~by: Ravi Philemon~

Singapore has moved up to 135th place in the Press Freedom Index 2011/2012 compiled by Reporters Without Borders (RWB). In the 2010 index, Singapore was ranked 136th.

The new index showed that Singapore was ahead of regional countries like Thailand (137), the Philippines (140) and Indonesia (146).

Finland and Norway topped the press freedom survey of 179 countries, followed by Estonia.

Canada is ranked with Denmark at 10th place. The United States of America fell 27 places to be listed at number 47 due to the many arrests of journalists covering Occupy Wall Street protests.

According to the report, Pakistan at 151 was the world’s deadliest country for journalists for the second year running.

At the bottom of the list were Turkmenistan (177), North Korea (178) and Eritrea (179).

In noting that many media personnel paid dearly for their coverage of democratic aspirations,  RWB commented on its 10th annual press freedom index that  the current 'index sees many changes in the rankings, changes that reflect a year that was incredibly rich in developments, especially in the Arab world.'

RWB also acknowledged the 'leading role played by netizens in producing and disseminating news,' 

Press Freedom Index 2011-2012 HERE.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

46 Responses to “Singapore moves up to 135th place in Press Freedom Index 2011/2012”

1. Only time will tell 23 February 2012

Wow! Great job SPH n CNA, move up…what…1 notch, well done!

2. Meow Meow 23 February 2012

With one law suit after another, next year drop out of chart liao!!!

3. mice is nice 23 February 2012

wow, gold standards!!

i dunno wad to say…

4. Well done netizens. Your articles and comments had brought to light many issues that were attempted to be hidden by msm.

So powerful were your comments that issues of infedility and issues of cronyism and nepotism have stirred the hornet's nest.

5. With all these famiLEE suing commoners, damn sure by next year, SG will have a drastic slide to somewhere between North Korea and Zimbawe.

6. WTF. We are even worst than Cambodia, who stands at 117.

7. Ok, so according to this Sierra Leone (ranked 63) has more press freedom than Singapore(ranked 135). There were also 16 journalists killed in Sierra Leone since 1992. Does anyone else see a problem with that?

8. Kampong boy 24 February 2012

So, we move up the index when the salaries of the ministers got cut.

Which means:

We must cut the salaries of the ministers further in order to move further up the index.

9. SINGAPORE SLANG 24 February 2012

only near the third quartile,at the bottom?
    always thought that the gahMEN CANNOT ACEEPT ANYTHIGN LES S THAN NUMBER 1?
    so,this is very shameful,liao.

10. mice is nice 24 February 2012

some people view freedom as the jungles, such people prefer if they can control everything. but they forgot the yearning to control as many aspects of life as is possible itself is also the very form of freedom they want to restrict.

extreme behaviours can be a telltale sign of a mental illness though not always…

11. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH 1 notch! OOOH excellent achievement! WOW

12. Folks, please help write in to Reporters Without Borders about the recent TRE matters and let organization know that its ranking needs to be updated accordingly.

13. TOC bans people too 24 February 2012

Testing Testing. I am banned in TOC.

14. Oh, ok not this thread.  My posts just won't appear in other threads except this one.  Wonder why.

15. I believe the MIW will infiltrate these social media and try to neutralise all your verbal freedom if not put people in prison. Deterrence and punitive indeed!

16. Actually, S'pore press did NOT improve by a notch….it is just that another country's press deteriorated by a notch!!!

17. So Scared 24 February 2012

Temporary Ranking only,yet got to see all the Government Ministries  and its Agency will SUE any Citizens who defamed their Staff. The Ranking sure to  drop, maybe another 20 places down.

18. PAP does not understand the law of unintended consequence.  
    Citizens's voices are like a coiled spring, the more you suppress, the stronger they come.  When they gag TRE, more TREs wannabes will pop out, how will they be able to gag 100 or 1,000 or 10,000 of them? 
    If they are really serious about it, one way to stop such comments is to remove the source that the feeds the comments.  For example, there are no such comments against Michelle Obama although USA is a 400 million population country.  Another way is to engage and reveal the truth.  
    One possible catalyst to such profuse unhappiness is the blatant unfairness and inequity of the GRC system which creates a situation where 40% of Singaporeans are represented by 8% of the parliamentarians.  When you suppress their voices in parliament and then gag their voices in the media the consequence will probably be chaos and curses.
    History have shown that when people are suppressed, they turn to God and when God demands justice for His people, the consequence will be unimaginable.  
    So better pray and do penance.

19. Puppy cannot make it 24 February 2012

Sorry, I sidetrack from this thread. 
    Those ball  less Japanese yet again denied Nanjing masseca. They  do it again and again despite mountain of evidences.   
    I despise such cowardice act. Those jap politicians who denied the masseca, wanted to rid their young generation from war guilt so as to hope to revitalise their crumbling civilisation. Such shameless denial is hurting the people who was hurted by the war. Our generation may not have faced the war but we should not allow such denial because "lies when told repeatedly will become truth". Nanjing masseca is proven event witnessed and restified by tens of thousands of people be it from China and from overseas.
    Does the Germans denied the holocaust? They admitted it and make sure that those who denied it get prosecuted. They earned respect in this way. But the ball less Japs, they never! May their civilisation continued to be buried in war guilt and on their way downward and doomed.

20. Actually we did not have any improvement. We are in joint 135-136 place with Honduras… Even Malaysia is much better.

21. son of s 24 February 2012

Some Japanese deny the Nanjing  massacre.Only some of them,  because the Japanese people are by and large a top grade civilization and their Government did not practice total blackout of communication and information..  In the  blackout  of Singapore news except through Government controlled channels, I wonder what will trickle down to the children and future generations about the period of PAP hegemony.PAP use of the Rule of Law is legendary, so many of us have been sued naked and incarcerated for decades without  cause. All these and their amassing millions, suckling at the honeypots of the country will be lost to the collective memory.. A cowed population will pay for its cowardice for all time.

22. iVOTEahBENGs 24 February 2012

son of s24 February 2012

Some Japanese deny the Nanjing  massacre.Only some of them,  because the Japanese people are by and large a top grade civilization
    …………………………………………………..
    asked every cina peasant$..what do they think of nipponese ninhonjin….
    till today the peasant$ hates them liked s h i t….
    nor would they 1 to be associate with them in the nipponese cultures…
    the communist cina rather dealt with taipei formasa of the east….
    now you know why japanese enterprenuers find it HARD to penetrate the chinese in the manufacturin industries…..

23. Let bygones be bygones. The Past is Past. If the PRC chinese were to stop interacting with the Japanese it will be worse for them. Some of the most successful Chinese SMEs are those who have learned from the Japanese.

So Whilst the peasants might hate the Nihonjin, the PRC government embraces them. The PRC is not wrong. Only the peasants have to be educated.

24. Cogratulatios 24 February 2012

Cogratulations to SPH on your brilliant achievement.. Please publish your rise in ranking on the front page of ST tomorrow, with a photo of your Chairman and CEO shaking hands in great delight.
    Work hard and be less biased in your reorting and you may rise by one more notch next year. Bear i mind that you are still about 100 notches short from becoming a professioal mass media.  In the meatime, please submerge yourself  in oblivion and agonise on your status of a third world media.

25. Puppy cannot make it 24 February 2012

Ivoteahbeng,  
    You think China hated the japs becaus they consistently refused to admit their wrongdoings and said things that invoked resentment. Just like when Lee Kyan yew said insensitive remarks on the Malays not assimilating into the society, how does the Malays reacted? WW2 jap invasion and atrocity is a fact which if denied or simplied, it invited anger. It was only 70 years ago which by history, it is still considered recent enough for memory to be forgotten. And with constant denial from the japs, how can people forgive! Me as a Chinese Singaporean will stand together with the Chinese in China to condemn the japs. 
    To Son of S, how u know it is the minority of japs? Yes, I will not know if it is majority either, hence no use arguing who is in the right. But what is a fact is that the mayor of Nagoya consistently made that comments for 6 times officially over time. The jap administration allowed that without condemnation. 
    Btw, diaoyutai belongs to China if not Taiwan… Definitely not japan. Pls look at the geographical location of these islands and look at the history before the War. 

26. A journey of a thosand miles begin with the first step

27. mice is nice 24 February 2012

i believe the recent developments will put that journey of 10,000 steps a few strides backwards…

28. tikam tiakm boleh 24 February 2012

wow! TOC still surviving alright.
    TRE looks like siao already.
    looks like a battle-ground of good vs evil.
    darth vader vs kenoni-wan.
    very fierce battle there.

29. Freedom-my-foot 24 February 2012

With the recent lawsuit threats to suppress speculations of our leaders online, I think Singapore should rank just a notch above with North Korea.
    For every force, there is a equal and opposite reaction. Law of physics. Many never even heard of the TR and TRE are made aware of these insignificant websites due to the reccent lawsuit threats. Bad publicity is still publicity. Media thrives on bad publicity better than positive ones. I liked to see how the suppression of news, opinions and public speculation can be carried out well in the internet age….
    Also, I would have more respect if the tyrannoLeerus went after big players like Facebook and Yahoo (which carries even more inflammatory comments) instead of small ikan bilis local websites.

30. What TRE going through now seems more like a malicious attack from some shady forces. Some powerful big brother is definitely at work. Highly suspicious. I hope TOC will not end up in the same S**T!

31. Why are 135 countries above Singapore in the ranking 24 February 2012

Pretty pictures, high quality paper and many pages must have been the reasons to move from 136th to 135th.  The real issue is why there are 134 countries ahed of Singapore.   The reason must be the content.  What else could it be.   This proves that there is no free fredom in Singapore and that the local media is just a mouth piece for an autocratic (police) state.     

32. Take heart Sinkapoor, you will be No.1 in 134 years' time.
    Perseverence has its rewards.

33. 135th = no press freedom = police state 24 February 2012

To rank 135th out  of 179 must mean there is no press freedom in Singapore.  The press in Singapore is just part of the propaganda arm of a police state run by PAP.   

34. Pinkie, don't you feel anything? Any…………shame?

35. son of s 24 February 2012

Soon TOC will be hit too. We must seek a new platform. 

36. Hahahahaha 1 NOTCH in one year!……If this progress is linear…it will take Singapore 134 years to reach No. 1………off course it is foolish to even think Singapore will ever reach top 10!..

Singapore moves up to 135th place in Press Freedom Index 2011/2012
    BIG DEAL.
    New Editor of ST should try to move it to number one. no chance. Pigs will fly first.

38. Truths and all truth 25 February 2012

http://www.360doc.com/content/11/1108/13/52859_162751374.shtml
    Excellent article on why genius and great men into truths

39. Chindiapore 25 February 2012

Well-done!

Congrats to SPH and ST!

40. Well done Singapore !! 25 February 2012

It goes to show that curbing irresponsible journalism is good for socia-economic and political processes.
    Singapore's success proves my point.

Thank you.

41. theforgottongeneration 26 February 2012

Wow, MSM team would be patting themselves silly to have achieved a 1-notch improvement in the international arena…. granted surveys are not perfect, but the Swiss standards is at 8th and ours at 135th. Oh, yeah, achieving Swiss standards was only an "aspiration" for Singaporeans, but getting something we don't want – like having paid 3.2m for a lemon or 4.2m for roti prata – becomes a reality.

42. Ex singaporean 26 February 2012

Occupy Wall Street has nothing to do with Press Freedom.  Around Zuccotti Park are businesses, residential homes and lunch time crowd.  The place they occupied had become an unsafe place.  Drugs and fights occur once in a while and the place become a dump and a slump.  There is no clear agenda from these so called 'occupiers'.  The place become a security risk.  Hence the Reporters Without Borders is wrong in using this as a measure of press freedom.

43. Marooned Singaporean 26 February 2012

At the 135th position globally, we are placed  at the bottom rungs of the ladder besides countries which have tumultous war-torn histories, austere communist governments,widespread  internal unrests and social upheavals  and dictatorship governments.
    And yet we called ourselves a first world country. What irony.
    Bona-fide journalism is dead in this country. Where is the honesty and integrity? Very sad.

44. mice is nice 26 February 2012

is living on the "diet" of MSM news alone healthy?

there have been numerous questions thrown up by MSM regarding the "diet" of alternative or online media. anyway, GE2011, already proved the pathy of the electorate about the role of the president & the powers the role actually has, among other things.

if that apathy isn't something positive, why its being lamented by the same establishment? MSM must have felt threatened by alternative media as a source of revenue due to its growing influence in recent years. hence it has every reason to discredit the latter.

45. Distribute the 3rd position in GDP per capita (usd57k) a bit more effectively and I will have that any day. Stuff the press freedom index.

46. you will never find this news in the straits times LOL