by: Siew Kum Hong/

Viswa Sadasivan asked me if it was ok to start. It was 8.35pm, about 15 minutes ahead of the scheduled start-time for filming. The four Presidential candidates were seated, the crowd had introduced themselves, and Viswa the moderator was raring to go. All eyes turned to me.

I gave Viswa two thumbs up, and the cameras started rolling.

It was The Online Citizen’s Face to Face 2, a studio discussion with the four Presidential candidates. I was not part of TOC when it organised the first Face to Face with political parties. This time round, I helped out in the organisation – and am very glad to have been part of such a special event.

We made a special effort in selecting the audience. We wanted an audience that was consistent with TOC’s DNA, and so we had academics as well as activists like Alex Au and representatives from groups like AWARE, the Challenged People’s Alliance Network, Function 8, MARUAH and We Believe in Second Chances.

But we also wanted to make sure that the views of ordinary Singaporeans were reflected, and so we had a cross-section of Singaporeans including young adults, a retiree, a civil servant, a taxi driver, a journalist-turned-real estate agent, and a lecturer. I think we did well in terms of presenting a balanced, diverse and representative audience that also reflected TOC’s values.

The heated exchange between Mr Tan Jee Say and Dr Tony Tan has predictably grabbed headlines. The forum has also focused attention on the Internal Security Act, much in keeping with TOC’s DNA. But here are some other nuggets about the candidates that caught my attention.

I noted with interest Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s description of homosexuality as a “lifestyle choice”. I was surprised by his comment that women had to obtain their husbands’ “permission” to enter politics.

And I was taken aback by his firm “yes”, in response to Viswa’s question about whether he would resign as President if he had a strong disagreement with the Government. After all, Dr Tan Cheng Bock points to his criticisms of the Government when he was an MP as examples of his independence, and yet he did not resign then; were those disagreements not strong?

More importantly, if the people have elected you as their President, would you not be letting Singaporeans down if you resigned in the face of disagreement instead of sticking to your guns and pushing on?

As for Mr Tan Jee Say, I was struck by his passion and conviction. I particularly liked his clear and consistent positions on the death penaty and the ISA. But his outburst when interrupted by Dr Tony Tan concerns me. I want a passionate President who can inspire Singaporeans, but I also want a presidential President who can fulfil the ceremonial duties of the post.

Dr Tony Tan’s courage in agreeing to participate in the forum will be under-appreciated, but must nevertheless be acknowledged. It would not have been surprising if he had decliend our invitation; after all, the People’s Action Party did not turn up at TOC’s first Face to Face forum either. So kudos to Dr Tony Tan for wanting to engage with TOC’s audience in the first place.

I also consider myself fortunate to observe a touching moment shared by Dr Tony Tan and his wife, just before the second half of the forum began. He had just returned from the washroom, and she went up to him and put her arms around him and asked if he was all right; he answered yes.

These personal moments are an important reminder that the candidates are persons first and foremost. They have feelings and families too. Debates can and should be robust, questions can and should be tough and probing, but we can and should remain civil and respectful. And I think the Face to Face 2 forum checked all of those boxes.

But something about Dr Tony Tan’s statement that he could not discuss the 1987 ISA detentions nagged at me, and it only crystallised the morning after the forum. He cited the Official Secrets Act as the reason why he could not comment; but the OSA did not seem to prevent Dr Tony Tan from disclosing that he had disagreed with the graduate mothers scheme and that he had successfully persuaded his Cabinet colleagues to reverse the policy when he became Education Minister.

That being the case, surely Dr Tony Tan should be able to tell us whether he had disagreed with the 1987 detentions, and whether he had sought to persuade his Cabinet colleagues not to proceed with the detentions. The 1987 detentions were a Cabinet decision, just like the graduate mothers scheme; so if his personal disagreement with the decision on the graduate mothers scheme, as well as the fact that he had argued against it in Cabinet, can be shared today, then surely he could share the corresponding facts in relation to the 1987 detentions.

Finally, I was surprised when Mr Tan Kin Lian said that he was not familiar with Section 377A, and needed a brief explanation from Alex Au. Considering how it had hogged headlines leading up to the petition to Parliament and the subsequent Parliamentary debate in 2007, this is a huge surprise. Otherwise, he stayed very close to his campaign messages.

The test of a successful forum is whether it challenges one’s preconceived beliefs. I have no doubt that Face to Face 2 was definitely a success on that basis. Just speaking for myself, before the forum began, I was convinced that I could possibly vote only for one of two candidates. By the end of the forum, one of those names had been replaced by another.

Who knows? Maybe by 27 August, the names would have changed again. But one thing I know for sure: I am very proud to be part of The Online Citizen. Here’s to more such groundbreaking initiatives in future.

Kum Hong is a former Nominated Member of Parliament, and a member of the core team behind The Online Citizen.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

230 Responses to “Face to Face 2 challenged all preconceived beliefs”

1. MajullahSingapura 24 August 2011

Strongly disagree. Don’t think TJS is a good candidate at all. How independent is he? He’s as independent as TT. TT sides PAP. TJS sides opposition. By siding, means not independent. If either TT or TJS gets elected, they will not get the support of both camps. In fact, they’ll be hated by one camp – TT gets hated by opposition camp, TJS gets hated by PAP camp.

Most independent probably is TKL. But a person with a true heart to donate does so silently instead of announcing to whole world.

TCB has an independent mind enough. Enough is being mentioned about him disagreeing with PAP. By elimination, he is the best candidate.

2. Robert Teh 24 August 2011

The CNA program tonight is supposed to be a face-to-face debate among the four presidential candidates.

It is surprising that Tommy Koh seems to be dominating this debates by imposing his his views about the role of elected president.

3. MajullahSingapura 24 August 2011

@Sa
    By the way, have you thought why TJS never questioned TT about the 50bil lost? TJS is smart, but he is not asking that question. Why?

4. @majullahsingapura

It is because tt will say cock reasons to deny the losses…like Citibank and ubs is good buy.

It is normal for fund managers to lose money like gic and th. But it is not good like pappies who refused to declare the funds left and cpf why keep on locking… Crap reason is national security…

5. MajullahSingapura 24 August 2011

@Sa
    But the losses have been recovered. No? Instead of criticizing with hatred, why not provide constructive suggestions or alternatives on what you feel is better? Or perhaps ask questions to the forum on matters you have qualms with? Imo, you are following TJS too blindly. He has his merits and he does have a brilliant mind. But just like you hate TT, there are equally people who hate TJS. He’ll not be the right person that everyone is able to hear him out and agree.

6. @majullahsingapura,

I don’t hate tt, but I don’t want pappies dominated scenes of corruption including this pe… Just a wayang show to me..

Hope it is clear.. A check on pappies is important. This is most constructive, not puppet pe and not super star pe to meet world leaders. World is laughing us to be bullied by pappies.

Being clear about our cpf and reserves status will be constructive enough for further constructiveness. Without clarity, pappies
    endorsed candidates will be a joke, including tcb and my 2nd choice tKl who used to be pappies before 2008

7. krystal 24 August 2011

@majullah singapore

there wasnt any indication that Sa was following tjs blindly at all, that was Sa’s belief and he/she supported it with their own reasons.

you can do the same without irrational and emotional accusations.

it is my own personal observation tjs answered substantially with strength, vitality and brilliance.

if that arent visible merits acceptable to most and the norm..mayb you can enlighten us as what should be?

8. @majullahsingapura,

I or many others can be president also or even pm but unfortunately my toilet paper or cert only degree… I am late boomer btw.

Further constructiveness: Sg should be getting ready with storage of canned food, oil(we have), water(hopefully enough), water purifying and water detox technologies including radiation reduction for environment and water.

Food is important including technologies for hydroponics, growing plants at greater capacity, making food and crop last longer healthily, energy bars storage, etc.

We need to create MNCs of our own via enterpreneurship, true technology developments and also not technology duplication if necessary.

All these are painful processes yet enjoyable and also money and time consuming may take years, but many countries like Europe, jp and us and china and others are doing it… Don’t just rely on foreign imports and also MNCs that are foreign ones and they can run away anytime.

Cost of doing biz and inflation prices and monetary base inflation govs needs to control.

Really invest in anti hacking, hacking technology, weapons(don’t kill!!!), artificial intelligent on processes and probability and also alternative and creation calculation..

Energy creation via solar, via recycled or food reprocessed…

Etc etc etc..

The education system needs to be changed, our systems cant make it, germany did a good job all these years can learn from them. Norway invested swf funds much better than gics and th as their returns are more than 10percent annually and people are aware of the funds status thoroughly

9. Ask one thing : with tt and tcb recently few years did we get better quality of life? Nope seriously in my mind I am for migrating if my parents not in sg… It sucks I am worried about money daily since becoming self employed, even for employed friend who is not married at 36, what the heck now they are rushing to married cos no choices, why many late marriages and also low birthrates? Pappies won’t increase birthrates, they will just import mark my words to gain money, votes and power.

What will my nieces and newphew be like, like japan or Hk or china full of debts and loans to repay. I pity them

Tjs is first choice due to independent from
    pappies, tKl is second

Bless ourselves, guan yin pu sa

10. candidate 24 August 2011

Prediction: Close fight between TCB and TT. I think TCB might just win it.

1. TCB comes across as an approachable chap. His ideas are so-so but he is hard to dislike.

2. TT is rightfully elusive on certain sensitive topics but is unjustifiably so on other issues. He hints at a lot of things but unfortunately it is not understood by those who aren’t aware of the sensitives involved. Eg. Baby bonus. TKL said he didn’t understand why the baby bonus was such. Well, it’s because you don’t just want anybody to mate like rabbits and have kids they can’t afford, the bill which will have to be paid by taxpayers. TT can’t explain this outright and TKL should really know the issues better. Whether you agree with TT politics, he does know the issues well.

3. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH TJS. TJS so far has been very disappointing. I would have liked to have voted for him but he is clearly flying the SDP flag and focusing on issues that don’t really matter to most Sporeans. I thought it was foolish of him to say that the 1987 arrests were wrong. Is he so sure? A wiser move would be to say that it needs to be reviewed. His record in social and charity causes is very weak and he has offered no ideas on how he intends to develop the charities or promote harmony. And these are the major roles of the president, not champion against the death sentence which it must be said, the majority of Sporeans do not have a problem with. On CNA, he was made to look so silly by TT and Tommy Koh, and it’s his own fault. Seriously, he cannot seem to understand the difference between DPM and President. I felt so embarrassed for him. I can see that TJS is going all out for the opposition vote because he thinks 35-40% will get him into the Istana. The problem is, quite a number of people I know who voted opposition in the last election are going for TCB, and not all opposition voters like SDP that much.

4. If TKL was your average Sporean, I wouldn’t blame him for not knowing about 377a. But he is running for President and he comes across as clueless on issues and his ideas don’t make sense. He wants to set up a people’s council to collect feedback and present it to Parliament. He thinks the PM and Ministers don’t know what the people think? I don’t know why he went to Batam.

11. @candidate,

Agreed with yr points.

But that’s why I said tjs is the choice out of no choice… We don’t want yes men like tcb or Nathan, we don’t want super star president.

Hope tjs improves that
    it is sg citizens interests that he is protecting and improving from… Give him chance pls at least we break out of pappies crutches abit more

12. candidate 24 August 2011

@ Sa

Haha…well said, bopian. But so long as TT doesn’t win, it would sent a strong message and deal a severe blow to PAP. TT is Chairman of GIC. For him to lose is unthinkable. It is of no consolation to PM if TCB wins.

So TJS is not really needed to make a point. I really hope TJS can up his game and come up with ideas that will have a good chance of success. It’s not difficult, talk more about charity and things like environment and for me, if a President can take an additional interest in animals (and here again, haiyah, TCB adopt animals, how not to like him?), that will be wonderful.

These are concrete things that are within the purview of the President, people can identify with and are likely to see results.

I really hope TJS can re-focus on issues that matter to most Sporeans and within the purview of the Presidency. If not, he is making it very difficult for people to vote for him. It’s not easy to get the COE and I hope TJS will not squander the chance by insisting on talking about things outside of the president’s purview and topics that do not matter much to Sporeans.

13. TJS supporter 24 August 2011

TJS has to focus on issues within what is stated in the constitution about the role of the elected president. I feel the constitution is somewhat dubious and outdated, and should be expanded to allow the PE to be more effective in providing checks and balances. That the President can only speak in public on advise of the cabinet is too constraining I feel.

Even OTC was not able to fully exercise his role as President, so I doubt any of the four candidates will be able to do so anyway after the election.

That said, does TJS actually have to do anything if he gets elected? Not really. Actually by the fact that the people are voting against the PAP-endorsed candidates, we are already providing our own real checks and balances. Serving our reminders to the govt that we are watching their every move and will vote their people out one by one.

By getting himself elected, ensure to keep within the issues and roles of the EP, he would have already done most of the job even before his first day of work. And that is to serve as a symbol for the people and moral authority. When the cabinet looks at him, it will be as good as looking at us. There’s really not much talking needed, because we served our notice.

14. Forecast 24 August 2011

My forecast of PE results :

Close fight between TT and TJS.
    TCB and TKL deposit forfeited.

15. BANK TYCOON TONY LOST OUR SWEATSTAINED, NATIONAL SERVICES MONEY ON HIS PET FOREIGN BANKS TOYS. http://singaporereserves.blogspot.com

WHO IS MORE INVOLVED? TONY IN BANK LOSSES OR WONG IN MAS LOSS

16. Commentator 1 24 August 2011

No point of voting a puppet to the office.

3 Tans (tcb, tt, tkl) are from within the system. EP sys was intitiated by lky to check and block the new non-pap gov just in case freak elections..

TT is good for the ceremonial role, he is the sn protege and agent of lky, and typical yesman; tcb was PAP MP and is good for postman –Mr Softspoken posting feedback info to PMO, lacking guts and moral courage to deal with his ex-boss; tkl lacks philosophy, he is good in consultation for insurance business and customers relation.

Politics can never be copied. Many were misled… OTC has a diff background. He was a Ch-ed. LKY demolished Ch schools and closed down Nantah, arrested chief editor and directors of ch press–Nanyang Siang Pao and forced ch press to castrade and be regrouped under sph, detained Ch students activists and oppo MPs like chia thye poh and many.. Ong’s heart was not with lky though he was the party chairman.

He can’t tolerate PAP’s OMO system –one man calls all the shots without accountability to his ppl. Being a Ch ed, he had a mission to right things on behalf of God. So he demanded the total list of reserve which had embarrassed the autocrat and made history. His moral courage can never be copied by PAP’s tans.

TT is groomed by lky as his 1st choice for PM. Unlike otc, his mandarin was poor. Culturally, he and lky are the same breed, both pick up little mandarin to gain ch votes. tt is much indebted to lky, he won’t dare to question the prince (PM lee) if knowingly the 2nd key is asked for pap to perpetuate its longevity.

tjs is the right choice given pap’s track record. PAP wants to perpetuate its autocratic rule. Its doctrine is OMO administration for Sg –One man ops sytem, one man calls all shots, nil transparancy, accountability to the dictator, not its ppl; gerrymandering, pork barrel pol, fear tactics, intill fear by legal terrorism, etc. Given this backdrop, those pap linked candidates will encountered a disfunction when given the top job.

None of 3 tans can function independently esp when the autocratic PM lead a battalion of his ministers/dy ministers nocking president’s door for the 2nd key. tt is getting old. If he tries to be funny –question the gov, PAP might apply lky’s old tactics which was used against Nair and Ong, to publish his medical condition to demand him to step down.. Bear in mind that tcb is also getting old and tkl speaks with half breath –like ah peh.

PE campaign has shown that Tjs is the only tan who has the guts to openly question and check the gov when his duty is called upon under the constitution. Though PAP hardcore supporters don’t vote rationally, we should peek behind the curtain of Lee family and not forgetting that PAP gov has not appologised to us for losses incurred by GIC and temasek..before going to the poll.

17. Reservist_Cpl 24 August 2011

I respect Dr Tony Tan for turning up.

18. TJS Taking Advantage of Your Naivete. @Not Just Me 24 August 2011

People believe what they want to believe. Human Beings are not as objective as they think they are. In politics, that is clearly evident.

Good politicians/opportunists know this and take advantage of it.

Thanks to all Singaporeans who think things through because you take your vote seriously and are not going to vote out of anger.

I am afraid that if TJS loses but gets a sizable number of votes, the opposition takes it as a signal that strong rhetoric and cheap hyperbole can indeed be rewarded.

Already there are Singaporeans who are behaving in a manner usually seen in third world nations. How their actions affect society doesn’t matter to them. However, they do so because they were implicitly rewarded by the silent majority.

Please do NOT reward TJS and his errant supporters with your precious vote even if you don’t like Tony Tan.

Thanks to Patricia Tan for speaking up here.

19. candidate 24 August 2011

@commentator 1

What you said is interesting, and may be true but did you watch the part of CNA’s ‘Meet the Candidates’ where TT said:

“Mr Tan Jee Say, the DPM is not the President.” And the rest around the table laughed.

TJS got a proper smack down and it should be a very sobering moment for TJS supporters. He was out of depth and had no idea what the President could or could not do. In fact in another part of the show, while trying to justify that the president could speak up, he asked the moderator for help on GCT’s quote which said the President could up. He informed that GCT said the President could have difference only in two areas, not in general.

TJS is on shaky ground and needs help from the moderator to support his view that the President can speak out against the government. Turns out he didn’t get the quote correct. So paiseh.

Let’s not get too carried away with people who promise the sky and the moon.

20. Candidate 24 August 2011

My point is that as much as it would be good to have someone non-pap as president, it should not be at the expense of having vote a moron, which at the moment TJS is proving to be.

TT is elusive and what have you but there is not as bad as having someone who can’t tell the obvious diff between DPM and President. Watching TJS is really heartbreak,

21. Someone who is in GE, failed. Then instead of working on ground for NEXT GE, he comes onto PE.

NO way to vote for such a person.
    the last one i will vote for is this man

I watched CNA n its a joke. HE thinking this is GE??? He in the race for PE is really misleading Singaporeans.

I am choosing TCB whom supports multiculturalism in SG n also promote to bring Singaporeans together. I do not want a divided Singapore

22. iVOTEahMENG 24 August 2011

Mutual24 August 2011
    I do not want a divided Singapore
    …………
    is that why we need a GRC? since you believed in 1 nation/1country and 1 party as well?
    try migratin to rwanda…
    suit you fine

YOU CAN’T EVEN EAT curry in your owned home without a 2nd group of united ^singaporean^ mediated by a truebred SINGAPOORIUM government mployees

23. @ Mutual
    I totally agree with you on TJS. He should just focus on the next GE. Maybe he is using this as a platform for the next GE. I still think TT is the best qualified and wil get my vote. Past presidents were all linked to government and did their job well. I don’t see why TT can’t do it.

24. TJS is a smart guy, why didnt he ask about the 50B loss? For a very simple reason, the 50B was a paper loss, which was never realized (note GIC is a long term investment company). Please remember when they talk about this paper loss, it was in mar 2009, the peak of the subprime! TJS even acknowledged in may 2011 GE that the GIC funds were back to pre-crisis level. He, being an investment adviser and with hind sight, will surely understand this cyclical swings of the stock markets! If he had asked TT on the face2face, he will be ridiculed big time!

Coming back to the presidential candidates. I think TT performed the best, Definitely no doubts he can represent Singapore on the world stage, which is 1 important aspect of the role of the Presidency. TKL performed well too. TCB has this eternal frown on his face….but I was also very surprised when he said he would quit if he has strong disagreement with the government. Disagreements are abound everywhere, but like in every job, one has to resolve conflicts. Someone saying they may quit before they start, surely , this doesnt start on the right footing, does it? As for TJS, i really urge him to check his own temperaments before considering the office of the President.

Lastly , I want to congratulate TOC for a very good job well done! rEally enjoyed it. I really do hope TOC can be more neutral, and presenting objectively the view points of all parties. Hope for even better , objective works in future! Thank you, TOC!

25. true citizen 25 August 2011

S’porean need to disect countries problem and reflect deep into the outcome
    USA ==> demo and rep fight each other.. result – USD drop, high unemployment,S&P grading drop
    Japan ==> Upper house, lower house fight and block policy.
    result – country recession, PM always changing.
    Europe ==> people vote, high cost & stardard of living
    Result – many EU now in debt.
    Africa ==> voting and democracy exist, but society mainly uneducated.
    Result – People riot, politician kill each others.
    China ==> No democracy, people loving premier, educated leader, no voting, no much opposition.
    Result – country prosper, I believe soon when china mature, democracy voting will prevail.
    Many singapore must reflect this, understand LKY foresight, LHL openess and appreciate what we have today. Because, singapore soon is heading towards to above 3 countries having gone thru the below 2 countries.
    My vote for TT 1st choice, TCB 2nd choice, TKL 3rd choice, TJS… never in my choice.Like having agenda and rushing to attack goverment and create chaos.

26. doppelganger 26 August 2011

SERS is a HDB scheme to rehouse sitting lessees for the taking and redevelopment of their flats in existing HDB block(s]. The HDB would only redevelop when it sees an opportunity to gain development profits from the SERS site to be redeveloped or if profits is not the objective, the maximization of land use. For the opportunity to make redevelopment profits or maximization of land use, HDB would be obliged to sell to its previous lessees ousted from the site, new HDB flats at subsidized or discounted prices, presumably in order to compensate the lessees for their trouble in being moved from their original flats. Therefore there should be no loss by the HDB or the Land Office. The subsidies to buy flats are only for the relevant lessees who were moved and rehoused. From this brief description of the rationale and the mechanism of SERS one can see that the beneficiaries are very specific to a select group of citizens involved in the SERS scheme.

Because it does not involve a loss to the State but only gains to a specific group of rehoused lessees, SERS could never be a candidate for using money from the reserves.
    Moreover whether to do a SERS is not an urgent matter affecting the lives of the citizenry in any significant way that requires taking money from the State Reserves. It smacks of frivolity to use money from the Reserves to do SERS. Present Nathan should be questioned why he released money from the reserves for SERS projects.

On giving his answers, we will know what kind of President was he. More importantly his answers would typify the kind of President we shall vote into office this month of August 2011.

27. SICKaPOOReans 26 August 2011

Singapore is already a divided nation please, wake up.

28. Bus driver 26 August 2011

I dare not vote someone who says 6bn is “small change” to guard my reserves. TJS seems to have an ego and treats this GE as something to prove. We shld not just look at what party the candidate is affiliated too. If TCB for example were from another party in his time, will he be even elected to parliament. When he is elected, he used his position as an MP, not just a PAP MP to serve the good of his residents and today so many people testifies to it, in newspapers and rally.

To just oppose when u r in SDP is no surprise. For one to stand firm on his conviction in the midst of all the pressures and party lines and political prospects etc, it’s not easy for TCB. I believe he is a people’s president. Even though he was from PAP and I wunt like the idea of having a president too closely linked with PAP. I think TCB is more neutral and able to get things done. To vote TT, is to let PAP have full reign and not listen to pole once again. I’m putting my faith in TCB.

29. Idiots! Dun vote a moron just to check and balance the govt. U r too naive! It’s like Germans voting in hitler thinking everything is within their control.

If u want to vote TJS, think of the consequences! TKL just stick to his insurance bad advices then. NTUC payouts r amongst the worst.

To me, only DR Tans are capable. Vote TCB if u absolutely hate TT. But TT won’t do anything as stupid as TJS in my view,