~by: Jewel Philemon~
“Mr See had not stated the subject matter of the forum in his application form. The Institute’s constitution states that it is not allowed to hold events of a political nature.” – David Ang, Executive Director, Singapore Human Resources Institute (SHRI)
Singaporeans for Democracy (SFD) held a closed door forum last Saturday, titled ‘LKY: liberal democracy will do us in. Will it?’ The forum featured the likes of Cambodian MP, Ms Mu Sochua; Malaysian MP, Mr Tian Chew; Former ISA detainee, Mr Vincent Cheng; and popular blogger/activist Mr Alex Au, speaking on democracy and human rights with a regional perspective.
However, the event, which was to have been held at the SHRI training room at The Verge shopping mall, became entangled in a predicament even before it commenced. The organizing team, who had arrived at their pre-booked venue to set-up, found security guards, a cancellation notice and glass panel doors at the sixth floor awaiting them.
“We had already pre-booked the venue with SHRI, but when we arrived, we saw that they had cancelled our booking”, said Dr James Gomez, Executive Director of SFD. He added that the SFD had received an email from SHRI the day before, but they (SFD) decided to go ahead with the original venue as it was a breach of contract considering the fact that they had booked the venue three weeks in advance and had paid the full fee of 599 dollars.
“But they were still adamant. But there was nothing we could do because we had speakers and we had already spent money and so on and people had come. So we decided to go ahead with it by quickly trying to organize an alternative site”, Dr Gomez remarked.
The forum was postponed to a later timing of 4pm (from the original 2pm) and was relocated to Public House on 42 Circular Road.
“We did lose quite a lot of people”, Dr Gomez disclosed, “I think we had about 85 people and I think we lost about 30 people easily. Easily! And I’m disappointed, actually.”
It seems that the SHRI incident was so harrowing that Ms Mu Sochua, in her 25 minute segment, said that she would “rather fight for democracy in Cambodia than be treated the way we were treated earlier.” It is curious to note that Ms Sochua made this statement after showing a clip of the severity of the fight for democracy in Cambodia, where policemen were hitting Ms Sochua, her comrades and supporters for assembling in the support of the opposition.
Grace, a participant at the forum, also commented that the situation at The Verge was a disadvantageous one as many other participants who initially wanted to attend the forum left as they were frustrated by the hassle of shifting to another location. She added that she does not understand why the booking was cancelled at such a last minute.
In a later statement, Mr David Ang, executive director of SHRI, said that Mr Martyn See, executive secretary of SFD, did not specify the nature of the forum on his application and that he (Mr Ang) only came to know of the subject of the forum when he chanced upon a webpage advertising the event a few days earlier. He elaborated that SHRI’s constitution does not allow it to facilitate ‘events of a political nature’.
“They said it is a political talk. So what? It is not illegal. So, what’s going on?” questioned Dr Gomez.
Mr Martyn See further clarified that he did not state the title of the talk on the application form, as SFD had not decided on a title at the time, and that SHRI received their application without the intent stated. SFD did receive an official receipt upon payment to confirm their booking, confirms Mr See, and a refund has now been offered by Mr Ang.
While the question of why political talks are disallowed by a private organization begs to be asked, it is more important to question the outright absurdity of the inconsistencies in SHRI’s administrative processes. It is certainly ludicrous that SHRI received payment, issued a receipt and so confirmed the booking, despite the forms being improperly filled. If events with political tones are banned from their premises, would they not, first and foremost, try to establish which category a proposed event fell into, before giving them the green signal?
Mr See, when contacted by TOC, added that he had previously organized a forum on the Marxist conspiracy arrests, ‘Operation Spectrum’, which was to have been held at the Bestway Building Auditorium, but the venue withdrew a week before the event’s date, citing a visit from the CID and pressure from police investigations as their reasons. The forum was shifted to The Quality Hotel at a later date.
“But anyway, we couldn’t wait and deliberate on it, we needed to move quickly as it was an operational matter.” Dr Gomez opined, in regards to Saturday’s forum.
Nevertheless, Dr Gomez said that regardless of the crippling circumstances the SFD faced, he felt that they made the most out of it and added that he deemed the event a success based on the robust discussion that the forum evoked. He mentioned that the SFD is looking into holding similar talks in the near future as well.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

David Ang is a well-known PAP bootlicker. Go see all the ST articles he has been quoted in
Self imposition to escape the ISA or some draconian punishment is the name of the game. The ISA can be applied to anybody. Anyone who does not tow the line is a threat and can be detained without trial for as long as the PAP govt thinks you remain a “threat”.
This country is very sick, seriously in danger of dying from cancer or some deadly diseases, if nothing is done to stop dictatorial rule. There can be no progress if private enterprises start to display such fear. Oh, when will we ever learn? Where have all the good politicians gone that we should allow a bunch of nincompoops to manage and ruin our lives and our beloved country?
This incident is an embarrassment and a disgrace. Truly sorry for the participants.
Could the same thing that happened at the Bestway Building Auditorium also happened at the SHRI training room? A visit from the CID and pressure from investigations by the men in blue probably made DA shit in his pants and decided on the last minute cancellation. This is a clear indication that political harassment is carried out to thwart the growth of democracy. The men in blue are slaves of the MIW.
Gaddafi and Mubarak have killed their own people and both will receive justice for their crimes against their own people. LKY have imprisoned his own people. Will he get his punishment. That depends on our tolerance.
“Mr See had not stated the subject matter of the forum in his application form. The Institute’s constitution states that it is not allowed to hold events of a political nature.” – David Ang, Executive Director, Singapore Human Resources Institute (SHRI)
–
Why don’t you sue them. The terms and conditions of the room rental did not state explicitly that political events are not allowed. I also cannot find their constitution on their website.
now,what exactly is ‘political’ and what is non-politcal in SHRI’s executive director’s definition?
so,speaking openly in public iin suppot of the govt’s FT POLICY is not ‘politcal’,is it?
how mnay times had this guy spoekn in favour of FTs at the expense of countless ordinary singaporeans and he considers this to be non-political?
surely,political or not does not depend on whom we are siding with?
this guy n his outfit ,SHRI,is clealry ‘politcal’ in all sens eof the word.
Actions like these will only generate even greater attention and resentment
as well as accelerate their decline
rather than stem the rising tide.
By all means take speakers and participants to task if they are treasonous or inciting violence . In this case they are shooting themselves in both feet.
F the building owner and building management of the Verge.
Lets support by NOT going and shopping at this shopping centre. Its at Little India.
This is the perfect example why they is no check and balance. If people are so intimidated to the position that they do not want to host such a simple event, does the population believe that anyone will take action if three are some wrong doing by the ruling party. Will anyone dare question any misdeeds ay Temasek, GIC or any other GLCs. We have seen the fiasco at the TC and in the end nothing happened. I guess we will only see the actual truth when another party comes to power.
Go ahead, it will only make the people hate the pap more. They will feel the impact come 2016, and this time people will vote with vengence .
SHRI is right to reject the event, which is political in nature. This is only the start, and will turn out into illegal assembly & disturbance of public peace. If the forum had taken place, we may have to call in the ISD to monitor the situation, and ensure no trouble takes place.
Was there a recording of the proceedings of the forum? Can TOC provide a link?
“Mr Martyn See… did not state the title of the talk on the application form…”
“Dr James Gomez… had received an email from SHRI the day before, but they (SFD) decided to go ahead with the original venue”
““But anyway, we couldn’t wait and deliberate on it, we needed to move quickly as it was an operational matter.” Dr Gomez opined…”
Obviously trying to create trouble and make a scene to further their own political ends.
James Gomez’s own statements contradict himself: if they were so sincere about wanting the event to go on, they should have looked for an alternative venue as soon as they received the email instead of making everyone go down there.
Disagreeing with what LKY says can land you into big trouble. History has ample proof. From Lim Chin Siong, Devan Nair, to Francis Seow, they were all used and abused when they disagreed with him. To do what that man did to these three, he not only had the draconian laws behind him but the whole public institution. That it the ultimate abuse and people here know that and they do not want to be even remotely associated with anyone who disagrees with the demon.
@Godwin
And why not? I am glad a scene has been made. As much mileage as possible should be made of the situation so that people are aware that high handedness is still very much the order of the day.
WL,
Well, it smacks of hypocrisy to complain that the speakers and audience were inconvenienced by the venue owners when they had fore-knowledge that they may not be allowed to use the venue.
If they were sincere in holding the forum for its own sake and concerned about the welfare of the speakers and audience, they would have looked for an alternative venue earlier, and separately took the issue up with SHRI later, maybe on TOC, TRE, ST Forum, whatever.
Fact is they wasted everyone’s time to make their point when that could have been avoided. James Gomez and wayang… why am I not surprised?
Or let me put it this way:
If you went for the forum, found that the venue was not not available, and had to wait 2 hours and travel to an alternative venue… and then you find out that the organisers already knew that would be the case – how will you feel? Cheated? Exploited?
@Michael Lim Peng Liang
Every netizen is right to reject the you, which is immoral and perverted in nature. This is only the start, and will turn out into illegal behavior such as sexual harassment and even serial assault such as rape and murder which are definitely of disturbance of public peace. If you are allowed to roam around in this place, we may have to call in the ISD and the CID to monitor YOU.. and ensure no trouble takes place.
Unspoken fear of PAP. This speaks volume and reflects badly on them.
We are in a first world STONE AGE.
…. you might find it easier to obtain a venue from PA, NLB, SICC & etc. As for Ms. Sochua, good for her, because the fight was never hers to begin with right? Mr. Gomez, shaming might work on like-minded locals but it has never worked on me period.
The absurdity of it is that this mafia state is well received by the International Community. The Government has two faces, one benign face for the world the other dark face for the citizenry. The PAP has all the institutions and machinery to cut you down,you population of daft people. Fifty years has castrated a whole population. My fellow castrated citizens we deserve this insult which is the consequence of our cowardice over 50 years of insolence.
@DP
There’s so much truth in what you’ve written.
The Big Bully at work! IF the ISA was used in this incidence to terrorize the venue owners into cancelling the event, then there was a major abuse of power. Pappies have their tentacles in every institution and department to oppress the people. Cancer spread from ISA.
The PAP has commandeered State Institutions as organs of its propaganda, thus illegally using taxpayers money to fund its party programs. These transformed State Institutions are formidable apparatus of coercion going even against Human Rights norms, like incarceration without trial, destruction by Judges in Court etc. To my mind the first order of business is to break up these organs of the PAP which now spread like the tentacles of a carbuncle over the Nation, in the form of the Town Council, PA,ISD, AG, Judiciary, Think Tanks, news media, blue eyed law firms etc.
I urge Singaporeans who have ideas to suggest how to go about ridding ourselves of this veritable cancer erupting not just over Aljunied but the whole of this island nation. I urge the WP in particular to do something about this while they are in Parliament.
It is only with the subjection of this prolific growth of malignancy that multiparty politics can appear, survive and endure in Singapore. Otherwise healthy cells are not able to form tissues, only the virulent cancer cells will pop out in each and every organelle, even SHRI.
In a restaurant, there are different staff that perform different duties. In Dang’s case, he is an order-taker.
There you are, the ISA has to be retained to threaten such political forums or gatherings by the Opposition.
Shit, still talk so nicely about need to contain terrorism, all lies.
SFD is in the wrong this time. They are aware that the venue is canceled on Friday. But they decided to go ahead, but were denied entrance.
Now they (SFD) made a big fuss out of it. I think SFD is trying to get attention.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_716240.html
Mr See, 42, said the institute’s management had cancelled his venue booking at the last minute. He received an email from SHRI on Friday afternoon saying that his booking was cancelled ‘due to unforeseen circumstances’. This was despite him making his booking three weeks ago and paying the fee of around $600 in full, he said.
Godwin,
Same sentiments.
They are aware that the venue has been canceled.
But they chose to act blur but pressed on.
Perhaps James Gomez may argue that Straitstimes reporter is lying. He said that in 2006 when he was a Worker’s Party candidate.
————-
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_716240.html
Forum on human rights runs into problems with venue mgmt
By Andrea Ong
A forum on human rights and democracy organised by the Singaporeans for Democracy (SFD) political association ran into some problems on Saturday afternoon.
The forum was to have taken place at 2pm at a Singapore Human Resources Institute (SHRI) training room at The Verge shopping mall, but a dispute arose between the event organiser, SFD executive secretary and film-maker Martyn See, and the SHRI management.
Mr See, 42, said the institute’s management had cancelled his venue booking at the last minute. He received an email from SHRI on Friday afternoon saying that his booking was cancelled ‘due to unforeseen circumstances’. This was despite him making his booking three weeks ago and paying the fee of around $600 in full, he said.
However, SHRI executive director David Ang, 64, said Mr See had not stated the subject matter of the forum in his application form. The institute’s constitution states that it is not allowed to hold events of a political nature, he added. Mr Ang said he only found out about the subject of the forum, titled ‘Lee Kuan Yew: liberal democracy will do us in. Will it?’, when he visited a web page advertising the event two or three days ago.
Just to add on,
I believe SFD should not have pressed on when they realize the venue was canceled. The fault lies with them: a) for not declaring the intent of the event b) they are aware that the venue was canceled, but pressed on c) TOC now make a big fuss over this issue
If you are aware that the venue was not available a day before hand, why press on and make a big fuss now?
It doesn’t make any sense at all. I’m sorry. I am not able to side with SFD this time!
This is precisely the kind of unfairness that pisses off many S’poreans against the PAP.
Why is PAP so afraid of a private talk??? One shouldn’t be afraid of the dark if one has done nothing wrong!!
If David Ang wants to bootlick PAP, he could have done so in a more classy manner.
Andrew K,
You are missing the forest for the tree.
We can be sure that David Ang of SHRI would have laid the red carpet had it been PAP who applied to hold a big political event !!!!!
Crap,
You can be sure? How can you assume?
Let’s look at the facts here shall we? I have raised the facts, and voiced my opinion on facts.
If SFD thinks it has been wronged, why don’t they sue SHRI? Or perhaps SFD has soemthing to hide and afraid the ISD is coming after them?
This is precisely the type of bully boy tactics the PAP uses through the CID and ISD that most young Singapore abhor and find medieval.
Even the Brotherhood dont do this anymore. They used to treat us all like cattle and sardines. One day we just refused to pay their subscription and some of us told them, we have had enough of their bullying. But I have to admit, they were wise. Their leaders asked many questions and after hearing us out, they said, ok now you run the whole universe. After some of us tried and failed. We had to beg them to come back. But even then, when they grudgingly returned, they were completely differently better in the way they treated us all. I hope the PAP learns from this casestudy.
Sg gonmin is voted by the people.
Its the citizens who chose pap.
@ Godwin
you’re so right man!
i was at the mall last sat and heard some sort of commotion going on so i went to kaypo kaypo and realised that an “event” was cancelled and loads of people were kicking a fuss there.
asking around then i realised that the event organizers were already informed that the venue is not available for the “event”… how sfd dint even bother to inform those who have already rsvp-ed for the event?? so inconsiderate sia….
from what i know the venue was booked by a person call martin see for a private event. he told the venue people that he is a facilitator wor… then how come sfd and the press and so many people turned up on sat if it is private?? then they make so much noise now all over the forum claiming that sfd is the organizer… wakao…
i understand longing of people to have alternate voices in the gar-men but let’s be careful if the alternate voices are from these jokers who are only interested in their own “rights” — not consideration for others and are only interested to create publicity for themselves through the inconveniences of other people….
hey jewel (the person who wrote this article)!!
pls lah… get your facts right before you publish anything…
the sign did not state “LKY: liberal democracy will do us in. Will it?” has been cancelled loh… if you go to the SDP website, you will see the actual notice that was placed there at the verge on sat… (http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/4972-breaking-news-forum-cancelled-participants-locked-out)
even the title of this article is dubious! where is the inconsistencies?
dear online citizen, perhaps you need to get somebody who will report on facts and not sensationalize the reports to make your website more trust-worthy??
What is happening?
Every organization has a right to make ammendments based on circumstances. The person taking decisons on behalf of organization should not be targeted with absurd language. If the event was private, let the grevieances on both sides be discussed in private. Why drag it to public domains?
“The organizing team, who had arrived at their pre-booked venue to set-up, found security guards, a sign from the management saying ‘LKY: liberal democracy will do us in. Will it? at training room 9, Level 6 has been cancelled’ and glass panel doors at the sixth floor awaiting them”.
Yo reporter,
GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT!The notice at the venue merely said “EVENT AT TRAINING ROOM 9 IS CANCELLED”. Where mention event details, Alamak!
How the PAP is able to hold their own rallies at public institutions can only make the old fart really stink like shit. The more they behave like that, the more hateful PAP becomes.
And the minute when the old man finally kicks the bucket, I’m sure a lot of Singaporeans will be celebrating that special moment ! What a joke.
you fellows deserve it
what damn business has tian chua from malaysia got to tell us about how we run the country.
its none of his damn business whether the ISA stays or gets revoked in singapore
he should go and settle the loads of corruption amongst malaysian politicians including ones from the opposition and stop bringing down his own country with the likes of the Bersih protests. every protest held ina country is a bad omen for investments into the country. doesnt Tian chua and his cronies in the malaysian opposition know that and look who is coming here to teach us how to run the country.
Serves SFD right for the cancellation and a lesson learnt for SHRI and david ang to check all credentials before leasing out their facilities
All the Singapore talents have been bought by the PAP ruling party into the civil service I believe! That is where all the Singapore brightest and brilliant citizens are! Fat pay and elite treatment perhaps have soften their life’s desire and aspirations! It is a sad day for Singapore!
No fear they are coming out one by one as we can see in the last GR2011! There will be more comes GE2016! Thank you guys!!
[quote] but the venue withdrew a week before the event’s date, citing a visit from the CID and pressure from police investigations as their reasons.{end quote]
If what Martyn See claimed is true, then he should write to the Political Section of the U.S. Embassy in Singapore, with a copy to Human Rights Watch and Amnesty International. His feedback will be reflected in the annual reports of the aforementioned agencies.
I have done it myself, when I was the subject of an injustice many years ago.
@usha sitaram
Why?? Posted comment as Michael Lim Peng Liang, kenna jammed by me so now change name again?? Pathetic coward..
si-mi dai chi, glad you agree. :)
Two wrongs don’t make a right: SHRI may have been wrong first, but SFD’s actions, reported here by a sympathetic “journalist”, smells of bad faith to begin with, and it’s pretty obvious James Gomez exploited everyone for cheap shot at gahment by committing the second wrong.
These left wing people are in fact making things worse for oppo in Singapore… Also funny to see how TOC always champion wrong guy – choose poster-boy always choose guy with big holes in story one… *sigh*
So typical of James Gomez and Martyn See…they know that it was not in line with the rental policy of SHRI and yet, decide to rent the place for political sessions (and intentionally hide their true agenda), and when exposed, go about cry father cry mother, and then conveniently blame on the system and discrimination.
Enough of such wayangs, James and Martyn, we see through your hidden agenda of trying to stir sh!t and play victims when you purportedly go against clear rules (just like what Chee Soon Juan had made a fine art out of).
If SHRI does not rent their premises to PAP, why should they rent it to you…isn’t their policy clear and transparent?
Stop your despicable acts, will you? We will not be deceived by such sh!t performance from both of you and SFD!
Sue SHRI if both james Gomez and Martyn See have the guts…if not, stop playing victim out of your own acts and doings!
stooges, puppets, croynies,in place,
you want to talk about politics ?
the subject heading tells it all, isn’t it, yet they are OUT to SCREW YOU in the last minute, still don’t get it ??????
locals are a daft lot,
borders on “stupid”
James Gomez & the SFD have lost all credibility in this process. He had better watch himself as he seems only interetsed in causing unrest, or don’t blame the ISD for coming down hard on him.