The following article was first published on leongszehian.com

I refer to Mr. Belmont Lay’s article describing the failures of the recent Presidential Election Candidate Mr. Tan Kin Lian’s campaign. The writer has given some strong opinions about Mr. Tan’s campaign. As such. I thought it was relevant for me to to share my personal opinion of Mr. Tan Kin Lian and his campaign in the recent elections.

It was in the midst of 2009 when Singaporeans experienced worst of the subprime crisis. At that time, Lehman Brothers had just collapsed. Products with counter-party risk related to the investment bank were on the verge of default. It was noteworthy that many Singaporeans were exposed to such products. There were consensus that Singaporeans were sold this products without clear disclosure of the products’ risk. Some Singaporeans were not able to grapple with the risk of default.

As the crisis worsened, Singaporeans were lost in terms of the future course of action. Many questions were asked but no one could answer them. What were the avenues to recover their investments? Who could the investors speak to? Why were the Lehman Brothers counterparty arrangements not disclosed to investors? How was it that senior citizens who could not understand any financial terms were sold such complex products?

During this time, no one within the establishment provided the necessary leadership. One man stood up to lead the affected Singaporeans. Mr. Tan Kin Lian volunteered to front the issues. I remembered in one afternoon, Mr. Leong Sze Hian and I joined the crowd in Hong Lim Park. Mr. Tan Kin Lian stood up under the blazing sun and delivered his speech. He made his speech slowly but steadily, giving enough time for Mr. Goh Meng Seng to translate the speech in Mandarin.

Thousands of Singaporeans looked towards Mr. Tan for directions. There was chaos all over. This man had brought faith and gave hope the affected investors in Singapore. Mr. Tan Kin Lian remained consistent in his belief that he could help his fellow countryman.

For the next few months, this man garnered enough administrative and legal help in an attempt to bring the many potential mis-selling cases to light. It was during this time that talks of Mr. Tan Kin Lian as the next President of Singapore emerged. Several volunteers requested Mr. Tan Kin Lian to step up and run for the President’s office.

All these time, no other Singaporeans indicated their willingness to stand up for Singaporeans. After Mr. Tan’s declaration that he would run for the President’s office, many worthy Candidates stepped out of their comfort zone to submit their applications to run for the role of President.

It is a fact that only 4.9% of the electorate voted for Mr. Tan Kin Lian. While many Singaporeans rush in to comment on his campaign’s failure and how many mistakes he had committed. I represent the group of Singaporeans that would like to thank Mr. Tan Kin Lian for his service to Singaporeans. I applaud his bravery for standing up for us during the crisis and for giving the courage to other candidates to run for the role of President.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

90 Responses to “Tan Kin Lian ‘gave courage to other candidates’”

1. Respect to TKL. He has genuinely helped Singaporeans that were swindled by banks during the Lehman Brother scandal.

2. andrew leung 31 August 2011

Once PAP give COE to Mr Tan Jee Say, you are already given death sentence. The writing is on the wall. Even the bravest and most loyal person to the country must die.

3. All become Gods, after the post EP result and outcome.
    In-btw, knowing the outcome, there is no beggar.

4. What in the world is PEC tinking!!!!?!?! The most common sense of common sense will know he doesn’t qualify!!!!

5. note: i am referring to TJS. i would be ashamed as a singaporean to know someone like him can qualify to be a prezzie candidate!

6. SINGAPOREANS FIRST is up till now still a dream.

true blue singaporeans must learn ‘how’ to work with one another.

or else,stop bickering,it mkaes no sense and even smacks of some sort of hypocrisy.

7. true colors 31 August 2011

Thats exactly the problem .

The 5% came from these “thousands” caught in the Lehman.

TKL should not have “over blown & swell his head”.

He should have “analyse the situation” in this PE and make a “personal sacrifice” for the greater Good of Singapore.

This is especially so after his dismay trnout at Yio Cho Kang Stadium.

Sadly he did not “make that sacrifice” and went “against the wind” and “voices of Singaporeans”.

I my opinion, if he had made the “sacrifice” ( after analysing the bad turnout and using his trained statistic mind )many Ppl would still have remembered hin for his “selfless sacrifice” inorder for “ALL” Singaporeans to be Happy.

I am sorry, but ,I still think he “did not reacted” appropriately somehow .

8. what is most common sense of common sense is not common sense to the PEC.

9. popcorn 31 August 2011

Note: I’m referring to TJS, surprised that he is given the COE, everyone knows he is used to split the votes. But now very proud he got 25% of the votes, great, very shiok.
    If he contests GE2011 in our constituency, we’ll definitely vote him.
    We need someone like him to check this arrogant Govt.
    We don’t believe TCB to be independent of PAP, we vote ah Bok just to make use of him to bring down TT’s score, and we succeeded, very shiok.

10. sober citizen 31 August 2011

@ ah tim

you mena you are ashame of your GE department that issue the COE?

11. popcorn 31 August 2011

Note: I’m referring to TKL. We dun vote him, not because we dun believe in him, we had to ditch him for strategic reasons in this Presidency.
    If he contests GE2016, we’ll definitely vote him. So Mr. TKL, jia you.
    We like honest man like him.

12. sober citizen 31 August 2011

TKL should have withdrawn from the race and give his support to TJS and TCB by annoucing to all Singaporeans that he is just buying insurance for the nations in case that none of them get a COE.

I believe that someone is paying him 48K for to be in the race and not booking any stadium for his supporters on polling day!!!

The insurance salesman has sold us out.

13. Yes, TKL. Voices for the people are used by the opposition party. Prove yourself, you mean what you said. Join Mr Chiam See Tong party and you can contribute in your way. Forget the calling from Prez TT, you are not naive, right?

14. Titiana Ann Xavier 31 August 2011

TKL was at the right place but at the wrong time. He received more than 100 000 votes. Had he withdrawn on Nomination Day, TCB would have won the EP. Nevertheless, he deserved to be commended for giving voters a choice and the courage to take on the PAP juggernaut.

15. TJS is a backstabber and opportunist. Now he going to find another party to latch on to. Maybe he should join NSP; if he become EP Nicole Seah can find him be sugar daddy.

16. Hey TJS got 25% of votes — very respectable. So don’t blame him for TT’s victory.

Though I agree he backstabber and opportunist.

Blame Tan Kin Lian. He saboed S’poreans.

17. iVOTEahMENG 31 August 2011

he is a FARTER who will alway be remembered as the mr 4.9% who make the whole of singapoorium not bein able to withdraw their hardearned cpf$’ blood $weat and tear$ nest$
    DON’T EVEN ATTEMPT 2 PROTRAY HIM A HERO

18. If SR Nathan also stand for this election, TKL will not be at the bottom.

19. TOC, how come my comments not posted? Previously commentators used foul language on me and nothing was done!! Now I can’t even post my comment. What nonsense!! You must be supporting NS and TJS but pretend to support TKL!!!

20. My previous comments about TKL’s good points not posted. My negative comments about TJS and NS not posted!!! What type of oppies portal is this??!!

21. Mary Loke 31 August 2011

TKL, let me say this to you. You should continue to stand up for Singaporeans who believe in you.

These people who are flaming you are are the sore loser-supporters of TCB and TJS.

There was no reason for you to withdraw. If TCB could not get the extra 7000+ votes, them it is too bad. If you have to sacrifice yourself so that he can win, is nothing but a selfish call some some sore losers.

You ahead with next GE. You will have garnered much support by then.

22. TKL had rightfully earned a place to contest in this election and is to be respected, unlike TJS, who not only betrayed the trust of people, but also copied 80% of TKL’s campaign platform. I do hope justice will be served.

23. TOC is a moderate. When speak with hated and very hasty, the comment get deleted. Speak with professionalism, use “intercouse you” instead of the usual 4 letter words

24. doppelganger 31 August 2011

Considering that Tony Tan and Tan Cheng Bock were visibly in politics for decades and Tan Jee Say only for 6 months to a year, I would think that Tan Jee Say is the clear winner as he got three quarters of each of their votes. Tan Jee Say has a higher velocity of propulsion.
    I regret the fact that the PAP has used thuggery in the form of the compliant Judiciary and the ISD to demolish almost all opposition for the better part of 50 years. But the half dozen or so who survived the PAP’s mowing all have a much higher velocity than any PAP member.
    Something must have caused the explosive velocity of the opposition this year 2011. Definitely it is due to the new media. The new media’s foremost characteristic is that information is not stopped, nor censured at the source and is very convenient ( like what I am doing now).
    Most importantly the political police will have a hard time hounding a multitude of dissenters, most of them anonymous. This year we do not have any witch-hunts by the PAP after the elections. Why? Because news of arrest can also spread with greater velocity in the new media.
    But there is a distinct feeling among the citizenry that these office holders are paid far far too much for being far far too incompetent. The collective unconscious which connects Singaporeans with the Arab Spring makes it intolerable to have the ISD be the arbiter of life and death and judges the arbiter for injustice. However outrage is impotent in the face of organized Law mongering. The factor of instantaneous unstoppable communication was the vital ingredient, the new media.
    The new media is the miracle not anticipated by LKY and his cohorts. it provided the explosive force of acceleration which eradicated decades of strangulation of free communication.

25. If TJS has any sense of right and wrong, he should apologise to TKL for

1. Betraying TKL’s campaign team for being a part of it and then deciding to leave. 2. Copying TKL’s campaign message and taking it as his own.
    3. Entering a already crowded race and splitting the votes further.
    Just sad that PAP made used of TJS’s stupidity and greed to achieve their goals.

26. I had read the article by Belmont Lay. It is rather irresposible of him as a “journalist” he and his team claimed to be. I wonder if they are real “journalists” or are trainees! He sounds more like a “hubris” himself, and lecturing a PE candidate how not to be a “hubris”. He had attacked before and during the campiagn, and continued to do so after the Election Day for some obvious reasons. An aspiring “journalist” who is a “hubris” himself and teaching the whole world what and who is a “hubris” through attacking an honourable candidate? Is this the way “journalism” is thought to be slanted?

27. true colors 31 August 2011

A case of 25% vs 10% vs 5%.

When are we ever going to get our acts together ?

Can the 10% or the 5% makeup thier minds ?

This does not “bolt well” if we are ever going to “overthrow” the Pappies !

It is quite obvious the 10% and 5% Minority are “clueless” people that will continue to make this Island a Mess !

28. doppelganger 31 August 2011

Tan Kin Lian’s loss at 4.9% of the votes is a result of the short time he came on the public scene. As a statistician he will readily put the probability of his being elected as a function of the time he is in public view compared to to the othere. I guess it is something like 1 year to 40 years comparing him to say TT. Thus his votes should numerically be 1/40 X 40 = 1%.And Tan Kin Lian got 4.9%. About five times more votes than expected.

The PAP knows the importance of being public faces. That is why it strenuously prevents opposition members from showing up in any media for 50 years long, be it the press or TV or even assembling in the streets. That why the ISD has to be so active and judges bend over backwards to slam their victims into financial oblivion. The PAP is now reaping the rewards of their rampage on the citizenry by ISD and Judges because the fear of catastrophic loss has reduced opposition faces to vanishing point, such a point is Tan Kin Lian. It is up to the citizenry to fight the ISD and cowardly judges if we want our choice of leadership from a wide spectrum of society and not just from the relations and friends of the PAP.

29. oms, I hear you ;P

I voted TKL. He has proven himself as a rider of storms, standing up for what he believes in and for the good of the people. Some comments posted on online media is really insulting and he doesn’t deserve such treatments for all he has done to guide those who were lost.

TJS backstabbed him and I even read that he tried to be “funny” with WP prior to GE2011!! If I’m not wrong, WP team members even had to vote him out eventually.

TKL is inexperienced in the world of politics. He comes across as sincere and really wants to be a voice for the people.

Jacq is right. TJS is the one splitting the votes but people will make TKL the scapegoat and instead label him the vote-splitter. TKL is too honest to successfully smoke-screen people (Su Ling said “what you see is what you get”). If he (TJS) can do things behind someone who trusts him, will he some day sell out the people for his own selfish benefits?

I think TJS won more because people just didn’t want TT to be president. Period.

TOC, please upload more about TKL. Many are not familiar with his chivalrous deeds!! He was quietly helping people since he helmed as CEO of NTUC Income, not just in the Lehman issue. Lower premiums but greater benefits and wider coverage for policyholders.

And to Alex, thank you for the well-written article.

30. true colors 31 August 2011

@jacq – obviously TJS left b’cos he thinks TKL has “No substance”.

The results of 25% vs 5% shows itself very clearly.

Both were “fighting for Singaporeans”.

Why should TKL or Supporters like you be so selfish and be “blindsided” to hope and continuing dreaming that he had any chances ,especially after a Poor turnout vs TJS ,30,000 turnout.

If you, and TKl has been “magnious” at that point and rally behind for the sake of all Singaporeans, this “freak result” wouldn’t have occur !

31. @doppelganger, TJS is a copycat who misled all the opposition supporters. He betrayed and copied practically most of TKL’s campaign message. It is clear to everyone that he should not have been allowed to run as he does not qualify. Only reason why he was allowed to run was to dilute the opposition votes and give victory to TT. I hope justice will be served!

32. @true colors, if it is true the TJS left becos he felt TKL had “no substance”, then he should not have joined TKL’s team in the first place, let alone copy most of TKL’s campaign message. Go study TJS’s campaign….you will see that he is a true copycat with no originality!

33. Mr Leong Sze Hian spoke at TKL’s rally. I’m very confident of Mr Leong’s choice!!!
    He wouldn’t support someone who is questionable in terms of integrity and honesty.

34. There are differet kinds of heroes. Smart ones achieve matyrdom, dumb ones commit suicide. Different situation calls for different kind of leader.

35. TKL should not used voices for the people. Every EP to-be is also voices for the people. He should hire a consultant. Perhaps, he should used “Lend me your ear”

36. Sober citizen 31 August 2011

Any one who voted for TKL is as good as casting a spoilt vote, especially for ppl who went to his rally should have the basic commom sense.

37. how many times must i said that common sense to you is not common sense to another party.

38. I decided to vote for TKL before TJS ever came onto the scene. That he was Leong Sze Hian’s choice further validates my choice.

TJS got more votes, because people seem to value rhetoric rather than action. He has done nothing but talk… but apparently, people like being entertained.

39. Singaporeans, we should all realize that the PE is a creation of the PAP to guard against a freak GE when the people vote them out. So as long as they form the government, the PE is nothing but their “rubber stamp”, without much political power. Little wonder that WP and NSP did not bother to battle for this. Instead they are focusing on their constituents and getting ready for GE2016. The PE is a side-show and if TT wins less than 60%, it reflects on the dissatisfaction of the voters on PAP’s performance so far. The fact that TT only received 35% is a damning report card. This, by itself, is a very strong message to the PAP. The people have spoken and they are more unhappy with them since May. The actual PE outcome is not a critical matter. If PAP does not correct their erroneous policy directions, the next election will see even more opposition and will really be the beginning of the end for the PAP.

40. Oh… and I forgot the crowd that voted based on Looks. *rolleyes*

41. Do you believe that Tony Tan can ever be independent oif gahmen? NEVER !!!!!

He is connected to the cheekbone, the jawbone and the mouth bone to the PAP. He knows nothing else.

He will be a Pappie forever. He is as independent of the PAP as LHL is.

If you believe that TT can EVER be independent..then pigs will fly.

42. doppelganger 31 August 2011

I made an arithmetical mistake and would like to amend it here.Tan Kin Lian’s loss at 4.9% of the votes is a result of the short time he came on the public scene. As a statistician he will readily put the probability of his being elected as a function of the time he is in public view compared to to the others. I guess it is something like 1 year to 40 years comparing him to say TT who got 35% of the votes. Thus his votes should numerically be 1/40 X 35 = 0.87%.And Tan Kin Lian actually got 4.9%. About five times more votes than expected. To simplify the calculation, I ignored non linearity where the present appearances of a person in the public eye figures more prominently than the past.
    The PAP knows the importance of being public faces in the press and on TV. That is why it strenuously prevents opposition members from showing up in any media for 50 years long, be it the press or TV or even assembling quietly in the streets. That why the ISD has to be so active and judges bend over backwards to slam their victims into financial oblivion. The PAP is now reaping the rewards of their rampage on the citizenry by ISD and Judges because the fear of catastrophic loss has reduced opposition faces to vanishing point, such a point is Tan Kin Lian. It is up to the citizenry to fight the ISD and cowardly judges if we want our choice of leadership from a wide spectrum of society and not just from the relations and friends of the PAP.

43. Alex,

Cheng Bock was speaking out PAP MP when one Tan Kin Lian was keeping quiet as a PAP member.

TJS needs no lessons in courage for TKL.

As for TKL kanna play out by TJS, shows that there is a GOD.

TKL said he kept his PAP membership because it was job requirement of being CEO of Income. Once kanna pensioned-off, he quit and say bad things abt PAP.

His behaviour like dog attacking person who fed him.

TKL deserves to kanna sabo and to lose deposit. There is justice.

44. @DML,

By your definition, TJS will fit the bill also. He was on govt scholarship, work for GCT, and now like (to quote you) “dog attacking person who fed him” (unquote).

45. TKL deserved to lose his deposit 31 August 2011

I shared the same views with True Colours. TKL won my respect initially when he stepped out but later this respect vanished with his stupid action of continuing the race, despite knowing that he had no chance to win at all but just votes spolier. To me, being a wise man and a statistician, he should know that with his participation (resulting in a 4 corner fights), the one most Singaporean (65%)would not want to see as President won, depriving them of electing a real People’s President to care and voice for them as well as to do the very important ‘checks and balance’ job. I now see him as a foolish and selfish individual.

46. sober citizen 31 August 2011

not sure if TKL lost his 48K as someone may have sponsered it…but confirmed he lost the respect from all Singaporeans.

47. William Li 31 August 2011

Mr. Tan Kin Lian,

I salute you.

You have made Singapore citizens proud of you for coming forward to be counted.

48. pokemon 31 August 2011

i also applaud TKL for standing up and give singaporeans a choice. however i hope he can participate in the next GE. as we can see in this PE, most singaporeans still prefer a candidates that canvass the ground. TJS is about to garner 25% because he is known as SDP members as such he has a base supporters.

49. Really? 31 August 2011

All who stood up for any election should be respected for their courage. Those who flamed them how many dare to do what they did?

50. doppelgangero 31 August 2011

We are now in a situation where there is almost no one not connected with the PAP. Even TJS and TKL have their roots in the PAP one way or another. This is a bad state of affairs because the citizenry cannot bring the whole range of people in our social spectrum into leadership positions. Incest within a family has the same characteristics. Incest creates highly inbred individuals who are mostly defectives in some aspects. We are beginning to see and hear more of such political defectives in the speeches made by new PAP MPs. How are we to put an end to clones upon clones of the same type of people who bark at the same rhythm as the chorus of a Greek tragedy? The answer is staring us in the face: free the judges from political control of their appointments so that they do not need to demoralize society by their sordid justice, get rid of the ISA and its physical embodiment the ISD, normalize the salaries of office holders like Ministers so that the stakes for their holding on to public office is not so high as to be insurmountably impossible etc. Most of all my fellow citizens have courage, confront the political police in the event that you are singled out for humbling. This fear of the political police and sudden catastrophe has become our collective unconscious bringing memories of the hantu of our childhood days. With hantu so broadly based in our society, PAP will be the very air we have to breath for the next half century.