bother to vote for them? Is that what we want our politics to become? As long as the incumbent Party like PAP are not willing to handover the responsibilities that the winning Candidate (be in President/MPs/PM someday) the transition or future of Singapore will always be in a precarious situation, because they made it so. They set you/us up for failure. Go back & revisit what DPM Teo Chee Hean has said earlier.
So Instead of peaceful transition they can truly show what a grown up they are. Not just some BS that they expect people to buy.
The PAP has been saying that there is no split within their ranks and that Dr TT has a strong mandate from the people.
These statements do not appear to be supported by empirical evidence. PE results suggest PAP support is not high and the mandate is far from strong.
PAP, better wake up.
True, Parliament would not accept TJS, so the silver lining is TJS got his profile raised further by contesting the PE, guess he knows his own position well, cos his motive is his aim for the 2016 GE.
He’s advertising himself to the electronate, this is the silver lining we see.
Anyway, we rather he stands as opposition contestant in the next GE, than to be bound hands and feet in the Puppet Post as President.
Let TT, an elderly man, do his puppet act on the stage, for all he (TJS) cares.
+1
For your courage.
Yes, there are good and bad sides to everything. I’m pessimistic about voter mentality, cynical about all pappies, blase about reality. He has 6 years to earn his mandate. If the economy ok, govt resolves contentious issue like ministerial pay and foreign talent, we may have another sporean dream. Or we may witness some reform/ change in attitude. As long as the soup can nuture all sporeans/good for spore, we don’t need to change ingredients.
Your article assumes that TT is running with the motive of representing the people? what if he is running to ensure that holes in the reserves are covered up and those who made them need not be accountable?
The root cause of the dominance of this political party is the special version of the rule of law which they have wielded over Singapore for half a century. In fact everything in Singapore is special when it pertains to this regime. Thus this regime claims that democracy is only good if it is Asian. They do not yet dare to go so far as to state that it is PAP democracy. Salaries to themselves are so impossibly high because they are so special amongst the nations of the world. They can do no wrong because they arrogate to themselves special immunity from ordinary assessment because they are specially constructed.When Mas Selamat escaped it is due to that stupid constable who should have gone into the toilet with him, when floods came to the prime Orchard shopping district, it is not their concern but the concern of cleaning contractors who did not clear the drains properly,when it was observed that so many persons holding top posts are related by blood or marriage, the answer is the verdict of defamation and total financial destruction of the few who dared utter this blasphemy. There would be no silver lining for the citizenry in Tony Tan because he himself has partaken of the largesse of the regime in no small measure. He will be the white haired priest in the istana whose incantations will absolve every wrong of the regime and render every act a special necessity.Dark clouds are looming ahead, even darker than under Nathan.
hahaa, during PE polling day, early early got dark clouds & rain. it carried on for the next few days, really an omen.
maybe Merlion head will be struck by lightning again?
XD
Dear Tony,
I hope you don’t mind me calling you Tony. I am sure being fresh from
campaigning, you are still in a backslapping, informal, mix with the
commoners mood and don’t mind my being informal.
I am not sure if you are presently basking in the after-glow of your
victory. But it must be difficult for you to accept that the majority of
Singaporeans did not vote for you and in fact view your victory with dismay..
Your victory must have been a big relief to you given the very slim majority
you won. Put in another way, you almost lost. If just 20% of the spoilt
votes had gone to TCB, it would have happened. To paraphase Winston
Churchill, “never has so much depended on so few”, 7,269 voters to be
precise.
I am sure you read Malcolm Gladwell’s book “Outliers” where the element of
luck was highlighted in “Success”. You were extremely lucky in having 3
other candidates and they were certified fit to contest and the votes were
therefore split.
You were lucky to have two fairly strong contenders who to some extent
diluted the votes among themselves. If it was a straight fight between you
and TCB or you and TJS, I daresay the outcome may have been different.
You were also lucky that TKL entered the fray and proved to be stubborn
until the end. He could have surrendered early in the campaign when it was
apparent that his was a lost cause and asked his supporters to back TCB or
TJS. This could have endeared him to Singaporeans. Instead he persevered
in his self delusion that he had a chance and is the one who made it
possible for you to win. Singaporeans will remember him for that.
I need to be upfront with you and say I did not vote for you.
I did not vote for you as I thought you would not be independent being so
intimately tied up with the Government and the management of the reserves
only up to two months ago. I wanted somebody who was much more independent
and not afraid to speak up. You did not fit my requirements.
I was also very disappointed and angry at the continued silence over your
sons’ NS. Why is it so difficult for you and your sons to provide
information on what they did during their NS and refute all the various
allegations? If your sons are proud of their NS record, then why be so coy
about telling more.
Surely with your background as a banker and a top politican, as you yourself
stated, it is important not only to be principled and fair but to be seen to
be so. You surely know better than to place yourself in a position where
your actions and motives can be questioned. People will always wonder and
question. Continued silence will just leave this sore festering and blight
your Presidency. Who knows when and under what circumstances this
controversy will resurface and this could even affect the PAP in future
elections?
Given your actions during this campaign, I will not hold my breath waiting
for clarification and I think Singaporeans will never know unless the
information is forced and pried out somehow.
We had previously a President, who was not elected by any Singaporean voter,
and who served for 12 years. A Presidency best distinguished for being the
highest paid political office in Singapore much more than even the Prime
Minister himself). Now we have a President chosen by one out of 3
Singaporeans. So there has been some progress after all.
Could I suggest you start off your Presidency on a high note? How about
donating your entire President’s pay to charity? TKL and TJS were willing
to part with some of the pay. TCB thought it was tantamount to buying
votes. You said nothing. Since you already won the elections, you can start
off your Presidency with this magnanimous gesture. This will be a powerful
symbolic move to put your Presidency on solid moral ground right from the
start and emphasise your commitment to public service for all Singaporeans.
I
am sure you can spare the few millions involved. This will make it
exceedingly difficult for future potential candidates to challenge you the
next round.
I am afraid I cannot give you much advice right now on what else you can do..
Although you have won, you know that the majority of Singaporeans are
disappointed that this happened. But a win is a win and is better than
losing. You are now in the saddle. I am sure your advisors will be
brainstorming with you over the coming months on how you will define and
manage your Presidency.
The PAP itself probably also was very relieved that you had won but will
have to reexamine the reasons for your poor performance and learn from this
episode.
For the future, I just want to say that although we may stand as a sign of
respect when you officiate at functions, do not mistake this as anything
else than a sign of respect to the office that you hold.
Just remember that what is worse than an unloved President is a President
that we do not respect. Respect must be earned. Please don’t take the
whole of 6 years to do this.
I wish you luck and success.
In the end, we are all Singaporeans.
Majulah Singapore.
Yours sincerely,
Ah Sook
excuse me??? not one word about TT’s involvment in GIC, SPH’s tendency to twist facts or omit them.
It makes you wonder whether the result would have been the same if TJS or TKL supporters would have voted for TT.
The democratic process for electing the president is extremely flawed and instead should have resulted in a secondary vote between the top 2 candidates who only had the slimmest of margins difference.
I beg to differ with the writer, that TT could turn up to be a good president, in-spite-of all TT negatives the writer had noted. His long tie with the party just can’t just fade away overnight. He may occasionally, try to please the citizens, disagree with some of the policies, but remember, he had long been used to group thinking. At best, his efforts will only be limited to surface level. Will he care about the internet monitoring him? Under LKY regime, didn’t he been told, “Don’t bother what they may say, just follow the party policy” I hope, all my negative thinking of him is wrong, and miraculously, this leopard can change its spots.
Congrats to Dr Tan on being the next president!
I hope there is one thing you can manage. There are cases of charities misappropriating funds. We give the president face by donating to charities at some charity shows,call to donate money type. but these charities sit on huge reserves and didn’t really pass the money to help the needy people. Please don’t let the charities sit on huge reserves. and control the management giving themselves big salaries. Please use your iron fist on errant CEOs of charities.
As long as Tony Tan doesn’t publicly disclose the full facts behind (a) Patrick Tan’s 12-year deferment, then returning to serve NS in a position that coincidentally advances his professional career, and escaping NS liability till 50 years of age by remaining a 3SG instead of serving as an officer, and (b) what his 2 other sons did during their NS, I will never respect him as a president.
If he thinks that hundreds of thousands of Singaporean men who have served their full NS liabilities, both full-time and reserve, will conveniently forget this issue if he just keeps quiet about it or issues “rebuttals” without any substantial facts to back them up, he is sorely mistaken.
@JT
Why not u sue him so that your wish can be accomplished? Everyone moves forward except you, wish one day your son will dig out all your rubbish and throw you out of your house. Guess you like that.
Ghui, well-written, but you made one critical error which plagued the legitimacy of your stand.
You assumed that the effectiveness of the President is based on the level of cooperation that he gets from the ruling party.
Conversely, I’d rather argue that the ruling party has no choice but to work with the voted President, simply because he was voted by the people. Even the ruling party has to respect the choice of the people.
And from the latest count, only 35% of the people acknowledged TT as their President. TT’s task now is the bring the other 65% to his cause.
It will be naive for TT to think as the PAP does, that just because they say everyone must rally with the new President, people automatically will.
Wahlao Ah Sook write thesis is it?
@Ghui
No offence, but to think that you actually harbour the thought that TT will represent the voices of the people is so laughable! Of course the pappies would love to work with him, but to me it’s precisely this ‘Harmonious’ work-relation that is scary, to say the least. According to Mr Leong Tze Hian, it only came to light recently that our Reserves was dipped into 27 Times! during Nathan’s term without the knowledge of the SG people. Can you imagine what ‘behind-the-scene activties’ can take place now that TT is holding the Office?! Behind that ‘smiley, gentle-looking’ face is someone which I cannot and will not trust! Period.
@JT
I totally agree with you!
May the Good Lord open the hearts of our political leaders and may they be imbued with wisdom and intelligence and compassion and piety and kind hearts. May they be kept away from the temptation of corruption and thoughts of enriching themselves. May they always remember that this is just a transient existence and that they will finally have to take their leave one fine day. May they be reminded that after their final exit from this world, what they take with them are are their deeds, not their bank balance, not their stocks, and not their properties.
Dear Mr Tan Kin Lian,
You have done your part in offering yourself as an alternative platform in this Presidential Election.
Thank you and also to the other three Mr Tan.
You have contributed to the maturing of a new budding political process for Singapore.
Although personally I dislike the outcome and did not vote for you, I believe you have contributed positively.
The various platforms and outcomes for each candidate provide important lessons for aspiring and existing politicians to do better for this nation.
The PAP government, ministers and MPs need greater competition from various credible, good-character alternatives if not they will continue to be complacent, careless, opaque and proud with their sky high renumerations adopting high pro-asset policies (like zero inheritance tax, huge foreigners influx without infrastructure readiness, etc) and expediency in its approaches that benefit the rich and themselves to the detriment of the masses.
This Presidential election like the last General election have made clear the cries of difficulties, pain and unfairness true blue Singaporeans faced from the policies and effects of implementation from the ruling party.
They are now given the privilege and honor to serve the needs of the people again in truth, in substance and not in form.
I pray that they will not throw away nor abuse this honorable calling and put aside any personal greed in their agenda.
I hope our new President, Dr Tony Tan will spend some time in solitude and in prayers and examine his heart, and be strengthened to be truly independent and not be beholdened to anyone nor any party. As the 7th President may he serve Singaporeans and Singapore above all else with love, care and justice especially to the poor, voiceless, aged, sick, etc and fulfill his constitutional duties to his utmost with transparency and accountability.
The rich and talented are already very favored in our current system, and can take care of themselves.
for TT to be a good ‘people’s’ PRESIDENT,he must inculcate the wisdom to know that he must put true blue sinkies above his former party and defintely above all guests ‘FTs’.
failing to do this,and worse,collaborating only with the PAPies to favour FTs instead of catering to sinkies will only arouse more dissension from the sinkies by and by.
yes,indeed,TT is viewd as a PAP man and that cannot be haelped,he is in fact very PAP,more so than all previous EP.
for TT to truly heal n unite this nation,he must first ensure that he remind the govt constantly to put SINGAPOREAANS FIRST and the best way to do it is to RETURN DECENT JOBS back to those sinkies who are forcibly MADE JOBLESS by the govt’s very endeared FT POLICY.
HOW TT tackle the 900K potential importation of FTs will surely play a huge part in making him a SINKIES’ PRESIDENT or an FT one.
GOD BLESS SINGAPOREANS N SINGAPORE.
the only silver lighting\ i prayed and hoped is the returned of all the cpf’s savin even by the aged of 62…
many many poor dire straits are sufferrin from ole aged chronic diseases..there is not much hopes in terms of hospitalisation even if you can get a class 3 ward/treatment
I FOR ONE would not seek further xpensive treatment nor warded…
when my times come..i am goin to be terminator 5/self xpired and
I WON’T be back….
Some may read my comment elsewhere but I repeat here nevertheless.
You voted him in with eyes wide opened.
Honestly and sincerely guarding the reserve? Hell nooooo..
The greedy LHL and current crop of PAP people are the real ones who are taking money from our reserve!
Those millions of dollars they are paying themselves should be in the reserve, and not to pay themselves to retire happily in Switzerland and leave you, the daft Singaporean, in dire.
You want to know where Nathan and the rest of the self-proclaimed elitists dine? And who went to Diamond & Sapphire auctions? You all are just daft.
Double LOL, but don’t give up. (please)
Dear Dr Tony Tan,
Congratulations on your win and the soon 7th President of Singapore.
Just a bit of feedback for you;
My usually calm and composed wife, told me that if she were to meet you at an official charity she will refuse to stand up but sit as you arrived.
She is extremely sore that our son, has to serve army like all other male Singaporeans on even ground while learning more about the unwritten privileges of white horses, and the super white horse treatment of your son, Patrick.
She went further that if you were to want to shake her hand, she will walk away.
I tried by best to “cool” her, and finally successfully managed to save you from the potential embarrassment. She will not attend charity balls that you are the guest of honor, and when she see you she will aviod meeting you.
I have done my best to honor your office.
As for me I will stand up, shake your hand and give you the utmost respect.
Please do your best for Singaporeans, not foreigners, not PAP, not Mr Lee.
Thank you.
TT as president, chance for transparency gone.
AN OPEN LETER TO PRESIDENT TONY TAN
Dear Tony,
precise.
therefore split.
about telling more.
elections?
I
next round.
manage your Presidency.
episode.
Majulah Singapore.
Yours sincerely,
Ah Sook
Sorry typo error. here again..
An open letter to Pres Tony Tan
Dear Tony,
precise.
therefore split.
about telling more.
elections?
I
next round.
manage your Presidency.
episode.
Majulah Singapore.
Yours sincerely,
Ah Sook
The other 3 are all qualified and has their supporters and these want to be a pro-citizen
President.
With so much influx, citizens still voted for tt who agrees with pap policies.
I am a citizen out of no choice . I have no pride as a citizen . We always get denied. I wonder are ft happy and relieved now that all the 3 pro-
Citizen candidates have been denied by true blue citizens?
I can sense them laughing at us, in their hearts.
Dear President Dr Tony Tan,
I wish you ALL the best. I hope you can help ALL Singaporeans (poor, rich, overseas) to achieve world class living and make Singaporeans lives better. This will help to unite people.
Best wishes, freedom
President Tony Tan, Can you help our sons to get the same 12-year deferment from National Service as you got for your son, Patrick Tan?
Agree with this. People have to realise that we are not voting for MP. If this was GE, then yes TT should not win and if he does – SIAN. But as President, to be honest, I think he is ok la. We have to realise that President has so little power anyway. TT despite his party affiliations is equipped to meet foreign dignataries (which is the bulk of the President’s work if we are honest with ourselves). Which is why I think the salary is ridiculous! But that is a different point. I wish TCB was President and second choice TJS, third is TT and last is TKL. If it is GE, its TJS first, then TKL, then TCB then TT. So let’s put the result in perspective la. TT as Pres not so bad. TT as MP in GE 2016, then we got to worry.
What silver lining? I don’t see any. I only see a silver head of hair. (All the photos hung in schools will be so blinding because of the silver hair.)
TT is TT. He’s not going to speak up for Singaporeans. Fat hope.
So what if the “noises” are railing at him daily. (He actually called us noises by the slip of his tongue)
In fact, TT already announced he’s going to be exactly like Nathan.
“He emphasised that the president works for all Singaporeans and he will not be an “ivory tower President”, just as President S.R. Nathan was not. ”
And Nathan returned the favour.
http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110831-296966.html
I think its fair we should give TT sometime and not judge him by his links with the ruling party.
Look at OTC. When he ran, his opponent got more than 40% of the votes despite the latter being a virtual unknown.
But once in office, OTC ditched his partisan roots and turned out to be the finest president we ever had.
I don’t expect TT to be another OTC, but as long as he is not another Nathan, then he should be ok by us
It cannot be that a Government sustained by the Rule of Law PAP version, complete with ISA and trained judges incarcerating and destroying the oppositions, dissenters and protestors systematically for 50 years is the best that we aspire to for the next fifty years. It cannot be that we look to President Tony Tan, scion of the PAP to keep the status quo, rule of law, ISA and its Judges all intact for the next half century.
But this is exactly what we are doing. Allow the PAP to stay in full control to ravage the citizenry.
I would say “behind every dark cloud, there’s a lightning” – a red one.
I am still wondering why the spoilt votes was such an incredibly high 37,000! I just don’t belief it!
Mr. 35% became President with such a low and shameful support level, wonder how he can keep his head high? Maybe Mr. 35% did better than his predecessor who got zero!
In any case don’t expect anything much from Mr 35% as you can expect he is more or less the same as his predecessor – hear nothing, see nothing say nothing!
I would like to suggest TT to do 2 things.
One, with the latest episode of the battle between PA, HDB and the WP, TT can veto those top govt officers who have no EQ but high IQ (academic qualifications). This is becos as TCB had said, they will be the ones to implement policies and if they are not people oriented, they will push out policies that are harmful to the people.
Two, to bring the Elections Dept under the Presential Office so that it is a neutral dept, away from the PMO, and redrawing of boundaries at the PAP wimp and fancy would not be allowed to happen.
I would not conclude that Tony Tan was the absolute winner of the election when it was a such a narrow marginal win. Infact 65% of the votes went to non PAP candidates. Hence, It seem to be the inexperience and poor organisation of the opposition candidates that led to such outcome.
Tt黄鼠狼拜年,不安好心
With pappies, 狼狈为奸
We are screwed again congrats
So ministers pay review dateline is?
Toc pls send open letter to pm and Gerald ee. Thanks
Tony Tan is not here to serve. He is here to cover up for his blunder in GIC and all the dirt in PAP regarding our reserve. Yes we have accumulated alot of reserves over the decades. But how much really is there ? How much gone through bad investment in all the govt. link companies and projects ?
SO WHAT SORT OF SHIP DID TT LEAVE BEHIND? NATIVES AT ST SEEM ANGRY!!
===============
WikiLeaks has released a cable report on ‘Journalists frustrated by press controls’ in Singapore. (Screengrab …
A senior staff member of Singapore’s largest newspaper admits there’s “significant pressure” on its editors to follow the government line, according to a newly-released WikiLeaks document.
As a result, reporters within the paper are “increasingly frustrated” with the restrictions on what they can report and often seek overseas postings where restrictions are fewer.
The document, which appears to be written minutes taken in 2009 at the Singapore Embassy, highlighted the private views of two Straits Times journalists and a then-journalism student.
Chua Chin Hon, who is currently the paper’s US bureau chief, was quoted as saying that reporters have to be careful in their coverage of local news, as Singapore’s leaders will “likely come down hard” on anyone who reports negatively about the government or its leadership.
Without naming names, he also recounted how several ministers at the time “routinely call editors” to ensure that media coverage of an issue “comes out the way they want it.”
Chua also said that ST editors had been vetted to ensure their “pro-government leanings” and that while local reporters are “eager to produce more investigative and critical reporting… they are stifled by editors who have been groomed to tow the line.”
In the WikiLeaks cable, Chua pointed out how there is extensive media coverage before the government intends to push out a certain policy, adding that some articles read like “Public Service Announcements”.
He cited how during the 2008 collapse of Lehman brothers, there was a spate of articles writing about the retirees who lost money in the mini-bonds in a sympathetic manner, and this was followed by the government’s decision to assist those retirees.
Another reporter, Lynn Lee, who is currently the paper’s Indonesian bureau chief, confirmed the restrictions on local media, highlighting the internal editorial debate over the covering of the opposition in Singapore.
An example she gave was the conflict over the amount of coverage that the paper would dedicate to opposition icon J.B. Jeyaretnam (JBJ) following his death in September 2008, saying that while editors agreed with reporters’ demand for extensive coverage of his funeral, they rejected reporters’ suggestions to limit the amount of coverage devoted to eulogies provided by Singapore’s leaders.
In the end, the leaders’ statements took up a significant portion of the allotted space, Lee said.
In addition, Lee revealed that self-censorship was a common practice for reporters.
She said that she would never write about any racially sensitive issues, citing the case of a journalist in Malaysia who was arrested for reprinting a politician’s racially charged comments.
In contrast to the limitations imposed on local reports, Chua said that the paper’s reporters are more free to write about international events. Chua said he enjoyed a great deal of freedom during his stint as China Bureau Chief.
The leaked cable also contained the views of then-journalism student Chong Zi Liang, who said he could see himself working locally for one or two years before going off somewhere else, because he thought it was too “stifling” to remain in the country.
The document is part of a collection of 251,000 unedited and confidential US diplomatic cables that can be found on the whistle-blowing WikiLeaks website, founded by Julian Assange.
In the latest batch released online, several more can be found about Singapore.
One talks about the state of Singapore’s opposition in 2004 and another on how the government actively co-opts talented Muslims to become Members of Parliament.
Last year, WikiLeaks revealed what key Singapore diplomats thought of neighbouring Asian leaders as well as what former leader Lee Kuan Yew thinks about North Korea.
Former Today chief editor P N Balji, who has spent 35 years in Singapore journalism and is now a media consultant, said the leaks “tell an old story”, and there was a need now to study how the old media is trying to meet the challenges of the new media.
“There is enough evidence to show how the old media is forced to come out of its comfort zone and publish stories which broke in the online world. Something we never saw, say five years ago,” he said.
“A new relationship is developing between the government and media. The biggest loser, if The Straits Times continues to lose eyeballs, is the government. Then it will be without a pervasive platform to get across its message,” he pointed out.
“How this relationship will play out will depend a lot on whether editors can make the big switch to the new normal in Singapore journalism and how the government will respond to such efforts,” he added.
35% is poor showing, TT doesn’t have the mandate from 65% of the electorate…he is no “People’s President” but yet another puppet.
Every generation has a legend. Every journey has a first step. Every saga has a beginning. Every Emperor begins as Palpatine.
The shock the establishment received in GE2011 and PE2011 is largely due to the SPH media “losing eyeballs”.I myself ceased paying money for the Straits Times to insult my intelligence.
The last two Chairmen of SPH were former President Nathan and current President Tony Tan.
Silver lining? Silver lining for all the Minister’s son? Silver lining for all the future ‘defence scientists’? Silver lining for a very cordial and cosy relationship between the EP and the cabinet?
Silver lining when TT is going to do his job quietly?
THIS IS RETURN OF THE PRATA MAN WITH A CHINESE FAVOUR!