by Howard Lee/
As a parent of two, I get fairly irritated when I hear comments about schools trying to teach students any thing remotely related to character and values.
I have always believed that the values of my children, for better or worse, are my responsibilities. All I ask is, when they reach school-going age, that schools give me some of their time so that I can impart these to them.
Which is why articles like “What do you do when friends tease a foreign worker?” really rattled a wrong nerve.
The article reports on a hypothetical situation proposed by Dr Michael Goh from the University of Minnesota, who will be speaking at the Character and Citizenship Education Conference organised by the Ministry of Education and the National Institute of Education, which aims to “cultivate students to become active and concerned citizens”.
Dr Goh seems to be under the impression that teasing foreign workers disrespectfully constitute the daily conversations of our students and reflects their “cultural intelligence”. Evidently, the online comments made by readers are already calling into question the validity of the assumption, even hypothetically, since our students do not deride foreign workers on sight. Regardless, reporter Ng Jing Yng deemed it valid and important enough to focus the entire article on arguing this one point.
Personally, I have nothing against stamping out bigotry. In fact, I support it completely. The question to ask, however, exactly how big is the problem of our students discriminating against foreign workers? Does MOE have the statistics to show that our students hold ingrained biases against foreign workers?
What happened to the age-old moral education syllabus for racial harmony? Did we forget the conversation that happened not so long ago between Lee Kuan Yew and Chan Chun Sing, debating whether our potential social fracture is between religious groups, or between the religious and non-religious?
In fact, why stop at just nationality and religion? There are a whole bunch of discriminatory views that we need to tackle. Race? Men vs women? Heterosexuals vs homosexuals? Young vs old? Fat vs skinny?
How about the diverse positions that we often find in, say, online discussions and blogs? Shouldn’t we start similar Citizenship Education Conference that encourage greater acceptance of these differences as well?
The article, and by extension the Conference agenda, failed to cover any of these aspects that, by all counts, hold more relevance to reality. What it did not fail to explain was the justification for it: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s point about how foreign students in the local university cohort would prepare Singaporean students for the global workplace.
It was also evident to either Dr Goh or Ng that “the tone has to be first set by the Government taking the lead in these discussions, so that institutions like schools can follow suit”.
The root of it lies in the ruling party’s desire to make our immigration policies more acceptable to the population. It was political agenda setting, as it has always been done during the days of moral education in schools.
Why the younger generation? Those likely to attend this Conference would not likely be eligible to vote come 2016. Herein lies the catch: Dr Goh believes that “if parents themselves are making fun of foreign workers or complaining or being judgemental, then the children easily pick these up.”
Such Character and Citizenship Education Conferences, organised and likely paid for using MOE funds, are not meant to inculcate “cultural intelligence” among students, if that is even a by-product. They are merely attempts to impart such national “values” through the proxy of students.
The population is tired of all this – first, the direct labelling of us as anti-immigration, and when that failed, using such indirect measures to define and educate the transgressors of “social norms”.
For the last time, most Singaporeans are not against foreign workers. We are against the poor definition of what constitutes foreign talent and the proper measurement of how such talent benefit our economy, beyond over-crowding our already congested national infrastructure.
Our political leaders seemed to have missed learning that point completely, despite all that has happened leading up to the elections. Instead, they have chosen to continue “engaging” the public by ways of sublime indoctrination.
I say, give it a break, and get some real work done. There are national problems of a burgeoning foreign population to be solved. Imparting tolerance will not make it go away, or make us feel any less resentful about our immigration policies. Answering the question “why do citizens feel this way”, and providing competent solutions to it, will.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

this is the way that the government propagates. Cultivation from young and start to “brainwash” is the most effective way for the government to stay in power and paving the way for a foreign takeover
next, they will teach the kids to be submissive to foreign talents who will be viewed as their master.
this is what we get when we vote them in. 5 more years and hope that every singaporean last till then.
The government’s ultra liberal policy on mass import of cheap foreign labour is highly unpopular. Character and Citizenship Education Conference are poorly disguised attempts to brainwash the younger generation into accepting more and more foreigners.
The government has forgotten the lesson of GE 2011. LKY has admitted that a political divide has taken place. A cultural divide will soon culminate in a national divide as social cohesion is being eroded
The confusion between ethics/ values(unmeasurable principles) and conduct (measurable practices) is common in the syllabi generated by the esteemed Ministry of Education for the longest time. We have long wasted time in talking about conduct (i.e. measurable practices) of our citizens we fail to tell them about the values behind it.
the obsession with digits and measurability has resulted in a system that does not place needed emphasis on a more important immeasurable principles of values. it speaks about ‘TOLERANCE’ because it is measurable (you can count the number of fights that broke out or not), but not RESPECT because it is immeasurable (you can count how you respected a neighbour that is different from you).
As such, the entire syllabus is about social conformity; providing guidelines on behavior that (may) have strong social taboo in society.
Nobody talks about the collectivist society singapore is, and educates the people on the strengths and weaknesses of individualist societies that many western countries have embraced. the mention of this educates singaporean on the values (ethics) which informs conduct(practice).
Instead, shielding Singaporeans from such knowledge glosses over the significance of people to make decisions for the society they want and embrace, and further entrenches the governments’ role as the experts in how lives and societies be constructed, and how people have no knowledge, no power, and no expertise in contributing at all, other than conforming.
and it all starts where the minds are young and nimble.. in the education system.
“Our political leaders seemed to have missed learning that point completely….”
On the contrary, the PAP govt knows that most of the foreigners working here are NOT by any stretch of the imagination, talented……they are just the run of the mill. Some are even 3rd rate trash.
The term “foreign talent” is just a convenient excuse to import massive cheap foreign labour to lower labour costs for the bosses. Ministers have strong vested interest in doing this because their salaries are pegged to these private sector top earners.
///Which is why articles like “What do you do when friends tease a foreign worker?” really rattled a wrong nerve.///
teasing is peanuts compared to leaders who talk down their own citizens.
///Such Character and Citizenship Education Conferences, organised and likely paid for using MOE funds, are not meant to inculcate “cultural intelligence” among students, if that is even a by-product. They are merely attempts to impart such national “values” through the proxy of students.///
It may be another cycle of propaganda to mould young minds in the name of character development.
All this while our newspapers are pretending to chide us for being anti-immigration, and they are the ones stoking the flames of xenophobia by repeatedly accusing us of being xenophobic.
3G polticians are not leaders. They does not know how to govern a country.
They only care & think themselves as a Bankers, and how to reduce the saving of the ordinary folks and increase their own fat pockets.
In their mind, “GREED is GOOD”, just like how they copy the screwed-up policy from USA.
Partly agree.
Teaching values are parent’s responsibility, but it does not preclude schools from adding value. Both can help in developing core values for kids.
At the same time asking questions like ?What will you do if colleague’s tease a foreign worker” are not the correct way. Teach them the positive things, not how to react to negativity. It will probably be more counterproductive.
If parents are against FT, then they must make it clear that the point of issue is against immigration/governance and not against him as a person. Differentiating policy from racism is crucial in these cases. The moral responsibility for this lies with the parents & how the child watchs and learns from them.
The article seems more about perceived view on Singaporeans rather than about students.
Imparting good values to kids is the responsibility of parents. However, its not the sole responsibility.
All parts of society from neighbours, teachers, people over the counter, taxi/bus drivers etc all affect how people act.
Having schools teach about values doesn’t abrogate the role of parents which should still continue.
The reality is parents aren’t with their kids 24/7. Kids are in school for a substantial part of their life and parents aren’t with them during that time. Makes sense really.
Since the gahmen are so concerned about our thoughts/views on FTs, why don’t they consider our thoughts/views on the current government – their high-handedness, failed attempts to “connect” to the ground, incompetencies (exemplified in TPL), pretense, etc.?
lol … Dr M Goh happens to be singing a song that is in timing with the beat of the papas’ own tune, so got invited to sing on a SG stage. The papas so desperate meh? Any singer, any song also can as long as its in the right beat!!!
The ideology of the papas for a long time now has been that the only way is my way – a famous Frank Sinatra song!! Even if they corked up some policies & messed up sgreans lives, they won’t admit it & will seek all ways to justify it. The Today article is so spurious, it sounded like a lame excuse to kick start a propagand to “impart values” to our young. How naive do the people in MSM think we are? … so insulting!!
I will resist any attempts by any schools, principals & teachers who will be a part of this scam & would urge parents to take responsibilities for their own children’s moral and value education like Howard advocated here.
As for the papas, you are missing the mamas in your group lah. Your singing really sucks!!
This could be another smoke screen for MIW to brain wash our young and impressionable students to MIW party values.
It happens before right, whereby their Supreme Leader does the same thing? Let me find the correct word – ahhh… propaganda!
I almost fell out of my chair when I heard that MOE has developed a character development toolkit. However upon reading further I understand the programme would be called Character and Citizenship Education. We all know what citizenship development means in the official lingo. Actually this development got me thinking that we need a character development toolkit for our MPs and Ministers. Just like the students of North View were denied the use of their eyes and hands to understand the plight of the blind and handicapped person. All MPs and Ministers must be forced to survive on &750 a month and asked to work as cleaner in a coffeeshop or foodcourt for a month to understand the plight of the old and poor in Singapore. If only Vivian had only $300 per month, he would really understand that even eating in the hawker centre would be unaffordable. Perhaps TOC can develop this tooldkit for elected MPs and Ministers
Tony Tan is the best person to teach our kids moral education in school. After all, he can still get to be President despite everyone (Govt leaders and public) knowing that he lied about his sons’ 12-year deferment and National Service preferential treatment.
CCE is just a comical joke to spice up school-life for the kids…..thank you, Uncle Tony Tan for the most value lesson in life. Tell lies and more lies.
In the future, will tell my kid to sleep through this crappy subject to catch the important vitamin Z instead.
When an Education Minister who doesn’t know what new policies to introduce, he rehashed old policies. No one can ever fault him because how can ‘values’ be criticized at all? I am worried that the PAP Minister will attempt to influence the minds of students so that they will be more amicable towards the PAP next time. After all, it is “character and citizenship education”.
In read the Chinese newspaper Zaobao and all the proposed values are same as the 6 National Education messages. None of them is about making our students more independent and nothing is about imparting democratic principles and values. I dislike them more when they all look remotely like Confucius ethics, which is really corrupt in its core. Remember, Confucius was not supporter of democracy. All he proposed was to make the Emperor having absolute power.
I agree that value teaching should not be taught in the school. It is for the students themselves to explore. We don’t need students who behave in a “good” way but know nothing about why they are doing it. Teaching values in school only gives the government a loophole to abuse the system to send propaganda.
My suggestion: leave it to the students to explore for themselves the right values. Maybe one day(and very likely), we will be abhorred at our own values held nowadays. If we force the students to accept the status quo’s value system, then we are committing a moral crime.
Dun agree with writer it’s the parents sole responsibility to impart values to the young.
The teachers, grandparents, relatives have to play a part too.
But we suspect the motives behind MOE’s real agenda. It’s their strategy to mold the young mind to propaganda for their own use, and it’s more effective to start from young. They are taking up the cue from communist countries like China and North Korea. Their hope to cling on to power lies in the young.
Yes, this subject will be beneficial for the kids. This topic or something similar seems to be on radio recently, and one call-in person said that he does not have the time to innoculate values to his kid , so the schools are in a better position to do it. as said by him.
“What do you do when your friends start teasing a foreign workers”
Firstly, this is intended for kids, and foreign workers are adults.Kids don’t mess with adult men. I see this as a probelm with the maids. Once, I saw a boy play punching and kicking a maid, like what he would do to his friends. He is playing only but quite rough,Its an awkard situation, that is like bullying. That will be more relevant. Very few kids make fun of adult foreign men in their face, unless they are prepared for a confrontation.
We have a responsibility to teach our young ones on how to be a good citizen.
Hopefully the online community can do the job instead of the government.
We should teach our young to grow up and vote against any condescending political party that want to displace Singaporean with foreigners. This is necessary in order to protect their future.
The young should also know that we must protect weak political parties against the high handed political party who use the association of people to bully their adversary.
Hopefully in five years time they are in the age to cast votes to find the best government to lead them.
Every young must be taught that their future depend on the survival of true democracy in Singapore.
what the students do not know is while they play with their (oh so cool! you’re from) myanmar, filipino, india, vietnam, china friends, the time comes when these friends move on to higher education whilst they are whisked away on a three-tonner to draw stores.
and this is just the beginning of their journey of discrimination by being Singapore Citizens.
when their friends find mates and form family nuclei to buy HDB resale flats even though they are not Singaporeans, our little children who have been signing extra are delayed in development and watch as the housing prices get artificially manipulated upwards.
by the time they finally get to pick from the leftover girls in the market, they may have hit the income ceiling because of the lip-service 2 year increment to compensate for their doing-time in a (not-prison) camp.
so i’ll forgive them if they make fun of a foreigner or two, because the root of the problem does not lie in the making fun, nor the foreigner, because every country has foreigners to face. the root of the problem lies in their parents introducing this Government to run their lives.
i’m sorry, my child.
What happens if a group of religious followers have strong believes in their religion such that they instill extremist values in their children? How can they integrate in a multi racial society with fellow citizens who also have their own strong believes Different or even opposed to the other religions?
Eg. A instill believe in his children that if you do not this or that you go to somewhere painful ? Would his children grow up to spread the same? Would his children regard other religious followers or atheists as outcasts or bad or wrong if their believe is really firm?
We are only human, not saint. Tell me can strong religious believes be DIVISIVE in a multi racial society?
If less open minded people become too religious, what is possible?
My children attended the PAP-run kindergarten and the MOE national schools. The PAP government has been trying to brainwash them since day one but why are they still anti-PAP? Because I discuss politics with them and ask them not to take things at face value but to gather information from varied sources.
Author : “I have always believed that the values of my children, for better or worse, are my responsibilities. ”
–
I beg to ask, given some are rich by earning money dishonestly , like u ask them a question they twist n turn n never honestly answer you despite being paid a king’s ransom, make claims that no one can check, cheat n lie to you. What Values must these inculcate in their children?
How to LIE?
How to be a white collar criminal?
Perhaps our national pledge can serve as a basis to teach our young “values”.
“To build a democratic society based on justice and equality…”
Inculcate in our young a stronger sense of social justice, a questioning, thinking mind. For example questions like “Why is Singapore’s GINI index at 48, comparable with some 3rd world African countries?” An index of 48 means about 25% of the people own about 75% of the country’s wealth? Why is the nation’s income distribution so skewed as the top 20% makes 9.7 times the bottom 20%?
Are the citizens treated fairly and equally?
“So as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.”
Yes prosperity is important. Why is it that ‘happiness’ is not included as an important consideration in many of the nation’s priorities? Isn’t happiness an important value?
Progress? Well a nation cannot progress if it doesn’t take care of its poor and weak. What many Singaporeans are seeing is the income gap is growing and that the rich are getting richer.
What do you guys expect? PAP to take the online bashing without reiterating? They must have been aware of the negative sentiments among the younger ones on their FB pages during the GE. I’ll bet this is just part of a two-pronged strategy with the other giving out citizenships to any foreigners.
Here is why.
Since I was at the conference, there are some issues I want to highlight.
1. This was a conference meant for educators and teachers, not students, although a few (very few) students turned up as well.
So this statement is not true:
“Those likely to attend this Conference would not likely be eligible to vote come 2016.”
It wasn’t a conference meant to brainwash the students. And if you had heard comments made by teachers, they too are aware of the brain-washing issue.
2. This statement is also untrue:
“Dr Goh seems to be under the impression that teasing foreign workers disrespectfully constitute the daily conversations of our students and reflects their “cultural intelligence”.
Dr Goh simply did not speak about this in this way at the conference. Out of all aspects of character & citizenship education, Dr Goh was asked to speak about cultural intelligence (CQ). His examples were mostly from the business world, and how such CQ is important there.
Perhaps it was only in the interview where he talked about the foreign worker case in relation to students. He DID NOT do that at the conference and mentioned it in passing only to state cultural assumptions and prejudices.
Specifically, he said that he heard some people (not students) assume that a cyclist who didn’t give way to them was “from China”.
It was probably due to questioning from the journalist about the relevance to classroom teaching that the speaker just gave his example off the cuff. One cannot conclude from that that “Dr Goh seems to be under the impression that teasing foreign workers disrespectfully constitute the daily conversations of our students”.
3. But this is true:
“reporter Ng Jing Yng deemed it valid and important enough to focus the entire article on arguing this one point.”
If there were other points that the speaker brought up, it wasn’t reflected in the article. And the talk itself was more wide-ranging than what the article suggests.
I support most everything else TOC does. Whole-heartedly. This article, unfortunately, is not based on what actually happened at the conference, nor does it accurately represent what Michael Goh was trying to say.
I understand that Howard Lee’s comments were based on the Today article, which happened before the conference. If anything, blame the MSM journalist for hearing what he/she wanted to hear and writing to serve his/her political masters.
But putting the speaker on the same page as the journalist would not be fair, based on the evidence of both the article and the speaker’s intent at the conference.
4. I do agree that initial comments in the press by various govt officials on character and leardship education (CCE) sounds like a brain-washing exercise.
But the actual CCE is much more wide-ranging, including service learning, etc. This breadth was reflected in the conference.
Hence, this statement is also untrue:
“The article, and by extension the Conference agenda, failed to cover any of these aspects that, by all counts, hold more relevance to reality.”
On the contrary, there were sessions where teachers asked about debating controversial issues, and this is an area that all keynote speakers agreed should be explored in more depth, and openly debated.
Again, if Howard Lee had been at the conference, he would understand the work the teachers and other educators are trying to do, rather than suggesting that they are all puppets of the PAP.
The only puppets in Singapore are paid waaaay more than our humble, hard-working teachers, who are mostly aware of the national issues.
As a parent, I feel our education system always become worser whenever there is a change of our Minister of Education. MOE tried to cram too many initiatives at the school level, eg.CIP, NE, etc. What now with Character and Citizenship Education. The school should focus its primary task of getting the teachers to teach the pupils well in all subjects so that the parents have time to teach the children the right values at home instead of sending their children during the out-of- the-school hours to countless tuition classes. Any way the Character and Citizenship Education programme is implemented to “brainwash” the children at a tender age so that they will vote for PAP during election. Values cannot be taught in class, values are imbibed from watching how adults act and behave on a daily basis. Important public figures especially our political leaders are important role models. One cannot expect our children to grow up with good values if they see our leaders do not do as they preach.
Brilliant piece to justify bigotry.
> The question to ask, however, exactly how big is the problem of our students discriminating against foreign workers?
We know that the opposition thrives on the anti-foreigner sentiments, so this “problem” is as real as it can get. So, some kids are afraid to tease foreigners in public, while on the Internet, they freely write derogatory remarks that go as far as referring to foreginers as “cancerous”.
We don’t specifically need “cultural intelligence” training, we need self awareness of our moral identity and responsibility for the things we write/say, even under anonymity. Everything reflects on our intellect and progressiveness as a person and a society. The complaints that the educational system and social culture are overly academic and economic result oriented are completely true. Nowadays, people have no qualms about giving up their good name to pursue political or personal gains.
“Nowadays, people have no qualms about giving up their good name to pursue political or personal gains.”
Not unlike the PAP?
the top students in my class were all very snobbish.
even the teachers sided with them and called the poorer students ‘names’.
how can our schools help to build good character in our students when the teachers encouraged elitists cult behaviour.
the ranking of schools is even worse.
it put undue pressures on our principals and the principlas put pressures on our teachers who put pressures on us,especially the poorer students.
many times i felt like dropping out of school but my good friend kept advising me to stay on.
that was many eyars ago.
now i completed my poly and i hope to go to uni.
my classmates who were top students are boastful and hurt me and my classmates.
they only sucked up to the rich classmates even though the rcih ones could not study well also.
meritocracy in schools is building bad character in out top students who later become out top scholars who become our self-serving ministers.
so,what so good about ranking schools and all that?
which minister got good character ,huh?
they all greedy for more money only.
what our kids lack in school curricula these days is MORAL N RELIGIOUS studies.
there is simply too much emphasis on ACADEMIC RESULTS that teachers have have no time or are simply nonchalant about imparting good values to mould good character in our students.
we can see how selfish n self-centred many of our school-kids are.
a school should not just be a place to attain knwoledge; more importantly,a school should be a palce to acquire WISDOM thta will last a life-time.
such attempt is but naive…
i) This initiative will give even more work for the over-burdened teachers in our educational system.
ii) The initiative will be pointless as PARENTS will UNDO all the brainwashing done.
Pappies should stop wasting time with all this wayang.
They aka MIW start by brainwashing your kids from young….
Books used as school textbooks are all distorted with material historical facts about the founding of Singapore edited to suit the personal agenda and LKY.
The lies told in all these school textbooks need to be put right in order not to cause more lies and lack of morality and ethics in our young.
For example, the founding of modern Singapore is not the works of solely one person or one party. It is the collective works of David Marshal, Lim Chin Seong (wrongfully accused as a communist as can be verified from the de-classified British documents) and many more who are politically eliminated or sidelined.
Until this is done, Minister Heng Swee Keat has no moral or factual authority to talk about creating and inculcating values in schools.
Send our PM and Ministers to the schools to teach Moral Education…..and they can then hear our kids laughing into their face. Hypocrites
Talking about how to better engage foreigners through moral education is really meaningless, when there is no leadership by example.
The least I expect is to see high paying ministers who don’t perform, being weeded off before term ends, not rotated to another ministry. We have many overdue cases among policy makers now.
This is the reason we get a 60/100 (GE vote score) + 35/100 (PE vote score) =
95/200 (FAIL) overall vote score.
Schools should take proactive steps to engage children concerning school bullyings.
Else, LONG LIVE empty talks.
I’m glad that its not easy to pull the wool over S’poreans eyes anymore. Or for that matter clam them up.
Values are not taught. They are caught.Kids watch how parents, teachers, community, government act out their charades and take the cue. They toe the line and act accordingly as long as their grades, scholarships, promotion ,paycheck, ORD or whatever is at stake.
@Robert Teh
Agree with your views.
Contents of our school text were actually praises of our Almighty leader and how he “single-handedly” brought Singapore to where we are now! Through such text, our young were taught how Pappies implemented Great policies to the benefit of the people, etc. If this is not propaganda, i don’t know what to say!!
@Damn
Basically, we can see that as people, we need to believe in honesty. Should we teach our children honesty or righteousness a closely related concept is the best of policy?
More sensible adults already with young children or planning to have children, will leave Sg. More foreigners will not take up citizenship. This place is turning from bad to worse with power crazy people at the top.
Not only schools, SPH also hold forums to encourage parents to make their children read Straits Times. Nobody learns anything all these years. This same old formula for another 50 years, and Sg will really really be over.
Is there a lky number 2 existing in parlimong?
If not, what happens when he is no more,
as in completely no where to be found in the parlimong?
What would happen if mp need to congsult him to make a decision?
I think i know what is gonna happen. But am not at liberty to disclose out of our famous value SelfPreservation.
the only values one could impart is to really live them.
the value i impart is to question people why they think PAP led govt is good, and many people cannot answer why PAP is good, then i say why PAP led govt is far from good.
then i step back & think them room to ponder. & i hope they do ponder, then critical thinking skills are practised. critical thinking skills, i believe is something that is good for people, but largely suppressed.
so go all out & stir the pond! :D
Conferences like these are to encourage teachers to analyse the purpose of such a program and only lead to more (not less) critical thinking by the teachers and subsequently the students. I think the act of exploring sensitive topics in an open manner is hardly a brainwash attempt.
Also, this is a conference for educators, the topic is central to the curriculum, of course it is paid and organised by MOE. Simply discrediting the event based on the source of funding, while disregarding the painstakingly obvious context, just undermines the need to think critically.
Who’s attempting to brainwash who here?
BS, 11 November 2011
top-down approach is not brainwashing?
MOE–> teachers –> students.
why is cultivating active and concerned citizens often linked to racial & cultural differences?
isn’t this gahmen having thoughts about regulating the “cowboy town”? so how does one regulate active & concerned citizens? wun strict regulation undermine critical thinking?
any idea, how do you define “cultural intelligence”?
can S’poreans explore sensitive topic like CPF got how much left, National Reserves, where is the money from sales of gencos, etc, in a safe manner? how come S’pore so rich S’poreans can be so poor?
@BS
Critical thinkers are also likely to be skeptics. With PAP’s track record, critical thinkers are likely very careful you see, they cannot trust PAP really mean what they say or say what they mean.
BS
Didn’t we learn from past experience that it is very dangerous for a country to be run on concepts like leadership, meritocracy, as leaders are at the end likely to become power-crazy always believing they are the leaders and talent thereby taking people for a 46 years’ long ride at the expense of all the people.
Lives of many Singaporeans are being sacrificed for the self-centered ego and glorification of such leaders.
Schools should not become the brainwashing ground of such leaders who should instead be asked to govern the country dutifully and not keep playing with concepts and ideas which give them opportunities for abuse of power.
Mice is might. He says ask them where is our CPF monies, how much losses in all the foreign investments etc.