~by: Leong Sze Hian~

2nd in the world for gambling losses?

I refer to the article “Gambling: The biggest losers” (The Economist, May 16).

It states that “Marina Bay Sands and Resorts World Sentosa alone nearly outgross the entire Las Vegas Strip”.

In the chart accompanying the above article, “Biggest gamblers – Loss per resident adult, 2010. $ (US$)”, Singapore is ranked number two in the world, at about US$1,180. Australia is ranked number one at about US$1,280.

If there are about three million adult residents aged 17 and above in Singapore, does it mean that the total gambling losses in a year is more than $3 billion?

In this connection, according to the article “Singapore’s casino gamble pays off one year on” (AsiaoneNews, Feb 23), “PricewaterhouseCoopers predicted that Singapore would overtake South Korea and Australia this year to become the second-largest Asia-Pacific casino market behind traditional leader Macau.

“In 2011, with a full year’s operation for both resorts, we expect revenues to reach US$5.5 billion, growing to US$8.3 billion by 2014,” it said”.

35 per cent increase in pawn shop loans?

According to the Monthly Digest of Statistics (MDS) for Nov 2011, released by the Department of Statistics on 2 December 2011, Pledges at Pawn Shops have been growing steadily from 2.78 to 2.98 million, from 2009 to 2010, and 320,000 in the month of August 2011 alone. The Amount of Loans Given Out by pawn shops increased from $2 to $2.7 billion from 2009 to 2010, and $492 million in Agust 2011 alone. This is an increase of 35 per cent for the year ($2.7 divided by $2 billion).

Are the above statistics linked to casino gambling?

Moneylending boom?

Following the change in the moneylenders’ regulations, allowing moneylenders to charge any interest rate instead of the previous maximum of 18 oer cent per annum, moneylending boomed so much that recently a ban has been put on advertising by moneylenders. We no longer have the more than a dozen pages of advertisements daily in a newspaper, or the distribution of flyers along the streets.

Is this growth in moneylending linked to casino gambling too?

Casino statistics?

In my letter “Singapore ahead in the losing game?” (Today, Aug 3), I wrote:

“I refer to the article “IRs here have not created more gambling addicts: CRA” (July 30). On the call for greater transparency regarding the number of Singaporeans entering the casinos, it states that Casino Regulatory Authority (CRA) chief executive Lau Peet Meng had agreed that the legality of the information – and how it is shared – could be looked into more carefully.

I find it strange that the Casino Control Act can be crafted such that statistics on how many Singaporeans are entering the two casinos may not be revealed. I have read the Act and am unable to find such a prohibition. Can the CRA point out the specific section(s)?

Then how was the former Community Development, Youth and Sports Minister able to disclose last September in Parliament that more than a million Singapore residents had visited the casinos since they opened?

While CRA chairman Richard Magnus said last week that it was an “urban legend that quite a number of our (residents) frequent the casinos” and had cited an Institute of Mental Health study that gambling addiction numbers remain the same, surely giving the statistics on Singaporean visitors would be the best way to end speculation that more are gambling.”

Casino jobs?

One of the primary reasons for having the two integrated resorts was that they would create a lot of jobs for Singaporeans. To date, I think we still do not have a full accounting of how many of the jobs created went to Singaporeans, permanent residents (PRs) and foreigners?

picture credit: The Economist

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

55 Responses to “Pawners linked to casinos?”

1. Laughing loud 2 January 2012

Yes. No doubt. Including home selling when they lost

2. The PAP government does not seem to factor in the law of unintended consequence in its decision making process.

The unintended consequence of having a casino is that it promotes the believe that there is such a thing as “easy money”. Australia is a large country of 22 million people(compared with singapore’s 5 million) with a casino culture that started decades earlier than us and yet we are already #2 in ranking behind Australia. Give Singapore five more years and we should be #1!

As for providing the 30,000 employment opportunities, perhaps that means there are 30,000 Singaporeans who gamble regularly at the casinos…something like a full time job?

3. Close the casinos 2 January 2012

Growing up in Singapore in the 1960s where opium dens and triads are a plentiful, one of the most detestable group of people are individuals who operate gambling dens in the neighborhoods and the laws come hard upon these illegal gambling den operators whom we aptly called blood suckers. They are detested because these gambling den operators destroy families by tempting the desperate and weak minds and also cheat gamblers of their hard earned monies since the odds are always stacked againgst the ignorant gamblers.
    40 years on, it does not make me a proud Singaporean to see the hard work of a generation of Singaporean reduced to a nation whose economy is dependant on two legalised gambling dens. Short term Economic benefits derived from immoral means and that draws people away from hard work and diligence will bring us to no good end as a nation. The wealth that has been lost to the operators of these gambling dens the world over could have been deployed to better productive use that will benefit the greater humanity. Our parents thought us that it is better for a man to be poor and starving but remained dignified then to gain his wealth immorally. We may not pay the full price of our follies this generation but we will in the generations to come.
    Taking the courage to close these casinos, especially now that we have seen their negative impacts to lives of individuals and families in Singapore as well as those in our neigboring countries, will be the best gift we can leave behind for our next generation. Let Singpaore be a nation that bring blessings rather then destruction to others around us. If we become poor as a result, then let us be a poor people with our pride and dignity intact. For what does it profit us to gain the whole world but lose our souls in the process?

4. I heard from a stranger that Casino is a place where among other things, money is Washed.

At first, i was skeptical.

Then , i put on my unbiased neutral thinking hat.

I imagined if I have illegally earned money , how can i convert it to real legal money that i can say i earned it legally from a casino?

If illegal money is huge easy money, what is the problem if I loose 10million but win 1 million? That is 1 million earned legally.

I am honest because I say so.
    I command all of you to respect me ultruistically and love me like a demigod.

I dictate that you fear me and do what i tell you. You must self-censor whenever you want to say anything remotely bad about me.

yours
    An Honest Elite

5. Allow me to add,
    I do not believe money can be washed in casinoes other than at in their toilet with hand detergent.

So, I think Casino are full of good people. You believe me right?

There are no prostitutes, mafia members, white collar criminals who steal money from their companies ? No, i do not mean that singapore brewery manager who stole from his company millions and gambled at Australian casinoes. No, no.

I am honest. My words are honest because you must believe so.

Casinoes are for saints. Its never a place for washing money. Its for Gambling.

6. Ho Jing Ho - I luv to wager. Thanks for your money! 2 January 2012

Since the crackdown by usa on swiss bank accounts by way of pressuring swiss banks to open their books, I wonder how many of these have channeled money to sg?

How is Myanmar doing?

7. Like that also blame gahmen? The casinos benefited our economy greatly. Nothing wrong if moneylenders & pawnshops benefit – they are still part of our economy. Also, nobody is forced to visit the casinos. Those who do so must be responsible for their own actions. Our gahmen is right to build the casinos for the tourists it attrcts & the jobs it creates.

8. Laughing loud 2 January 2012

Godwin
    32 mins ago
    Like that also blame gahmen? The casinos benefited our economy greatly. Nothing wrong if moneylenders & pawnshops benefit – they are still part of our economy. Also, nobody is forced to visit the casinos. Those who do so must be responsible for their own actions. Our gahmen is right to build the casinos for the tourists it attrcts & the jobs it creates.

——

The gov could have put in much more serious
    efforts to help local mncs to like creative and even acer, apple, Microsoft, but they preferred to import. The ir caused lots of addicts and family problems that I heard. It is far reaching damage for future. Gov coffers bloated by IRs but why are we still near bankrupt. Our inflation is 20over percent last year alone. If u realized how media announcement month CPI increased by 5percent month of at least 2percent monthly. Excluding property prices inflation.

Global Paper currencies getting worthless and wage increase to keep pace and minimum wage never been bothered to material. Unemployment is more than 10percent many more did not bother to find jobs after 1 year of unemployment as priorities given to prs on non level playing fields

Godwin, pls wake up and check

9. Laughing loud 2 January 2012

When overseas MNCs leave without loyalty we will stranded

Etc etc etc

10. We will use BRAINS. OK?
    When casinos started, the casino-cruise ships went bust and Genting, Malaysia has been slowing bleeding (to death).

Conclusion – If Singaporeans dont gamble on our soil they will still gamble there (casino-cruise ships and Genting). So our kind government’s deterrent of $100 wont work. But what to do we comply with fools’ wishes sometimes.

We cant stop people from wanting to gamble if they want to. Hey these are thinking ADULTS. If they were that dumb then TOC shd have closed down. Right? Why? They have made up their minds as to who to follow. Right?

Casinos cant be bad. The economic spin-offs and multiplier effects are TREMENDOUS. From taxi incomes to the entire hospitality industry namely hotels, food & beverages. Now, we know why even “stunch” Muslim UNMO halal the Genting Casino in Islamic Malaysia. Right?

Casinos alone can feed an entire nation eg Macau.

The taxes reaped from casino-related industries, direct and indirect, benefit the entire nation when BILLIONS are given back to the gamblers and non-gamblers alike, religious or non religious, in various forms like Growth Dividens, Share & Save, public infrastructures, public servants, etc.

As a Christian, Jesus didnt prohibit gambling. And if youre well-versed with the scriptures he made mention that such activities shd not be operated outside the synagogue, which he rightly threw them out. And even our 4D outlets are carefully located in the HDB heartlands if you care to open your eyes.

Real and surreal . . . . .

11. Lye Khuen Way 2 January 2012

Let me try to be a little bit cynical for a while.
    According to some commentators, the All-honest, well-meaning Goverenments of Singapore must be thanked for creating business opportunities for money-lenders.
    Sure.
    The two IRs also provided more job opportunities for councellors/ undertakers / para-medics / wealth-management professionals.
    Whether, the SPF did need to deploy more rank & file is questionable.
    With our vehicles windows now tainted so dark, why waste time. Everyone need more privacy.
    Wait a minute, I better stop, in case I get carried away and start believing all the bull-shit.

12. HighPriest 2 January 2012

Bullshit about casinos creating jobs for locals.

Mostly went to PRs, Malaysians and Foreign “Talents”. Don’t ever expect them to release the figures for casinos job creation statistics. Even if they dd, it’ll be twisted.

13. So Benevolent 2 January 2012

Im an ex-Malaysian.

The Muslim government there thinks GOD is stupid.

Only Chinese (non-Muslims) are permitted to gamble in Genting. Malays (Muslims) will be arrested if found within the casino.

Just OPEN your eyes when there. Who are benefitting indirectly from the spin-offs in employment from the dynamo (casino) ranging from accomodation (hotel industry), amusements parks, food outlets, transport, etc. And the revenues collected from the gambling levies go to supporting the Affirmative Policy.

Very interesting.

14. 1) How many suicides were associated to gambling? Figures swept under the carpet?
    2) How many sane people gone insane due to gambling?
    3) How many people lost their life saving which they have NO CHANCE of earning back? Especially the elderly.
    4) How many types of gambling are available. Just step into any betting outlets, there are many many. There is Turf Club & now 2 major suckers & destroyer of life, IRs.
    5) How many families have gone broken due to these gambling outlets & IRs? Figures swept under the carpet again?

15. Grow Up lah 2 January 2012

LjKing 2 January 2012

Hello
    In case you didnt know.
    Gambling is in the DNA and blood of the Chinese since time immemorial.

Now we know why Chinese make great entrepreneurs and businessmen.
    They are risk takers.

Ive been to Las Vegas, the casinos downunder, in Europe, etc. The punters there are usually Chinese if not predonimantly Chinese.

So? How? Tell the Creator God to amend their DNA lor instead of blaming our government.

At least the smart government here knows how to channel some of such easy monies back for the good of society at large. Other countries they dont care hack.

For instance, the Chinese tried asking the UMNO government in Malaysia to start a merit-based Merdeka University in view of the fact that the dozen odd public universities are open to predominantly Malays with at least 2 exclusively for Malays. The government response – NO!
    Casino – Yes!

Be mature lah. Next well be asking our government to ban short skirts for fear of molestations, legislation for bigamy for mistresses, etc. …….

16. Close the casinos 2 January 2012

@ Godwin:
    “The casinos benefited our economy greatly. Nothing wrong if moneylenders & pawnshops benefit – they are still part of our economy …”
    By your same logic of using the ends to justify the means, why stop at casinos? Prostitution, drug trades, opium dens …etc will benefit some poor souls in third world countries and some other poor people in our society as well who are suffering from poverty. Should we not legalise these as well?
    After all as you said, those who indulge in these activities must be “responsible for their own actions”?! So we can throw away any moral sense of right and wrong as long as money is to be made? Hope that is not what you are suggesting!

17. No one is forcing people to gamble, just like no one is forcing people to drink, smoke or visit whore houses. If people choose to gamble away their savings, to the point where they are putting jewelry and other valuables up the pawnbroker’s till then so be it. Why should those who chose not to gamble (I have never set foot in either casino since they have opened even out of curiosity) dictate the private affairs of those who choose to? If you lose your everything due to gambling you move on, hopefully wiser for it. Just don’t come knocking on my door because not only will I not lend you a cent but I’ll set my dog on you.

18. @Growth
    “Conclusion – If Singaporeans dont gamble on our soil they will still gamble there (casino-cruise ships and Genting). So our kind government’s deterrent of $100 wont work. But what to do we comply with fools’ wishes sometimes.
    Casinos cant be bad. The economic spin-offs and multiplier effects are TREMENDOUS. From taxi incomes to the entire hospitality industry namely hotels, food & beverages.”

By your reasoning we should, for the sake of economic spin-offs and growing our GDP, attract the other 3 top morally-corrupting industries like prostitution, drugs and money laundering. Together with the casinos we already have, we should have open and legalise prostitution like in some countries, we should promote use of addictive drugs like heroin and finally we should set up a Money Laundry Exchange to process all the illegal money of the underground economies worldwide.

It will be relatively easy to attract such industries to set up in singapore as the global competition for these 4 industries are minimal and for very good reasons…most governments cannot face up to their conscience to build their success on the backs of clearly immoral industries.

So in economics as in politics, if the end justifies the means and political leaders are prepared to compromise their conscience by taking the easy way to GDP growth, then there will be, as they say “collateral damage”. Innocent bystanders like family members, young children, elderly parents, brothers and sisters will suffer.

19. Neutral 2 January 2012

@Ace

This is in my mind but of course I can’t summarize it so nicely! Thanks for summarizing it short and sweet!

20. agongkia 2 January 2012

Hello hello…dun include me…
    Pawners not necessary link to casinos.
    I am not shameful to say that I am a regular Grade A Class 1 pawner.

I have not visited the 2 casinos here till today,so nothing to do with the casino for my case.Cannot anyhow blame.

But I visit pawnshops because of the you know who.Pay and Pay…..

21. Although many pmets are christians against casinoes, fear still is more mighty.

22. Very open ended questions that can go either way. It’s easy to blame the governments, society, DNA, the world.

Question to you is: When will you stop blaming and start changing?

23. Addis Ababa 2 January 2012

@ Ho Jing Ho,
    Since usa managed to pressure on Swiss Bank to open their books.They(usa) is also able to pressure SG to open their books too.Why don’t they(usa) do that???

24. Laughing loud 2 January 2012

Keith
    30 mins ago
    Very open ended questions that can go either way. It’s easy to blame the governments, society, DNA, the world.

Question to you is: When will you stop blaming and start changing?

We are blaming but i am changing also. Fyi only

25. @growth:
    GOD is clear on gambling. Just like HE will NOT force salvation on anyone thou its vital n beneficial for mankind n the very reason HE came down, HE will NOT force anything on us. But HIS WORD is for those who seek n hear HIM. And HIS sheep hears HIS voice, and will be let by THE HOLY SPIRIT.

Bible Reference:
    1Cor. 10:23 ” Everything is permissible, but NOT everything is profitable..”
    Romans 14:19 Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.
    Romans 15:2 Each of us should please his neighbor for his good, to build him up.
    1 Corinthians 6:12 “Everything is permissible for me”–but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible for me”–but I will not be mastered by anything.

26. Laughing loud 2 January 2012

We should all request online all official statistics released by officials to be audited by Alternate parties, members of the publics and local auditing company.

Vote of no confidence for the data they release from now on

27. Laughing loud 2 January 2012

Grace
    0 mins ago
    @growth:
    GOD is clear on gambling. Just like HE will NOT force salvation on anyone thou its vital n beneficial for mankind n the very reason HE came down, HE will NOT force anything on us. But HIS WORD is for those who seek n hear HIM. And HIS sheep hears HIS voice, and will be let by THE HOLY SPIRIT.

Bible Reference:
    1Cor. 10:23 ” Everything is permissible, but NOT everything is profitable..”
    Romans 14:19 Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.
    Romans 15:2 Each of us should please his neighbor for his good, to build him up.
    1 Corinthians 6:12 “Everything is permissible for me”–but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible for me”–but I will not be mastered by anything.

—-

Gambling is not proper livelihood. Period. Simple as that

28. Hypocrite 2 January 2012

Grace 2 January 2012

Hello . . .
    Show us where “gambling” is disallowed in the Bible except where Jesus chase them elsewhere i.e. from my father’ house (place of wordhip, the synagogue).

Why should Singaporeans allow the outflow of Singaporeans’ monies to Malaysia (Genting) or the foreign-owned casino yatches crusing outside our territorial watewrs for gambling? Why can the monies stay and do lots of good for everyone? The Muslims in Malaysia are smarter. Don’t they?

In fact GOD deliberately placed the fobidden fruit tree (casino) before Adam & Eve (christians) to test their faith. HE didn’t hide the tree underground. Did HE? Christians should learn from the Adam & Eve
    test case given by GOD himself. Right?

The answer to heaven is for one to OVERCOME because the journey on earth is fraught with TEMTATIONS. No free ticket to heaven. Right?

29. @hypocrite,
    GOD has given everyone a free will.
    Just as many choose to spurn HIM n reject salvation which HE doesnt force on them, by the same vein, HE will not force us to do or not to do anything.
    1 Cor 10:23 is very clear. Those who have ears let him hear.
    One reaps what they sow.
    If people want to dig their own graves, they should expect to be buried in it as well.
    There is no need for justification why government want to build casinos, albeit money-spinning, etc, etc; or why people gamble. Its just lame excuses.
    At the end of the day, its a choice, albeit made more convenient n easily accessible by the government’s stupid intent!

30. @ ace,
    “The unintended consequence of having a casino is that it promotes the believe that there is such a thing as “easy money”. Australia is a large country of 22 million people(compared with singapore’s 5 million) with a casino culture that started decades earlier than us and yet we are already #2 in ranking behind Australia. Give Singapore five more years and we should be #1!”

I cant concur more with you on this. Our govt’s preoccupation is to be 1st in everything, no exception to this.

31. #1 to disappoint core citizens.

32. #1 to brag

33. 3 tablets & a Kwang Ming light 2 January 2012

We must “thank” Pap and the 60.1% for the “Messed” they created.

Pap & the 60.1 % will “repent” soon.

Like I say, the 3 tablets at Marina is there for a reason !

Now that the “Guang Ming” Lotus light is Operational , the “second” tablet should be Occupied soon.

The first Tablet, Of Course is now being “resided” by a “Lady”.

34. I have been to Las Vegas and admired its casino strip. My biggest gamble is the 4D even then very rarely, at a few dollars per round.

I have boycotted the Spore casinos and has no desire to go into them. I think they bring a lot of misery to many Spore residents and their families.

It will be a curse upon Spore in the coming years. The earnings may be good but most of the profit goes overseas to the owners of the casinos.

HK do not have casinos and is doing relatively better than Spore. Las Vegas is now in hardship despite its casino industry.

35. mice is nice 3 January 2012

maybe its easier to get hard data on the number of pawn shops that operate after the casinos open?

36. am i surprised?
    no.,not at all!

soon,NTUC will be thinking of operating ‘FAIRPRICE PAWNSHOPS’ since it it such a LUCRATIVE business that should not be passed over????

37. PeeNPee 3 January 2012

As usual, PAP keeps us in the dark and feed us buulshit

38. georgia tong 3 January 2012

Moneyleader shops have been spouting all over HDB heartlands. It is a clear indicator that loan activities have increase. They have been advertising aggressive using Mediacorp artists to promote a ‘clean’ image. Very misleading to encourage that it is the ‘norm’ to borrow money to buy things for your love one…etc. Basically they are saying it is ok to live beyond your means. We have leaflets of these ‘financial’ firms distribute to HDB residents frequency. Likely all these recent loan activities are aggravated by the 2 casinos.

39. iVOTEahLENG 3 January 2012

Godwin2 January 2012
    Like that also blame gahmen? The casinos benefited our economy greatly. Nothing wrong if moneylenders & pawnshops benefit – they are still part of our economy
    ………………..
    sured man if you PRINT so…where on earth do you find a tourist goin into a porn shop to pawn their gold denture?
    do you hav neighbours or fello singapooriums who gambled their entrie livesavin$ of a near $20,000 within a few hours and came home penni$le$$?
    why your neighbours also tourist$ mey?
    and their savin of $20,000 was to make them a TOURIST in bataam or bangkork whatever…

40. Brains Lah 3 January 2012

webex 3 January 2012

HK do not have casinos and is doing relatively better than Spore.

Get facts right please.
    Macau is just next door. Both are Chinese territories. If you had been to Macau you’ll find the gamblers there come from HK and Mainland China. The 2 are linked by the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge.

HK has a MOTHERLAND. Its HINTERLAND which supplies all her energy and food needs including water and millions of free-spending tourists. They are one and same CHINESE people!

Singapore? Dont tickle our toes. The minute the Water Contract ended this year we had to pack up and leave!

41. gambling never good 3 January 2012

http://www.gamblingwiz.com/online-gambling/1218-pros-and-cons-of-legalised-gambling.htm

answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100525153223AA4TNLP

no pros.99.9% cons…

only landlords and gov taxes wins, people mostly lose especially compulsive, irrational, uncontrollable ones.

much much more bads than good

42. gambling no liberation yes 3 January 2012

gamblers or gamblers to be, please do yourself a favour, instead of gambling go do animal liberation or rather try protect them. you will gain merits and better luck in life, not to gamble please.

http://www.zhibeifw.com/cmsc/bencandy.php?fid=207&id=919

43. gambling no liberation yes 3 January 2012

if you are keen, please verify and practice the aboves before thoroughly believing.

dont blindly believe

cheers

44. Gambling is an individual decision. There is no need to drag government into the picture. Even without the IRs, a gambler will definitely find his means of gambling.

Some of us should really wake up and stop expecting government to babysit us, to make the living environment so conducive that we forgot how to fight amidst global competition, how to avoid vice, how to behave as an civic minded,caring and patriotic citizen. Instead of blaming the system, blaming the environment, blaming everything else, look into one inner self and see if we are as perfect as we wanted our environment, system, government to be.

45. vvv793 January 2012
    Gambling is an individual decision. There is no need to drag government into the picture. Even without the IRs, a gambler will definitely find his means of gambling.

Some of us should really wake up and stop expecting government to babysit us, to make the living environment so conducive that we forgot how to fight amidst global competition, how to avoid vice, how to behave as an civic minded,caring and patriotic citizen. Instead of blaming the system, blaming the environment, blaming everything else, look into one inner self and see if we are as perfect as we wanted our environment, system, government to be.

—–

Agreed, but certain groups can’t think it via themselves like less educated and older folks, stressed and curious individuals and aunties and uncles who are bored. They need other healthier avenues….

The IRs are big magnet of evil for gambling no one can deny…

We can say we don’t blame government, but we hate the thingy and we don’t welcome that. More avenues to make money wisely. And also it did not create more jobs for locals as survey and u see more foreigners. Who benefited? Gov to their high pay and CEOs and board of directors. Addicts are the losers, their families are main losers and money lenders are winners and the family friends and relative are real losers when money are lost. Also companies bankrupt and winded down due to the money of companies lost.

People selling their home are common stories..

46. iVOTEahSENG 4 January 2012

vvv79 3 January 2012
    Gambling is an individual decision. There is no need to drag government into the picture. Even without the IRs,stop expecting government to babysit us,
    ………..
    is that so? than why the $100 surcharge? to make some tips for the bangala jumbuan cleaners perhaps?

47. jobs to foreigners 4 January 2012

speak to any HR in RWS or MBS – they will tell you the unpublishable truth about how many and what kind of jobs went to Singaporean citizens.

48. Close the casinos 4 January 2012

@ vvv79:
    “Gambling is an individual decision. There is no need to drag government into the picture. Even without the IRs, a gambler will definitely find his means of gambling….”
    1) Your statement assumes that individuals are well capable of making rational choices all the time. However, I do agree with “Hmnn” that you seemed to have ignored the fact that even rational individuals do have vulnerable moments and there is also that segment of vulnerable people in society that need to be protected.
    2) Individual choices, especially where moral values are concerned, are very much influenced by our perceptions of right and wrong. Latter (right vs wrong), for most individuals, are judged based on what the government determines as legal or illegal and what is being thought in schools and at home.
    Of course, laws relating to issues of moral conscience are formulated on the basis that the elected government knows the moral inclinations of people that they represent, at least the majority. Once activities like prostitution and drug consumption are legalise, it effectively removed the moral boundaries against these activities and free people from making these “individual choices” with less need for moral considerations.
    For instance, in the 1960s & 1970s, gambling dens were illegal and frowned upon by society and operators are treated with disdain and jailed when caught. As such, people who operate and visit such places do so with their heads down and face covered because they know it is wrong (=illegal). However, today, with the IRs and long before that government’s involvement in operating turf clubs and 4Ds etc, gambling has become an acceptable activity and even glamorise as contributing to our economic well being. In so doing, our government is making a statement about an immoral activity like gambling on behalf of its citizen and therefore remove any form of individual moral or legal restraint against it. In so doing. it will become so much more difficult to teach the next generation both in school and at home against the ills of gambling now that it has become “normal”, “acceptable” and “economically productive” activity promoted by the national government. On what basis will schools teach students against an activity promoted by the national government without being seen as challenging the government?
    3) My question is whether the government of the day has been representative of the moral conscience of the population by glamorising gambling with the promotion of the IRs? If it is, and as you said it is a matter of personal choice, then it is almost contradictory or hypocritical to impose a levy against Singaporeans entering the IRs or providing social support to those who falls into the debt or become addicted as a result. Why bother since it is neither illegal, immoral and a matter of individual choice as you said?
    To determine if the nation is ready to accept the promotion of gambling as a needed economic sector and whether the moral conscience of the population is ready for this, a national referendum would have been appropriate since parliamentarians were not allowed to vote freely or vote according to their own beliefs.

49. @ivoteahleng,
    Let me tell you my uncle was 1 such victim of the accessibility of the 2 IRs here. Yes, undeniably he was already a gambler, but could only go away couple of days a week elsewhere. But when the 2 evils were up, he went everyday n eventually died tragically just few hrs after he left Resort World. He died of a massive stroke on the road! He lost all his life savings n mine, cause he often emotional blackmailed me. He would harassed me n threatened suicide… I who don’t gamble is also a victim of such evil. In total he lost > 1 million n I apt. Isn’t it tragic enough!