the following is a media release by the press secretary to Law Minister K Shanmugam:

We refer to Human Rights Watch’s (HRW) January 2012 country report for Singapore (Report) and the comments of its deputy director Phil Robertson, as quoted on Yahoo! News Singapore.

The Report dismisses Singapore’s Submissions to the Human Rights Council at the Universal Periodic Review, without dealing with the Submissions. Readers are encouraged to read the Submissions and judge for themselves.

HRW also made false assertions. For example, contrary to assertions in its news article1, capital punishment is not prohibited by international law. A large number of countries, including many modern, developed countries (like the US) impose the punishment. In Singapore, capital punishment has contributed to low rates of crime and drug use; and is overwhelmingly supported by Singaporeans.

Statements in HRW’s Report relating to detentions, freedom of speech and association, and the civil rights, as reported in your article, are likewise inaccurate. Singapore’s Constitution guarantees the freedom of speech and freedom of peaceful assembly. The Shadrake trial, which your article mentions, was fully reported by local, international and alternative media. Mr Shadrake was charged because he had alleged, among other things, that the Singapore courts conspired with State agencies to suppress material evidence. Such a statement would be considered to be in contempt of court in several countries.

HRW’s casual approach towards research and analysis, has been criticised by none other than its founder, Robert Bernstein, who has said that HRW “often relies on witnesses whose stories cannot be verified and who may testify for political advantage”.

The Singapore government is committed to creating and defending an environment where Singaporeans are secure, where their well-being is ensured, and where everyone can realise his or her full potential. Every society strikes its own balance between the rights of the individual and the society. National issues are openly debated in Parliament. Elections to Parliament are free and fair, and contested fiercely. Singapore’s stability, public healthcare, education and security have made it one of the most livable cities in the world: Singaporeans enjoy dignity, welfare and security – much more so than many cities and countries which HRW seems to be happier with.

Ms Chong Wan Yieng
Press Secretary to Minister for Law

HRW report: http://www.hrw.org/world-report-2012/world-report-2012-singapore

86 Responses to “Law Ministry: Human Rights Watch report made false assertions”

1. We Don't Need Chinee Foreigners Here 28 January 2012

Jing,
    You are from China, so go back to China. Don't impose your so called values on us, the true blue Singaporeans. And don't tell us to go stay in Johore, Batam, Shenzen or Indonesia if we are not happy just like the way you ran away from China to stay here and now telling us to go away.  We are not cowards like you. If we are not happy with the govt, we come together to get rid of the govt through democratic means. We will not allow any govt to bully us they way China bullies its citizens.

2. hangman 28 January 2012

they gave it big and tight directly to the law minister. It all happened under his watch. Now he is babbling so much that none of what he says even adds up to much in the way of common sense.

3. Angelina 28 January 2012

@Foo
    HRW is not sponsoring arms/weapons are they? Have you got mixed up? HRW is a Human Rights Watch for goodness sake! Hide what? Even if Western Govts fund HRW, they do not have a say over their activities, this is not like Sg. Their people & media will make sure of it, don't you worry about this. Also remember they are allowed to protest. Oridnary people who support these orgns do so for good cause so they will not allow their Govt to abuse it.
    Also, if a country Govt lets Oxfam charity shops use a premise for free to trade 2nd hand goods, yes in a way, that is funding and that is wrong too in your eyes?
    If I have not lived in a Western country before, I most likely would be in the same frame of mind as you.  It is just NOT like what you say. The fact that if the Govt is up to mischief, we can take it to the streets & oppositin & the media will blow it apart make all the difference. It is not like Sg where the Govt can do what you said.
    @Jonathan Toh
    I am guilty as charged but pls understand that there is only a certain tolerance for rubbish claims (what you call trash). Nevertheless I take your advice. Likewise would people who want to write big claims pls support your claims otherwise it is hot air (bad for environment :)).

4. Senior Citizen 28 January 2012

Jing, we don't like the human rights record here but we stand and fight for improvement. Only cowards who dare not speak up run away. Like you? China has many courageous people who speak up, risking all that they hold dear. They have my respect and admiration. Do you understand the real meaning of human rights? Maybe you are still wet behind the ears? Thanks for your advice anyway. 

5. son of s 28 January 2012

The veil of exceptional nobility of the Singapore Government is slowly being lifted to show its true colors of just a rude state oppressing its people in countless ways, but always cleverly, cloaked by the Rule of Law itself.  
    This is the sign of the times where citizenry the world over dare to protest against its  rulers, some to destructive effects.
    It is the Spirit of the Age that at  the turn of this century several states are throwing off the chains of their  voracious masters.

6. Maria Elena 28 January 2012

Ms W.Y. Chong.
    Why are writing lies?  You feel fulfilled, isit?

7. Denise Cheung 29 January 2012

Ms. W.Y. Chong wasn't the only one questioninng the credibility of HRW…even Guardian UK had started questioning HRW on how they go about making allegations based on their own interpretations:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/cifamerica/2010/dec/31/human-rights-imperialism-james-hoge?INTCMP=SRCH%29 

So, was the reporter/journalist from Guardian UK telling lies as well? Can anyone here safely said that HRW is neutral and above all, really champion human rights universally, or selectively based on what their fund master dictate them to do so?

Or we are all so blinded by what we want to hear and therefore, deicde that anything not aligned with our perspectives must be lies?

The fund master refers to European Union (especially Netherlands and UK) and USA.

8. Be Your Own Judge 29 January 2012

Denise,
    There is no need to establish whether the reporter from Guardian was telling lies or not.  I am a Singaporean born and bred. I just have to read  the report by HRW on Singapore to tell you that what they say is true, true and true. I have also read the report by by Ms Chong and I can tell you they are lies, lies and lies. Are you born and bred in Singapore? If you are, be your own judge. If you are not, let others speak and stay quiet. Silence is golden.
    When it comes to Human Rights, the Singapore Govt is not the authority. It's people like me, the common people, who knows whether what Ms Chong says is true of false because we are the affected party and we know best. What Ms Chong says is not defensible. It is pure nonsense..

9. Denise Cheung 29 January 2012

@Be Your Own Judge…you don't really know what human rights is all about huh. It means that I have the freedom to express my views here. Who are you to tell me to keep quiet, and who are you to question whether I am born and bred in Singapore?

When it comes to those who always whine about human rights, they are also the ones who will trample on it when given any opportunity…your response to my views is a typical example…and it goes to show like HRW, people like you are super hypocrites and practitioners of double standards.

I am no authority on human rights…but you don't come across a single bit as one either. More like a shallow and narrow-minded born-loser and whinner to me! What you say is not defensible either, it is also pure nosense and trash that should be thrown into ra ubbish bin!

Take your own advice…silence is golden. SHHHHH…

10. son of s 29 January 2012

@Be your Own Judge
    Ms Chong has got the facility to spin out a special brand of prose poetry which most accomplished bureaucrats  are fluent in. Whether what they say is truth or not does not matter in such prose. The thing that matters most  to them is whether or not  it is  the standard spin.
    I have written to the authorities several times. Mostly they praciice silence by not responding. If they respond at all, this is the type of blue sky goodness speech I have  to read.
    The  official in Singapore is becoming more and more nonsensical even as they become more predatory. The pulic goods that we as citizens would expect  of them is illusory. There is in fact no attempt to serve up public goods at all. This is because the master servant relationship is reversed. The million dollar folks at the top of the hierarchy go by a different bandwave and you Mr  Citizen does not figure in their  world as of any consequence.

11. Be Yourself 29 January 2012

Denise Cheung,
    I find that you are mindset to respond in a way that supports the govt and in the process falls out of simple logic. We are here to discuss whether there was truth in the report by HRW and the response from Ms Chong. And the best way to provide feedback is to draw on your personal experience as a Singaporean or someone who has lived in Singapore long enough to bear witness to what have been said by HRW and MS Chong.

Your reference to the Guardian holds no ice to what is beng discussed. Why is the view of  the Guardian so important? I can always quote  the views of La Monde, The Sun, Le Figaro,  Liberation supporting HRW on subjects irrelevant to Singapore. Would it help?

If you are mindset to support the Singapore Govt even though they had put many singapore citizens behind bars for as long as 32 years without trial, go ahead and say it, but bear in mind that it is tantamount to your support for detention without trial and other inhuman or barbaric laws, or are you going to say  there never was a detention without trial because the Guardian has discredited  HRW and therefore everything that HRW say is untrue? The mind boggles.

If you support the Govt, then tell us that the Press is fair, tell us that we can protest anywhere and not just in Hong Lim park, tell us tht ISA and detention without trial have been properly executed when the British in their own words, when they released the archives, had said that there was not a modicum of truth that the detainees were communists, tell us that no politicans were made  bankrupt when they spoke their minds, etc, etc.
    You seem deaf, dumb and blind when you speak in support of the Govt. I am all ears to hear what you have to say about the Singapore's actions to support human rights. You have the stage but be prepared for brickbats.

For the Singapore Govt to seek a waiver  not to apply standard human right laws to its citizens is simply horrific and despiscable. It says everything about this Govt.

12. HRW Is Credible 29 January 2012

HRW and Amnesty International provide significant feedbacks to the UN. They can even recommend  violators of human rights to be tried by the International Court of Justice.

The nature of their job is such that they are likely to be  be condemned, especially by dictators or violators of human rights.

According to the Wikipedia, "Human Rights Watch will openly lobby for specific actions for other governments to take against human rights offenders, including naming specific individuals for arrest, or for sanctions to be levied against certain countries, recently calling for punitive sanctions against the top leaders in Sudan who have overseen a killing campaign in Darfur. The group has also called for human rights activists who have been detained in Sudan to be released."

HRW is credible. Their report about Singapore is accurate and credible. Ms Ong's report is nonsense, and an absolute denial of the pathetic human right situation in Singapore. Singaporeans know the truth and expect the Singapore Govt to comply to the UN "Declaration of Human Rights".  There should be no exception. Comply or face the music in the 2016 elections.

13. Denise Cheung 29 January 2012

@Be Yourself (a.k.a. Be Your Own Judge)…before you go further, why keep hiding behind pseudonyms and dare not to use your real name, if you so believe your views holds water? Or are you one of the opposition members coming here to instigate and seek every opportunity to discredit the PAPies using other's view points?

You can believe in HRW, why can't I believe in the Guardian UK? Because you think what you think is more superior than others, and everyone must agree with you, otherwise they are deaf, dumb and blind? A person like you simply don't really understand what basic human rights is all about, and you are as guilty as HRW in making selective interpretation based on what you want to interpret. But go on as you please, I respect your rights in doing so here, but I have no interest in engaging you!

Ohhh…and stop being so childish, myopic, shallow and narrow-minded in always associating those who disagrees with you (or HRW) as government supporter, as there are many readers here who are more objective, rational and can think on their own without being influenced by crapping and unverifiable reports generated by western hypocritical organizations like HRW!

And BTW, can you please write a letter to HRW asking them what have they been doing about the war crimes and atrocities committed by NATO and USA in Iraq and Afghanistan (even where there are many evidences like videos and public confessions made by remorseful soldiers available)? Or you believe human rights are only applicable to Singapore only, and citizens of Iraq and Afghanistan don't need any?

If you still don't get it, I have issues with HRW's hypocrisies and double standards in their selective interpretation of who did not apply human rights standards and who had. This does not change my views about what I think of the PAPies, of which it is not the topic of my opinion here!
    And you might like to know that I am one of those who had signed a petition for repealing the MDP for drug trafficking…have you done any to show your true support for human rights yet?

14. son of s 29 January 2012

We will pay dearly if we continue to ignore the fact that Singapore does not practise human rights just as we are now paying dearly for the fact that we have ignored the excesses of the PAP for the past 50 years. Today we can't talk aout PAP at all. Its secret police and judiciary will destroy and has destroyed many citizens who dared to talk about it much less activate against it.

15. Peripheral arguments 29 January 2012

Ms Cheung,
    Your arguments are no different from those used by the PAP.  Discredit HRW and Be Yourself, Be Your Own Judge, etc so that all statements made by them are fallacious.

Okay. So you won. HRW is discredited. There are no ISA laws, or detention without trials. SPH is fair even though they are ranked 135 our of 195 countries in the world by Reporters Without Borders and  we can protest anywhere in Singapore etc, etc. How stupid can one get.!

BTW, How would I know that Denise Cheung is your real name and not a pseudonym? I can use a Chinese, Malay and Indian name to make it appear a real name when it is a psedononym. What a dumb mind you have.

To date, you have not put forth any cogent argument that supports the govt's arguments. And you agree that human right standards should not be applied in Singapore and we should be treated like animals? Birds of a feather flock together. That's what you are, plain dullards.

So are you coming forward to discredit Reporters Without Borders, now that they have ranked your beloved Press, among third world countries?

The mind boggles.

16. wu liao! 29 January 2012

@Peripheral aka Be Yourself aka Be Your Own Judge.
    I read the exchange bettween you and Denise, and sorry to say that you did not at all make any congent arguments except name-calling Denise who disagrees with you as stupid. Honestly, you are much more stupid than Denise as you can't even debate and argue your case intelligently except only imposing your own perceptions and quoting questionable NGOs' findings as true in your own narrow perspective!

My toes are laughing just by reading your comments!

Want to read good and intelligent arguments…go read the exhanges of opinions between Angelina and Lockeliberal in http://theonlinecitizen.com/2012/01/selective-prosecution-re-open-decision/ 

17. No Brainer 29 January 2012

Wu liao,
    You are either Denise Cheung in disguise or a no brainer like her.  Personal attacks but nothing to substantiate your case. Typical PAP style. I have no time for idiots like you and her. Go get a life.

18. Tan Tai Wei 29 January 2012

The claim that the vast majority support the death penalty is irrelevant, even if true.
    Government is elected into power because it is, among other things, entrusted to do the moral thing and enact moral laws. So, if human right activists are correct, as I think they are, that capital punishment for drug offence is disproportionate and unjust, it is the duty of governance to lead in the moral direction and do away with it. This is the greater imperative if it is true that the people are so  morally wrong as to support that law! 
    Leaders are to lead, and therefore, as PAP has always maintained, they should lead even if it means making unpopular decisions!

19. son of s 29 January 2012

The Government of Singapore under the ruling PAP is practising the culture of Exceptionalism. This means that whatever is the status quo is the exceptional and right thing for the Singapore citizenry. With such a fomalism there will  be room for any deviation from the norm. Thus we have to endure the out of this world salaries demamded by the PAP office holders; the denigration of democracy as unsuitable for this Nation under LKY, the disregard for Human Rights as an unworkable penance imitated of the derelict West in a Nation under the chopstick Asian culture and so on.
    It is no exaggeration that with Exceptionalism as a device, the Ruling Party can accomplish its wildest dreams. The  most  savoured is the one now enjoyed by the Regime: total immunity from scrutiny and change. "We are exceptional  says the PAP, we do what we want and you go to hell" it says to anyone who becomes aware of the true state of affairs in S  as had the Human Rights Watch Report  January 2012 for Singapore.
    The question is, should we as the citizenry accept the Culture of Exceptionalism and so perpetuate the crimes against us by the Government? Or should we reveal Exceptionalism for what it is, a pernicious deadly excuse to milk a Nation dry.

20. Denise Cheung 29 January 2012

@Peripheral aka Be Yourself aka Be Your Own Judge aka No Brainer

Still refused to use your real names…BTW, I am truly yours…Denise Cheung, and I don't use any other names like you.

You just proved my statements that you are not objective nor rational nor able to think on your own. Hence, it will be a waste of my time to even ask you to prove to me why you think HRW reports are true when an known journalist/reporter from Guardian UK had challenged the authenticity of their reports, and why the founder himself, Robert Bernstein, had came out to refute HRW as “often relies on witnesses whose stories cannot be verified and who may testify for political advantage”.

The minds boggles too in this instance…

21. Unbelievably Stupid 29 January 2012

Denise,
    Just why are you so unbelievably stupid? Please don't distract by telling me to give my real name? How would it contribute to the debate? Typical PAP style. Discredit all their opponents so that everything they say is not true. Such tactics worked for many years until the last election when the WP and the other opposition parties  produced better candidates than the PAP and you can now see how your PAP struggled in Parliament trying to make sense of what they were trying to say. They are just like you, someone with all airs, threats and names-calling but no substance except to quote some irrelevant UK media called the Guardian to substantiate your argument. 

Please give me a break. Your stupidity is irritating me to the hilt.     

22. @Denise Cheung
    The Gaurdian had been recently been hauled up for unethically bribing the Police Department to tap on UK citizens to obtain crucial informations.
    Just like our local MSMs. Only difference is that there they bribe but here the information are provided under supervision by the ISD silently. As if you don't know meh?
    So how to trust Gaurdian. Singapore is the only country in the world that uses preventive detentions on political opponents. Some victims had suffered more  than Nelson Mandela. The sad fact is that Asians have a unique propensity tof dispense such punishments mercilessly and accept the punishment so stoicly.

23. Online comments Observer 29 January 2012

To say Singapore do not have:human rights or political rights or freedom of opposition ploitical view on expression, which is the more correct term ?

24. son of s 29 January 2012

The Singapore Government  may be practising self exemption from International Law. To its credit, it is not the only country doing self exemption. It is following the footwork of that  superpower, the USA.Recall how the US treats the Palestinian cause, by time and again refusing to stop Israel from enlarging its settlements on Palestinian lands. Recall how it attacked Iraq on some pretext about weapons of mass destruction. The world may yet see another holocaust when the US attacks Iran on its nuclear program. ( As if nuclear bombs are only for itself and Israel.)
    I am not saying that such dire fate awaits the Singapore populace by the Singapore Government exempting itself from internationally identified ethical bahaviour. I am saying that Singaporeans will be hardhit on every front, from jobs to medical care to personal freedom from harassment and destruction by the judiciary and the secret police.
    If those are small matters in the life of a Nation, so be it.

25. Moronically Stupid 30 January 2012

Denise, actually you are really unbelievable stupid when you choose to continue responding to a moron who is incapable of engaging in an intelligent debate. You should have sense in his/her 2nd response that he/she is only interested in name-calling anyone that disagrees with him/her as stupid (though he had really show his own stupidity in doing so). So, are you going to continue with your stupidity in engaging a moron further?

26. ISeekClarifications! 30 January 2012

Eugene, sorry for my kaypohness, I would like to seek clarifications about your interesting comments:

Just like our local MSMs. Only difference is that there they bribe but here the information are provided under supervision by the ISD silently.” —- So, you admit their information is more accurate since they go all the way to bribe for such information which otherwise, would not have been made known to public!

“Singapore is the only country in the world that uses preventive detentions on political opponents.” —- USA had been operating a detention camp at Guantanomo Bay to detain opponents who are against US Imperialism without any trials. The world did not see HRW making lots of opposing noise with regards to this serious human rights violation. Why the selective accusations about Singapore's human rights violation?

Some victims had suffered more  than Nelson Mandela.” —- Really, that’s interesting as he might end up our next PM or President, just like Mandela became South African’s President. Care to let us know who suffer more than Mandela in Singapore under PAP’s rule, and can you please gives us proof that it was so?

27. son of s 30 January 2012

A few comments back you have comments on the state of Myanmar. I always wonder  why Myanmar is denigrated while Singapore is tops with the foreign press.It is the result of  the excellent propaganda machine of the Singapore Government. Does the events in the Middle East influence the junta in Myanmar as suggested in the preceding comment?. No.. The Singapore Government officeholders do not appear to be at all affected by world events and the startling images of an aged  dictator in a cage in Court and another aging one hauled out of a sewer pipe, The officeholders here are confident that they have a firm grip on the people and it is business as usual with the PAP..

28. Thank You 30 January 2012

Dear Moronically Stupid,
    A big Thank You for confirming that Denise is unbelievelably stupid. I suppose you know better because you are moronically stupid and birds of the same feathers flock together.
    It is incredible how stupid you are. In trying to  protect your same kind, you actually turn on her. Both of  you must have been going through a difficult menstrual or menopausal period  which affects your ability to think properly.
    Good bye. It was quite an expreience engaging  2  PAP stooges who cannot provide a modicum of evidence to prove the authencity of MS Chong's letter but instead resorted in typical PAP fashion to discredit every organisation such as HRW , Amnesty International, Reporters Without Borders  and even the United Nations which disagree with the Govt's barbaric  treatment of  ordinary Singaporeans.
    I will no longer respond to your subsequent messages in order to avoid becoming as stupid as you.  

29. Angelina 30 January 2012

What if capital punishment is NOT overwhelmingly supported by Singaporeans?  Will the Gahmen abolish it tomorrow?  Of course not so it is democracy where it suits! I thought PAP hates populism.

30. Denise Cheung 30 January 2012

@Peripheral aka Be Yourself aka Be Your Own Judge aka No Brainer aka Unbelievably Stupid aka Thank You

The last post aptly nailed you down as a moron with not even a cow sense…confirmed liao!

What took you so long to spare us all those stinking sh!t coming out from your mouth huh?

Good riddance to stinking rubbish…now people here can go back to some intelligent debate!

31. Please Clean Yourself 30 January 2012

Denise,
    You must have been menstruating profusely as not to be able to think clearly and intelligently.   Please clean yourself in the toilet.  Good Bye.

32. son of s 30 January 2012

The Government under the PAP practices self exemption in everything necessary for its hegemony.. This  enables  it  to violate the human rights of its citizens with impunity. These acts of exceptionalism are performed whereby it extracts the astounding pay for its officeholders, put its cronies and relatives at the mouths of the  honeypots of the country, swarms the country with foreign workers, conferring citizenships on them indiscriminately and destroying any citizen who objects by judges in Court acting  as  destroyers and secret police as assassins.
    Self exemption is a device of exceptionalism whereby norms of ethical behaviour is disregarded and denigrated. Democracy for example is a cracy notion to it, inapplicable to civic life. The PAP practices sycophancy for demcocracy.. Governance is substituted by state thuggery by ISA.. The resounding decalmation is " we are the smartest and the best, the exceptionally noble, pay us very well for it.".
    And we are doing so.

33. son of s 31 January 2012

I could have never have believed that money to an already rich and famous man is still the golden lucre to be sought after by any means, lies, law, parliament, threats and  best of all state thuggery. His secret police and stable of judges are just that third world thuggery.
    The issue with the PAP is not to recruit the most able among the populace, but the most capable of perpetuating lies and state thuggery. That is why you have those young men from the SAF.The PAP is going to be a military party just like the failed states all over the world, Myanmar, Pakistan etc.
    It is not hard to get good people to serve the nation. In our society we  have every kind of professional. It is hard when you have to find people with the will to cheat and trample in just the same way as the founding father has done these 5 decades.In other words to find clones of the same personality.

34. Chia Thye Poh is the one detained much longer than Nelson Mandela.
    The Guantanamo Bay Detention Centre is for the terrorists who have used or will use violence to cause destruction to USA and other democratic countries.
    Here in Singapore the political detainees never stood for violence. Many calls to the million dollar ministers to enact a seperate law for terrorism and abolish ISD has gone into deaf years.
    HRW is justified in branding Singapore a COMMUNIST PRACTISING CAPITALISM.