Update 2: the following is SMRT’s email to TOC. Their statement is in response to Mr Seng Han Thong’s remark about comments made by their PR team.
“Regarding Mr Seng Han Thong’s Facebook post which contains the transcript from his comments made on BlogTV, we wish to clarify that Mr Seng may have misunderstood comments made at our media conference last Friday.
When asked by the media about the lack of information given to passengers and feedback from some that they could not understand the English announcements that were made, SMRT’s Executive Vice President Mr Goh Chee Kong had explained that the company faces a challenge in trying to train its drivers to make announcements, as not all of them are comfortable speaking in English.
At no point did Mr Goh highlight any particular race in his remarks.
Our train officers are encouraged to make announcements as appropriate. However we have provided them with pre-recorded messages to assist them. These are the areas we are working to improve. We are now working to beef up our announcement to include pre-recorded messages in the four official languages, and training for our train officers and staff so they can communicate better with passengers when a situation arises.”
–
SMRT spokesperson
–
Update 1: The following is MP Seng Han Thong’s apology:
Statement of Apology
In my interview with blogtv.sg, I made a regrettable mistake in my language, which may be misconstrued as me saying that people speak bad English because of their ethnicity. I sincerely apologise to all Singaporeans, who have been offended by this error.
Singaporeans of all ethnicities and backgrounds speak varying standards of English. My own Chinese-educated background gives me a special empathy for the non-English-speaking sections of our society. We should all be tolerant of people of different standards of linguistic ability.
The point I was trying to make is that this should not prevent people from trying to communicate, especially in times of emergency.
The remark was made in the context of a larger discussion about how we could better and faster improve the current problems we’re facing with our mass rapid transport system. Let us once again focus our minds and our public discussion on this issue.
–
Editor’s Note:
In his Facebook note (see HERE) MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC Seng Han Thong said, “some of my comments (on BlogTV interview about the SMRT breakdown) were mis-interpreted.”
He posted a partial transcript of the BlogTV programme on his Facebook clarifying that he said, “I notice that the PR mention that, some of the staff, because they are Malay, they are Indian, they can’t converse in English good, well enough, so that also deters them, from but I think we accept broken English.”
–
~by: Sonia Suka~
–
In a BlogTV programme MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC Seng Han Thong admitted that part of the problem with the SMRT breakdowns last week is due to SMRT staffs not being trained in emergency preparedness. He said that because some staffs are “Malay(s), they are Indians, they cannot converse in English good, well enough”. See from 6.12 minutes:
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Don’t think Seng Han Thong is a racist, but just voice concerns from most Chinese in spore, considering the fact the spore Chinese have to bear the fact singing National Anthem in malay. These are just some incompetent monority workers who were hired by incompetent HR manager, and don’t bring this issue up to the level of racism. Bring in those indians and malays who can communicate effectively, including those working as maintanence workers. If they work efficiently and honestly, everyone including the foreigners will respect them. So stop hiding under cover of racism, and start doing something positive.
To me it is more of a Freudian Slip….this is an experienced politician. It was not an accident but more of a deeper seated prejudice that is already there and which came out when he got carried away in the interview.
@Not racist, says the obviously racist person.
Funny you are not aware that our National language is …*gasp* Malay! Yup not English, not Indian and most definitely not Chinese.
Go read history again to find out why that is so.
Maybe when you are more level headed and with enough common sense you’ll realise that our pledge means a lot more than you think.
Regardless of race, language of religion. I suspect you might not be Singaporean…
His tonque gave him away. Not fit to be an MP who has to empathize with at least three racial groups. Shows how the PAP selects their purported ultra special officeholders.
Incompetent HR Manager? Seriously? Does the HR Manager has the authority to insist on a Singapore-only policy? And even if the HR Manager has the authority, can he/she find sufficient number of candidates? Singaporeans are notoriously choosy. The CEO has the clout and she should probably take a tiny percentage of those huge profit SMRT made and pay those drivers $4,000 per month! With that kind of salary, SMRT would have no problem with drivers who are unable to speak English. They may end up speaking Singlish which has already make us the laughing stock of the world but that’s another issue.
@Sad man
Please know your pledge by heart before saying “I suspect you might not be Singaporean…”
It’s, ‘language OR religion’
And another thing Mr Smarty Pants, Indian is not a language, Tamil is a language which some Indians speak. Get your facts right, yeah?
500 over comments.
ST should give credits to ST for their free advertisement.
As usual, SMRT trying cover the mistake of their beloved PAP MPs by saying TOC misquoted their master.
What’s new?
Someone must be slaughter.Obviously not the pigs but the cows and the goats blaming the twos have contiguous virus.Not knowing that it is the pigs who have most.Well we still dont hear any words from the cheif to clear the issue.He left his wounded knight alone without shield.We talk about pledge we talk about national anthem tell the world we are one. That is not the truth. they always think black and brown color makes the dirt.There are still hidden invidious to the minority. @ jowap wake up Indian and Malay
I beg to differ with what not – racist said. Not-racist is in fact racist. He assumes that he represents majority Chinese here. wonder whether he’s a local -born or new citizen? go and read up on singapore’s history and then understand our roots first. not-racist, If you think that minority Workers are incompetent, then who employs them in the first place- the HR manager as what you said , then I guess the HR manager who probably is a non – minority is basically incompetent in his job, so don’t put the blame on the ‘incompetent’ minority workers. So you don’t hide under the cover of racism first. Only fools will believe your sweeping statements and unfair judgments. And do you know who are the ones having problems communicating effectively in spore? Its our beloved FTs, maybe you are one of them too! A pot calling the kettle black.
it’s old fox tactics..
diverting public attention to a few malays and indians’ english..
Politics is full of deceptions. Delusion of being loved by a few politicians is the common enemy for minorities, they want your votes, not.. think abt it, Bahasa is only for us to sing.. and for army boys to do left turn and right turn in the parade square.. loyalty to the ruling party is purchased by Mendaki..
TOC,
Using iphong to view your 500 comments is tough. To post a comment need to scroll from top to bottom.
Suggestion : have 1 button when clicked jump straight to post comment area.
Should be easily achievable.
Opposition should have their MP , singapore’s parliamentarians sworn in by the ep, voted in given mandate by the people, whose role is provide CHECK N BALANCE IN pap, be Director of GLCs like smrt, sia, mediacorcp, sph, temasek holdings n gic.
Of course over someones dead body.
When ah kong will retire?
@holimah
you said they are stupid..
You mean smrt hire those stupid malay and indian staff?
You must be dumb to say that..
everyone is missing the point here, we are being diverted from the real issue of SMRT incompetencies, Mr Seng’s issue is helping Miss Saw’s getting away from the bombardments.
NB : I have yet to meet any singaporean Indian or Malay who cant speak English but I have many Chinese instead who cant pronounce English words and yet we could understand them, therefore there is no issue of any singaporean who are not able to communicate in English good enough for people to understand
@Disappointed Singaporean,
what does it matter if pap is doing it. it if is the hard truth it is the hard truth. a person with BAD english can say it. it is call critical analysis. like i said previously, the brain is wired in such a way that when we need to show examples if is very unlikely to include oneself in that comparison. try it. as for the hard truth. alimah was certainly very quick to lash out at mp seng. is she a PAP mp? or is she just a malay MP? where was she when lky was talking about the hard truth. is there no truth to failure of muslims integrating with others worldwide. 0.6 percent christians in middle east and n. africa is very telling. will she call the malay-muslims wanting to beat up a GAY MALAY for openly marrying a IRISH GAY “RACIST” too. i tell you what. more singaporeans should close rank with MP SENG for the SAKE of SINGAPORE…..QUICK! GO start selling MP SENG T-SHIRTS!
@jowap,
maybe alamah yaaco and the malay community can explain to you why there are only 0.6 percent christians in middle east and n. africa and how immigrants are crying “racism” in europe too.
MP Seng must leave the public office and repent, hes a racial dinosaur from the past, hes nuts,
blaming the junior staff, that’s a flimsy excuse to coverup the top managements ineffienciency.
after 45 yrs of independence we still encounter racial discrimination… somethings wrong somewhere,
n frequently some MPs or public servants talkng c*$# about racial differences n feeling superior than others,
I think the gormen must refine, emphasise n paste the national pledge in every notice board…
u are a nut. never learn ur lesson. Kena punch by taxi driver. kena burnt by oldman. third time u kena bomb hell u go to see mr giam. mr giam dont speak english. he just put u under fire roast pig is ur body.
I really appreciate the malay MPs and minister for voicing out their disappointment with MP SHT on this issue. They are bold and honest – qualities we want to see in our community leaders. In contrast, where are our Indian MPs/ministers? Their silence is deafening. Are they afraid to make a stand, or are they relying on the Malay MPs for a ‘one size fits all’ response?
If the Indian community is disappointed by MP SHT’S remarks, then they should be just as disappointed by the conspicuous disappearance of the Indian MPs.
It’ simple..the failure of the staff is the failure of the supervisor tan the failure of the Manager than failure ogrrf the Operation Manager than failure of the Management Of (SMRT). Do not mension on races/religions. The worst part is don’t even know how to Communicate in solving the problem! All out u go including SHT.
Puthu & vikram are both currently in “Mia”.
Super thick ricebowl more impt !
For someone who graduated from Brunel University, I’m appalled by SHT’s English when I watch the video. And after reading the transcript of the BLOGTv interview… I CATCH NO BALL LAH, Ah Seng… Lu kong simi ah??
It is utterly incomprehensible to know that such a big organisation like SMRT which be running for decades on MRT do not have an emergency evacuation plan in case of breakdown.. Tsk Tsk…
PS – Notice how Chery Fox turn her face away when SHT said, ” They know how to prevent terrorist but even this one, they are not prepared…” SMRT STAFF KNOW HOW TO PREVENT TERRORIST??!!! FUYOHHH
We imbibe our most permanent concepts at our mother’s knee. Who does not remember the mother frightening her child by threatening him with the appearance of a black man, yellow man, devils of all sorts of coloration differnt from the mother’s own coloration. So we all grow up with deep seated phobia and hatreds. It is the mark of growing up and being educated that we unlearn many of these locked ideas.
Some never do unlearn these inaccurate themes sucked in together with the mother’s milk.They become racists or other undesirable characters in society.
A Government is supposed to recruit people who are free of these deep antisocietal propensities. The PAP being the Ruling Party for so long should have the wherewithal to screen such defective characters and not slip them in as leaders in society.I am presupposing that the PAP by and large adhere to the idea that nobody of whatever race or religion should ever be maligned in Singapore.
MP Seng, let slip his innermost being nurtured presumably at his mother’s knee as that of a person intolerant of the varieties of human races when he blurted out that Indians and Malays are somehow lacking in English speech. A check of the MRT staffing can show quickly that this is a fabrication on his part. The Chinese who are not educated in English is more prone to the disability of being non English speaking. How, how shall such a person mediate the myriad problems of people in his constituency who are made up of three distinct races and a half dozen religions.
I have a bad feeling that the superiority of personages in the PAP as being ultra capable is a bad myth. In the space of a few weeks two such babblers, spoilers of the public peace have emerged from the ranks of the PAP. Jason is predicted to be given a tap on the wrist by the police. Nothing more will be said about MP Seng after a few days. The PAP will raise their battle cry, ” Lets move on.”
We have to move on, and on and on, because our lives are threatened by compliant judges and the secret police.
when singaporeans tell ang mors ‘ir-regardless’ , they all scratch their heads.
dam sia suay man.
As an opposition supporter, I am pleased with SHT’s performance on tv.
His engrish is also not good. Yet, he suggests Indian and Malay staff engrish maybe no good.
What an asset to have.
There is hope if he continues to 2016.
saw should also continue in SMRT till 2016.
you guys are silly to ask for her resignation.
singaporeans are ginko deficient.
Imagine, she resigns this year or in 3 months, by 2016, the people would have forgotten as they always have on numerous issues including Mas Salamet.
Halimah’s comments make me think of sth else..
PAP is ruling party. Why only Halimah? Where are those non-malay MPs? Do they agree with Seng’s remarks?
Sth missing.. You mean Malay mp speak for malay, Indian mp speak for indians and Ch mp speak for Chinese or ch affairs..Is this what we call 1st world ruling party?
Wayang lah.
Will be interesting to compare how Workers’ Party Chengsan GRC candidate’s supposed Chinese chauvinist speech (translation below) was seized upon by PAP to how Seng Han Thong is being pilloried today.
http://www.singapore-window.org/tlh0894.htm
So our dear Law Minister had came out to “condemn” Ah Seng’s remarks! Wayang enough not?!
Very interesting, all attention has been diverted to Mr seng Han tong remark which he already claimed that he was just quoting what SMRT staff mentioned…
Dont reat Mr Seng as a smoke screen, the real problem behind is still SMRT, LTA on teh transportation issue…why always increase in SMRT fare, increasing profit while sacrificing other areas, what is the mission of SMRT? is it to provide better service or just profit? Whty LTA allows taxi fare to increase with no control on their fare structure which is confusing? why is LTA not acknowledging TAXI as public transport?
stop hittin MR seng han tong and not to use him as soke screen , if you want to hit, hit the right party that cause the chaos last week…
Aiyah this look-down has been going on for a long long time leh. Where got chance or hope here. Been farted around and screwed good, nicely and proper. So smoothly no pain one. Numb already. Look around and hear and see and sniff and smell. Watch the action. What was expressed and revealed unguardedly was due to that weak cerebral incompetence. And the inability to rein in the loose tongue against surging inner hidden feelings and secrets of the chest during a silly high. Not surprising one bit, revealed in moment of truthful weakness. Going on everyday everywhere what. What to do. What to say. Just swallow only lah. One more fart for you. More farts to
come.
@Sad man,
why? so many here are self-censoring and are quite incapable of facing the truth. ask a malay mp if islam is a race. ask a malay mp if ex-muslim is a race to the malay-muslim community. ask a malay mp, from the perspective of a malay person and not a muslim, if he/she knows what islam has to say about ex-muslims. there, now you know why people shy away from hard truth. you know why some people are just more evasive then others. ask alihah if a malay -non muslim can apply for the top post at mendaki lah!
“Out of the mouth, the heart speaks!”
SHT has to be more careful about his tongue. When dealing with public issues, words are spoken have to be well thought. Otherwise, it can be very devastating or destructive. Poor statements made is like a spilt milk. It is hard for you to do remedy. Because people will see it as an expression of your heart content.
A good saying, “When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go.
Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.
All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.
Words from the mouth can be costly if wrongly spoken. It is like igiting fire on one’s head. “Can a man scoop fire into his lap without his clothes being burned?”
My advise is that SHT should be more careful with his word next time. Otherwise Nitizens may misinterpret your good intent.
Why whenever a MP was scrutinised for what he said, it was always explained as “taken out of context”.
Mr Seng comments was so easily “taken out of context”, does that mean he need to “brush up on his English” too?
I am sure Mr Seng isn’t a racist. But since he made those comments, he should answer for it and be responsble for it. Why is there a need for him to make so many excuses including that he was trying to defend those workers. At no time during the interview, there was no words to show that he was trying to defend the workers, or did what he said was again “taken out of context”.
Perhaps SMRT could enlighten taxpayers as to what percentage of cheap foreign labour it hires to maintain SMRT trains and tracks to offset the obscene salary paid to Miss SAW the CLAW!
Johnsontan25 24 December 2011
Very interesting, all attention has been diverted to Mr seng Han tong remark which he already claimed that he was just quoting what SMRT staff mentioned…
Dont reat Mr Seng as a smoke screen, the real problem behind is still SMRT, LTA on teh transportation issue…why always increase in SMRT fare, increasing profit while sacrificing other areas, what is the mission of SMRT? is it to provide better service or just profit? Whty LTA allows taxi fare to increase with no control on their fare structure which is confusing? why is LTA not acknowledging TAXI as public transport?
stop hittin MR seng han tong and not to use him as soke screen , if you want to hit, hit the right party that cause the chaos last week…
=====
well said, but sht should be penalized also… he is lapdog of ptc as vice-chairman
http://www.askmen.com/top_10/travel/top-10-public-transit-systems.html
——–
singapore is which position… not even in top 10 my friends
People who played race cards here, and tried to stir more sh1t into this episode are themselves notorious racists…in fact, I would even say they are more racist than the person they are criticizing!
I hope the police will take note of these posters here…and if SHT should be arrested under ISA, so must TOC editors and many of these mobsters and racists here as well!
and oddly enough islam is a race, a malay race in singapore to the muslim community, police and government and all sundry. how then will singaporeans find others guilty of racism?
When one make a mistake just admit it and move on and not try to make other excuses to blur the issue. I do not seems able to see during the interview Mr Seng ‘try’ to protect the workers at all ? It give me an impression that he agreed with the SMRT’s PR’s msg which does include ALL races not ONLY Malay, Indian mention by Mr Seng. So this is an OBVIOUS mistake just comcentracte on this mistake and make it right will DO. The obvious reason for makeing such comments is : INSENSITIVE to our multi-races society. WHY need to mention races at all in this issue and not simply said : some drivers, some staff etc ???
agreed with comments above..
sth wrong with pap’s education system if what MP Seng said is true..
inadequate in producing good english speaking generations.
Ironically, mentor lee has published a book on his bilingual policy..Lifelong challenge..
A commission to review past and current MOE policy.. find out why it fails? suggest MM Lee to be invited to head the board of enquiry since he talks so much abt his acheivements in bilingualism..
Seng Han Tong may not appear to be a racist, but as an MP, he certainly leaves much to be desired.
We have had our spate of incompetent and obscenely paid fat cats of late and I am sure there will be more to come
There must be something wrong with the recruitment process. Academic excellence does not necessarily make good leadership material. We are seeing some of the most inexperienced but yet arrogant, insensitive and self serving people put in seats of power today. Its about time the government wake up to the reality of the situation.
@omnitaufoo
I agree that Seng Hang Tong is probably not a racist. But I can also see that he is nothing special. In fact he is the follow the leader type, keeping a low profile, hear no evil , speak no evil and quietly earn his wonderful monthly salary vouchsafed by his Master as long as he behaves. Yet the world impinged on his quiet life when he enraged an elderly citizen who came to him for help. His dense mentality and insensitive attitude conjured up remarks which must have seemed to pour scorn on the old fellow at which the old fellow responded by setting him on fire. Shall we have to pay top dollar for such lethal deadwood?
The culture of keeping a low profile and being obedient like schoolchildren have taken hold of the whole body of the PAP. You can see it when they speak in Parliament, rolling out nothing new, scared to say things which are new to the top men of the hierarchy. Thus all 80 of them contribute nothing to the intellectual capacity of the governing body. Thus this Government is unable to think of anything else to fortify the economy except to import foreign bodies continuously by the shiploads.
Seng Han Thong is the quintessential PAP member. Not racist, not bright,laid back, fearlful sycophants.
Mr Seng may have spoken the truth, and the truth hurts – the SMRT staff (singaporean/foreign talent etc…)are lacking in language proficiency to handle the situation. We stood as Singaporean and should not try to use race to shift the issues. Let’s focus on making our SMRT system better and put the system put on track. Every human makes mistakes and Mr Seng is no immortal. We need a good man to speak up the truth and let SMRT wake up to justify her fares.
Mp u should resign and we demand a public apology/from all brothers of Singapore regardless of race n religion.u are pure racicst!!!!!pm lee,please step in!!
Can a nice guy being whacked twice by public?
Non-racist – you are definitely not fit to comment as you got all your facts wrong. The emergency response during the breakdowns was a result of NO standard operating procedures in place. Even if one is highly educated, he would not have responded as there was SOPs or emergency drills carried out previously, THAT IS A FACT. Doesn’t matter how educated you are!!!!!!!!!
SHT, don’t sound like an MP, his English……………. very much least to be desired. An Ambassardor for the people whose lips & brains does not sync. Speaking from his heart %$$#@!@@^(**^%^*
Non-racist – you are definitely not fit to comment as you got all your facts wrong. The emergency response during the breakdowns was a result of NO standard operating procedures in place. Even if one is highly educated, he would not have responded as there was NO SOPs or emergency drills carried out previously, THAT IS A FACT. Doesn’t matter how educated you are!!!!!!!!!
SHT, don’t sound like an MP, his English……………. very much least to be desired. An Ambassardor for the people whose lips & brains does not sync. Speaking from his heart %$$#@!@@^(**^%^*
Dear mr mp,do you tink apologising is enough & can cure everytink,if so,then I can slap anyone & apologise,will that make me innocent..for your info,your English is not perfect either,it suck,really suck…..
Well said Ben. On another note someone in here is getting religion and race all mixed up and no one is bothering to reply to him. Cept me, I should not feed the troll then.
Bravo P.A.P u have already lost a lot of votes from the community.
When come to fare increases, very prepared… Come to breakdowns, not prepared…. What if it’s a terror attack???? What will be the reason given?
@KERIS,
yes…..and islam being a malay race means more malay mps will lose their votes too. what is next? what is left except more “internal struggle!!”"