Joshua Chiang/

The first time I learnt that the head of state of Singapore is the President, he was already dead.

I was six years old when Benjamin Henry Sheares, our second President passed away. I remembered watching his funeral procession on television. I remembered the flag flying at half-mast, and the 21-gun salute. Most of all, I remembered feeling very sad. I didn’t know about what the President does then of course, but it was enough that a very dear person to Singaporeans had passed away. It was truly a day of mourning.

Such is the paradoxical power of the ceremonial head of state. By virtue of being nearly powerless, and hence above politics, he becomes a uniting figure, a living symbol to rally around regardless of political views and affiliations.

Flash forward thirty years later, three days after the most closely fought Presidential Elections which saw the victor getting only 35% of the popular mandate, and I begin to wonder if the person who first floated the idea of an Elected President with limited powers had anticipated that the President’s office would become yet another battleground for the tussle of political power.

It didn’t use to be like that. The oft-heard rationale for the Elected President was so that a rogue (read: non-PAP) government would not be able to spend the country into bankruptcy if there was a responsible President to hold the second key. Or so the logic from the smartest brains in the country goes. What the logic fails to account for is that in order for the ‘rogue’ party to come to power, it would already by then have the support of a large number of the population. And that in doing so, that same population would likewise want a President that best represents them. The government must be truly naïve to believe that people with partisan interests would not be interested in capturing an office that has the power to influence key appointments of public officers and control how much it can dip into the reserves.

And quite frankly, neither could it just sit back and watch. Dr Tony Tan might truly have made up his mind on his own accord to run for the presidency, but it is plain for all to see who the government really prefers to be President of Singapore, and conversely, who it doesn’t. Afterall, every government of the day likes to carry out its work with as little impediment as possible.

So we can assume that the government can heave a sigh of relief that it gets a President who has shown an understanding and respect for the role of the President that isn’t too unlike what it has in mind. But perhaps it also realizes the Catch 22 situation it has created for the President – how can an office that is seen as politicized, that it has had a hand in politicizing, act as a unifying force?

The ceremonial presidents before had no such problem. (In fact, I don’t recall any of them making any promises that they will unify the people.) Also, the mere fact that the ceremonial presidency was largely powerless means that the government could always appoint someone that is largely seen as non-political into the role. Not so anymore.

In fact, it is deeply ironic to have all four candidates in the latest Presidential Elections claiming they will unify Singaporeans when elected. What they forget is that Singaporeans have to want to unite behind their President as well. Unfortunately, the past twelve years has made people cynical about a Presidency which has become identified with the PAP. That a former PAP minister is now the next President doesn’t help. Dr Tony Tan has his work cut out for him.

Like any institutions, the Presidency has evolved from its original purpose, and not always for the better. There is little doubt that the office has become politicized, and will continue to be politicized. We have to re-evaluate the Elected Presidency, and decide what can be changed to allow for an office that will not be used for partisan interests.

The nation used to mourn together for the passing of its Presidents. It would be a crying shame if we don’t feel the same way for future Presidents because they have become synonymous with politics.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

90 Responses to “Can a politicised President’s Office truly unite Singaporeans?”

1. he can’t, money can. Divide the reserve to every singaporean. we be rich and welcome the foreigners to work for us.

2. HOHO HO 30 August 2011

MANY Years ago great master LKY besides locking up known opponents, was already deep in planning permanent dictatorship over Singapore.

SO HE had his begotten son into Army first as he believe that the army must be under his dictatorship.

FROM THERE his cronies “RECOMMEND” his begotten son into the regime. 1-2-3 STEPS only.

HAVE YOU seen how those army BGs were and are inducted into the regime? oR MIW?

FIRST TELL them if obedient they get to become minister in your MIW regime.

ONE STONE hit 2 birds eyes. ARMY in LKY lhl HANDs and Army Chief in their HANDS.

HAIL LKY HAIL DYNASTY

3. Stupidity deserves a president like TT!
    Can’t help being cynical, a ”psychological hangover” cannot serve and trying to unite people takes more than words. A PAP-dictaphone is a befitting sobriquet that suits the predicament of many who opted not to vote him in.

TT is and always has been pro-PAP. To assume that it is not so is to delude oneself. My standing in a garage does not make me a car nor does my holding the Bible (even reciting it) make me holy!

65% support went the other way lah. Decisive. Really?

PS – A PM (LHL) with so many ”powers” vested in him is already bungling like nothing matters on so many issues that impact Singaporeans. To expect a President whose influence or whatever one perceives ti to be cannot do much. More so when when has lived PAP all of one’s political career. Futurising is so very easy lah, but the future (tomorrow) always comes now and what one earth is TT ranting on about. It is more a trap than anything more, ONE IDEALISES THE FUTURE, ONE FUTURIZES AND ONLY TO BE DEMORALISED AND mostly oblivious to the predicament of a vicious cycle.

4. $madPAP 30 August 2011

WKS after a FAMILEE meeting with Lky has been sent to China to get them to flood Sg.
    => CHINAPORE

Next send tharman to INDIA to balance the show

Population explosion for CHINAINDIAPORE

5. live too long 30 August 2011

whenever LKY go to on stage to address other countries on SG, it has been awful

we feel strongly that he no longer represent SG, and therefore cannot speak as though he is PM or PM father

stepping down means he is now an ordinary citizen like u

6. one could also raise the question of whether a person can really unify the people. It is more the symbol than the person itself. The British Queen, for instance, is such a symbol. The US president can also potentially unify the people in times of crisis. However, being directly elected by the people, he has greater legitimacy but also the burden to garner enough supporters from different groups (i.e. partisans). If you have elections, groups will form. If you want nonpartisanship, have no election but nominate.

7. @steve

Britain, US remain sane, their leaders are not overly power hungry, they respect the people and their parliament is balanced.

8. Stevenkhor2 30 August 2011

“Daft” Singaporeans just “kwai,kwai” gave away the two keys to the same “Party of Frens”

Just don’t know what to say ,except that we “brought in On ourselves”

Stupid Citizens,which do not deserved to be “protected when the time” comes !

9. Do you believe that Tony Tan can ever be independent oif gahmen? NEVER !!!!!

He is connected to the cheekbone, the jawbone and the mouth bone to the PAP. He knows nothing else.

He will be a Pappie forever. He is as independent of the PAP as LHL is.

10. Robert Teh 30 August 2011

After Dr. Goh Keng Swee, there was no more talent to build the economy.

So what to do? Sell lands to highest bidders. Sell properties to foreigners. Import cheap foreigners to lower costs. Privatize out services and charge market fees for all services from all GLCs to make more monies.

Honestly, do we need million dollar ministers to do all money-collector jobs such as these?

11. andrew leung 30 August 2011

Society is polarized, PAP is caught off guard again. They have to unleash their final weapon, the gurkha contingent. Human governments will fail.

12. Simple Harry 30 August 2011

The P-elect wants us to believe that he has super human abilities. He garnered 35%; and he wants to be Every Singaporean’s President!

Tell me how, this can be done when he AGREES with the PAP that:

1. foreigners that are depriving Singaporeans of jobs and of pay raises and are one of the primary reasons why the PAP is so unpopular, proven by the drop voting support; can continue to flood into Singapore.

2. the obscene salaries paid to ministers; president, civil servants (or whoever that needs to be obedient)whether talented or not; can be subcontracted to a proven crony to recommend or comment;

3. that the huge divide between the rich and poor are getting wider and the people are feeling it in their bones are not being addressed, except to expect more of the same or to be told can’t be helped.

Tell me Superman, Tell me.

13. popcorn 30 August 2011

Don’t blame dear Tony, he is forced to contest by his in law, LKY. Actually he’s not the PM’s proxy, it’s someone else.
    Let’s just hope Tony has the magical touch to unite this divided country.

14. chou Ah Lian 30 August 2011

After reading all the comment here I think next time the PEC better think before approving which candidate is eligible, in this case they could have done Singapore a great service by approving only one candidate. Just like previously when they only approve Mr Nathan. If PEC only approve Tony Tan that would save us;

1. time & money in the PE.
    2. save TJS, TKL from losing face.
    3. save TKL of losing extra $48K.
    4. politicized president.

15. scored own goal by FT? 30 August 2011

3 years ago…..heard one angmoh talent in gic scored own goal and lost more than $1bln in fx trading, breached stop-losses…ask Dr Tony is it true?

16. old citizen 30 August 2011

each candidate claims he can unify the people,
    it’s day dreaming and fooling the people to get
    votes.
    The people will unify if they see that their interest as stakeholder in the country are protected and advanced. This can only happen
    if policies are crafted that is transparent, fair,
    inclusive n power is not monopolised so rational
    consensus changes where needed can develop.

the onus must be on the executive, that is
    the elected government

17. What does unite really mean? During the GE few months ago we had 40% united against PAP; today we have 65% united against PAP endorsed candidate; so are we more united or less united now?

18. Simpleton 30 August 2011

The worst possible Presidential candidate the PAP Govt can possibly endorsed is a disgraced ex-Defence Minister whose 3 cowardly sons got privilege treatment doing their National Service. Tony Tan is the ultimate shame for all Singaporeans when we talk to all our foreign friends about the President of Singapore. No doubt, the foreign embassies resident in Spore must have by now passed on this remarkable information to their respective governments.

19. William Li 30 August 2011

I am still wondering how the president can unite the people.

Does he understand what is dividing the people?

Does he have the means to unite the people?

He is not even allowed the speak his mind!

20. Really? 30 August 2011

Somehow, most LKY’s policies backfired. This EP is another one of them. The problem is he will never admit mistakes making it difficult for all his underlings to make correction. I used to admired him as a great leader but over time it is obvious he was only great because of a great team of humble, selfless men, like Goh KS, Toh CC, Ong PB, Lim KS, etc., supporting n checking him. Nowadays, he is an embarrassment to his ruling son.

21. Dr Tony Tan says he wants to unify the country, seemingly in the same way that every beauty pageant contestant wants to bring about world peace/save the environment/shelter the homeless/feed the poor. This is the sort of assertion the sincerity of which cannot be proved or disproved, whatever one’s personal opinion is. How would he know if he has unified the country? How is he going to actually go about it? As with the beauty queens who then spend most of their time posing for pictures and cutting ribbons, there is no ready yardstick to measure how successful he is on this count, and one cannot call him to account at the end of the term and ask for a progress report.

Forget about independence from the government. After decades in the PAP, Dr Tony Tan can go off and become independent in a matter of months? Dr Tony Tan will ask tough questions? Please, why would you ask your former colleagues to drop their pants? What if you share what they want hidden? There is no percentage in that. Lob them soft balls and enjoy the money. So having someone from the PAP fold is politically expedient, as such and EP is not going to go against the PAP dominated government, nor ask uncomfortable questions, nor demand potentially embarrassing revelations.

22. Titiana Ann Xavier 30 August 2011

We have an EP that was booed on Nomination Day. An EP who won only 35% of the votes but was rejected by the remaining 65% of the voters. TT is an embarrassment for the PAP government. He did not truly receive the people’s mandate. Only the PAP and its stooges endorsed him.

23. Celeste 30 August 2011

The fact that Dr Tony Tan was in PAP doesn’t mean that he cannot be the unifying force between Singaporeans and the govt. Neither does it mean that only a member of the opposition party can unify. We should put aside our bias in these political affiliations. Opposing does not equate independence and it does not mean you have to be different all the times to maintain your independency. Worse still opposing for the sake of opposing not only fails to unite but risks greater polarisation. Dr Tony Tan exhibits diplomacy and graciousness in his response to media. His reasoning is clear and coherent and is able to back his views with sound reasonings. I think he has his own thoughts and is able to form an independent mind on
    various issues. Furthermore he commands the respect of govt, thus is in a better position than ( TJS or TKL) to influence govt should need be. So to say, i don’t see why he is unable to unify.

24. @Really?
    I dont trust lky son. Can anyone imagine a son likw him who brought two casinos into Spore??

Oh yes, lhl know that his family dont gamble. So safe from trouble.

With lhl face, i feel like looking at a smiling tiger quite unlike his father.

25. eeeeeeeeee 30 August 2011

Look at it squarely, our Spore has been hijacked by lee family, end of story.

26. The nation used to mourn together, as we do now.we have a president that is not the choice for 65% of the people

27. wow liao, so jiak lak meh, so cynical of TT. He is just like you, being vocal and open.
    True,in the last 12 years, i have totally forgotten the president till the recent EP.

28. That say if TT allows TCB to be president after much consideration from the outcry of its citizenry:
    65% will be united behind TCB + TJS + TKL.
    Or somewhere near there.

29. Independent Citizen 30 August 2011

You scratch my back, I scratch yours. What’s new?

His endorsers & supporters were/are/will be benefiting from special favours, supply of cheap labour & lower or no taxation.

65% Singaporeas are all screwed!

30. Steven Kho 30 August 2011

The only reason TT obtained only 35% is because of 4-corner fight. His popularity is understated. Those who have lived life under previous PAP governments will know what a brilliant man TT is. Do not overlook his achievements:

1. Build up Singapore’s tertiary education from scratch as education minister.

2. Made the SAF the most powerful army in Asia when he was defence minister.

3. Promoted lower taxes & business-firnedly investment climate when he was finance minister.

TT’s contribution to Singapore is 2nd only to LKY, and far exceeds people like Goh Keng Swee, Toh Chin Chye, Lim Kim San etc. He is honest and of the highest integrity. If TT had run a straight 1-on-1 contest against any of the other candidates, TT will garner at least 60% of the votes, but more likely 70-80%. We are all very honoured to have TT as our president.

31. The author is writing a fairy tale, if OTC don’t even get a state funeral what is not so intelligent article crowing about

32. Easy, either TT or PM makes TCB a member of presidential council.

And throw TKL and Goh Meng Seng, and TJS and Nicole Seah into prison and throw away the key.

33. now the point is that DR TT has gotten some 26 pct of older singaporeans’ votes nad the rest probably from business people and their supporters/bootlickers to be brutally frank.

WILL DR TT truly care for ALL SINGAPOREANS or show favoritism to the business community?
    to my simple lesser mortal mind,i think DR TT will more or less toe the same line as the PAP govt which is more pro-business n the rich THAN for common stock singaporeans.

It can now be ‘DOUBLE-CONFIRMED’ that DR TT,as the ‘PEOPLE’S PRESEIDENT’ will go laong with PM LEE’s and his father’s die-die ‘PUSH’ for the 900K FTs to come here and take over jobs singaporeans have been doing.

i will be pleasantly surprised and appreciative if they don’t?

singaporeans have betrayed themselves once again,they should not point fingers at their pro-FT govt later on should the 900k are rushed in as promised before GE 2011.

LET ALL THE STUBBORN AGED SINGAPOREANS get whacked at OLD FOLKS HOMES or let them suffer in dsigrace if and when their sons or daughters cannot show them filial piety out of no choice if they themselves are ahrd u because of joblessness.GO SEE THEIR BELOVED EP they chose to vote for?…maybe the EP will be compassionate and ‘caring’ ehough to let them take shelter at his vast ISTANA grounds?

i have voted witn my conscience for SINGAPOREANS FIRST,i shall not regret come what may.

my ONLY hope is for DR TT,as EP, to conduct himself truly as the people’s ELECTED PRESIDENT and not as the BUSINESSMEN-SUPPORTED EP or the PAP-BACKED EP.

CAN DR TT rise to the sacred task of truly treating all singaporeans especially the marginalised as his very own ‘people’,his fellow singaporeans or will he treats the foreigners better?

there can never be two-ways about it as one job lsot by a faithful singaporean is one job gained by the mercenary FT.

WE SHALL WAIT AND SEE…

34. Overseas Singaporean 30 August 2011

@Steven Kho,

“The only reason TT obtained only 35% is because of 4-corner fight. His popularity is understated”.

I dont agree. Conversely, the 4-corner fight left the votes spread out among the other three. If there was a one to one fight, the one candidate might garnered more votes to defeat TT. 60% or maybe 70-80% is just a presumption. However, since TT only had 35%, most probably he may get just below 50% if there was a one to one fight.

35. Tan Kok Tim 30 August 2011

These are the possible combinations of the EP:

a] ex-PAP EP and PAP govt in office

b] ex-PAP EP and non-PAP govt in office

c] non-PAP EP and PAP govt in office

d] non-PAP EP and non-PAP govt in office.

Which are the above two out of four possibilities that the PAP do not want to happen?

c] is not what the EP scheme is about as it will create headaches for the PAP govt;

d] is not what the EP scheme is about as it will mean the possibility of raiding the Reserves by the non-PAP govt.

We can see that b] is what the EP scheme is about, to have a EP to block, to protect the Reserves;

36. red_dot 30 August 2011

I laugh lah when the next State funeral comes around….the whole Singapore schools will be mobilized by forced decree to line the streets all the way from the Instana to the burial ground!

Singaporeans will be at the casinos, shopping malls, movies, eateries, coffee shops, maybe on vacation in JB or Batam!

FT will be having a field day being entertained via live TV telecast!

37. Tan Kok Tim 30 August 2011

It is clear that president-elect Dr Tony Tan has more of the support from the super rich from districts 9, 10 and 11 whereas loser Dr Tan Cheng Bock has the support from more of the middle class groups and the down-trodden.

Singaporeans have spoken, or more correctly, voted. I can see that they have voted wisely.

The core supporters from the PAP camp prefer political and economic stability rather than having ‘partisan-driven politics’ in the EP office.

Singapore has passed a severe test of further political maturity and attaining democracy in the Singapore unique way and style.

I believe Parliament will amend the Constitution by tightening it with more screws after this round of robust and unexpected competition of 4 candidates with different approaches, styles and agendas.

Parliament may not fix the Constitution now but for sure it will be done before GE 2016.

I believe political analysts will have lots to write on this intensely-fought PE 2011.

38. Maybe it is time to re-evaluate, re-assess, re-think about this EP. It should remain ceremonial as before – yes, the trade off is we have one less public holiday, every 6 years.

39. He is only joking lah. Don’t take his words too seriously. He is too tightly tied his old regime to be separated. Be a unifying president, means, he have to cross swords with the repressive regime. In so doing, he knows that he may lose the state funeral accord or even his term may be shortened. There are many self serving policies in the regime, that TT had a hand in it. He called it group thinking. The moment he is not singing the same tune, LKY and LHL will warn him of the ‘Off key’ You think TT dare to defy? He had taken several ministry portfolio, and with so many chances to unite Singaporeans, it is not likely he is going to do it now.

40. iVOTEahMENG 30 August 2011

Steven Kho30 August 2011
    The only reason TT obtained only 35% is because of 4-corner fight. His popularity is understated. Those who have lived life under previous PAP governments will know what a brilliant man TT is. Do not overlook his achievements:
    …………..
    you booast b4..prataa presidente was a brilliant man
    your father boosted phey yew cork was a brilliant man
    your grandfather boosted devain nair was a brilliant man
    worst of all
    your great greandmother boosted puiyi hav a 9″ cork

41. I think in the whole wide world, only Singaporeans opt for dictatorial rule. How not to have foreign talents (for any job even cleaners)?

42. Tan Kok Tim 30 August 2011

When in GIC and Cabinet, Dr Tony Tan did not champion the release of GIC and TH’s figures to the public. Will he as the EP make any difference? Will it prick his conscience?

43. Change is necessary in evolving world 30 August 2011

Can we sit still while the world around us is evolving? When the population in Singapore has become more aware for better or worse? Wont there be a need for protection as can be seen in some amongst us always asking for reserves to be used for xxx…I am for protection of reserves. The role of the President must change over time, but he must be for all Singaporeans. He/She must be knowledgeable, and has more skills than the fatherly figure in our previous Presidents. So the writer of article does not need to feel obliged to cry in future. He should reserve tears for his loved ones.

44. Finally it is true 30 August 2011

With the identities of TR and it’s moderator uncovered by the new paper, this site will disappear and singaporeans will be united again.

45. Work less, Sleep More 30 August 2011

@Finally it is true

Yes, hooray, in the dark, Singaporeans can go into slumber mode or hibernation & be united again.

46. Muccino 30 August 2011

I learnt from this electrion that as low as 35% can let ine become a president with world record salary and perks, if any. Bonus, if any.

My children now has another thing they can choose to do when they grow up.

Imagine, next election have 10 qualified persons to compete. You then could still win with just 11% votes.

There is no limit how many qualified indiv can contest right?

Oh , have i alerted someone to change the rules?

47. BillyMa 30 August 2011

FEAR – that’s the unifying factor that PAP & now tony tan used to ‘unite’ the country.

Black cloud, dark cloud, low cloud, recessions, depressions, economic slowdown, inflations, retrenchment…..etc these are the words & tools that PAP & now tony tan used & will continue to use to put ‘fear’ into the citizens.

Does PAP now has a better feel of the real ground sentiments?
    Absolutely not, if we’re to go by the ‘comments & assessments’ by those so-called pap mps.
    I mean, who cares what these group of not funny jokers said. They’re just talking to impress lky & lhl only.

Unified? Yes, we the 65% are together in rejecting the minority-elect president.

Any consolation for tony tan?
    Yes of course, nathan would get less than 12.5% of the valid votes.

48. Fabregas 30 August 2011

Well Tony got 35% and he only needs to do some unifying to get the other 35%. The last 30% however is a different matter!

49. The head of state has been politicised the moment Nathan was elected by PAP. We don’t need to see this PE to understand what has happened. Unfortunately, Nathan was quite consistent with PAP style over the last 12 years. Until today of his last day as president, I have no concrete clue what he has achieved for the people, except for being an obedient followers of his ruling master. Because of his silence all these years, he was honoured by his master as “few good men”, which further insulted the intelligence of this nation,

As such, we see 65% prefer Ong Teng Cheong style of president and 35% still prefer Nathaneques style. Thus Nathan is only 35% popular nation wide.

If PAP has any clue why the vote turned out this way, he should know 65% Singaporeans want accountability and transparency from the government. Tony Tan should try to fulfil 65% of pouplation’s aspiration, failing which he will nobody will morn for him like they did for Benjamin or Ong Teng Cheong. As for nathan, he has no legacy and will not be remembered as a people president.

50. the short answer is NO..
    Do you
    believe that Tony Tan can ever be independent oif gahmen? NEVER !!!!!

He
    is connected to the cheekbone, the jawbone and the mouth bone to the PAP. He
    knows nothing else.

He
    will be a Pappie forever. He is as independent of the PAP as LHL is.

The ST continues to delete what it does not like to read. Seems Tony Tan taught them good when he was Chairman. No wonder our reputation for free media readership is down the toilet.