~by: Ravi Philemon~

~pictures: Terry Xu~

I still remember as a young boy, in the 70s, waiting for more than an hour for the bus to arrive. I also remember that if you wanted to go to Sembawang (where some of my father’s friends lived), there were no bus services.

In the 80s, I was in secondary school, and I remember the transition from a two-man operating system to the one-man-operating system and finally to the cashless system. The buses were often late and when they arrived, they were crowded.

When the trains finally arrived in the mid 80s, it was a wish come true! We had air-conditioned public transport. There were places to sit. But most of all we zipped through from point A to point B quite quickly. Suddenly there was a quantum leap in Singapore’s transport capacity.

The effective and efficient trains were symbolic of Singapore. There was a certain pride in calling yourself a Singaporean – a city which had the will to make quantum leaps.

Fast-forward to the year 2011. ‘Competition’ injected into the public transport system by the government – to ensure that the public transport operators would not fall into inefficient operations and to minimise wastage – had spiralled out of control, because there was no real competition. The public transport operators operated like unregulated monopolies in their areas of operation. The PTOs quest for profit maximisation probably led to SMRT losing its “core competency in the management of train network while it was developing new and alternative revenue streams” (see Kumaran Pillai’s speech).

“This is the reason why the profits of the two operators have risen manifold since 2003. In 2003, SMRT’s profit was $72 million, as at 31 March 2011, SMRT’s net-profit was $161.1 million. Comfort DelGro’s profit in 2003 was $134 million, its net-profit was $228.5 million, as at 31 December 2010.

Despite these high incomes, generated by the PTO, PTC has never not approved applications for fare adjustments by the PTO. PTC has been heavily criticised repeatedly because of this and also because the regulator is perceived to be more pro-PTO than pro-commuters.

For example, commuters who do not pay the correct fare on public transports, will be fined S$20, while those who abuse concession cards face a penalty of S$50. An additional penalty of S$1,000 will be imposed if the cheating commuter does not pay the fine; and repeat offenders may be fined S$2,000 or be jailed up to six months, or both.

These penalties are many times more than the value of a single trip on the public transport, and it is meant as a deterrent for the fare cheats.

The PTO however have no such effective deterrent for failing Quality of Services (QoS) standards. The penalty for each non-compliant day on each non-compliant route for both headway adherence and loading is only $100; which means that it is more profitable for the PTO to breach QoS standards instead of investing in capacity/infrastructure to meet QoS requirements.

The PTO have enjoyed the carrot, but have never enjoyed the stick of punitive sanctions.” – TOC Editorial dated 26 July 2011

From 2010, there have been over 40 disruptions in train services. Vandals had broken into SMRT train depot to vandalise the trains on two occasions, raising concerns of security. SMRT has never taken responsibility for any of these failures. In fact, SMRT has tried to shift the blame to the security company when they were questioned for the security lapse in their depot.

The question TOC editorial raised in July 2011 seems louder today, “Why are Quality of Service standards not linked to fare increases?”

In light of all these serious lapses in Quality of Service (QoS) standards by SMRT, the Public Transport Council (PTC) should reverse the 1 per cent fare increase they approved in August of this year. PTC should also tie future fare increases to QoS standards. And all future fare revisions must be tied to QoS standards.

TOC’s head of Chinese section, Goh Meng Seng, said on his Facebook that SMRT perhaps spends only about 8 per cent of their revenue on repair and maintenance, while train service operators in other countries spend about 18 – 30 per cent of their profits for this. There is an absolute necessity for SMRT to give the people of Singapore a full accounting of what it spends on maintenance. SMRT must also release its maintenance records for the last 5 years with comparison to industry standards.

Why do I say that the story of the SMRT is the story of Singapore? Because the early leaders of the country put in place various rigorous systems for governing the nation, and the leaders who came after them assumed that these systems are fool-proof; that you only need to put in place trusted aides to maintain these systems and everything will be fine.

From Mas Selamat to the flooding; and now with the serious failure of the mass rapid transit system, we know now that these assumptions are flawed.

But the real sad news is that almost everybody seems to have no courage to say that ‘the emperor has no clothes’. At the media interview with Saw Phaik Hwa a couple of days ago, it was a journalist from the foreign media who asked her if she would resign. The reporters from the local media were all too happy to print her response without asking her all the hard questions.

The trust in the infallibility of the old systems is so deep that it seems to have contributed to the lack of regulatory oversight. I mean, how can the Transport Minister say, “I do not know if these are isolated incidents or whether there are systemic and more serious underlying issues causing these breakdowns.” How could he not know?

It is the safety and the health of the commuters that are at risk! A TOC reader wrote to us that her heavily pregnant sister-in-law was trapped in the train for 45 minutes. Two were hospitalised. Countless others were trapped in a train with no lights and no ventilation. People are walking on the train tracks…

This is not the Singapore I know! These trusted aides who are not doing what they ought to be doing have (in the words of a friend), “contributed to the system rot and atrophy”.

Somebody must take responsibility for the failure of SMRT. At the media conference on Friday, SMRT’s CEO, Ms Saw said that she will see to it that there will not be a recurrence of such breakdowns. But on Saturday morning, there was another such recurrence and services were disrupted from Ang Mo Kio to Marina Bay.

The CEO of SMRT must do the right thing, take responsibility for the failures of SMRT and resign. Her resignation will be highly symbolic and will go a long way in restoring the confidence of the people in the system – not just the MRT system.

And while they are at it, SMRT should not only refund the fares of the commuters who are affected by their service disruptions on Thursday and Saturday; they should also (as Eric Tan rightly pointed out in his speech today) give free, complimentary rides to all the affected commuters for one whole month.

And SMRT can certainly afford it!

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

132 Responses to “The story of SMRT is the story of Singapore”

1. Outside looking In 19 December 2011

@ Iworkhardsometimes. Agreed that ‘a public should not be privatised’. The main reason for privatisation is that the owners feel the returns are mundane.However, the buyers who are opportunitic will invariabily justify incremental gradual increase. If u compare your utilities bills a decade earlier, it had increased substantially. With your groceries increase and disproportianate wage,the cost of living on these basic items means less savings, if you still have.
    So how to wait till 2016?

2. Robert Teh 19 December 2011

@Raymond,

Agreed with your idea of citizens’ self-help actions in protecting interests against abuses of those who are clinging on to power due to protectionist policies of the self-interested executive in our system.

Class actions could be taken to recover loss of incomes, expenses and damage/injury caused to citizens in security, safety and convenience matters due to negligence or carelessness on the part of executive and their GLCs.

Such self-help citizen groups can be registered as societies just like societies for protection of abuses to animal, or environment and climate protection groups and human right groups etc.

Our opposition parties should consider taking up this matter.

3. I hope this is a wake up call to all Singaporeans, the government is no longer taking responsibility and accountability. From the Town Council loses, Mat Selamat, Flooding, Temasek and GIC loses, now the SMART, no one take the responsibility and all they are concerned is their million dollar salary. We have a busload of useless retired politicians learning millions for doing tours and ordinaty citizens who cannot retire after 4O of 20% contribution to cumpulsary saving (this would be joke in any country. Come on people, wake up and put more opposition in parliament to challenge this incompetent millionaires

4. privatization 19 December 2011

”MRT fare will increase faster from now due to the increasing cost involve to assure everyone a smooth ride, where would the money come from to have regular check and replacement of parts?”

that is why it is called privatization. privatization of profit (market demand), socialization of cost (recovery). head they win, tail you lose.

sometimes, it is not whether it called the service is being privatization or staying public. it is how important public service & its affordability (plus maintenance) is being managed without too much fatty excess being floated to the “wrong” elements.

now where are the scholars ?

5. peter chang 19 December 2011

in london,sydney and elsewhere,train disruptins are a common feature and ppl just take them as part and parcel of daily routines.

there is no need to exaggerate at all.

6. Possible 19 December 2011

One possible main reason for the breakdown of the northsouth line could be the higher speed and frequency of trains in the past few months. My suspicion is that in order to proactively resolve the tranportation woes, which were one of the key political topics during the last election, our new transport minister and LTA might have used its muscles to ‘force’ SMRT to increase its train frequency during peak hours. However, SMRT did not do proper evaluation and monitoring to ensure these changes would not casue technical and safety issues. So if this is true, I believe LTA will try to avoid highlihting its role in this and will get a scapegoat SMRT to bear all the consequences.

7. ken tang 19 December 2011

peter chang 19 December 2011

do you have info how much the top heads of london, sydney and elsewhere (on public train service) are being paid. no exaggeration please.

8. Robert Teh 19 December 2011

peter chang

Minister Mentor will disagree with your comparison because he has said we are the first-world country where our trains are the most efficient and our ministers are the best world-class talent.

9. Subway system in London and NYC is more than 100 years old. The operators need to upgrade the old and add in the new. It is common for London to shut down the lines on Sunday, but with all advanced communications and information, so that commutors could plan their trips. Sames as Sydney trains, need upgrading and maintain the existing. Not an easy task.

10. Robert Teh 19 December 2011

Just recall the Mas Selamat case. People are enraged by the totally ridiculously incompetent prison security. Yet how was minister WKS protected? On what ground was he excused from the incompetence? Is it not cronyism? Now Minister Lui and Ms Saw are being shielded in the same manner. On what ground? Face? Cronyism or universal brotherhood or sisterhood?

11. Are they “Made In China” trains?
    From the reports and the interviews given by experts on train transportation, the types of defects seem similar to those suffered by China’s MRT system. Has the SMRT, in the blind pursuit of profits, bought cheap trains from China?

Does the SMRT have a fleet of rail mounted independently propelled maintenance trolley platforms equipped with spot lights, cameras and other sensors for nightly maintenance checks on the entire rail network? These independently propelled platforms will be more efficient as compared to human foot patrols as well as more effective in identifying potential defects and be able to spot the pieces of “rail shoes” that fell by the trackside! Not too difficult and not too expensive to design and implement!

It is common for a MRT train to have a UPS system (uninterruptible power supply system) onboard that will activate in case of power failure to bring the train safely to the nearest station. Since SMRT trains break down in a tunnel, I assume its UPS did not work. UPS are not so complicated systems that is meant to work in an emergency like this…unless it is not properly maintained.

Hope the COI (commission of inquiry) will look into these points brought up and hope the government will allow the opposition parties to hold a watching brief over the COI during their deliberations so as to ensure transparency and accountability to the concern public.

12. cannot tahan 19 December 2011

Agreed absolutely about the high profit and low maintenance spent. when you hired someone with nothingelse but retail operational and business experience, it is not difficult to understand how all these could have happened. The board of SMRT must also come clear to explain their justification in hiring her as the CEO, and whether they have over-emphasized on spending money on the retail business in the MRT stations neglecting the more important train operational issues. The CEO position of such a major transport service would usually be filled by a person with the proven track record after extensive search, it is odd that she applied to Straits Times’ advertisement and got hired!

More importantly, the issues confronting Singapore now is not just mere technical or system failure, although the system is still fairly new compare to other countries. The biggest issue is how are we able to manage such emergency and crisis to minimize casulties. We are extremely fortunate not to have any fatality in these incidents, despite the chaos and madness due to the poor communications and directives given to SMRT staffs. Imagine a simultaneous terrorist attacks similar to London in 2005?

In fact Singapore is sitting on a time bomb itself in many areas. One example is Suntec City. Every time when there is a major exhibition such as PC Show the whole place is jam-packed with people in the exhibition halls, escalators, walkways especially with more and more stalls setting up along the walkway these days. The evacuation path for any emergency is virtually non-existence and potentially stampede-brewing! Are the civil defence and building authority not controlling such potential violation of fire and building codes, and instead waiting for something to happen before they act?

13. Non-event elsewhere.
    Why? Frequent occurence in developed countries.
    Pretty common in the London Tube, Canadian subway, etc. . . .
    Singaporeans are pampered.
    Try the KL monorail.
    Technical gliches will surface after the newness is over several years later. Just take it in our strides. This is not a stalling aircraft in mid-air.
    Unlike a stalled coach, a stalled train inside a tunnel will definitely cause a massive jam cos there are only 1 or 2 tracks.
    Ms Saw has done a pretty good job. The trian didn’t start yesterday? For more than 2 decades already until it got bigger and more complex.
    So there’s a fault. Get to root of it and get moving. That’s all. What’s the hue and cry.
    We better get use to ups and downs. Yes, Singapore has always been a paradise under the PAP. More may happen like freak floods, blackout, etc.
    Just look at how the Thais react to the long flooding, the current Phillipines, etc. When Orchard floods without DEATH some people also scream.
    Ms Saw has kept the orgainsation in the black (not easy). Makes lots of money from the retail rentals to pay the thousands of SMRT staff, keep MRT fares down (check the fares elsewhere esp first world countries), new trains, new stations, etc.
    Cry wolf when there isn’t a REAL wold is childish.
    There are people opposing for opposition sake. Always compare elsewhere first. Even your God-made body gets sick and falls apart sometimes.

14. Ace 19 December 2011
    “Are they “Made In China” trains?”

In case you are still asleep. China makes almost everything today. It’s the world’s manufacturing hub whilst the US is the world’s arms merchant (producer). One produces to life the standard of living worldwide the other sends death to your doorstep.

So I bought a pair of MBT shoes from Marina Square on the advice from my doctor. It costs me $495! Take it or leave it. Check it out. made in CHINA!

I was in Melbourne. Bought an Aussie kangaroo toy for Aussie $35. Gave my daughter and she said “Dad, Made in CHINA”!

Watch this -
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYvtqi59Hp0

15. Sesame Street 19 December 2011

To “Our MRT”….

Engage your brain in 1st gear B4 you speak hor!

You said “Ms.Saw kept the books in black” – Wah lau eh! SMRT sure make money,put any average Joe and SMRT will still make money mah! Its been a monopoly until SBS Transit came in.Even with 2 operators,sure make money 1 wat! Look at the daily ridership hor!

Orchard Rd shouldn’t be flooded in the 1st place! PERIOD!
    When it happened,what did PAP said?
    “Once in 50 yrs”,”Its acts of God”

You also said we like to compare with others..

Well,we are learned from PAP,they started to compare us with Swiss standard,1st world countries,etc…

16. Our SMRT 19 December 2011

Sesame Street 19 December 2011
    To “Our MRT”….

Engage your brain in 1st gear B4 you speak hor!

“Its been a monopoly until SBS Transit came in.Even with 2 operators,sure make money 1 wat! Look at the daily ridership hor!”

Have you ridden KTM? It’s a monopoly like many transport systems elsewhere. Great? Monopoly doesn’t mean one makes money. Indonesia’s only one oil company Pertmina went broke. Are you aware? “Dailying riddership” doesn’t mean profit. Check the fares (by watever – ave distance) with first world Asian cities like say Tokyo, Taipei, etc. How? Singapore’s is lot more cheaper! Why? Because this brainy lady gets the shops, eateries, etc., within the MRT to help subsidise. Blog head.

“Orchard Rd shouldn’t be flooded in the 1st place! PERIOD!”

You got to be kidding. We’re in the tropics (characteristic = WET). Npw a lesson in geography.

On a bare peice of land (island) u pour water. It flows out into the surrounding sea.
    Now the island is one built-up place (no free land). You pour water and WATER RISES UPWARDS (flood). Basic facts. Especially when it’s high tide, lesss water gets into the higher surrounding seas. Understanding?

Oh1 Yes, needless to say, Orchard Rd will definitely flood when you’re having your PERIODS! Right?

“You also said we like to compare with others.”

You must be a real blog head. Can read or not? That’s wat I want you to do! If we don’t compare how do we know we are better than others????

17. Sesame Street 19 December 2011

OUR MRT,

Wah,teach me Geography lesson har?

So,according to you,flooding bor pian,so PAP not at fault?
    Almost whole of SG is built up area,based on your logic,we should all be swimming when it rains! High tide,low tide,wat talking you?

The main points again,…

Was PUB sleeping on the job?

Was PAP reply of “Once in 50 yrs”,”Its acts of God” appropriate?

You didn’t refute my reply on SMRT profits leh,why?

Oh,forgot you’re PAP cronies,comparing is in your blood!

Ms.Saw and PAP need die hard volleyball players like you lah! Bet you must be in RC,PA or a public servant!

18. Freedom the singapore way 19 December 2011

@peter chang
    @Our MRT

Easy to compare with western Democratic countries and say London, Sydney, Chicago metros common to have breakdown.

London, Chicago et al are government managed transportation system, check it out they aren’t profit making private companies which is actually controlled by the sole powerful world’s one of the richest and powerful family running their business on public money.

People of London and Sydney has power to change their government and hold them accountable, do you have that?

A government change in London and Chicago wouldn’t result a collapse of their economy or fear of not seeing their life savings in CPF or even local banks. Are you not afraid of that, even if you manage to change your government?

So Singapore is different again, if few people control the life of everybody else then they are responsible for the life of the people since birth till death.

19. peter chang, 19 dec 11.

In London and Sydney,
    the people are FREE to go on the streets to register their opposition, frustration and anger. Here just ONE person doing this is illegal under the law.

What is your answer to that?

In London and Sydney, the law don’t hang people for ‘trafficking’ in 15 grams of hard drug, here they do.

In China they shoot your brains out with a high velocity assault rifle as capital punishment. Do you want it done here too or in London or Sydney.

Given the series of failures yet we hear a CLOWN like you saying it is OK. Only a RETARD would conclude as you do! lol.

20. SmellyCheesepie 19 December 2011

You mark my words here: the two immediate changes you can see will be these:-
    (i) MRT will remove all fire extinguishers from the trains
    (ii) MRT will post written warnings on its windows ”VANDALISM IS PUNISHED WITH MINIMUM 3 MTHS JAIL AND 3 STROKES OF THE CANE”

You heard it from SmellyCheesepie first.

21. Freedom the singapore way 19 December 2011

Our MRT

How much a car costs you as alternative transport in London, Sydney, Chicago or if you compare KL? How much do you pay for in Singapore?

You shouldn’t be comparing with London, Chicago in terms of public transport cost why not compare with China or India in that case?

Don’t spit the brain washed book of your political masters, how convenient it is when your masters don’t give the rights to choose their government like western democracies to people and then comparing them with Singapore on case by case basis which suits them well. FYI, Kim Jong Ill is dead and soon North Korea might be free, yes you are correct in many countries people don’t consider a single incidence like this as system failure rather free people count various failures together and punish their government of the day in due course.

REMEMBER FREEDOM GIVES YOU TOLERANCE BUT YOU MUST BE FREE AT THE FIRST PLACE TO TOLERATE INCIDENCE LIKE THIS.

22. Alan Wong 19 December 2011

Remember during the last graffiti incident, the security firm engaged by SMRT denied it was their job responsibility to go round inspecting the whole SMRT Depot at Bishan. Obviously SMRT must have thought it was unnecessary & tried to skimp on security costs hence the intrusion incident.

Now it looks like the same thing happened with maintenance hence the breakdowns now.

Looks like they have got the wrong guys appoointed for the wrong jobs. HC is supposed to be in engineering, not a financial expert but put in charge of Temasek investments. And this Saw from retail with no engineering background is put in charge of SMRT.

This must be the greatest joke that our PAP govt played on us.

23. @ Our MRT & peter chang

comparing with train services elsewhere is basically trash talk.

why?

did they or their governments(elsewhere) make the extraordinary claims that the PAP government made? no.

Extraordinary claims require extraordinary proof.

if u claim to the the best, ablest, world class, u will be taken to task to live up to the claim.

as the well rehearsed argument goes, we are the brightest, smartest, ablest and world class therefore we deserve such and such sum of pay.

now it’s time for them to prove that they are what they claim to be, so as to justify the remuneration they wish to have. that’s no a lot to ask for.

it’s not what happens elsewhere in london, sydney or wonderland that counts.

24. Web of bandits 20 December 2011

A web of executive and administrative bandits can be easily compiled topdown. Nepocronistic Web.

25. The other Hard Truths 20 December 2011

It is not even the privatization of public transport. It should be called “Piratization of Public Transport”

26. Robert Teh 20 December 2011

Are our leaders corruption-free and possessing world-class leadership and talent?

Do our Ministers practise leadership by example, meritocracy or are they only practising legalized corruption and cronyism as seen in this SMRT fiasco?

Have SMRT/LTA implemented a preventative comprehensive maintenance with daily rotating inspections of all electrical installations and major moving parts. (Ms Saw referred only to incident reports and not authenticated signed records of preventative maintenance on the train power collector/holding brackets which caused the breakdowns)

Do SMRT/LTA boards and staff possess the knowledge and competence to have selected the best cost-effective trains in terms of technology, durability and lowest life-cycle costing.

The Committee of Inquiry should include these three items as terms of reference. (If they fail to do so, then this COI is only an eyewash)