Cartoon by Joshua Chiang/
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

How “shameful” for Yacobs to “twist” the whole PE events and claim 70% voted for Pap ?
How come a Non Partisan Post can be “linked” back to “pap”.
Obviously in Jacob’s Mind, the whole episode was a “wayang”.
@stevenkhorfather:
Well, he may not be wrong. If you look at it another way, people actually trust the PAP credentials, that TT and TCB are individuals of proven calibre because of their association with PAP down the years.
Of course, the former is more pro-PAP and the latter is seen as more neutral. Nevertheless, it does show something, right? That the PAP brand is still trusted by people. Citizens of Singapore may hate the PAP but will still vote them because they don’t want to rock the boat and their own ricebowls.
25% want a change and they want someone to check on the goverment.
35% want a unifying figure but they also want someone who is not exactly a YES man.
35% are either daft and born to be a slave for life or they are PAP regime.
The remaining votes belongs to people who are against a rubber stamp post @ $4m and Lehmen minibond holders that are still pinning hope that they could get back their $$$.
ya,70 pct.
10 pct form the 40 pct return to being daft again,what to do?
only nicole seah n ms aruldoss from the oppo remain wise,some,because of selfish reason,preferred to be daft.
what diff does it make,’grassroot PAP’ or elite PAP,both DRS TT N TCB are PAPIES no matter others choose to see.
OPPO n oppo supporters do not understand what is yrue blue singaporeans’ SOLIDARITY.
HAIZ..
Bullshit, we are using TCB to challenge TT, as he has the best chance to beat Tony.
We switched from TJS to vote TCB out of strategic motive, we dun vote from the heart. TCB happens to be the lesser of the 2 evils, that’s it, and no more.
Next GE, we’ll switch back to Opposition.
Yacccob, the one who could not solve the flash flood problem has been retained by PM Lee, as there is no Malay Minister in the Cabinet, he nearly got retired by PM.
TJS surprised us, being a 6 month old newbie politician. got 25% votes, kudos to him.
Both Cheng Bock and Tony serves as PAP MP for close to 3 decades.
Both Cheng Bock and Tony are Cadres member of PAP for close to 3 decades
Both Cheng Bock and Tony have been elected into PAP highest decision body, the CEC.
Both Cheng Bock and Tony have retired from parliament un 2006 and have just resign from PAP membership just 3 months ago.
You can deny it, but Cheng Bock and Tony are as PAP as one could get.
Till the end Cheng Bock has also claimed a division of PAP between Tony and him, ie PAP votes is choosing between Tony and himself.
if they say 70% pap, so opposition supporters should know what to do next time.
if either one gets in, it would mostly be same status quo as usual. only daft singaporeans do not know.
Yaccob, like the rest of the PAP man at the top, are highly confused and lost by the incredible revolt against a PAP anointed candidate.
Now they even want to unscrupulously claim Tan Cheng Bock’s victory as their own…what an insult!
Shout-up Yaccob! Whoever next in PAP who wants to echo the same stupid and patronizing statement made by Yaccob, zip your mouth or simply fart it out without anyone knowing it, OK?
hmm somehow I always believed that TJS is the true PAP hardliner (working hard to undermine non-PAP efforts), afterall, he was the equivalent of TPL’s hubby to Goh Chok Tong then… although they may sport as an ex-SDP supporter, but IMO SDP has died since Chiam was kicked out by CSJ, another PAP infernal affair spy. anyway it’s juz my theory
According to Yacult, voting for TT and TCB is supporting the PAP. He had just confirmed that the EP is not above politics.
He is shameless in claiming that voting for TCB is voting PAP. ( The PAP did not endorse both men ) The PAP discarded TCB in favor of TT.
I don’t think Yacob is really ignorant of what is happening on the ground, that most ppl who voted for TCB are actually from the opposition camp! However, maybe he just wanted to paint a rosy picture to give foreign investors confident that Singapore is indeed ‘politically stable’..
oek!
don’t make noise..
opps i(he) meant don’t be so nice
tonytan a frickin HYPOCRITE
MAY GOD help us ALL
opps posted wrong thread
apologies to tanchengbock..
blind orangutan
a thousands apologies i remain unreserved
Yaccob, you are making too much noise….even TT is now confused over voices and noises. Can’t blame the white hair moron for thinking that his 35% is a mandate when it is actually a slap in his face for giving his sons privilege NS treatment when he was Defence Minister….Sporeans will never forget this for as long as they live. Pls don’t take away the credit from Tan Cheng Bock. He will make a great president Singaporeans can be proud of…..at least his son is not a coward.
Considering that Tony Tan and Tan Cheng Bock were visibly in politics for decades and Tan Jee Say only for 6 months to a year, I would think that Tan Jee Say is the clear winner as he got three quarters of each of their votes. Tan Jee Say has a higher velocity of propulsion.
I regret the fact that the PAP has used thuggery in the form of the compliant Judiciary and the ISD to demolish almost all opposition for the better part of 50 years. But the half dozen or so who survived the PAP’s mowing all have a much higher velocity than any PAP member.
Something must have caused the explosive velocity of the opposition this year 2011. Definitely it is due to the new media. The new media’s foremost characteristic is that information is not stopped, nor censured at the source and is very convenient ( like what I am doing now).
Most importantly the political police will have a hard time hounding a multitude of dissenters, most of them anonymous. This year we do not have any witch-hunts by the PAP after the elections. Why? Because news of arrest can also spread with greater velocity in the new media.
But there is a distinct feeling among the citizenry that these office holders are paid far far too much for being far far too incompetent. The collective unconscious which connects Singaporeans with the Arab Spring makes it intolerable to have the ISD be the arbiter of life and death and judges the arbiter for injustice. However outrage is impotent in the face of organized Law mongering. The factor of instantaneous unstoppable communication was the vital ingredient, the new media.
The new media is the miracle not anticipated by LKY and his cohorts. it provided the explosive force of acceleration which eradicated decades of strangulation of free communication.
DID TAN CHENG BOCK ‘ TOOK SINGAPOREANS ‘FOR A RIDE? ‘
DID TAN CHENG BOCK TOOK SINGAPOREANS ‘ FOR A RIDE? ‘
DID TAN CHENG BOCK TOOK SINGAPOREANS ‘ FOR A RIDE? ‘ ………………..
Sarong Sarong 31 August 2011
whether it is true or not, it is one way to hit back @ TCB. To make it look as though TCB is their own man, & it is a win-win for them. one way to take a snide at those who may think the TCB is his own man.
I WONT TRUST TAN CHENG BOCK AGAIN.
MINISTER YAKULT SAID VOTING FOR TT AND TCB IS VOTING FOR PAP,
EVEN THOUGH IT’S A PE.
IF TT TRUELY FEEL HE WIN …. THEN HE MUST HAVE NOT BEEN TRUE EVEN TO HIMSELF. AT GROUND LEVEL, THERE IS A STRONG FEELING THAT HE CERTAINLY WAS NOT THE ULTIMATE WINNER (president) … SO SAD! !
It simply does not make sense for PAP to sent in two men to split up the votes of 70%.
In the last election, many may vote for opposition, but it did not mean they against the PAP.
I have many friends who had voted for opposition, some did not even bother which opposition party so long it was an opposition party.
We just wanted to voice certain unhappiness and certain policy that we may not like it.
If today, I asked them who they voted for the President, all of them either voted for TT or TCB.
I believe their minds are very clear who can provide a stable future. In fact, majority of the Singaporeans know what is best for our country and our future, our children.
Look around the world, there is Arab Spring that may spread the entire middle east and even Africa, huge debt issue in Europe, hopeless America that only want power and love to play political game and China high inflation.
Do we want to rock the boat so much till sink or half sink, can we afford Yo end up like UK or even riot in KL. Face the reality, Singapore has nothing !!! We are not Malaysia or Indonesia, they have abundant resource, we have nothing to fall back on. As long this government does good things to majority of Singaporeans, I don’t even bother if their salaries are more than 2 times as of now.
Please do not think that I pro PAP. Sorry, I’m not.
Why don’t Yakult also claim the 4.9% of TKL’s vote since he is also formally a PAP member, making it 75% support for PAP. By the way since TJS has also worked for GCT, so maybe Yakult can also claim another 5% out of TJS’s 25% share of vote. Wow, in reality, PAP has about 80% support……..Dream on!!!
I think Mr Yacob is delusional or worse, afflicted with a touch of dementia. Perhaps just trying to score brownie points with the power that be.
Dear Yacob, only 35% voted for PaP Tony. Those that voted for TCB are all WP supporters. Understand?
Dr Yacob, sorry for my poor maths. If what you said is RIGHT that pro-PAP establishment got altogether 70% of PE votes, then I am really really sorry for those voted TCB having in mind that he is an independent President. The voters should have voted TJS or TKL for that matters. Nothing has been declared beforehand. Now all hard truths prevails….TCB what say you? 2016 would expect the same or better results?
//Flobert 31 August 2011 As long this government does good things to majority of Singaporeans, I don’t even bother if their salaries are more than 2 times as of now.
Please do not think that I pro PAP. Sorry, I’m not.//
Go back and look at yourself in the mirror and see whether you are able to see your little tail from some blind spot. Maybe the Salary Review Committee is a waste of time.
I like this cartoon. So very interesting.
The little PAP guy at first say “We shouldn’t politicize the presidency” now picking up the guitar and sing like Tan Cheng Bock.
The funny PAP MP with head in paper bag secretly giving support to TCB.
LOL made my day!
Was Tan Cheng Bock PAP’s backup candidate in case TT didn’t win?
Do you believe that Tony Tan can ever be independent oif gahmen? NEVER !!!!!
He is connected to the cheekbone, the jawbone and the mouth bone to the PAP. He knows nothing else.
He will be a Pappie forever. He is as independent of the PAP as LHL is.
If you believe that TT can EVER be independent..then pigs will fly.
Poor DOC! LMAO. The pappies are now divided, but they have a new hero!
This reminded me. No need to take them too seriously. The ‘new normal’ refers to a huge chunk of breakaway pappies, who are now vigorously asserting their non-existent independence. Strident, self-righteous fence sitters.
Yacoob claimed 70% support PAP just like he said Singapore flood is one in fifty year event. Really it is freaky to even talk to him.
to prove whether there is divide between pap’s so called rep of tt and tcb it to get tcb to join independent as opposition comes 2016 ge. no use talk shit as what claimed by yukult.
action speaks louder, remember?
let them continue to live in denial. i hope they can remorse after GE2016 or earlier.
Well said, James Tan.
Somebody now is suspected of being a backup candidate. Then isn’t it the safest bet for the ruling party to have all the 4 birds instead of 2 birds in its hand?
Yaacob claimed “strong support” for his party in the presidential election by arguing that Dr Tony Tan and Dr Tan Cheng Bock both had a combined vote share of 70 per cent.
Well, he should also include the votes of the remaining two candidates, who were related to the ruling party in one way or other, to argue for a near 100% support for his party.
75% of the unions business and clans support TT translate only to 0.38% majority.
So who has lied to the people ?
TCB lost by 0.34%. By such a “razor thin” margin, TCB has the responsibility particularly to 34.85% supporters to keep their voices heard and not to allow them becoming just mere noises of the environment. So is TJS to his 25.04% supporters and TKL to his 4.1% supporters. In tandem they can assist the President elect to do what he cannot do constitutionally. There are so many doubts, queries and issues in the minds of 65.15% electorates need to be cleared, known and addressed but now they may have to be contained in an unspecified time capsule unless the 3 unsuccessful candidates would not forget their reasons to stand for the election. Now as citizens with special backgrounds they could honour their campaign pledge to continue working towards their aims and the benefits of all Singaporeans without the millions dollars salary and not subject to “what a President can or cannot do”. By doing so, they could assist the President Elect for doing what he cannot do constitutionally.
if you compare how Yahoo news report TCB’s declaration after election and how ST reports the same event, you will realise:
1. ST’s report is a lot of shorter than the Yahoo’s one when it comes to TCB’s account
2. ST tried to make the whole news sound as if TCB thinks his share of votes come exclusively from PAP voters, when Yahoo news report didn’t give that impression at all.
If you read Yahoo new, TCB declaration seems a lot more coherent and sensible.
He is basically saying that he thinks there is a split in PAP because the grassroots and the elites vote differently.
this is one comment among many others.
but ST tried to report that in a way that suggests his voters are PAP people.
Shitty times indeed.
So Tan CB had always been stranding as a pap candidate, as confirmed by Yacob.
Once again we citizens had been
Conned
Fooled
cheated
Taken for a ride
By the pap!
The current ministers’ compensation was introduced in 1994, some 17 years ago. It had made many ministers millionaires.
It is, in my opinion, academic to talk about ministerial salaries at this juncture. A government-appointed committee by the PM is working on a new compensation package. It’s a thankless job facing the committee and I believe they are having a tough time trying to come up with a fair package.
A highly respected former senior civil servant suggested recently that ministers should be paid around $600K to a maximum of $1 million. PM will draw about $2 million instead of the current sum of over $4 million, thus effectively reducing his take-home pay by about 50%. The EP should be paid lower than the PM at around $1,2 million.
That’s still a great deal of lolly and there’s plenty left for a rainy day.
The committee will also have to wrestle with payment of annual bonuses, other monetary benefits and the pension scheme.
I understand that a retired minister enjoying his pension will get an annual salary and the pension as well after if he is recalled to serve again. It doesn’t sound logical.
I repeat what I said before. “Politics is not about power and joining the millionaires club. It’s a duty to serve the country.
The spilt in the PAP rank and file is real judging from their preference between TTT the preferred candidate of the government and TCB. While TCB has long been associated with PAP, he is seen and considered by a majority of voters to be an independent candidate; and not as claimed by certain quarters and the leader page editorial including a political correspondent of ST to total up the votes of the two candidates and it is self-deluding (ann wei) to assume that 70% of voters supported the PAP.
TCB would have made a perfect people’s president but I’m not totally convinced TTT – very glib (meaning fluent in an insincere and superficial way) and skilled in diplomacy – will be a truly people’s president. I cannot see him playing a useful role as a unifying force in a rapidly-growing divisive society.
Perhaps, TCB could do better in that role.
Guess what the extra “T” means!
Is PAP going to rename hospital name to Tan CB hospital?
The fact is 35% only voted for TT , 65% don’t want him. Actually if i am TT already got no majority mandate already , the rest are all speculation, Only idiot yakult can talk like that 70% PAP, we all were told by goverment EP is independent and he is claiming PAP candidate victory. Anyway once in fifty years u get an idiot like yakult.
I am sure PM don’t like to drink yakult , but prefer mee siam mai hum at a restaurant not at hawker or food court .
TCB refuses to take a pay cut if elected president – that is PAP
TCB refuses to comment deeply on ISA – that is PAP
The only PAP who is not a PAP is Tan Soo Khoon.
We are now in a situation where there is almost no one not connected with the PAP.In a sense, adding it all up, the PAP has 100% of the votes ! Because even TJS and TKL have their roots in the PAP one way or another. This is a bad state of affairs because the citizenry cannot bring the whole range of people in our social spectrum into leadership positions. Incest within a family has the same characteristics. Incest creates highly inbred individuals who are mostly defectives in some aspects. We are beginning to see and hear more of such political defectives in the speeches made by new PAP MPs. How are we to put an end to clones upon clones of the same type of people who bark at the same rhythm as the chorus of a Greek tragedy? The answer is staring us in the face: free the judges from political control of their appointments so that they do not need to demoralize society by their sordid justice, get rid of the ISA and its physical embodiment the ISD, normalize the salaries of office holders like Ministers so that the stakes for their holding on to public office is not so high as to be insurmountably impossible etc. Most of all my fellow citizens have courage, confront the political police in the event that you are singled out for humbling. This fear of the political police and sudden catastrophe has become our collective unconscious bringing memories of the hantu of our childhood days. With hantu so broadly based in our society, PAP will be the very air we have to breath for the next half century. The PAP and their cohorts will not give up their grip on a cowed population without a struggle and it is upon us.
Can voters who are neither pro pap nor pro establishment withdraw their votes for TCB now?
I trust they now won’t want to be lumped together with the pros.
Hope that this will be the last PE. no use having a president. The $4million donate to the charity is better off. people give is not becos of the prez. They give out from their heart and to relieve the income tax, corp tax etc.
when things are not good, be the first to push it away to other people.
when things are good, be the first to claim credit even though credit may not be theirs.
There are very few people who dared to stand up against PAP. Anyone who dares to stand up against PAP is admirable.
TJS stood up to TT warning him. That is bold.
Do you want TJS if when TT warns him, but he don’t dare to defend himself?