~ By: Melanie Alfred ~
Following the advice of constitutional law experts, a resident of the single-member constituency (SMC) has filed a request with Singapore’s High Court, requesting the prime minister to call a by-election in the ward.
Yaw Shin Leong, the MP for the Hougang ward was expelled from the Workers’ Party (WP) on 14 February. Sylvia Lim, chairman for WP informed media that Yaw was expelled after he failed to give a proper account of his alleged indiscretions in his private life to the party leadership. He was also faulted for repeatedly not showing up for meetings.
Yahoo Singapore reported yesterday, on 1 March 2012, that eligible voters from the Hougang single-member constituency (SMC) can consider going to Singapore’s High Court to seek clarification on the applicable laws that govern by-elections.
Mrs Vellama Marie Muthu took action, filing an affidavit today. She said, “Why is it that even the PM is saying, as I am advised, that he even has the power not to call a by-election when he says to the media that he would consider carefully ‘whether… to hold a by-election’?”
The Speaker of Parliament, Mr Michael Palmer formally announced the vacancy of the Hougang seat in Parliament on 28 February 2012. MP Yaw Shin Leong had also informed parliament that he has decided not to appeal against his expulsion from WP.
Mrs Vellama, a part-time cleaner in Hougang, hopes that the Prime Minister will call a by-election soon. She related that after she had sought help with Mr Yaw, he had asked her to follow-up with him on the difficulties she faced.
“I no longer have the opportunity to do that because Hougang does not have an MP,” she said. Sylvia Lim, in WP’s press release on Mr Yaw’s explusion, had stated that Hougang residents will be served by the Party until the by-election is called. The Meet-the-People sessions were to be continued, with residents being invited to contact any WP MP for assistance.
“It is not enough that the services of Mr Yaw are currently being substituted by those of MPs from Aljunied Group Representation Constituency. I did not have an opportunity to elect any of them, so they do not have my vote,” Mrs Vellama said. The mother of two children, aged eight and eighteen, faces difficulties paying her mortgage loan for her flat, saying that the banks have threatened her with foreclosure. She also cares for her seventy-seven year old mother and her diabetic sister.
Assistant professor in constitutional law at the Singapore Management University (SMU) Jack Lee said it would be possible for a person with sufficient standing to file an application with the High Court to seek clarification on what exactly the terms refer to. “This could be a voter living in Hougang SMC, or – possibly – a political party that wishes to contest a by-election in that constituency,” elaborated Mr Lee.
Mrs Vellama is plainly asking the courts to declare that the PM does not have unfettered discretion in whether to announce by-election in Hougang SMC. She is also asking the courts to qualify that the PM does not also have unfettered discretion in choosing when to announce the by-election in the ward and that he must do so within 3 months or “within such reasonable time as the honourable court deems fit.” Her request extends to the courts enjoining the PM to advise the President to issue the Writ of Election within a “reasonable time” as well.
PM Lee Hsien Loong had earlier said, “On whether and when to hold a by-election in Hougang, I will consider the matter carefully. There are many other issues on the national agenda right now. Under the law, there is no fixed time which I must call a by-election”.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

I am disappointed with some of the comments made here. It is not a PAP vs WP issue here. What is at stake is Singapore. When you are made a prime minister of Singapore, you carry with you the interests of all Singaporeans regardless what parties they have voted. You are a PM of Singapore and not a PM of PAP or WP. I am saddened that our PM fails to see that.
@Wick
He is the PM of 60%, not the 40% unfortunately. Whether he goes ahead with the election or not or WP or PAP win or not, it is not going to make any different to the 40%. He will still invite lecture session.
Is Hougang really becomes immobilize without a MP. No, WP still serves actively to the people support WP. PAP still serve those that support them….
This election only has one outcome and two conclusions which both WP and PAP wanted to use it as tool for political propaganda
Outcome : WP will win
1st possible conclusion…. If WP vote increases…. this will reinforce WP political posiiton and they will bite back at PAP at full force after two losing two rounds ( YSL and Minister salary )
Another possible conclusion… If WP vote decreases, PAP will use this to it political advantage
At the end of the day…. political gain or good for people.
Bollywood Wayang Wayang…. 好戏上演了。
Protecting inalienable right under the Constitution
Mrs. Vellama is exercising her inalienable right as a citizen under the Constitution in applying to the court to decide if the PM has unfettered discretion if and when to call for a by-election in the Hougang SMC ward since the seat is now vacant.
WP has been serving that ward since 1991 and the voters in that constituency had shown to voters in other wards they are brave enough to elect an opposition party to represent their interests in parliament.
There was a precedent set by the by-election held in Marine Parade GRC when the former PM Goh Chok Tong and his team resigned in an attempt to secure a stronger mandate, at the same time to allow opposition member JB to take part.
That exercise costs the state huge human and financial resources since it was a GRC. The by-election in Hougang SMC should cost much less.
I find it rather odd that the Election Department is under the PM.. I thought it is an independent body?.
Am now wondering will there be more good shows coming up in 2012…hahahaha…
This is about uphold OUR CONSTITUTION- The PM is breaking the law if he doesn't do according to what the constitution prescribes. Please stop playing games.
The parliment serves the people and the people are represented by their MPs. The PM will be denying democracy and fairness to the people of Hougang by delaying the appointment of a new Hougang representative in parliment.
Low(down) is Thia Kiang!!!3 March 2012
The whole world know that it was the Workers' Party who is making nuse of this poor cleaner to revive a dead cause, trying to provoke public sentiments.
…………………..
i DONT know…please show the CRO/BRO/fax/text/sms/banner to show cause..if not the worker party would sued YOUR arsh off
WP score own goal2 March 2012
Don't waste public money, WP ask YSL to come back and join the party, make peace and not war. LTK is afraid of YSL?
……………………………..
Don't waste public money(when did the pap never waste pubic money?) , WP ask YSL to come back and join the party, make peace and not war.
LTKthe primeister is afraid of YSL?Dear Sir / Madam ….. By legal law procedure ((** single-seat **)) Hougang should let voters to vote for their MP when empty because the well being , major concern … voters facing , the elect MP should by legal duty to look after the voters , once in power . Just like Mr low …. WHO USED OWN MONEY ….. for eg only , to attend funernal when time arises , this was extra duty care from MR LOW before ., .And any ….. concern from voters in Hougang before , Voters knew how to looked for mr LOW . Any interest please verify with mr low , thanks .
How can there be no by-election?The PM will call for one,just that he's occupied with more pressing concerns now,as he said so.
Though he 's cursing under his breath that things have turned out this way,he has to ensure that democracy operates,and is seen to operate,in this country.Other countries are watching keenly what our Dear Leeder does next…..
THEY ARE AFRAID OF KANNA "BAKCHANG"
THE BLOODY COWARDS, MILLIONS THEY WANT,
SERVE THE PEOPLE, THEY DON'T WANT..
DAYLIGHT ROBBERY, IS WHAT THIS GOV IS ALL ABOUT, PLUNDER THE NATION DRY……….
WAH, CLEANER IS NOT A PERSON,
A PERSON IS WEARING WHITE SHIRT AND PANTS ONLY
WAH, GREAT THINKERS,,,,,,,,,SOME PEOPLE HERE
NO WONDER MM SAID LOCALS ARE DAFT………..
BORDERS ON STUPID LAH
"WP MP Yaw Shin Leong suggested her to sell her house…" – Straits Times
No wonder these WP MPs want to speak up for property agents. These kind of advice are so common among illegal moneylenders.
Maybe, CEA should tighten rule on relationship between property agents and politicians, especially those from Workers' Party.
Local are not draft…ONLY YOU ARE.
They cannot rob Hougang because Hougang is in WP's care…. ONLY YOU ROB PEOPLE FREEDOM OF SPEECH HERE.
Cleaner is a person, not a political pawn. BUT YOU MADE HER A PAWN
Want to watch Bollywood movie, GO TO REX CINEMA AT LITTLE INDIA.
PAP know they will lose, WP know they will WIN, like that where got show…. SO MUST ADD A BIT OF BOLLYWOOD component.
Tell you what… Why not you stand as potential MP for this Bi-electio… I help you to paint the banner
Vellama Marie Muthu and Julia Gillard have one strong attribute in common – Political Courage.
They only differ in job status and the size of their countries; a very tiny island in the sun as opposed to a vast continent down under. Julia had since regained a renewed confidence whereas Vellama’s confidence is a renewed challenge for the Hougang voters to make their steadfast decision
Bollywood 3 March 2012
Another possible conclusion… If WP vote decreases, PAP will use this to it political advantage
At the end of the day…. political gain or good for people.
Bollywood Wayang Wayang…. 好戏上演了。
———————————
So ? The speaker of parliament has already declared the seat of HG vacant. It is about parliamentary representation – even though we may say that the majority seats are held by the incumbent. It is not only about activities being served by WP.
skponggol3 March 2012
"WP MP Yaw Shin Leong suggested her to sell her house…" – Straits Times
No wonder these WP MPs want to speak up for property agents. These kind of advice are so common among illegal moneylenders.
Maybe, CEA should tighten rule on relationship between property agents and politicians, especially those from Workers' Party.
……………………
and pap party and rc never suggest to the poor to sell their ole 3 room hdb flats perhaps? so when pap tharman suggest that $1000/month earner can buy a hdb flat..meanin what? for you to start buyin or sellin your older bigger hdb flat?
Should put the cleaner on national T V and interview her live to see if she is capable of seeking this legal process which netizens here are claiming was her own intitiative.
I presume Workers' Party candidate for Hougang by-election (if held, but unnec.) to be Mrs. Vellama Marie Muthu.
I am guessing that she could have been promised the candidacy if she filed the court petition for by-election.
I wonder besides the WP who might her abled legal counsel be? Any guess?
Who actually is persuading more old folks to sell their homes?
And 260k get lockedup….
Everyone know that the hougang voters vote for the worker party and not yaw. It's the same where u see higher votes for WP in other ward. The emperor (WP) is not anxious but the eunuch is anxious (other opposition parties). Who really want this by- election ? If the objective is that the ward remain in opposition hands, why so anxious to have a by election ?
Low(down) Thia Kiang 3 March 2012
I would urge readers to show some restraint here. The WP has not been identified as the party that instigated this whole affair. And if Mrs Vellama was acting on WP's advise , so what??? She is not doing anything illegal – she is asserting her democratic right. She does not need the WP to remind her of her democratic rights. This is going to be a test case for democracy in Singapore. The PM cannot win either way. If the court rules in his favour, it will only further document the so-called independance of the judiciary. If the court rules against him, he loses face and opens up the flood gates for further lawsuits against the govt acting unconstitutionally in previous potential by-elections. Be afraid , very afraid LHL!!!
I know for a fact that the majority of Singaporeans are very happy with the way Singapore is and being run. We have complete trust in trhe government of the PAP and the leadership of PM Lee Hsien Loong.
We fully understand that Singapore cannot survive in a liberal democratic system as is in Western democracy, but we do not feel the least oppressed under our communitarian system which has served us very well and brought us modern Singapore. And Singapore has a socio-economic system which model is the envy of the world.
I can only guess that for those who are still not convinced to find a better world elsewhere if they could and not rock the SHIP which the PAP has grown from a sampan afloat off a tiny :"Fishing Village".
With the PAP at the helm, you can rest assured that our future is in the Best hands.
I do not understand whats biting "Political poet" with the best we have here? Test what democracy when majority of people here are more than happy. It do seems that there are some or few unhappy souls circulating in TOC and TRE, but these do not make 1% of our soceity and we must reasoned that 99% or there about are highly contented. The government has recently produced many policies to help these self-hating folks and they should be thankful for it.
Don't rock the "Ship"! Please!
4 March 2012
I can only guess that for those who are still not convinced to find a better world elsewhere if they could and not rock the SHIP which the PAP has grown from a sampan afloat off a tiny :"Fishing Village".
——————————-
Seriously, no one wants to rock the ship and have it overturn as everyone will suffer. Just that many people like to be the ship's captain & say that they are the best steady hands able to steer it away from any choppy water, real or perceived.
So far, liberal democractic system seems to be best though they are not without shortcomings. The liberal flavor must not only reside on government institutions but also in non-government institutions like NGOs for counter-balancing effect.
All other systems, more so than liberal democracies, tend to concentrate power & benefits (& long term complacency and possible abuse) on one group over the others.
@jimmy,
Singapore systems has served us well for so long. I have never felt oppressed or threatened in anyway under the government of the PAP as I have not committed any wrong-doings, minded my business, earn a decent living all thanks to a good government.
For those who aspire to captain the ship must realise that i n politics as in war all is fair game. If you cannot stand the heat keep out as I have. Its not for the faint of hearts.
Singapore system is fair
4 March 2012
@jimmy,
Singapore systems has served us well for so long. I have never felt oppressed or threatened in anyway under the government of the PAP as I have not committed any wrong-doings, minded my business, earn a decent living all thanks to a good government.
—————————————–
Same as you. I have never been oppressed and reasonably ok in my own rights.
It served us well in the past. However, I cannot say the same for the present. And have been quite uncomfortable on the increasing hdb prices, cpf deferred withdrawing age plus some bigger picture issue that I do not wish to discuss now.
We may be the faint of hearts but there are definitely many others (more than the 87 members in parliament) who are willing to go far and deep. I believe you would agree that Singapore has created many such people.
The Singapore government operates like the SCDF Force – they are always firefighting.
The Ministry of Transport is trying to cope with the unhappiness of commuters, the last we heard they are adding more buses and MRTs, but we have to wait for a few years before we can feel the difference. In the short term, they tried to increase the frequency of the trains, and as a result, we have the infamous MRT disruptions.
I remember just 1 or 2 years ago, a new Avente cost only S$38,000 inclusive of COE. All of a sudden, MOT says we have too many cars on the road and cut the supply of COE. Now we can buy little with S$100,000.
We saw in recent time a change in the minister for the National Development due to the discontent of our citizens. We have been highlighting that the public housing is too expensive, but the Government keep saying that they are affordable.
Singaporeans have been voicing that there are too many foreigners in Singapore, but the Government keep saying it cannot be help if we want to be prosperous. They may be true, but we – 3 million plus true Singaporeans are not happy, even if we are more “wealthy” (claimed by our government even though we cannot feel it).
So because of our protest, the Ministry of Manpower finally says we will limit foreign workers into our country, and focus more on improving the productivity. I am pleased to hear this but what I read in the newspapers the next few days is sickening. Unions and associations voice their displease of the Government’s implementation. Suddenly, it reminds me of Mr Tony Tan running for the Presidential Election where he had all the support of the different unions, and as we all know, he won only because we spread our vote on the other 3 candidates. These unions are supposed to represent the people, but they have become puppets.
It maybe my own illusion, but I feel if you are a rich and powerful foreigner in Singapore, you can get away with a lot of things – look at the recent cases of the Romanian delegator flying back to his country after he knocked down Singaporeans with his car and the few foreigners who beaten up a cabby and his rescuers but managed to escape from Singapore so easily.
I am disgusted at the way PAP MP Hari Kumar whom by using his law knowledge tries to convince us that a by-election may not be essential. I’m not sure if it’s his view point or his party’s. But I can tell the isolated Singapore Government that we want to see a by-election. The Hougang residents need their own MP.
In healthcare, sick parents will use up their CPF first then their children’s. Their children will use the grandchildren’s. If they do not have enough in their CPF, they will have to apply for Government assistance. What’s the point? Why can’t the Government do more to our own people? We are born to a stressful society, working and being pressed by peers and the Government to work hard. A typical Singaporean is burdened with heavy home loan, a family of kids and parents, and not enough money to buy car. The wife needs to work also. If one of the wife or husband is jobless, or the parent is sick, the family is in crisis. The Government does not understand why we are so angry about them; they do not know that maybe by doing more for our healthcare, we may feel the government still care for their people. If our Government doesn’t care for us, don’t expect us to be nice.
The Government is also firefighting to justify their salary. We all know that it’s hard to become a civil servant. You have to be academically good to stand a chance. The whole civil service is made up of so many scholars and nerds. But what we saw is that the government agencies are always catching up with the society. They cannot predict the trends and are always firefighting. Things happened and they try to rectify. Their IQ is book-based, and their EQ failed. They seem unable to engage with normal Singaporeans
@Firefighter…
The Workers' Party chief only recently in Parliament conceded that the government should not cut recruitment of FW into Singapore in contradiction of their often kaleidoscopic positions on issues.
The government policies were not wrong. They are just trying to moderate and like the WP conceding on the issue of FWs import, our citizens will also feel the wisdom in original policies when in the course of moderation carried out by the government, their lives becomes adversely affected.
Where it is possible I believe our government will use such subtle efforts to prove their policies to irrational and malleable citizens who have too easily fallen prey to predating self-serving opposition politicians.
dunno about firefighting, but i am quite certain things are desperate to need desperate measures, but i can't blame alternative parties as none are in the govt.
some measures, in trying to reverse the situation may actually be counterproductive. just as a severely obese person cannot just suddenly not eat to loose weight. the question to some desperate situations is how to go about doing it with as little side effects as is possible. bearing in mind that PAP ruled S'pore all these years, & who are only willing to listen to their "own people".
the people really cannot lay blame on anyone else as PAP is so obsessed with controling as many aspects of the people's lives (maybe in hope to claim credit as they have in the past, then reward themselves handsomely).
The PM knows that he will get another big slap across his face if there is a by-election in Hougang. Desmond Choo is just a pussy cat just waiting to be beaten to a pulp.
For PAP "shit hit the fan" when Yaw was expelled from WP. Now it must conduct a by-election which PAP will most likely lose big-time. Delaying the by-election makes PAP predicament even worse.
Even though it was not planned, expelling Yaw from WP was "brilliant" master stroke. Another chance for WP to "kick" PAP again so soon after GE2011.
Even LKY cannot save PAP from a by-election disaster .
Which day of the year are there no national matters to handle and that holding a by-election of a single seat is too difficult to handle? We are not even talking of a GRC or the entire electorate. If the P.A.P has a very good chance of taking back Hougang now, I wonder how long more would they wait to have a by-election?
@ Singapore is not burning!
I am not anti PAP or pro opposition. You maybe pro PAP but it doesn't matter.
You have to agree that PAP is not justifying their price tag. They have flopped so many times in recent times.
We know they are trying, but please, try harder.
We know when the Government become truthful and sincere. But for now they are still not.
Singaporeans support oppositions because they have no one to support. They have lost hope in the Government. We know Singapore's history, we know the past generation of leaders have done a lot for us to live so comfortably. But not the present batch.
If you walk around your estate, there's so many elderly still struggling with their life now by searching rubbish bins, collecting newspapers and cartons. I worry for my old age. Why not give them a better life? We all owe them in some way!
Government ask us why we so scare to do business, venture out. This is the reason. If we fail, we fail our family, we are disgraced, we failed in life, we will go Meet the People section every week to seek assistance from our MP. I
I just feel the current Government is overpriced. Normal executives so call do all the shit works, managers manage. Leaders supposes to have foresight to lead us. Do our leaders have good foresight?
NO.They wasted our money.
I think a lot of us forget. No everyone voted for WP. The fact that WP won does not deprive others of the chance to have governmental / parlimentary represetative speaking up for them.
Well done mrs V
if you really want the High Court to make the correct decision, then real pressure must be put upon it. Opinion has to really be vocal(send your letters and petitions in, go demand for your rights to your MP) to sway the courts. High Court won't decide against the PM otherwise.
As Dr Martin Luther King Jr said: "There are two types of laws: just and unjust".
When laws are passed by a Parliament overwhelmingly dominated by one political party who are then obliged to vote under that party's Whip, the country can and will end up with unjust laws.
That's Singapore, my fellow Singaporeans. It is our fault as Singaporeans because we, our parents, our friends, our relatives, our colleagues have voted for a Parliament that is 93% PAP-dominated even in GE2011.
That's why our Constitution is like that. Our Parliamentary Pensions Act entitles ministers and other political office holders to Pay And Pension (PAP) until the Jan 2012 change. Our Land Titles (Strata) Act where condo neighbours can sell your family hom without your consent. Etc, etc, etc.
As Dr Martin Luther King Jr said: "There are two types of laws: just and unjust".
When laws are passed by a Parliament overwhelmingly dominated by one political party who are then obliged to vote under that party's Whip, the country can and will end up with unjust laws.
That's Singapore, my fellow Singaporeans. It is our fault as Singaporeans because we, our parents, our friends, our relatives, our colleagues, our friends, have voted for a Parliament that is 93% PAP-dominated even in GE2011. We did NOT persuade them otherwise!
That's why our Constitution is like that. Our Parliamentary Pensions Act entitles ministers and other political office holders to Pay And Pension (PAP) until the Jan 2012 change. Our Land Titles (Strata) Act where condo neighbours can sell your family home without your consent. Etc, etc, etc.